Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

We're shi# and we know we are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

One highlight is Valencia has looked like his old self.

Himself and Kagawa have shown some real quality tonight.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Posted this in the wrong topic...

I mean, what can you say.

Yeah, Evra scored an amazing goal, and gave us 22 seconds of bliss....but his defense cost us the game tonight :/ Rooney was dreadful all night and shouldn't have lasted too far into the second half, but for some reason, Moyes refuses to take him off, taking off Welbeck who at least looked a bit dangerous. But then that sums up the season; doesn't matter how bad some players do, they are, for some reason, untouchable.

For all Moyes does to make us defensively sound, we sure let goals in quickly when the other team pushes; as soon as Bayern started playing, they put three past us with ease. The one thing Moyes tries to do, and he really can't. And if the plan is to defend half the night, steal a goal and try and sneak through...it might help if we actually defended after scoring.

Valencia and Welbeck did ok, and I say that as possibly their biggest critic. Jones did well, Smalling did ok. Kagawa had good moments. But just not good enough tonight.

Sums up our season though; a short glimmer of hope, followed rather quickly by utter destruction :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭eigrod

They capitulated once they went a goal up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Valiant defensive display but once we conceded we were gone.

Please please let Moyes be gone in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

We're shi# and we know we are...
    We're not ****, but it was one step too far for our old guys at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

sky88 wrote: »
    I would love to the stat of how many goals teams have scored from our left

olympiacos could have scored 4 down the left in 2nd leg anyway.. evra was shocking in that game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

Valencia had a great match in fairness to him. Rooney was utterly terrible. Kagawa was ok. Our midfield was non existent but that was always going to be the case. Jones was very good, as was smalling and vidic bar the muller goal. Evra was terrible defensively.

Disappointing end to a disappointing season.

That's the last time we're gonna see champions league for a couple of years at least.

Gutted :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

adox wrote: »

Please please let Moyes be gone in the summer.

Not going to happen!

:(

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ician wrote: »
    apart from Thursday nights and the bloody europa league

In all fairness ye are not even qualifying for that at the moment. Only 5th and 6th will qualify for that from the league this season. Either way, despite the CL place for winning the EL next season, I doubt it'll be a priority unless the league is going tits up again and ye are still in the EL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Thought the ref had a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭irishgoldberg

adox wrote: »

Please please let Moyes be gone in the summer morning.

But in all seriousness, they did better over the 2 legs than most people expected, but maybe that's not saying much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

well played just not good enough. valencia played his best game for united in a long time. kagawa was very classy with the ball tonight. jones smalling very good. evra was also very good. rooney was awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Evra scored a cracker, but as I said before the match, he cost us dearly at the back. Very poor for the first two goals.
    We did ok considering we have nothing in midfield. Carrick was bloody shocking!

Team needs four or five top players, no matter who want in there as manager, we need to overhaul the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Go slump and sulk in some other teams dugout, Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Don;t really think that was much Moyes' fault. We would've struggled against that side with any manager. We needed Rooney up there to take all the chances we got and he was abysmal. Clearly wasn't fit/bothered. Very annoyed with that because the rest of the team really played like United players. Evra was caught out for the goal granted but he played a blinder all things considered.

Valencia was class. Has been much better recently. Welbeck too. Ah well. Hopefully something outrageous happens in the league and we make it top 4. Imma find it hard not having CL next season.

So before I get banned from the Match threads. Let us all bid the CL adieu together

*Group hug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Rooney played with a broken toe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Though Kagawa was a class above everyone tonight, touch was fantastic took players on brave performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Tony V, Phil Jones and Smalling gave their all out there. We saw the two sides of Evra, unfortunately he can't defend for ****e and was at fault for the goals. Rooney wasn't at the races at all tonight. BIG BIG decisions for the board now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,248 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Actually think Moyes will be given another full season after the two leg performance.

Vidic,Evra,Carrick are all done. Kroos will hopefully replace Carrick with Carvallho in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭xtal191

Kagawa was great, Moyes better not sell him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Nolars wrote: »
    rooney, welbeck, evra and carrick let us down tonight. Carrick cant hack it at this level.

Welbeck was class, Evra had a blinder bar losing his man for the goal. Evra let us down? You mean the guy that went and scored a belter. Even if the goal was his fault. Id take him scoring 1 and making us concede one because that 1 goal was an away goal and brought the tie level. Do people just think its fashionable to berate the same players week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

5starpool wrote: »
    In all fairness ye are not even qualifying for that at the moment. Only 5th and 6th will qualify for that from the league this season.
    We'll finish at least 6th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Lads youse are worse for rising to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Having watched Atletico Madrid tonight, Utd should look to replace Vidic with Diego Godin.

He was phenomenal against Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

One massive positive tonight will be that Moyes knows he can trust Kagawa to put in a high tempo relatively solid defensive shift. Hopefully this means we will see him start almost all of our remaining games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

At least we did better than Barcelona did against Munich last year. I think we all expectedthings to be a lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

beno619 wrote: »
    Though Kagawa was a class above everyone tonight, touch was fantastic took players on brave performance.

hes the only player not afraid to actually take a touch on the ball and look for a pass

Heartbreak, If anybody wants to oppose my view on this I'm not up to defending my opinions :(

For 60 minutes we limited them to nothing, and For 60 mins Evra played the best he has played all season and then scores a cracker...1 minute later he has a defensive lapse and it's game over.

Bitterly disappointed with Wayne Rooney tonight, the ball fell to him multiple times in the box and his general control & efforts looked so weak.

Antonio Valencia, Chris Smalling, Kagawa, Welbeck, & Phil Jones all had excellent games and deserve credit.

The Game opened up as soon as we conceded and the initial shock from the equalizer so soon has killed the game for us.
    Everybody can winge and cry about wanting Moyes out but I believe this was a disciplined performance and if only we had have held that concentration for 5 minutes this would have turned out a very different affair.

Feeling the pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

So no Europe for the forseeable future, or definitely no CL at least. Team needs investment, but surely a 4-2 aggregate loss to Bayern isn't enough to save Moyes' job? Let's not forget the disgraceful domestic season we've had.

Hope the board make the right decision.