Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muck on roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

keep going wrote: »
    This thread reminded me of one of my little pet hates which is fellas who let their bales in the corner of the field and then draw them out one by one during the winter.its just bad organization shows a lack of thought for other people

Probably wouldn't be allowed out if they didn't have the spin for the bales.lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭eire 2012

Well whatever about muck on the road and the dangers of it I can't understand how farmers are able to get away with cutting ditches and leave the road littered with debris. One run of a sweeper would pick this debis up prob handier than muck which can get stuck to road surface very quick. I think it should be compulsorary for anyone cutting hedges to have a sweeper on front of tractor so they can clean up the mess they have made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

eire 2012 wrote: »
    Well whatever about muck on the road and the dangers of it I can't understand how farmers are able to get away with cutting ditches and leave the road littered with debris. One run of a sweeper would pick this debis up prob handier than muck which can get stuck to road surface very quick. I think it should be compulsorary for anyone cutting hedges to have a sweeper on front of tractor so they can clean up the mess they have made.

You've no problem with the council doing this on every road in Ireland, only the odd farmer?

munkus wrote: »
    You've no problem with the council doing this on every road in Ireland, only the odd farmer?

If the council are cutting hedges same should apply I don't really care who's cutting but the state of the roads after hedgecutting is ridiculous.Farmers may be cutting their side or top of the ditch but the debris still ends up on public road.Why should someone driving along a public road have to put up with this and who has to pay to get a puncture fixed after driving over this ,the owner of the vehicle when clearly the farmer/ council are responsible for leaving the road in a mess.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

If the council are cutting hedges same should apply I don't really care who's cutting but the state of the roads after hedgecutting is ridiculous.Farmers may be cutting their side or top of the ditch but the debris still ends up on public road.Why should someone driving along a public road have to put up with this and who has to pay to get a puncture fixed after driving over this ,the owner of the vehicle when clearly the farmer/ council are responsible for leaving the road in a mess.

maybe its better the farmers don't clip the ditches at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭mf240

maybe its better the farmers don't clip the ditches at all?

The council don't cut hardly andy ditches around here, most farmers cut them but if they don't then there just left go wild.

You've touched on an interesting point though, farmers are doing people a favour by trimming the ditches and yet people still aren't happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Sure I could be living on an estate and have people leaving there bins outside the front door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

mf240 wrote: »
    The council don't cut hardly andy ditches around here, most farmers cut them but if they don't then there just left go wild.

You've touched on an interesting point though, farmers are doing people a favour by trimming the ditches and yet people still aren't happy.

This. This right here.

We have a few other small farmers bordering us and as we live in ballygobackwards the council doesn't do our hedges. So every year the townland all chip in for a hedgecutter to get them trimmed down.
    Three houses on the lane we're on are not farming families, every year it's like pulling hens teeth trying to get the hedgecutting share of money from them.
    I know some years we just gave up asking them.

The point is being missed this is not about who's paying for to get the ditches or a clap on the back for local farmers for cutting the ditches it's about the mess left afterwards surely something should be done about it. The contractor would have the road swept in no time,he would nearly have it swept if he was doing two passes on the ditch.Im not getting at farmers but someone needs to be responsible for the mess ie farmer/contractor or council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

The point is being missed this is not about who's paying for to get the ditches or a clap on the back for local farmers for cutting the ditches it's about the mess left afterwards surely something should be done about it. The contractor would have the road swept in no time,he would nearly have it swept if he was doing two passes on the ditch.Im not getting at farmers but someone needs to be responsible for the mess ie farmer/contractor or council.

Muck on road can and has caused deaths/serious accidents.

A few thorns causes a very occasional puncture.

I drive 40-50k km per year for 15 years and have never had a puncture, mostly rural driving.

I cycle 10k km per year, all rural and haven't had a thorn puncture in 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    This. This right here.

We have a few other small farmers bordering us and as we live in ballygobackwards the council doesn't do our hedges. So every year the townland all chip in for a hedgecutter to get them trimmed down.
    Three houses on the lane we're on are not farming families, every year it's like pulling hens teeth trying to get the hedgecutting share of money from them.
    I know some years we just gave up asking them.

Just don't get the hedges cut around their houses

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just don't get the hedges cut around their houses

Not so much that but the fact that we live on a lane between two larger roads. So if we don't cut it, then it hinders us too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I would be more concerned about potholes than bits of twigs we have so many around here and the council seem to be gone into hibernation :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Not so much that but the fact that we live on a lane between two larger roads. So if we don't cut it, then it hinders us too.

Is it only in Waterford that it's obligatory to cut your own road ditches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

In fairness ye keep them well down there , its nice to see them kept so tidy .

I don't know if it's obligatory but the only bit of land we have that is next to a road is part of the bit that all the neighbours chip in for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

sheebadog wrote: »
    Was spreading dung here a few days before Xmas and one of the lads didn't close the back door properly - bloody war!! - cops at the door within minutes!!

Cops said the government provide good roads so keep them that way.
    Ended up having to make a donation to the local public services.

Spreading dung in the closed season and you let dung on the public road and you can see nothing wrong with it,what if one your family members come a long and crashed the car on this dung and was killed would you see any thing wrong then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Spreading dung in the closed season and you let dung on the public road and you can see nothing wrong with it,what if one your family members come a long and crashed the car on this dung and was killed would you see any thing wrong then.

Sheebadog farms in a different country sheep breeder so the closed seasons maybe different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Trebob

I drive a motorcycle now I know that most Irish people think we are all speed demons and maniacs and pretty much frown at us every time they see us when they are all wrapped up in there lovely cars texting and not really paying attention! Now besides all this and all the other dangers we have on our roads. This is by far the worst thing out there. The slurry and muck ect left by farmers on our roads is ridiculous and puts a lot of people's lives in danger cars, bikes cyclists all have to deal with this crap because some negligent inbred couldn't be bothered to clean up after themselves. It's a sorry state of affairs and if theses people had any decency they would sweep the road clean but decent seems to be gone these days. I've learnt that if I smell crap in the air I can garentee there'll be stuff all over the road that puts my life in danger. Clean up and we can all live happily ever after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Not the closed season here and it wasn't like it was on the road all day.
    24 ton muck spreader with back door open about a foot does leave a bit of a mess. It was operator error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Trebob wrote: »
    I drive a motorcycle now I know that most Irish people think we are all speed demons and maniacs and pretty much frown at us every time they see us when they are all wrapped up in there lovely cars texting and not really paying attention! Now besides all this and all the other dangers we have on our roads. This is by far the worst thing out there. The slurry and muck ect left by farmers on our roads is ridiculous and puts a lot of people's lives in danger cars, bikes cyclists all have to deal with this crap because some negligent inbred couldn't be bothered to clean up after themselves. It's a sorry state of affairs and if theses people had any decency they would sweep the road clean but decent seems to be gone these days. I've learnt that if I smell crap in the air I can garentee there'll be stuff all over the road that puts my life in danger. Clean up and we can all live happily ever after.
    You can guarantee if you can smell crap in the air the road is covered in muck? Even after a 2 week heat wave in summer when the ground is like concrete and considering a good percentage of farmers wouldn't need to use public roads to access their fields. We have all encountered it at some stage or another. There's nothing to be gained by exaggerating a story, What's the dig about being wrapped up in cars texting about or even got to do with it? More exaggeration!! It's obviously not acceptable to leave the road covered in muck and your right it wouldn't take that long to do a reasonable job of cleaning it with a yard brush and a shovel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

You can guarantee if you can smell crap in the air the road is covered in muck? Even after a 2 week heat wave in summer when the ground is like concrete and considering a good percentage of farmers wouldn't need to use public roads to access their fields. We have all encountered it at some stage or another. There's nothing to be gained by exaggerating a story, What's the dig about being wrapped up in cars texting about or even got to do with it? More exaggeration!! It's obviously not acceptable to leave the road covered in muck and your right it wouldn't take that long to do a reasonable job of cleaning it with a yard brush and a shovel.

I also have a motor bike and you wouldn't believe the amount of people texting while driving. It seems to be mostly younger ladies. It terrifies the crap out of me. The biggest threat to a biker is another motorist.

I won't dispute that point with but would you tar everyone with the one brush because you meet a few stupid enough to do it? I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Some fellas have to much time on there hands giving our about the roads being dirty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Trebob

Exaggerating the story, I don't think so the fact of the matter is your muck on the road is another thing I have deal with on a daly basis along with texting in cars ect. Yes I in my experience if there's a smell even in summer I know there will be crap in the road, a two week heat wave makes no difference to me even when the stuff is dry it will smell and is still lethal especially for someone on two a road bike that's not built to be drivin in a field it's Tarmac I want not wet or dried up crap on the road that my tires can't deal with. God forbid I hit that stuff at any speed in a corner I'm gone simple as it's a huge danger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Exaggerating the story, I don't think so the fact of the matter is your muck on the road is another thing I have deal with on a daly basis along with texting in cars ect. Yes I in my experience if there's a smell even in summer I know there will be crap in the road, a two week heat wave makes no difference to me even when the stuff is dry it will smell and is still lethal especially for someone on two a road bike that's not built to be drivin in a field it's Tarmac I want not wet or dried up crap on the road that my tires can't deal with. God forbid I hit that stuff at any speed in a corner I'm gone simple as it's a huge danger.

Yes it's a huge danger but so is speeding on country roads. If you take care and attention on country roads and be prepared for the fact that farmers need to get their work done you'll be fine. This is from a biking farmer

I never said it wasn't a danger, it obviously is. You came on here and tried to justify flying along on your crotch rocket by saying some crap about people texting and driving which has nothing to do with the subject. Than you stated that every time you smell dung/slurry or whatever else that you always came across a heap of muck on the road. A lot of farmers don't need to use the road to access their land and of the ones that do its a small enough percentage (of inbreds as you called them) that act the prick. Coming on here stereotyping that anyone that ever drove a car spends all their time texting and that all farmers are covering the road in muck is ridiculous to be honest. I would have agreed with you to a point on both if you hadn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Thought it was the landowners responsibility to cut his own roadside hedges.
    Around here its always the farmer who cuts the hedges;council might clip a bit at blind junctions etc but thats about it.Know that the council send out letters reminding people to cut hedges esp. if they are overgrown.

Its a pain in the a*s driving on roads where the hedge or esp. trees ,are coming out across the road.Know that mirrors for tractors ain't too cheap and after you break a few you tend to notice what idiots neglect to trim the roadside yearly.

Another pain is farmers who expect silage hay etc to be mown and harvested right close to the ditch but forget about the overhanging tree branches.Its a pain when you spend more time looking at whether the harvester chute is gonna be bent or the trailer will collect a few large branches rather than concentrate on where you are going.

Here at home get ALL the roadside ditches trimmed in the winter and the grass margin cut each summer.To be fair so do each and every one of my neighbours.Farmers around here wouldn't be too slow to comment about someone who lets his hedges grow out and it would be pointed out in a nice way that hedgecutters are ten a penny.

Think a lot of the attitude here(not saying any one poster in particular)on these sort of threads reflects the general attitude amongst farmers that we have more important things to do than worry about other peoples problems or complaints.
    Its a "get out of my way,can't you see that my silage/hay/corn /cattle/sheep are more important than obeying the rules or inconvienencing people" attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Perhaps the op could move into a urban area and avoid muck on roads and muck savages, it would seem to be the logical solution.

No, the logical solution is to tidy up after yourself when you make a mess. We teach our children to do it and its real simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Jaysus we have to hope for the roads to be in a generally good condition before we have them clean :D

But seriously, there are a few machinery drivers/farmers/contractors that are fcuking useless cleaning up after themselves.
    I wouldn't say ALL of them do it but it can't be denied it doesn't happen.

If your driving fast on a bad road, texting, and can't see a bit of muck on the road, you haven't got the sense to be on the road in the 1st place