Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done. Am delighted for you. Onwards and upwards from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

tang1 wrote: »
    74.55 for me, delighted with that off limited training. Murph powered to a 3 min PB in 74.19, kept with him till last mile where he left me for dead, great running D, hope i helped in someway. Anna bet her goal in 10k to, nice to meet you Anna.

Will do somekind of report when i return to civilisation, for now back to no mobile reception & few of these bad-boys, think i deserve them!!

Well done Tang, great run, how did the body hold up?

Don't let Murph drink too much Sherry :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great run, B and yes, you certainly helped, no doubt at all about that. I'll go into more detail in my own report. Thanks and well done. And congrats on your longest run of the year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Nice one, B. That's good running. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great to see this Tang - well done, onwards and upwards :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Just catching up. Nice work hitting the target. Mind the recovery :) (from the beers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

First and foremost, thanks a million folks for all the good lucks & well dones over the past number of days, its very much appreciated and is a great confidence boost going into a race.

Friday 13.3.15

3.15miles@9.05min/miles in 28mins 37secs

Just few handy miles to keep legs going, i always like to run the day before a race.

Saturday 14.3.15

Cara Bundoran 10 mile in 74mins 55sec

Pre-race:

This is the one race every year i look to enter, i just love it. I could not fault it in anyway, its always well marshaled, good honest route that will test you, great atmosphere and the finish running down along the Atlantic Ocean to your left is breathtaking if you have the energy left to take it in. I had told Murph_D earlier in the year i'd run with him and help him PB, little did i know my return to fitness would take longer than i hoped but if anything i'm a stubborn fcuker and i was going to help him as much as i could.

Race:

Got to the race a little late and only had time to do a half mile warm up, bumped into Murph quickley enough, he was looking mean & fit sporting his Crusaders colours. Moaned a bit about my ITB to him and the other niggles i was having before we were called to the start, started mid-pack out of the close to 900 people who started. We figured no point bolting off at the start, keep it steady for first few miles and see how we were.

Gun went and we started weaving for first 500-600 metres through people who had no business starting where they started, the first mile is flat and brings you out if Bundoran towards Sligo, plenty of locals out shouting encouragement which is always great to see, first mile went in 7.33, bit over target, but it was well early days. The next two miles or so are the hardest on the route its a deceptive climb the whole way till you reach the turn off for Tullaghan, we took turns in moving through the field, mile two beeping in 7.32. We still worked our way past runners, we definitely past alot more than past us by the finish line, odd bits of conversation taking place, like admiring a blonde lady who was running on her tippy-toes, both remarking how we would love to be able to run like that!!

We turned off for Tullaghan and hit mile three in 7.27, working our way back towards target time, the next few miles were net downhill and were quick, i noticed Murph was better at running downhill than me so i let him lead the way, started to feel the pressure a bit here and told Murph as such, he told me to keep working and see how i got on, i was brought up to respect my elders so i done as i was told, still passing plenty of runners through mile four in 7.07. That mile bit me in the hole big time, i was blowing out of my backside as we approached Tullaghan village. Grabbed a bottle of water, took a few swigs and some over the head to cool off, i felt worse, the few mouthfuls of water had taken my breath and i was suffering to stick the pace now.

Murph opened up a few yards of a gap here, he looked back but i told him to plough on that i was done, he reluctantly did so. Mile five beeped in 7.17, before we made our way back out onto the bypass for a tough second five miles. I was really working here, could see Murph getting further & further away, thoughts of jacking it went through my head, you got Murph this far, pack it in, you cant sustain this pace till the finish, your race is done. I dont know what happened or how, but i got a second wind from somewhere and started to feel good again, mile six was obviously slowest so far in 7.41. Started working my way past runners again, getting closer to Murph with every stride. Theres a nasty little drag on the bypass that is tougher than it appears so aimed to try catch up here. Eventually i came up behind Murph and uttered something like "keep pushing it" as i wiped spit from my mouth.

Pulled alongside him and we started working off each other again, D mentioned he suffered with a stitch for a while, if he did he never showed it. Remarked before we hit seven miles, that we only had a parkrun left. Mile seven beeped in 7.46 but things were good again. We again took it in turns working through runners wishing for the bypass to finish, came off the bypass at mile eight and it past in 7.23. I said to D as we approached KFC that i had just past my longest distance run wise(great preparation me) for the year.

There was people out cheering and supporting again to make things a little easier, we past by KFC and down by the back of Bundoran Golf Club towards the last dreaded hill at Roughey. At mile nine which past in 7.27 i told Murph to push for home, my left hammer was cramping on me and i had to ease off the pace a bit. I made sure to enjoy the last mile, admiring the view off the Athlantic Ocean as i made my way to the finish. Roughey proved a mighty adversary as it always does, rounded the corner to the left and half a mile downhill to the finish, picked the pace up to the fastest i could manage and counted off the number of people i past to the finish, 15 in total, i crossed the line with five seconds to spare on 75 mins but with a massive smile on my face.

Made my way through the finish line where Murph had a big well done & firm handshake for me. We were both very happy with the work we had put in, me especially. There was not one step of the race i did not enjoy, and having the pleasure of running with D made it all the better, thanks for that Dennis you made me work but it was worth it. We waited till annapr finished her 10k, she was again happy & bagged herself a new PB, like all Donegal women, shes a lady.

Verdict:

Happy with the performance & time for the minute, i wont be resting on my laurels. Will take it easy this week but will start a P&D 12 week plan next week targeting 42.xx 10k in Dunshaughlin on 20th of June. Have a few tune up 5ks lined up also.

Finish line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Brilliant report B. You had me wishing I was there! Sounds like you both benefited from each other on that one. Fair play. That was a good run from you all things considered. I think you just need to be a little more patient and you'll get back to where you want to be. Keep the faith. It'll come again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

B, great report - you're being generous in your description of my contribution though. I've never really worked with another runner in a race and I think you made a lot more of the running than I did. Definitely a huge assist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great report, Barry, loved the vision of spit flying out of you on the bypass :)

That Roughey hill is well named!!!!! Cruel to have it at the 9th km/mile... but almost worth it for the downhill spurt to the finish.

Zero running or training this week, i ate my body weight in homemade coffee cake & scones last week in Ballyshannon!! The left ITB is feeling all the better for the rest thankfully. Now if things go as planned i hope to run maybe a 5k or 10k PB before the year is out.

A 12 week P&D 10k plan starts Monday with a view at running 42.xx in Dunshaughlin come mid June, now this is slow compared to most around here and its slow to what i would have had in my head compared to the times i was running this time 2 years ago, but two years of injury put a block on that.

Regardless Dunshaughlin 10km on June 20th 2015 is the current goal & aim. Its a race and course i know extremely well, usually driving the course at least 4-5 times a week in my working week. I will run three 5ks as a tune up and hope to go sub 20 in at least one to give me somekind of confidence going into Dunshaughlin.

Will run the following beforehand:

- North West Kildare AC 5k 19.4.15 @ 11am(had hoped to run PK5K the evening before but i'm not allowed).
    - Tallaght AC 5k 3.5.15.
    - Na Fianna/ Bob Heffernan 5k 19.5.15(best hope of sub 20 i feel)

Maybe run Trim 5km on 12.6.15 a week before Dunshaughlin. Please feel free to be critical/abusive regarding my training. I will max out at 35miles a week, reason being my body will not take much more at the minute, if only i had two rights legs at the minute i would be flying!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Only catcing up here now B.
    Well done last week and best of luck for the summer/rest of the year.
    Onwards & upwards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Good luck with the new training plan, Barry!

Today 23.3.15

7miles@8.22min/miles in 58min 35secs

Back into it today after 9 days complete rest, legs are always sluggish after sustained rest and today was no different. Took few miles for the legs to get going, the left ITB felt fine on this so hopefully the rest has sorted the problem out, have started wearing compression socks on some of my runs to keep pressure on the leg it feels like its helping or maybe thats just in my head!!!

I have a set of 5 x 800s in the plan for later in the week, not wanting to sound stupid, what recovery time should i be doing between them? If anybody can advise me i'd appreciate it, long time since i done a set of 800s.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

P&D recommend 50-90% of the interval distance as a recovery distance. e.g. 400-720m recovery.

That's for a jogging recovery, standing recovery I'm not so sure.

adrian522 wrote: »
    P&D recommend 50-90% of the interval distance as a recovery distance. e.g. 400-720m recovery.

That's for a jogging recovery, standing recovery I'm not so sure.

Cheers, would 90secs to 2mins be something similiar? Never good at understanding the technical aspect of plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi tang, what's the plan? I'm finding that 1 min rec generally equals 100m jog but recovery length will depend on the purpose of the session too.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi tang, what's the plan? I'm finding that 1 min rec generally equals 100m jog but recovery length will depend on the purpose of the session too.

Its P&D 12 week10k plan Dubgal, this is probably the first plan i will follow properly. I would have previously trained in a makey-uppy as i go along kind of way so its a good 2 yrs if not longer since i done 800s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

What pace are you doing them at? If I was doing them at anything faster than 10k pace I'd take 3 min jog recovery :)

Going by McMillan i should be doing them at between 3.13-3.22 which is 5k pace or faster currently. P&D recommends do them at 5k pace.

I'd agree with CM. If you are struggling to maintain pace, increase the recovery as necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

The last plan I followed with 800mtrs @ 5k pace had me down for 200mtr recovery jogs - have never followed P&D so no use to you on that score!

The magic meno plan had 6x800 at 5k pace. If I'm not mistaken it was a 90 sec standing rec

RedRunner wrote: »
    The magic meno plan had 6x800 at 5k pace. If I'm not mistaken it was a 90 sec standing rec

Cheers R, i'll start out at 90 secs jog recovery & if needs be i'll do a 90 sec standing recovery.

Just checked our schedule and confirmed with clubmate: we're down for 6x800m tomorrow at 5k pace with 2 min rec but more if needed. Hope that helps! I think 90 secs might put you under too much pressure, especially if this is your first session like that in a couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

tang1 wrote: »
    Cheers R, i'll start out at 90 secs jog recovery & if needs be i'll do a 90 sec standing recovery.

Standing recovery is more difficult tang. Jog recovery disperses lactate and slows down buildup while lactate buildup spikes when you use standing recovery. There is no muscle contraction to help blood flow to clear it so it hangs around.

I'm with DG on this too. I'd use a far longer recovery too because you haven't done a session in a while.

Ok i'll bow down to better & more experienced people than myself on this, 3 mins jog recovery it will be so. Thanks folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Standing recovery is more difficult tang. Jog recovery disperses lactate and slows down buildup while lactate buildup spikes when you use standing recovery. There is no muscle contraction to help blood flow to clear it so it hangs around.

I'm with DG on this too. I'd use a far longer recovery too because you haven't done a session in a while.

Yeah I would agree with this. I used to think that standing recovery was the only way to get through a session (having never done anything else!), but having recently done jog recoveries it actually is much easier!!

Tang, I agree with the others, take conservative recoveries on your first session back and if you feel good doing so, you can slightly reduce the recovery on subsequent sessions. Maintaining pace with reduced recovery is a good sign of progress.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Yeah I would agree with this. I used to think that standing recovery was the only way to get through a session (having never done anything else!), but having recently done jog recoveries it actually is much easier!!

Tang, I agree with the others, take conservative recoveries on your first session back and if you feel good doing so, you can slightly reduce the recovery on subsequent sessions. Maintaining pace with reduced recovery is a good sign of progress.

Cheers meno.

menoscemo wrote: »

I'll just edit that spreadsheet then !;)