Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Players who will NEVER win a major

• 09-03-2014 07:54PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭

Lee Westwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I think a bit like Darren , Lee will win one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭flashjohn

I think a bit like Darren , Lee will win one.
    He is like Monty, bags it on the big stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Most of us on here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,258 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Westwood's chance has come and gone imo, can't see him winning one now

Le Requin wrote: »
    Westwood's chance has come and gone imo, can't see him winning one now

Sure everyone said that about Clarke.

Poulter, Donald

Like I can say 100 s of players that will never win a major.
    But it is s dangerous game to pick a player that has won nearly 40 times around the world.

There are very average players who won majors.
    There are fantastic players who haven't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

There are very average players who won majors.
    There are fantastic players who haven't.

Completely agree.
    Who'd have thought John Daly would win one!
    And poor ol' Greg blocked so many times too who certainly deserved one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

shane 007 wrote: »
    Completely agree.

Daly won two majors, as did Greg Norman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Completely agree.

The British open/open championship still counts as a major :-)
    He won it twice

Completely agree.

John Daly was a fantastic golfer
    and
    Greg won 2 and should have won 7 or 8.

It is rare you have an average golfer who wins 2.

The problem is that when pressure in is on, some dont handle it. The British media heap pressure on their boys where as in Irish media are diff, suppose you could draw parallels with England footbal team?

Sure everyone said that about Clarke.

That's true. I don't think he looks the same player since he went full time on the PGA tour though. With the career he's had he probably deserves a major to be fair. He really should have won the Open in 09 and I doubt he'll ever get a better chance.

Completely agree.

Not sure if serious. Quality player, should have won more if anything.

flashjohn wrote: »
    The problem is that when pressure in is on, some dont handle it. The British media heap pressure on their boys where as in Irish media are diff, suppose you could draw parallels with England footbal team?

But I guess hype is relative to expectations - The Irish with a sniff of a win in anything are the biggest hype merchants going.

World Cups
    Rugby
    Olympics
    Tiddleywinks

I don't mean to be the Devil's advocate - but it is a bit populist to say Monty wasn't good enough or Lee will not win one.

They are Premier League compared to

Rose
    Cink
    Glover
    Curtis
    Campbell
    Hamilton

Monty and Westwood are maybe in the top 20 - 30 golfers any of us on here have ever seen. Certainly for lads under 40.

I like to see the best players pick up majors - hopefully Lee gets one.
    The Same lads would be downing pints to a Ryder Cup if the 2 lads above were in it - going " Isn't that pure class loike"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

Garcia !

Garcia !

And another - I don't like some of these lads - but he will win one.

John Daly was a fantastic golfer
    and
    Greg won 2 and should have won 7 or 8.

It is rare you have an average golfer who wins 2.

Yes, Daly won 2 but IMO I don't think he shoud have. At the time, if I can remember correctly he was in his wild spell & if clean, he could have achieved so much more. Compared to the commitment of others that is.
    I forgot about Norman winning as my memory of him was always of him losing out to Faldo in Augusta.
    I think memory see saws with excitement. The days I get excited the less I remember. Must be an age thing....

Isn't the point that the guys who won deserved it and the guys who didn't win didn't deserve it?

flashjohn wrote: »
    Isn't the point that the guys who won deserved it and the guys who didn't win didn't deserve it?

Yes they deserved it that week - they go down in history.
    But timing and luck play a part for some. I think it is a regret for a career , but there is more to a golf career than majors

At times The Open Championship is a lottery - even the draw on day 1 and 2 can be a big factor.

But - to simplify to deserve - they both deserve multiple majors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Montgomerie dominated Europe for 7 years; the only thing more astonishing than the fact he hasnt won a major is that he hasnt won an official tournament in America.Winged Foot in 06 must still torture him, not because it would have disqualified him from the 'best player never to have won a major' list, but because it would have earned him a semblance of the respect he deserves from audiences across the pond.

Having said that, he had his chance and blew it, so Id have serious doubts that Westwood wont folllow suit in that regard. Muirfield was bitterly disappointing from Westy, not least because I had money on him. His game cracked under the pressure, simple as.

Poulter is also a concern. His grandstanding on 18 at Birkdale after holing a 12 footer for a par and an eventual 4 shot deficit to P Harrington shows a distinct lack of understanding as to what it takes to actually win a major

Donald and Garcia have had a few knocks, but at least they still have good will on their sides. Dustin Johnston really should win a major but hes another man who seems to dislike pressure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

I forgot about Norman winning as my memory of him was always of him losing out to Faldo in Augusta.

That's a shame because he really should be remembered as a champion. FWIW he won the same number of majors as Tony Jacklin, Johnny Miller, Ben Crenshaw, Bernhard Langer and a few other big names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Tiddleywinks

I don't mean to be the Devil's advocate - but it is a bit populist to say Monty wasn't good enough or Lee will not win one.

They are Premier League compared to

Rose
    Cink
    Glover
    Curtis
    Campbell
    Hamilton

I don't think Rose belongs on that list or at a minimum, he won't by the end of his career when he'll be a multiple major champion in my opinion.

That's a shame because he really should be remembered as a champion.

Don't worry. I found out tonight I won't be cut for my good play today & his majors all came back to me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭finix

Cant see Harrington ever winning another one. He over analyses' himself too much !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

Monty definitely deserved to win a major for all he did in golf, but his record in the actual majors is really, really poor.

He never contended in the Open (he was second one year, but never under pressure as Tiger romped home).

Never contended at Augusta - granted that course was never going to suite his fade.

Contended once at the PGA.

US OPEN really suited him. - he should have won at least twice

Never won a WGC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We could very well be talking about Harrington here. Remember he made mess really of 18th at Carnouiste although was great chip to save for bogey. Had Garcia got his putt on 18 we could very well have seen Garcia on 3 majors and Harrington on none.

Fair play to Harrington, took his chance and really deserved his Double major wins in 2008.

Regarding the question. Very hard to know. I still think 2 from Garcia, Westwood and Donald will win one. But I think one if not 2 of these players will miss out.

Love see Garcia win one personally but his putting has so let him down.

Really tough question to answer as all a top class Golfer needs is one very good week which all are capable of.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Extremely tough question. The amount of people I have met who claim greg Norman never won a major is amazing.

But to answer the question I would say Garcia. I always think he "gets in his own way" to re use a phrase. And after his decision making at sawgrass last year on 17 I doubt he has what's needed on the back 9 of a major to close it out. Which is a shame.

I also agree with an earlier post defending Rose. With that swing, a major and a wgc I can see him adding another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

this has come up mant times here.
    Why do people go on about Monty etc never winning a major,there are only 4 per year.
    For every Monty,there's a Tod Hamilton,if it's so hard to win one how come Shaun Michel,Darren Clarke etc have won 1.

A lot of luck is required as much as anything,anyone who says Westwood/Garcia will never win one will probably be proved correct bot only because odds are against them.

You can also win one almost by default by posting a great score and no one ends up catching you,there are many ways to win one but there are so many factors at play i think one the most important of those is luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Joe Doe

Can I be controversial? And say that nice fellow RoryMc will be a long time before winning his next major.

...Don't get me wrong I do like the fellow and all he has achieved to date is simply superb.

But the reasoning behind this is simply and purely based on something he said post-match on tv last year which was along the lines of "I'm gonna start treating golf more like a business from now on". And well ever since then things haven't been great for him.

Now if you turn your passion and talent into a balance sheet and become concerned with how much your bottom line cash-flow churn can generate for you and how much your new sponsors will pay, surely this is slightly in conflict with (most peoples) integrity.

Did Jimi Hendrix, Pablo Picasso or Maradona primarily focus on the moola or did they perfrom their art for arts sake, and to the best of their ability i.e. to push themselves to the limit, irrelevant of the path to maximum cashflow.

I'd say Rory will win one this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Joe Doe wrote: »
    Can I be controversial? And say that nice fellow RoryMc will be a long time before winning his next major.

...Don't get me wrong I do like the fellow and all he has achieved to date is simply superb.

But the reasoning behind this is simply and purely based on something he said post-match on tv last year which was along the lines of "I'm gonna start treating golf more like a business from now on". And well ever since then things haven't been great for him.

Now if you turn your passion and talent into a balance sheet and become concerned with how much your bottom line cash-flow churn can generate for you and how much your new sponsors will pay, surely this is slightly in conflict with (most peoples) integrity.

Did Jimi Hendrix, Pablo Picasso or Maradona primarily focus on the moola or did they perfrom their art for arts sake, and to the best of their ability i.e. to push themselves to the limit, irrelevant of the path to maximum cashflow.

Would you be prepared to put your money where your mouth is with this prediction?

explain please.

Well is ranked 6th I think, where based on his potential talent should place at 1st/2nd. Now it may even have been 2yr ago when I heard that phrase (see earlier), and there was a slump, problems with new clubs and some crash n burns ever since then

Recently slipped up on the Honda Classic (I didn't back him into final round) instead got good prices on the other 3 leaders e.g. Russell Henley at 28/1 (thats were the money/mouth went) etc... on the backs of my regular 4/5-way accumulators - even while Rory was 3/1 fav. ~ Reasoning: He has a slight tendency to blow it when under pressure.

Sure he will finish top 6 or 10 for rest of the year, likely some 'missing the cut' and 'maybe' even a win (once), but money will be elsewhere on higher prices/value :)

The point is 'you should do whatever you do with your heart and soul, not with your wallet at forefront of your mind'.

Wow! That's a fairly epic post.
    Jimi, Picasso, Maradona... Mmmh, maybe Rory needs to get onto some class A's.

I am sure Rory said he was hungry at some stage last year, for that reason I believe he will develop an eating disorder, gain 12 stone and never win another major.

What's a bottom line cash flow churn?

He may have a bit of a wait for his next major but I don't think the lack of an heroin addiction, or him overdosing on series of the Apprentice, will be the reasons.

Time for bed Joe,you've had a drink...yes?

Link to Rorys quote pls,I'm guessing he meant he was going to dedicate himself more,he is fitter that ever.
    He has so much power harnessing that speed consistantly is the only real problem he has(oh and his putts do get pushed a bit)

Ur not a golfer Joe are you?

Hey Joe,

Light up another one :)

http://youtu.be/TcYOy6I6OR8

golfer, no. Win a lot of accumulators, yes.

Was hoping someone else could recall that quote also, the contents did remark along the lines of "going to start treating this game more like a proper business". Was after tournament 1/2yrs ago and since then he's still been good, but nowhere like the form previous to that date. Once I heard it knew instantly this isn't the ideal perspective for talent to view itself. (Whether your an artist/sportstar/musician or anyone who has god given talent). Surely you play the game for the love of the game as the 1st objective? Money should be 2nd.

Again the point is he's good, sure. Would treating the game more like a game and less like a business make him better?
    Possibly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭h2005

And another - I don't like some of these lads - but he will win one.

Don`t see it. He`s the biggest bottle job in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anybody fancy a non Major winner to win one in next 2-3 years?

Jason Day obvious standout

Think Patrick Reed has proved he has what it takes.

Joost Luiten is a guy starting to play well in Europe and some nice stuff in States.

There is few more but I reckon 1 of them will win a major in next few years

big shout on last 2 but sure never know

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

As we've seen in the past when McIlroy turns it on, no-one lives with him. I think he'll win a major this year and I really hope it's one he wins playing average (by his standards) and grinding out a one shot victory rather than another 8 stroke breeze. If he could get into the habit of winning when not at his best, there's really no telling what he could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

It's astounding that people think Rory won't win another major.
    He has played ok this year so far bar 9 holes last Sunday.

He has been there or there abouts each time he's played and he is yet to even play near his best for a full tournament. When he does he will not be beat.

Rory at 80% is better than nearly the whole field at 100%

It's far more likely tiger will not win another one IMO.

I think there's more chance of Rory winning another 5-6 than tiger winning 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Joost Luiten is a guy starting to play well in Europe and some nice stuff in States.

Jordan Spieth

I wouldn't have said this 6 months ago but I think Rickki Fowler may win one over the next few years.

Have went from not liking him to being a bit of a fan. Probably down to the haircut :) between his hair and hunters smig going both resulting in me changing my "liking" of them, I'm really looking at the important things ;)

Joking aside, Fowler has done serious work on his swing with Butch of late and I think he'll finally start to deliver on some of his early promise.
    Orange and the green jacket mightn't go, but I fancy him for a US Open in the next few years.

I'd say Day will win one , if he doesn't get in his own way.

PARlance wrote: »
    I wouldn't have said this 6 months ago but I think Rickki Fowler may win one over the next few years.

Have went from not liking him to being a bit of a fan. Probably down to the haircut :) between his hair and hunters smig going both resulting in me changing my "liking" of them, I'm really looking at the important things ;)

Joking aside, Fowler has done serious work on his swing with Butch of late and I think he'll finally start to deliver on some of his early promise.
    Orange and the green jacket mightn't go, but I fancy him for a US Open in the next few years.

You do that a bit PARlance - is your judgement of people poor :P;)

ForeRight wrote: »
    It's astounding that people think Rory won't win another major.
    He has played ok this year so far bar 9 holes last Sunday.

He has been there or there abouts each time he's played and he is yet to even play near his best for a full tournament. When he does he will not be beat.

Rory at 80% is better than nearly the whole field at 100%

It's far more likely tiger will not win another one IMO.

I think there's more chance of Rory winning another 5-6 than tiger winning 1.

I think Rory is a bit too up and down - but he will grow out of that.

He will win many of his majors by record margins.
    I'm talking 5, 6, 7 shots sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

23 of the last 40 majors have been won by first timers. Take out Woods and Mickelson and its 23 out of 30.
    As someone said earlier they're all good players and it only takes a good week to win.

23 of the last 40 majors have been won by first timers. Take out Woods and Mickelson and its 23 out of 30.
    As someone said earlier they're all good players and it only takes a good week to win.

That is it above.

Even these lads that are chokers - there are some , if everything is right they will pick one up.
    And once you have one - it is so much easier to do it again.

You do that a bit PARlance - is your judgement of people poor :P;)

I'm fairly "fixed" in my opinions of people normally. But them cutting their locks may be the key to unlocking my much sought after acceptance for the tour pro ;):)

See you at 3pm. PW or 9i?