Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to deal with girl's Father

• 20-01-2014 7:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

Recently started seeing a girl, really like her etc. Spending a lot of time at her house recently, her family are great for the most part, the mother is a caring housewife who seems to really like me.

Met the father a few times, he's a big shot in one of these private banks, one of these puppeteers running the country behind the scenes, he seemed cold at first and grilled me on current affairs, I know my fair share but I'm no expert on the banking crises. He doesn't like that I'm not upper class either, often makes comments, I jab back but he acts like he's joking and goes back to putting me down, I wouldn't care but the girl in question is very close to her parents so I let it slide for the most part.

Over the last few weeks he's got worse and worse until the past weekend, he invited me to spend next weekend with him, he wants me to go across the country to his estate and spend the weekend hunting and fishing off the coast on his yacht.

My worry is these both seem like activities where 'accidents' can happen, I'm worried about 'slipping' off the boat or taking a bullet in the head while out on the hunt. Then he gets his wish and his daughter marries a prince or whatever, this might seem irrational but he's a very powerful man from what I can tell.

What do I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Get pissed, nothing can ever go wrong while pissed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Drop a sly finger into his daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

Get him before he gets you, make it known that you have a terrible shot, whilst out shooting, shoot him in the back, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Is this a Ben Stiller/Robert De Niro movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Is this a Ben Stiller/Robert De Niro movie?

Is this utter bullsh*t I'm thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Tell him you dont like hunting/fishing because you like animals too much. he might hate you more than ever but at least he doesnt get to kill you.....yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Seems to me that the Dad fancies the hole off you op. He has invited you away for a durty weekend. You are gonna have an arse like the Japanese flag after this trip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Bop the fucker one, then tap him up for a loan. Tell him it's your money anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

urabell wrote: »
    Recently started seeing a girl, really like her etc. Spending a lot of time at her house recently, her family are great for the most part, the mother is a caring housewife who seems to really like me.

Met the father a few times, he's a big shot in one of these private banks, one of these puppeteers running the country behind the scenes, he seemed cold at first and grilled me on current affairs, I know my fair share but I'm no expert on the banking crises. He doesn't like that I'm not upper class either, often makes comments, I jab back but he acts like he's joking and goes back to putting me down, I wouldn't care but the girl in question is very close to her parents so I let it slide for the most part.

Over the last few weeks he's got worse and worse until the past weekend, he invited me to spend next weekend with him, he wants me to go across the country to his estate and spend the weekend hunting and fishing off the coast on his yacht.

My worry is these both seem like activities where 'accidents' can happen, I'm worried about 'slipping' off the boat or taking a bullet in the head while out on the hunt. Then he gets his wish and his daughter marries a prince or whatever, this might seem irrational but he's a very powerful man from what I can tell.

What do I do?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=382

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Reads like bollocks to me, OP

What year did Jackanory finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Seduce him on the trip obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

How to deal with the father, just shout him over and sell him a bag of weed :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Grand the huge amount of disbelief already makes me even more confident my disappearance won't even make local papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

If he's all that powerfull why would he "take care" of you himself when he could arrange it at any time.

I think your quids in just dont make a dick of yourself and never lower yourself to his standards

AH answer get herself up the duff and your in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Get her up the duff, You'll be apart of the family if he likes it or not then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Grand the huge amount of disbelief already makes me even more confident my disappearance won't even make local papers.

That's the spirit!

If he's all that powerfull why would he "take care" of you himself when he could arrange it at any time.

I think your quids in just dont make a dick of yourself and never lower yourself to his standards

AH answer get herself up the duff and your in

This is really the only reason I'm going, but still he seems like the type who takes care of business himself, I'll have to be on guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Perhaps you should have gone this route from the start, OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

I can't wait for the second episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Do a generic risk assessment of the situation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Just send a video to him, of you, gone to the washers in his daughter, he'll think twice about that weekend getaway after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Are you sure he's not a senior partner in KPMG?
    If so, stay away from her, you povvo!!

Can't even believe it's got to the second page to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

he invited me to spend next weekend with him, he wants me to go across the country to his estate and spend the weekend hunting and fishing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Ride her ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Tell him you impregntated his wife. I'm sure the heart attach will kill him before he gets to off you first.

aujopimur wrote: »
    Ride her ma.
    mad muffin wrote: »
    Tell him you impregntated his wife. I'm sure the heart attach will kill him before he gets to off you first.

No, the woman is a saint, if there's going to be an issue it's between me and him.

More than likely he'll just try to warn me off like Michael Madsen in that Justin Bieber video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Hire a brasser, spike his drink and bring a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

No, the woman is a saint, if there's going to be an issue it's between me and him.

More than likely he'll just try to warn me off like Michael Madsen in that Justin Bieber video

Tell him you're carrying his grandson in your fetus sack. I'm sure the heart attack will kill him before he gets a chance to off you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

Tell him you'll bring the chess board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

What do I do?

Fishing on a yacht? In Ireland?

Oh, I get it. It's in Sicily, right?

I can't physically challenge him physically, he's built like Putin and will overpower me, so pushing him off the boat before he does it to me is off the table, I've never held a gun before so shooting him is off the table before we take into account murdering a man is a ridiculous plan to begin with.

I was thinking of challenging him to something that shows I'm intelligent and well spoken and that I love his daughter very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

He might try to pay you off to dump his daughter. :pac:

Hey maybe it's not bad and the wife who you say is really sound, badgered him into giving you a chance and suggested the trip so he could get to know you better.

He might be dreading this more than you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Hire a brasser ladyboy, spike his drink and bring a camera.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I was thinking of challenging him to something that shows I'm intelligent and well spoken and that I love his daughter very much

Uh.... Just say it to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If this is indeed a real story..........................

Then just go on the trip and stop being a pussy about it. Of course he doesnt like you, you are smashing his daughter in all angles directions and positions that were probably not around in his day. The fact that he is letting you come along on his trip is a measure of the man. If you are too pussy to go then you are not man enough for his daughter.

The man build an empire, and he doesnt want his daughter pissing it away for somebody who is not accustomed to things such as "country estates".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ask very clearly in front of witnesses "are you planning to kill me?"

Then depending on his answer, go or don't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I was thinking of challenging him to something that shows I'm intelligent
    I suspect you will struggle in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

bring lube

If this is indeed a real story..........................

Then just go on the trip and stop being a pussy about it. Of course he doesnt like you, you are smashing his daughter in all angles directions and positions that were probably not around in his day. The fact that he is letting you come along on his trip is a measure of the man. If you are too pussy to go then you are not man enough for his daughter.

The man build an empire, and he doesnt want his daughter pissing it away for somebody who is not accustomed to things such as "country estates".

I'm going but just wanted to ease my mind a little/ show I suspected something in a public forum by posting here.

Would it be shrewd to suggest that I'm not having sex with his daughter or say enough for him to infer that we will only engage in missionary style sex for the sole purpose of pro-creation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gw80

Is stewie and brian going too?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

I will look after your girlfriend while your away

and if you don't come back

does she like dan__cing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭jazz101

I can't physically challenge him physically, he's built like Putin and will overpower me, so pushing him off the boat before he does it to me is off the table, I've never held a gun before so shooting him is off the table before we take into account murdering a man is a ridiculous plan to begin with.

Bring up Ulysses. Tell him it transcends the good-bad dichotomy, then snort and guffaw at everything he says about it for the rest of the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Would it be shrewd to suggest that I'm not having sex with his daughter or say enough for him to infer that we will only engage in missionary style sex for the sole purpose of pro-creation?

Just show him this post:
    I'm a rampant homosexual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I'm going but just wanted to ease my mind a little/ show I suspected something in a public forum by posting here.

Yes, do that.

Anyway, where is this country estate? I live on an estate in a rural area, I might have heard of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

A shrewd, intelligent and rampant homosexual - you sound like a catch.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Just show him this post:

Best if he didn't know my internet identity but I trust if you read that thread you'll see that post had a purpose
    Chucken wrote: »
    Yes, do that.

Anyway, where is this country estate? I live on an estate in a rural area, I might have heard of it?

He's a baron or a marquess I think, maybe even a lord, I don't know the name of the estate and wouldn't say it here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Kilgore__Trout

I'd recommend a crash course in fencing and the handling and use of dueling pistols. You'll also want a second, a fine glove, preferably leather, as the etiquette of the situation demands.

Also, I'd recommend watching "Surviving the Game", "Cliff Hanger", "The Hitcher"(1986 version), "Transit" and "No Country for Old Men" in case the situation develops into a cat and mouse scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Urabell.end....

...it with the daughter.