Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The truth about obesity

• 25-02-2014 3:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭scouser82

I came across this comment on an article found here:

http://www.diet-blog.com/10/fatorexia_overweight_people_who_deny_they_are_fat.php
    Oh give up this “fat-people-are-victims” agenda. Humans are the only species that suffer from this “overweight” isssue (with the exception of domestic pets who are under the control of their owners). It is completely unnatural to be overweight. For the entire span of the human species, we have not been seriously epidemically obese other than in the past fifty to a hundred years. Stop blaming “genes” and “metabolisms”. Its been long debunked that fat people are at the mercy of “slow” metabolisms. Fat people have FASTER metabolisms because they are forced to digest a much larger amount of food and work much harder than that of a slimmer person. And these “fat genes” – why do they only exist in north america and western Europe and seem to be curiously missing in places like ethiopia and calcutta. This first-world-over-eating-idle-generation, gaining ridiculous amounts of weight, and then trying to demand and dictate the opinion of the rest of the population by crying that other people have to see them as “beautiful”, is ridiculous. Fat people are not victims. Their situation is 100% the result of their own choices and actions. That’s why no one buys the cry of sympathy you all insist you are entitled to. There are people out there with real problems and real diseases and real disabilities, and they are victims. These people have no control over what happens to them. It is physically and biologically IMPOSSIBLE to reduce caloric intake below caloric output and NOT lose weight. Don’t confuse not wanting to do something with not being able to do something.

I believe this poster has hit the nail on the head. So many great points which are hard to argue against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Just posting here so I can find this thread tomorrow and read the 5hitstorm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Obviously.

Obesity is not a disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Ok....?

I've never met someone who was overweight that thinks it isn't their fault or to do with their diet.
    Most just have a problem admitting they're too lazy to do anything about it or are in denial that they're actually fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

It's been a while since there was a fat thread. Prepare to have everyone agree with you!

And also some disagree with you just to prove me wrong.

Coverin' all my bases, and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

*follows*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭chuckyarelaw

So's your face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

So's your face

in my pants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I kinda believe in the fast metabilism thingy. I only eat fast food, don't excersize and never had any intrest in sports and yet i'm only 11 stone. 21 years of age and i'm just over 6ft..

Don't know how i'm so skinny considering..

My point is everyone has different circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

carzony wrote: »
    I kinda believe in the fast metabilism thingy. I only eat fast food, don't excersize and never had any intrest in sports and yet i'm only 11 stone. 21 years of age and i'm just over 6ft..

Yes but how much of the fast food do you eat?
    Also your arteries and that are probably clogged to crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Fast food gives you a fast metabolism.

I'd be fairly big at 18+ stone. Too big, actually, and I'm not exactly fond of my body.

However (and I'm sure I'll be called everything under the sun, this being AH and all :rolleyes: ) it's a bit of a double edged sword.

I am bored a lot (and eat due to it). When I'm bored I'll just eat endlessly as something to do to pass the time. Sounds a bit odd, I know, but gives you something to do.

I'd like to go to the gym, play a sport, etc. but I'd be in terrible shape and i'd be far too anxious (have tried in the past, and failed, multiple times). I'm far, far too self-conscious.

So instead of doing these things, I stay home... and eat more.

I'm well aware I'm overweight. Earlier in my life I was crippled with depression and social anxiety disorder (which still has effects on me, obviously). I have literally no social life as I've lost touch with all of my friends (and anytime I get invited anywhere I generally tend to opt-out, as I fear my weight will cause me issue or embarrassment somewhere along the way).

So instead of going out for a laugh or heading to the cinema or bowling to kill an hour.. I stay home.. and eat.

It's an incredibly vicious cycle and I never feel good about it. Literally sucks your will to live out of you, and I have no motivation or enthusiasm for everyday tasks.

Being noticeably overweight is a mental issue as much as it is a physical one.

BUT, Here's where I get confused:

What the fcuk does it have to do with you? Or anyone else? :confused:

It's my concern and no one else's. I'll lose the weight some day (or hopefully die in the process). My weight is of no inconvenience to anyone else.

I'm forever hearing about how overweight people are clogging up the health system, etc. and I sometimes think, hey, you know what, that's a fair point.

But then I realise that almost any overweight person I know is never at their GP or in hospital - and if they are, it's usually nothing to do with their weight.

But the A+E department is usually full of idiots who've been hurt because they couldn't handle their drink. But yet, I don't sit around exclaiming negative opinions about people who drink alcohol.

As an overweight teen, I've literally had people roar and shout incredibly hurtful things at me from across the road. Even as an adult I still get it (though not as obnoxiously). But yet I've never felt the urge to tell a smoker they smell or roar at someone having a pint that they're what's wrong with the world.

What's more, is this whole thing of people thinking that overweight people don't actually realise that they're overweight. I'm actually well aware of it (as shocking as that may sound). Do you think black people realise that they're.. you know.. black?

And the blonde girl walking down the street.. reckon she's aware that she's blonde? Maybe we should try and say it to her, that we've noticed she's getting more blonde lately. She might not see herself in a mirror every single day of the year, so we'd better let her know that we noticed.

Actually, what we should do, is mind our own fucking business and take care of our own problems and let everyone else do the same!

I find it amazing how it's so socially acceptable to be intentionally and overly cruel to people due solely to their weight.

If I went around abusing people for any other physical feature I'd be No. 1 Enemy on boards. But if I use a load of derogatory terms for overweight people, all I'll do is rack up a load of 'thanks' from the people at the bottom of the barrel.

But, that's just me and my opinion. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I think in the 17th or 18th century being obese was considered beautiful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Just drink Diet Coke with your chips and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I think that its fairly silly to comment on others size when its impossible to live in their shoes. There's so much we dont understand. Some of the healthiest eaters I know have a propensity towards putting on weight very easily while most of those I know who regularly eat take aways, crisps, sugary snacks and fizzy drinks are what would be called scrawny. I remember going out with a girl who used to constantly get abuse from other women for being so very very thin but the girl eat pizza for dinner most days.

An interesting aspect is appetite. Apparently an unborn child who gets insufficient nutrients will have a propensity towards overeating as an adult and obesity, diabetes etc etc.

Comparing western countries to Ethiopia doesn't make sense either. Its a lot easier to stay trim when the only food available is healthy and unprocessed and you walk everywhere as you don't have a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

But, that's just me and my opinion. :)

Well said KKV, but, unfortunately you may as well have been pissing into the wind for all the minds your post will change.

The thing is though, you see what being fat has done to you, and I wouldn't want anyone to feel that way. Being blonde or being black is something a person cannot change. So there is no comparison to that and being fat. Drunken idiocy is not socially acceptable either, and neither should allowing oneself to become overweight. You see what it does to your mentality, why would you wish that on anyone else?

I don't go around slagging off fat people, but I do genuinely care about people who mean something to me. I care about their happiness as well as their mental health, and if their mental health is being affected by their physical health or their physical appearance, then that is a cause for concern, not scorn, and it's best you try not to confuse the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭LurkerNo1

You are simply eating enough calories to sustain your weight plain and simple. Just because your eating a certain type of food means nothing it's down to calorie intake at the end of the day. Having said that good luck with your cholesterol with that type of diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

The OP is fattist.

Leaves door ajar..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Pass the butter.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

It's my concern and no one else's.
    it's not my concern if you never have any weight related health problems, but that's unlikely so it becomes everyone's concern if we have to pointlessly waste taxpayer monies on treatments that would otherwise not be required.

Obesity is one of the biggest social issues of this generation and the cost of it to societies is HUGE.

Senna wrote: »
    Pass the butter.....

That a request or a suggestion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Being noticeably overweight is a mental issue as much as it is a physical one.

But how many people get referred to appropriate mental health professionals? This is an issue that really needs to be addressed in primary care.

Many of the medications prescribed for psychiatric conditions (anti-psychotics) have the side effect of increasing appetite, and so people who already have a lot of problems get obesity added on to their list of problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Isn't one of the biggest factors the likes of KFC, Iceland and other cheap/fast food places being predominantly in lower wealth areas?

Have you seen the deals in Iceland(don't know the Irish equivalent)? Two packs of breaded chicken breast for £2. Sure throw in two kilos of chips for a quid. Max it out with some Swede that's heavily salted. That's a few dinners less than a fiver and a calorie count that's through the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I am bored a lot (and eat due to it). When I'm bored I'll just eat endlessly as something to do to pass the time. Sounds a bit odd, I know, but gives you something to do.

I'd like to go to the gym, play a sport, etc. but I'd be in terrible shape and i'd be far too anxious (have tried in the past, and failed, multiple times). I'm far, far too self-conscious.

So instead of doing these things, I stay home... and eat more.

I know you didn't post looking for advice but you sound a bit unhappy so I'm going to make a suggestion. Have you thought about taking up a craft that you can do at home, something like knitting. I know it may sound a bit boring but it's really quite stimulating once you get into it and it's impossible to stuff your face while you are doing it. I know knitting sounds like a bizarre way to lose weight but while doing it, you won't be bored and will find it physically difficult to snack. There are some lovely online communities, including the one here, that you could share your progress with, and there are lots of actual craft groups about, so you could even use it as a social outlet where nobody would give a damn about your size, so you wouldn't have to feel self-concious. And even if you didn't lose weight you'd have a nice new scarf/hat/jumper out of it.

Sorry for sticking my oar in where you didn't ask for it but it's a technique I found really helpful in cutting back on boredom eating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

The "thin" metabolism clearly exists. Unless less people eat the exact same amount every year they would put on weight at some stage. This isn't an excuse to get fat though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Honestly I couldn't care less whether someone is too fat or not. Unless it's my gf or family it's nothing to do with me. I don't have to look at them if I don't want to and no fat person has ever been in my face making demands to be called beautiful. So who cares?

kowloon wrote: »
    Just posting here so I can find this thread tomorrow and read the 5hitstorm.

I though I was the only one who did that:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Fat people don't burn more calories because they eat more, they burn more because their heart needs to work more to do everything including breathing.

But KKV makes a good point, what difference does it make to anybody, unless you're concerned about a loved one. I find myself thinking whatever about fat people because I think they look gross and also would have a lack of respect for them but would certainly never shout at them or treat them different

circadian wrote: »
    Isn't one of the biggest factors the likes of KFC, Iceland and other cheap/fast food places being predominantly in lower wealth areas?

Have you seen the deals in Iceland(don't know the Irish equivalent)? Two packs of breaded chicken breast for £2. Sure throw in two kilos of chips for a quid. Max it out with some Swede that's heavily salted. That's a few dinners less than a fiver and a calorie count that's through the roof.

I got...
    Two punnets of pears
    A punnet of Blueberries
    Two large tups of yogurt
    Two bananas
    for €4.30 yesterday in Aldi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

kneemos wrote: »
    Fast food gives you a fast metabolism.

Case in point, I found that BK burgers (whopper and angus burger) gave me the trots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's always great when you discover "the truth", isn't it? That aura of superiority you enjoy, when you know you have one up over the rest of the world ... better than sex, isn't it? :pac:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

GenieOz wrote: »
    Ok....?

I've never met someone who was overweight that thinks it isn't their fault or to do with their diet.
    Most just have a problem admitting they're too lazy to do anything about it or are in denial that they're actually fat.

Why one gets fat is a diagnosis in itself. Many women accept the bulge after birth as natural [ it is not ] but that's often the start. By whatever means, be that a Chef absorbing proteins through their skin or beer bellies or cake fads, once one has become obese, it then becomes a disease with the associated side diseases, physical and mental illness and low fitness levels.

One can physically do even more harm to oneself trying not to stay obese as being obese causes.

Where possible, stopping obseness from starting, like banning exercise in school was s good thing [?] allowing crisps for lunch was good thing [?] and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I think it's great to have obese people because who else would the masses have to spout mindless vitriol and abuse at and get away with it?

There's nothing like a fat thread to get a handle of a person's true personality.

kneemos wrote: »
    That a request or a suggestion?

A request. He needs to butter himself up (with the butter on a stick) so he can squeeze himself out his front door.

I'm implying that he is a fat bastard. But he probably isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I would say that it is more important to educate obese people who are obese due to ignorance rather than people who are obese because they couldn't be bothered changing.

I was obese growing up and lost all the weight by myself without any support. Part of losing those 100lbs/55kg involved educating myself on how the body works with regards to food and exercise. What I learned will last me the rest of my life but some of it was so fundamental that most people that know it already take it for granted.

There are so many people in the same boat that I was in who don't understand how the body actually functions and what the food they eat contains. Personally it is up to the government to promote education re: diet and exercise, which I believe they do. I feel the majority of the responsibility lies with the parents. If you are too busy or disinterested in feeding your children correctly then you ingrain in them habits which are extremely hard to break, these habits will be passed on to their children and so on.

TL;DR: I don't care if someone in their twenties or older is obese. I do care if a child is obese because their parents haven't a clue how to feed them properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I think they look gross and also would have a lack of respect for them but would certainly never shout at them or treat them different

I dont know where to begin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

scouser82 wrote: »
    I came across this comment on an article found here:

http://www.diet-blog.com/10/fatorexia_overweight_people_who_deny_they_are_fat.php

I believe this poster has hit the nail on the head. So many great points which are hard to argue against.

It's rather sad that a 238lb 5'10" girl didn't realise she had a weight problem. And normalising obesity is neither healthy nor productive.

Whilst I am not for one second doubting the honesty and integrity of your posting this, as one other poster pointed out, there is a much more forgiving attitude to drinkers and smokers in terms of understanding the difficulties they are facing.

People's lifestyles are screwed up. People's aren't active enough. People are too sedate at work. Food and beverage companies spending hundreds of millions lobbying Government and creating advertising specifically designed to hide the level of damage the 'food' they create causes. They do everything in their power to obfuscate the facts relating to what's a 'balanced' intake of big macs, soft drinks etc. Numerous studies and documentaries have shown that even food advertising itself as a 'healthy' option comes loaded with insane amounts of sugar, salt, calories etc.

Many people have very poor skills when it comes to understanding how to live healthily, how to eat properly, what constitutes a healthy meal or a healthy portion.

None of this absolves their own personal lack of dicipline or self respect in allowing themselves to get overweight. But the problem is that this is a very costly issue that society needs to address. And people smugly noting that it's the fatties own fault achieves nothing.

My two cents anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Cork selfbuild

I used to be overweight, and yes I agree with the OP, it's totally the own persons fault, its a simple math - Calories In Vs Calories required = Result - too much / too little / just right.

Now where I believe there is a big problem happening - no new news here is as mentioned earlier - the cheap supermarket food - people are eating up to and over 3 times the RDA of sugar / fats without even knowing it or caring about whats in what they eat, and for me the big bug bearer is the cheaper the food the worse it is for you. Its actually more expensive to eat healthily (in general) than poor quality cheap food.

Another point is lack of education / understanding of food - the amount of obese children is getting frightening, now these growing up into fat teens is not their fault - how is it? They are an output of their parents input, soon we will be like the US... This is the main driver of an obese adult population - there is not enough being don't here to regulate this industry.

Plus one last point - why do people believe that they are entitled to an opinion on other people? A response I always see to these threads is "Oh the cost to the health system / Exchequer... we are paying for them..." The same can be said for people who smoke / who drink / who do drugs / who are thin and eat bad - cholesterol and diabetes are at near epidemic levels in this country - I was recently visiting someone in a hospital and in the ward was 8 people - 5 were in with Diabetes related illnesses and only 2 of these were overweight. I suppose my point is we can all single out one issue that costs money to the state but there will always be these costs associated to this or that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

I think it's great to have obese people because who else would the masses have to spout mindless vitriol and abuse at and get away with it?

Gingers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I think that its fairly silly to comment on others size when its impossible to live in their shoes. There's so much we dont understand. Some of the healthiest eaters I know have a propensity towards putting on weight very easily while most of those I know who regularly eat take aways, crisps, sugary snacks and fizzy drinks are what would be called scrawny. I remember going out with a girl who used to constantly get abuse from other women for being so very very thin but the girl eat pizza for dinner most days.

An interesting aspect is appetite. Apparently an unborn child who gets insufficient nutrients will have a propensity towards overeating as an adult and obesity, diabetes etc etc.

Comparing western countries to Ethiopia doesn't make sense either. Its a lot easier to stay trim when the only food available is healthy and unprocessed and you walk everywhere as you don't have a car.
    It's even more interesting than that.

The amount of food your grandfather ate between the ages of 8 and 14 can possibly have an effect on your propensity to gain weight.

Epigenetics plays a role in the 'constitution' of our body. Some people just have a better constitution than others. (better as in better adapted to our current situation)

The diet your grandfather had when he was going through puberty affected the the development of his reproductive system and this in turn affected the composition of his sperm and in the gene expression of future generations (note, the genes themselves are not altered, but epigenetics refers to how these genes are expressed, ie: which genes are active and which are inactive)

Researchers have shown that gene expression can be affected for up to 3 generations (in animal studies)

If your grandfather was over fed during this period of development, then he will pass on a genetic propensity to metabolic disorders to his offspring who can carry this forward at least another generation

Studies have shown that the children and grandchildren of people who experienced famine during puberty have a lower instance of obesity. In animal studies, the offspring of animals who were overfed have a higher instance of obesity even if they do not over-eat.

http://discovermagazine.com/2013/may/13-grandmas-experiences-leave-epigenetic-mark-on-your-genes#.Uwxcv-OUbUY

There are other studies that show that underweight babies are more prone to metabolic disorders in later life. It seems that the optimum outcome for better intergenerational health could be to starve your kids between the ages of 8 and 14 and then over eat during pregnancy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

LurkerNo1 wrote: »
    You are simply eating enough calories to sustain your weight plain and simple. Just because your eating a certain type of food means nothing it's down to calorie intake at the end of the day. Having said that good luck with your cholesterol with that type of diet.
    Its not that simple

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The "thin" metabolism clearly exists. Unless less people eat the exact same amount every year they would put on weight at some stage. This isn't an excuse to get fat though.
    Apparently not. In studies of under, average and overweight people, metabolism is not in the game. Appetite and perception is. IE some people have lower appetites than others and underweight people overestimate the amount of food they eat and overweight people underestimate the amount.

In my own personal experience such as it is I'd go along with the above. Every single skinny person I know eats less than average(and/or moves more) and every fat person I know eats more. EG two women I knew back in the day. They shared a gaff and one was heavy and one was very slim. The heavy one was always saying oh look at her she can eat what she likes and stays skinny almost as an excuse mantra. The skinny one would agree with this as a source of pride. However I lived with the skinny one and she had a small appetite and was very cheap to run on food bills. The fat one only saw her eat an evening meal and it was a decent enough size. However what both ignored was the fact the skinny one's idea of breakfast was a coffee and she rarely ate lunch and she walked/cycled to work, while the other woman drove everywhere.
    Red Nissan wrote: »
    Many women accept the bulge after birth as natural [ it is not ] but that's often the start.
    Actually a couple of studies have shown a genetic/hormonal component to post pregnancy weight gain. You see similar in weight gain for some women on hormonal contraceptive. A higher propensity to store fat and increased appetite.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Akrasia wrote: »
    It's even more interesting than that.

The amount of food your grandfather ate between the ages of 8 and 14 can possibly have an effect on your propensity to gain weight.

Epigenetics plays a role in the 'constitution' of our body. Some people just have a better constitution than others. (better as in better adapted to our current situation)

The diet your grandfather had when he was going through puberty affected the the development of his reproductive system and this in turn affected the composition of his sperm and in the gene expression of future generations (note, the genes themselves are not altered, but epigenetics refers to how these genes are expressed, ie: which genes are active and which are inactive)

Researchers have shown that gene expression can be affected for up to 3 generations (in animal studies)

If your grandfather was over fed during this period of development, then he will pass on a genetic propensity to metabolic disorders to his offspring who can carry this forward at least another generation

Studies have shown that the children and grandchildren of people who experienced famine during puberty have a lower instance of obesity. In animal studies, the offspring of animals who were overfed have a higher instance of obesity even if they do not over-eat.

http://discovermagazine.com/2013/may/13-grandmas-experiences-leave-epigenetic-mark-on-your-genes#.Uwxcv-OUbUY

There are other studies that show that underweight babies are more prone to metabolic disorders in later life. It seems that the optimum outcome for better intergenerational health could be to starve your kids between the ages of 8 and 14 and then over eat during pregnancy

Hard for this theory to explain the working classes being fatter than the rich, a clear reversal of 2-3 generations ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

it's not my concern if you never have any weight related health problems, but that's unlikely so it becomes everyone's concern if we have to pointlessly waste taxpayer monies on treatments that would otherwise not be required.

Obesity is one of the biggest social issues of this generation and the cost of it to societies is HUGE.

I take it you read the post in full? You will remember then that the poster mentioned that he/she has issues with anxiety and described a vicious circle of eating out of boredom due to anxiety issues. Therefore I ask you these questions.....Is it your business that some people with mental health issues "cost the tax payer money" ? Is it your business if an alcoholic costs the tax payer money? Is it your business if a lung cancer patient costs the tax payer money? Is it your business if a patient suffering from anorexia costs the tax payer money? Is it your business if someone who's lead a reasonably healthy life becomes riddled with cancer and costs the tax payer money?
    You see really its no one business, some people have problems that they are unable to control and just because an obese persons issues are so visible for everyone to see does not give you or anyone else license to judge or ridicule them.
    Heck I see alcoholics every day where I live, my tax money is funding their lifestyle and medical care, do I care? I wouldn't want to walk 2 minutes in their shoes and if my tax goes towards trying to help them, then I'm absolutely fine with it.
    Unfortunately for people of the same mind frame as you, you will always see your money being wasted due to others inability to control certain habits. How wonderful it must be to view the human condition so simply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

Think this thread is starting a new classification of people, "the obesophobe".

deandean wrote: »

Indeed. I'm afraid of being sat on by an obese person.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Akrasia wrote: »
    Hmmm that's interesting. My family are all skinny feckers, but when you look at old photos of us as babies, we're effin huge. Like swapped at the hospital by mistake out of place butterball babies. It's a running joke in the family.

I've read breastfeeding has an impact too. Breastfed kids are less likely to be fat as adults. Again in a personal non scientific way, I know a guy whose siblings were all breastfed but he wasn't for some reason. They're all thin, he's struggled with weight from puberty on.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

It's my concern and no one else's. I'll lose the weight some day (or hopefully die in the process). My weight is of no inconvenience to anyone else.

Why put off tomorrow what can be done today?

If you don't you'll end up costing the taxpayer to keep you alive while you have another stint put in or another bypass.

You have a condition that's completely preventable if you just get on with it.

If I saw you in the gym I wouldn't bat an eye lid and would commend you for your effort (silently of course, otherwise it could be construed as patronising).

You don't even need to go the gym, operation transformation on tv is a great idea. Exercises in the comfort of your own home, go for a 30 minute walk/jog and measure/weigh yourself. As soon as you see a difference you'll be addicted and you will thank yourself for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

One lesson that I have learned in the last few years is to be very careful when judging someone when it comes to weight.

I was just a normal sized person 5ft6 and around 12stone.

Then I got sick and was put on medication for about two years, one side effect of this medication was a loss of appetite so i was eating far less then I had before, you would expect me to be losing weight because of this.

Unfortunately I was also put on large doses of steroids, this caused me to balloon up, literally. I was almost 18 stone. I had a huge round face, massive double chin and my body felt like it was wrapped in a very thick layer of fat. Still had skinny arms and legs though!

I was incredibly self conscious, I hated going out, I didn't go out for dinner or lunch for two years, the thoughts of people watching me eat (which was a struggle in itself due to the loss of appetite) was horrific. I was constantly terrified of bumping into people who hadn't seen me in a long while because of what they might think (that i had "let myself go" and was constantly eating crap and lazy). food shopping was horrible because I felt like people were peering into my trolley trying to see what food i was buying because surely it must have been all junk food.

I couldn't go into my favourite clothes shops because the clothes didn't fit me anymore and if i did go in shop assistants were probably looking at me wondering what a fat person was doing in their shop when I wouldst be able to buy anything.

all of these are not even just me being self concious, the looks and stares really were happening and you could see the look of disgust on some peoples faces. the examples are endless.

I am now off most of my drugs and have finally deflated back to a more "acceptable" size, just covered in stretch marks :-(. the biggest mark that this left on me though is that I have no idea what has made any person fat, I don't know what is going on in their lives and I am much more open minded and less judgmental. it could be drugs, they could be sick, they could have mental health issues or be unable to exercise due to a disability that isnt obvious to an average person.

so, don't be cruel and laugh at fat people, or stare at them and make them feel uncomfortable. it is simply not a nice thing to do.

deandean wrote: »

I'd have genuine sympathy for overweight people,it can easily get out of hand particularly if you were raised on a poor diet.
    I could lose ten kilos myself but making excuses to justify it I don't imagine will work.

Mental health issues are a whole different kettle of fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Here's a thing. Nearly 1 in 3 of all A&E admissions are alcohol-related.

Another thing. Smoking will kill 1 in 2 of all smokers.

Between the two, the cost to the Irish health service runs into billions and billions of euro annually.

And yet we never have a "Truth about alcohol" or a "Truth about smoking" thread where non-smokers and non-drinkers berate the boozy and nicotine-stained.

I can't figure out whether abusing fat people is the last acceptable prejudice or Irish people have a blind spot the size of a fat person's arse when it comes to their own vices.

I can't remember the last time a fat person, high on kebab and fries, kicked someone to death on a Dublin street. But it must happen, because apparently the drinkers and smokers have the moral high ground over them.