Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hiding the smell of last night's booze..

• 24-01-2014 10:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

What is your top tip for not smelling like a boozehound in work the next day?

I have 3,
    Coffee, Chewing gum & Oranges.

Seems to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Not drinking usually does the job ;)

Nah, just drink lots of water the night before, and use mouthwash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tradmav

I have 3,

Seems to work.

Shower and brush the teeth, wear clean clothes. Why bother with tricks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Eat some poo.

Hopefully, that should mask over the smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Smoke some really strong weed, it'll easily mask the smell it's so stinky, you'll probably get fired though, at least it won't be because you smell of booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Mouthwash and fresh Oranges...with XXX mints one every 20 min..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Coffee breath and stale booze BO... I suspect you want to le left alone at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

tradmav wrote: »

Because sometimes the beer smell still hangs on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Cheese and onion crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jerryqu

Chomp on a raw onion, works every time :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Garlic Bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Shower, clean clothes, brush teeth and use a really strong mouthwash. Also bring chewing gum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Keeping the gargle to weekends only seems to work for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jerryqu

Chomp on a raw onion, works every time :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Potato Wedges.

Because that won't get rid of the smell of drink of your breath.

Many times I've got the "jaysus there is an awful smell of drink of you" in work of a Friday despite multiple methods of trying to hide it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Anita B Jaynow

I have 3,

Seems to work.
    Fags are great too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

St Sin sweets from vending machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Just wash you horrible stinker!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Eat a snickers, always works for me.

Why are some people not getting this, the OP is on about the smell of drink off his BREATH, not his clothes. When one refers to the "smell of drink", it goes without saying that they mean off someone's breath. Are people really that stupid? Do you all dip your shirt in your glass and then wring the beer into your mouth or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Just wash you horrible stinker!

How is washing himself going to affect his breath which is internal?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why smell of stale booze, when you can smell of fresh booze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

St Sin sweets from vending machines.

Do they work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Why smell of stale booze, when you can smell of fresh booze?

Totally agree.
    A few beers and it is no longer the smell of last nights drink.Imagine eating a raw onion when you can have sweet,sweet beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Don't drink stout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Why not just stay at home the next day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Donalh

newmug wrote: »
    Eat a snickers, always works for me.

Why are some people not getting this, the OP is on about the smell of drink off his BREATH, not his clothes. When one refers to the "smell of drink", it goes without saying that they mean off someone's breath. Are people really that stupid? Do you all dip your shirt in your glass and then wring the beer into your mouth or something?

Agree this is probably what the OP means however alcohol is also dispelled through your pores, causing your skin and sweat to smell of alcohol... hence the other suggestions :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Do they work?

They do from whenever I've used them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

murpho999 wrote: »
    How is washing himself going to affect his breath which is internal?

Because once you've washed your teeth, then all you have to worry about is it seeping out through your skin, which a hot shower will cure.

Donalh wrote: »
    Agree this is probably what the OP means however alcohol is also dispelled through your pores, causing your skin and sweat to smell of alcohol... hence the other suggestions :-)

Well in all my years of semi-alcoholism, I have never heard of your sweat smelling of alcohol. Neither have I ever smelled anyone's alcoholic sweat. And I can assure you, some of the boyo's I hung around with in the day would lick the sweat off you if they thought it was alcoholic, and I've never seen that happening either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Eat a pigeon........

Well in all my years of semi-alcoholism, I have never heard of your sweat smelling of alcohol. Neither have I ever smelled anyone's alcoholic sweat. And I can assure you, some of the boyo's I hung around with in the day would lick the sweat off you if they thought it was alcoholic, and I've never seen that happening either.

In fairness now, that's a bit like a smoker protesting that he never notices the smell of stale smoke on other people, therefore neither he nor them smell.

Shenshen wrote: »
    In fairness now, that's a bit like a smoker protesting that he never notices the smell of stale smoke on other people, therefore neither he nor them smell.

You don't smell of smoke from sweating tobacco either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Chewing on fresh parsley is an amazing breath freshener. Someone told me years ago that it is the best thing for masking the smell of fags and it works! Also works for booze or garlic breath.

You don't smell of smoke from sweating tobacco either.

Sweat or not, a smoker will smell of tabocco, and not just out of his mouth.

And a drinker have a BO of alcohol.

Because once you've washed your teeth, then all you have to worry about is it seeping out through your skin, which a hot shower will cure.

Washing your teeth will only mask it a bit, you will still get the smell of drink through the mint of the tooth paste and the minty smell will wear off fairly fast too leaving the smell of drink which can last for a few hours.

Shenshen wrote: »
    Sweat or not, a smoker will smell of tabocco, and not just out of his mouth.

And a drinker have a BO of alcohol.

Missus, unless one is a prostitute, your sweat doesn't smell like what you've consumed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Most of the odour actually comes from your stomach so the best thing to do is drink some Febreze

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

That doesn't work always. If you've had a heavy night on the sauce you still reek of it at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

It does seep thru the skin in swear.

Try this experiment. Eat a curry every day for a week and stick your nose in your armpit....you will see!

It does seep thru the skin in swear.

Try this experiment. Eat a curry every day for a week and stick your nose in your armpit....you will see!

Well if you were on the beer every night for a week, it might.

But, for the love of God, when people say "you reek of beer", or "nobody light a match, we'll all go up hur hur", or " you smell like a brewery" or " were you drinkin white spirits" or any other such drink and smell related comments such as those, its your BREATH they're referring to, not clothes, not hair, not BO, not anything hygiene related. The OP is taking for granted that the good readers of Boards.ie have the good sense to know this, and he is asking about ways to disguise the smell of his body that he CANT control. If a wash would do, do you really think he'd go on international airwaves to ask if he should take a shower or not? Seriously? Maybe BO after a night out is an issue for fat people, but for the normal majority of us, when people refer to smelling of beer they mean off your BREATH!

FFS people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Well if you were on the beer every night for a week, it might.

But, for the love of God, when people say "you reek of beer", or "nobody light a match, we'll all go up hur hur", or " you smell like a brewery" or " were you drinkin white spirits" or any other such drink and smell related comments such as those, its your BREATH they're referring to, not clothes, not hair, not BO, not anything hygiene related. The OP is taking for granted that the good readers of Boards.ie have the good sense to know this, and he is asking about ways to disguise the smell of his body that he CANT control. If a wash would do, do you really think he'd go on international airwaves to ask if he should take a shower or not? Seriously? Maybe BO after a night out is an issue for fat people, but for the normal majority of us, when people refer to smelling of beer they mean off your BREATH!

FFS people.

Newmug, you are my new favourite poster. I can taste the barely controlled rage:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Suck on a lump of charcoal. Booze breath sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The best thing to do would be to gargle some farmers wine and eat 7 brussels sprouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Try to hide the smell all you want. The eyes will always give you away.

carraig2 wrote: »
    Newmug, you are my new favourite poster. I can taste the barely controlled rage:D

Check out the "How many infractions have you?" thread. I started it, and they ended up banning me!

EDIT: Actually, I just checked it out there now, all the deadly posts were deleted in the last few pages. Feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Ahoy Ahoy

Raw Carrots-trust me works all the time.