If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Squirrels - MOD NOTE POST #60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

mathepac wrote: »
    Hopefully the hunters who hold firearms licences know.

What hunters wouldn't hold them?
    Are you implying that some of us here are breaking the laws regarding protected species?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭sniperman

QUOTE=Longranger;89444084]What hunters wouldn't hold them?[/QUOTE]
    lads with catapults:P

sniperman wrote: »
    QUOTE=Longranger;89444084]What hunters wouldn't hold them?
    lads with catapults:P[/quote]

Ah sure, tis a hoor to get a license for a black widow these days! ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 landkeeper2

don't mention cat apault agin LR :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

Longranger wrote: »
    What hunters wouldn't hold them?
    Are you implying that some of us here are breaking the laws regarding protected species?

To be fair I dont think mathpac was having a dig or implying anything like that. ..

don't mention cat apault agin LR :p

Oops! My bad! :p

aaakev wrote: »
    To be fair I dont think mathpac was having a dig or implying anything like that. ..

Fair point, it's just that sometimes us hunters don't get the credit we deserve for obeying the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

Fair point, it's just that sometimes us hunters don't get the credit we deserve for obeying the rules.

Why should we?? Stick to the rules and enjoy your hunting you dont need a pat on the back for it

aaakev wrote: »
    Why should we?? Stick to the rules and enjoy your hunting you dont need a pat on the back for it

I do enjoy my hunting and I'm not looking for a pat on the back, I'm only saying that too many people don't realize that the vast majority of us do know the laws and regulations the govern our sport,probably better than the people who wrote them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Dian Cecht

Hitchens wrote: »
    probably best to describe it as something other than sport

No it's not. It's not illegal.

probably best to describe it as something other than sport

As per forum charter we are not here to debate the morality of hunting so I'll decline to reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,115 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Dian Cecht wrote: »
    No it's not. It's not illegal.

of course, but it isn't sport as such

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,324 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

What would you define it as then??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,804 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Hopefully the hunters who hold firearms licences know.

So, given that the OP says "I missed one 3 times last night.", how do you tell the difference between a red and a grey at night?

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    What would you define it as then??

for a few years now, to avoid abuse from antis, I always describe it as an 'outdoors pursuit'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

What hunters wouldn't hold them? ...
    Hunters who do not need firearms or firearms licences. There is more to hunting than simply firing bullets or shot at birds and other animals.
    ... Are you implying that some of us here are breaking the laws regarding protected species?
    My post says what it says. Feel free to interpret as you wish, but your interpretation is your business not mine.

I am a former firearms licence holder. I disposed of my licences and firearms when my former partner moved into my home. She was nervous having the guns around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Victor wrote: »
    So, given that the OP says "I missed one 3 times last night.", how do you tell the difference between a red and a grey at night?

Seriously? if you can see the animal to shoot you can identify the species.

valerossi wrote: »
    Seriously? if you can see the animal to shoot you can identify the species.
    no sir, that's not always the case

for a few years now, to avoid abuse from antis, I always describe it as an 'outdoors pursuit'

Why not just call it what it is a field sport?? Why should you have to apologise or avoid abuse from "antis" for what you like doing?? That's their problem if they dont like it not yours. Should gay folks call themselves " peferred same sex person" just to satisify homophobes?Be proud of what you are and make no apologies for it to anyone.We are too sensitive o offending the "professional PC offended ones" these days. Theyhave the right to be offended,doesnt mean we must apologise or change to suit thier stupid life outlooks.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

[quote="

I am a former firearms licence holder. I disposed of my licences and firearms when my former partner moved into my home. She was nervous having the guns around.[/quote]

I no I no I'm always worried my guns will break out of the safe and attack me too;)

I am a former firearms licence holder. I disposed of my licences and firearms when my former partner moved into my home. She was nervous having the guns around.

Sad....:(

Why not just call it what it is a field sport?? Why should you have to apologise or avoid abuse from "antis" for what you like doing?? That's their problem if they dont like it not yours. Should gay folks call themselves " peferred same sex person" just to satisify homophobes?Be proud of what you are and make no apologies for it to anyone.We are too sensitive o offending the "professional PC offended ones" these days. Theyhave the right to be offended,doesnt mean we must apologise or change to suit thier stupid life outlooks.

it's just the way of the world now, my grandparents generation always referred to the members of the travelling community as tinkers, they meant no offence but you cannot do the same now

no sir, that's not always the case

Not having a go here but nobody in the right mind shoots at an unidentified animal so yes it's always the case end of

valerossi wrote: »
    Not having a go here but nobody in the right mind shoots at an unidentified animal so yes it's always the case end of
    as you will

it's just the way of the world now, my grandparents generation always referred to the members of the travelling community as tinkers, they meant no offence but you cannot do the same now

Why not?? When people stop referring to us as "blood morons" Gun nuts" " Bambi killers etc..then I'll respect their "feelings"of how they would like to be addressed ..Give an attitude,you 'll get it back

ok chief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Dian Cecht

I hunt & shoot and I do so legally. I abide by all legislation. I'll not pander to anyone because they disagree with what I do. I engage in shooting sports. It's a pity these antis that some of you are pandering to do don't seem to have the same regard for the rights of others or the laws of this fine land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I vote for live cage traps! Can easily identify wether red or grey, and their much more effective than trying to shoot them!
    Also means no led in the meat so good for eating!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Ya leave the place for a few hours and it falls to pieces.

Those that thought my previous warnings were "just a notice to be ignored" have been dealt with. All the fighting, name calling, and back seat modding posts have also been removed.

It seems some people are just not content with letting the matter be so here it is. Feral cats, and i stress Feral, are not protected under any laws. They have the same right to humane treatment/dispatch as a rabbit, deer, fox, etc. but that is it. There is no control of cats act. Family pets are not counted as they will be either collared or in the home if the owner is responsible for their pet. All dogs must be controlled, collared, licensed, etc, etc. and even they can be shot for protection of livestock, and other reasons. Legitimately. So Feral cats are no different.

What constitutes a feral cat? Well that is not for me to decide or make a call on. Each person must judge that for themselves. I do not condone the random shooting of cats without taking some steps to see if it is a family pet or not. I also do not condemn any one that shoots, what they believe to be, a feral cat.

This topic rears it's head every few months, and every time it does the Mods are forced to delete, edit, and generally moderate the crap out of the thread until it becomes too much of a headache, looses any positive comments, and is closed. Seems this has not changed.

I will make one last effort to have the thread opened and be left opened. Any, and i mean any, out of line or nonsense posts will result in infractions, bans and a permanent closing of the thread.

Please stick to the topic of squirrels as the OP outlined previously.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXHUNTER1

i have shot thousands of grey squirrels starting with an air rifle when i was in my early teens then a 410 and a 12 bore. the only time i have used anything bigger than a 7 in a shotgun is maybe a bb or such on a high drey we couldn't reach with the poking poles but maybe squirrels have got tougher of late :cool:

It's a wonder there are any left at all ye must be some shot:eek: