Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show: February 7th 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Tayla wrote: »
    I didn't watch the show but going by the pic it's Donna Marie Sludds, she's a singer.

Jesus, good call... I didnt recognise her... Here's the two of them on that Balcony TV yoke..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

LA LA LALALALLALALALAALALALALALA

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

really?? do you know what the term "sympathy" means? if you cant find sympathy for this brother, you are pretty heartless.

Looking back now I think I was slightly harsh on him. This is an extremely distressing incident to hear about and it can evoke strong emotions in people. I just hope he finds his own peace and manages to forgive himself. He didn't intend for this to happen, in fact if he even knew there was even a vague chance of this happening, he wouldn't of gone near the river.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭mrswhiplash47

Well said cofy.

Add me on the hug list mrs!...:)
    Hugs very much appreciated..lots of hugs back...XX

• Registered Users Posts: 72,274 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Time to go!

I'll just leave this here...

*runs out of thread, giggling like a school girl*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

reading a more balanced and sensible response on twitter to the reasons why the tragic Byrne family appeared on the show tonight to air their story and highlight the extreme stupidity of this craze . People on here seem to think RTE bribed them to appear. If this stops just one person from carrying on this trend they are heroes in my opinion. Much more important than listening to a pointless celebrity telling how wonderful their life is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Time to go!

No couch is big enough, so run, run like the wind

Time to go!

PEOPLE WHO LIKED THIS VIDEO MAY ALSO LIKE THIS ...................

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yD6ymAuIRZI

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Time to go!

So many to choose from, but this'll do!

take it away, George ...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

That's his mother.. I thought it was his sister !!!!!

honestly thought it was his sister as well, asked the question: how did the dad bag her? he looked like he was 60 years older than her.
    CKrules wrote: »
    So I now know 3 people going to Garth. Who in the jaysus are the other 399,997?

well i've got 2, so off you go and find the other 399,995 because it will be a mighty crack alright
    COYW wrote: »
    I don't mean to be offensive, I am a live and let live kinda guy but I just cannot grasp why 400,000 people want to fork out €60+ to watch this. It completely baffles me.

well that tribute band was awful. the man himself is soooo much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    well i've got 2, so off you go and find the other 399,995 because it will be a mighty crack alright

Can I ask, did you queue for long to get the tickets?

I hope you have a good time at the concert. There is no doubt it will be amazing.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I find it a bit predatorish of the producers getting this father on so soon after the death of his son.

It is reminding me of the awful Michelle Heaton interview.

These are very vulnerable people and I think the producers are taking advantage of them

Big big big time. Misery porn, highly uncomfortable viewing and massively unethical television.

I work as a TV producer, have worked for several big networks, none of which would ever have broached this subject or the family in such a way. The Legal and/or Standards and Clearance department would have long-since put a stop to it if through some rare chance some retarded exec producer considered putting the father, son and best friend on-air in an extended, drawn-out interview with clearly no structure in the middle of a prime-time entertainment show.

At most they might have gotten away with pre-recording a short clip with the father to prompt a wider in-studio discussion about nek-nominations with a panel of talking heads, but even at that I cringe thinking about the pre-interview process, the researcher / producer making that brazen call to the father when his son has yet to be buried. Disgraceful and embarrassing behaviour from RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

cofy wrote: »
    Can I ask, did you queue for long to get the tickets?

I hope you have a good time at the concert. There is no doubt it will be amazing.:)

i queued from half 5 on wards on thursday last :D got a ticket for monday and tuesday and thank you very much :D:D i promise i won't take a mess of dublin city while i'm there, just hope the gigs are not cancelled

• Registered Users Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Just seen the MILF on the RTE player.
    Wow is right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I'm not so sure....i'm not saying anymore out of respect to the family, but it says a lot about modern society

Neknominations is all over the news, a topic of conversation for many and currently being discussed in The Dail. How is it not relevant again?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,650 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Just seen the MILF on the RTE player.
    Wow is right.

She looked very young.

Her hair - the length and style - looks like the way a 14 year old would wear their hair.
    The dress - the light colour and shape were very young style imo. For some reason it (and her) reminded me of a dress from "Romy and Michelle's high school reunion"
    The bare legs and strappy sandals - seriously missus, it's January wear a different dress and wear black tights.

IMO she'd seriously want to rethink her style. Romy and Michelle come to mind again - or else the Wesley teenage disco.

They both (the parents) seem to be a bit immature and thinking their gas with seeing their boring family pranks on the lls. It bored me. Keep your silly family games in the family home.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

amdublin wrote: »
    She looked very young.

Her hair - the length and style - looks like the way a 14 year old would wear their hair.
    The dress - the light colour and shape were very young style imo. For some reason it (and her) reminded me of a dress from "Romy and Michelle's high school reunion"
    The bare legs and strappy sandals - seriously missus, it's January wear a different dress and wear black tights.

IMO she'd seriously want to rethink her style. Romy and Michelle come to mind again - or else the Wesley teenage disco.

They both (the parents) seem to be a bit immature and thinking their gas with seeing their boring family pranks on the lls. It bored me. Keep your silly family games in the family home.

Totally agree that it was no topic for the show.
    But that does not stop me thinking she was hot

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,650 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

For sure.

Honest to god I thought that was the mother sitting beside the dad.

Looking at the tv I thought it was:
    Mother_father_11/12 year old son_14 year old sister (dressed the way you'd expect a 14 year old to dress for being on the lls).

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

She looked very young.

It's the actual Fashion Police!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

For sure. Honest to god I thought that was the mother sitting beside the dad.

I was shocked as well. I remember her from that TV show that she was on, and I dont remember her being that attractive.... Nice dress, bit of makeup, dye the hair and bam, there ya go... I will try the same myself later

She actually has a campaign going to.. eh.... "HELP SINGER DONNA MARIE FUND LASER SURGERY IN LONDON TO SAVE HER VOICE."...

https://www.facebook.com/events/576430385766327/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,712 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I was shocked as well. I remember her from that TV show that she was on, and I dont remember her being that attractive.... Nice dress, bit of makeup, dye the hair and bam, there ya go... I will try the same myself later

She actually has a campaign going to.. eh.... "HELP SINGER DONNA MARIE FUND LASER SURGERY IN LONDON TO SAVE HER VOICE."...

https://www.facebook.com/events/576430385766327/

Cringe!!! Fundraising for a non life threatening operation!!! Shameless!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

thelad95 wrote: »
    Jesus, things have come a long way since 'The Lovely Ladies' competition.

They all have lovely bottoms :D

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭gerbilgranny

Agricola wrote: »
    I'm sure RTE would seek to have him on asap as it's topical (yes, a shítty slant on it, but no one can seriously deny thats not what the LLS crew are thinking about when they are looking for items) and while it's admirable of the man to want to stop this tragedy befalling others, I personally cant get my head around the idea of burying my child midweek and going on to chat to Tubridy on Friday night. It is inappropriate both for the family and for viewers to be watching it. A month at least would be my thinking on it.

I don't really see what it's inappropriate both for the family and the viewers.

True, I found it surprising that the boy's father was going to be on TLLS, but I suppose he wants to do what he can to get the message across immediately, in case it might prevent another family experiencing such a tragedy.

The father, and the brother and friend - there was nothing that they said that was inappropriate. In this instance, all seemed able to compose themselves sufficiently to speak articulately and movingly. And I can't see that they would say anything different in a month's time.

And as for the viewer - if it makes us value our families more, and not take people for granted - even that is very worthwhile, i.m.o.

And perhaps some very fortunate parents might be able to use the information to have a positive influence on their teenage kids.

What absolute tripe people are speaking about the reasons why the Byrne family came on the show last night.

I find it sickening that people seem to think the family have been taken advantage of in anyway. People just want to seek a sinister angle as to why he appeared. They dont understand why he has shown this amazing strength (which is been run on shock and andenilin, i imagine) to campaign against this social media craze of neknominations which are stupid, vile and worthless, not to mention dangerous..
    He, the father , has conducted interviews all week, it seems to be his way to cope with it and im sure upon being offered the platform to widen his campaign on the most watched show on irish tv, he felt it might help spread the message.

Sure, it was uncomfortable, horrid viewing but do people really need to be told that on boards.ie. It was never meant to be entertaining, in fact im sure tubridy had reservations about its appropriateness on the show. Im one of tubridys least ardent fans but having listened to his radio show on occasion i disagree withh those who say he seeks out the joe duffy misery line . If anything he can be overly jovial and childish.

The father made it clear that this was his last interview and im sure he is going to crash down soon but he just perhaps wanted to feel that he had made some effort to halt this craze which took his sons life.
    You would want to be rather idiotic, shameless and heartless if you carried on the trend now after that interview..

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭whats_my_name

A family member & a few friends of mine died as a result of drink driving.

In the immediate weeks after the accident I felt that I needed to try & change people's attitudes toward drink driving to prevent any further deaths as a result of drink driving. This included college presentations, emailing the RSA to say that their ads at the time were too graphic that instead of getting their message across people were just changing the channel or looking away when the ads came on & instead to make their ads more personal, for families to speak about the impact drink driving had on them. They never replied but it does seem that that is the angle their current advertising has went with.

Did it prevent anybody else dying on our roads? Nope but it probably helped me cope a little better.

If this helps the family in some way then so what?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,155 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

A family member & a few friends of mine died as a result of drink driving.

In the immediate weeks after the accident I felt that I needed to try & change people's attitudes toward drink driving to prevent any further deaths as a result of drink driving. This included college presentations, emailing the RSA to say that their ads at the time were too graphic that instead of getting their message across people were just changing the channel or looking away when the ads came on & instead to make their ads more personal, for families to speak about the impact drink driving had on them. They never replied but it does seem that that is the angle their current advertising has went with.

Did it prevent anybody else dying on our roads? Nope but it probably helped me cope a little better.

If this helps the family in some way then so what?

Well said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Really upsetting! :( Is it just in Ireland where people are dying because of neknomination?

No, no-one anywhere has died because of Neknomination. One person has been confirmed as jumping into a swollen river and drowning after doing a Neknomination.

A taxi-driver jumped into a river yesterday and drowned, he was stopped at a Garda checkpoint and had no insurance. Whats to blame there?? Should we ban insurance? Taxi-driving? or Checkpoints??

No, no-one anywhere has died because of Neknomination. One person has been confirmed as jumping into a swollen river and drowning after doing a Neknomination.

A taxi-driver jumped into a river yesterday and drowned, he was stopped at a Garda checkpoint and had no insurance. Whats to blame there?? Should we ban insurance? Taxi-driving? or Checkpoints??

i think you, and many, are missing the point here. There is no legally enforceable way to "ban" neknominations. The concept behind the campaign by the family and friends of Jonny doyle is to make people aware of the fallacy of doing unprecedented, spontaneous and crazy activities after drinking a pint which has gone straight to your head.

The neknomination craze is completely to blame in this instance and your pretty foolish if you think that the event would of occured regardless of the pressure on the young lad to make his video "memorable".

That taxi driver clearly had other underlying problems so dont be naive enough to think that there isnt more to that story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

i think you, and many, are missing the point here. There is no legally enforceable way to "ban" neknominations. The concept behind the campaign by the family and friends of Jonny doyle is to make people aware of the fallacy of doing unprecedented, spontaneous and crazy activities after drinking a pint which has gone straight to your head.

The neknomination craze is completely to blame in this instance and your pretty foolish if you think that the event would of occured regardless of the pressure on the young lad to make his video "memorable".

That taxi driver clearly had other underlying problems so dont be naive enough to think that there isnt more to that story.

Drinking 1 pint is not going to make you do anything crazy. He'll have planned it beforehand. Obviously in the plan in his head, he didn't realise the current would be so strong or how freezing the water would be.

The game didn't make him jump into the river, there is no "dare" element to the game. The game is drink 1 pint and nominate 2 friends to drink 1 pint. Nothing more, nothing less. If someone adds something on, thats down to them, it has nothing whatsoever to do with the actual game.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Roger_007 wrote: »
    This has got no publicity at all in Britain where the drinking culture is supposed to be the same as here..........are we not overhyping the internet angle?

Neknomination was mentioned on sky news when they were commenting on what happened at the Odyssey in Belfast as one of the many things happening now on the drinking culture.