Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Living in a house with my boyfriend and his friend this year and almost immediately started regretting it living with my boyfriend is perfect its his friend that annoys the crap out of me.

He was fine in the start but now all he does is be passive aggressive, rude and hostile. He seems to resent me and everything I say, it all started when I asked him to tidy up after himself (I clean the house at the weekend and as soon as he comes in he dumps his crap everywhere and gives out if I move it even though I regularly trip over it and the kitchen tables so covered I can't use it).

He also agreed to bring over his monitor as a tv since the apartment doesn't have one and even though I was going to get one, he keeps being all controlling over it. He started taking the power cable out and bringing into his room at night and at home at weekends, so no one in the house can use it without his agreement. Even though we ask nicely to use it hes still being passive aggressive and says no more then his says yes. Its so annoying and I don't know what to do, even my boyfriend is losing his patience. Advice is appreciated but I just needed to vent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I will kick myself for that for days now :(

Ah don't! Small error. Alright, just the one little tap on the shin. Then get back to being amazed at appalling writing skills - it's one of my favourite things to do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭KungPao

Lazy mispronunciations of (footballers) names.

My particular peeve is British/Irish pundits/commentators just saying what they see rather than finding out how to say names - Portuguese ones get me the most (speak a bit).

Mourinho - More-een-ee-o. No. It's not "ee-o" it's more like "yo". "Moureenyo".

Same with Fernandinho...not "ee-o"..."yo"!

Or Oscar, the Chelsea player, in PT it's pronounced OS-CARRR, like we would say in English, "car".

Or the most fudged up one...names like Simão. He's not Asian, it's not like "owww" it's more like "Si-maowm", kinda an M sound at the end. That squiggle is important, don't just ignore it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

nicki11 wrote: »
    Living in a house with my boyfriend and his friend this year and almost immediately started regretting it living with my boyfriend is perfect its his friend that annoys the crap out of me.

He was fine in the start but now all he does is be passive aggressive, rude and hostile. He seems to resent me and everything I say, it all started when I asked him to tidy up after himself (I clean the house at the weekend and as soon as he comes in he dumps his crap everywhere and gives out if I move it even though I regularly trip over it and the kitchen tables so covered I can't use it).

He also agreed to bring over his monitor as a tv since the apartment doesn't have one and even though I was going to get one, he keeps being all controlling over it. He started taking the power cable out and bringing into his room at night and at home at weekends, so no one in the house can use it without his agreement. Even though we ask nicely to use it hes still being passive aggressive and says no more then his says yes. Its so annoying and I don't know what to do, even my boyfriend is losing his patience. Advice is appreciated but I just needed to vent.

Google the monitor and model number and buy a power cable for it yourselves.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I will kick myself for that for days now :(

At least you didn't use the phrase "I weep for humanity..."

Christ every time I see someone use that phrase it just makes me think -

"Well you don't half think a lot of yourself, do you honestly think humanity gives a single fcuk?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Czarcasm wrote: »
    At least you didn't use the phrase "I weep for humanity..."

Christ every time I see someone use that phrase it just makes me think -

"Well you don't half think a lot of yourself, do you honestly think humanity gives a single fcuk?"

I'm guilty of saying that once or twice :( Now that annoys me!
    I really felt like weeping because stupidity is so frustrating, those would be very bitter tears.
    But I did cop on, humanity doesn't give a fcuk, you're right! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Mudmask

KungPao wrote: »
    Lazy mispronunciations of (footballers) names.

My particular peeve is British/Irish pundits/commentators just saying what they see rather than finding out how to say names - Portuguese ones get me the most (speak a bit).

Mourinho - More-een-ee-o. No. It's not "ee-o" it's more like "yo". "Moureenyo".

Same with Fernandinho...not "ee-o"..."yo"!

Or Oscar, the Chelsea player, in PT it's pronounced OS-CARRR, like we would say in English, "car".

Or the most fudged up one...names like Simão. He's not Asian, it's not like "owww" it's more like "Si-maowm", kinda an M sound at the end. That squiggle is important, don't just ignore it!

Once heard the f1 driver Jenson Button mentioned on irish radio, they pronounced his name Yenson Button. Annoyed me a little but amused me so much more!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

That's not passive agression. That's sexual frustration. Only one thing for it. You'll have to give him a sympathy throwdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Mickey H wrote: »
    That's not passive agression. That's sexual frustration. Only one thing for it. You'll have to give him a sympathy throwdown.
    And he fancies your boyfriend , you interfered in a bromance .:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

blister on my god damn heel is refusing to heal, its been a week now

im going spare without being able to go walking in the morning/evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Have a **** instead, that'll sort ye out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

MJ23 wrote: »
    Have a **** instead, that'll sort ye out.

it didn't the previous 3 times this morning, but no harm in another shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭chinacup

Why.. why must my house mates stack dirty dishes up for a week at a time on TOP of the dishwasher and not IN? Their spotless otherwise it just doesn't make sense!

I can sympathise, have one of those blood blisters that won't heal. You walk into town to save money and realise if you do that you have to buy shoes more expensive than 5e in Penneys! What's the point? Annoying!

arf91 wrote: »
    Why.. why must my house mates stack dirty dishes up for a week at a time on TOP of the dishwasher and not IN? Their spotless otherwise it just doesn't make sense!

Their spotless what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

I enjoyed that.
    Advice: get a cosy little nest for yourself and boyfriend and his mate can play with his own power lead.

MJ23 wrote: »
    Their spotless what?
    There their they're ..:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

The fairly new design of boards.ie which shows the username to anyone shoulder surfing me when I login . Its not like I'm posting wikileaks secrets or part of the ''always online'' crew but I just find it annoying because its nobody elses damn business and its removing a choice people had previously. Plus a perfect stranger could in theory once they find your username, then proceed to find out an awful lot about some people if they shared it under one username believing themselves to be anonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I'm not a particular fan of the game of rugby.

However, I appreciate the effort that it takes to succeed at the highest of rugby (as in all sports).

However, what annoys me is the fact that "media figures" have piggy backed on other peoples hard work.

Muise... wrote: »
    also 'spelt'. :D

Spelt is completely valid

There their they're ..:p

*hangs head in shame*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

bluewolf wrote: »

Yeah I think I remember reading about that before too. I think 'spelled' was the North American common usage, and 'spelt' was more common outside the US, a bit like the way Americans will often 'visualize' whereas outside America, people will 'visualise'. They use a 'z' in US English whereas we would use an 's' in UK English.

It's a common issue with people who think their browser with spelling and grammar check is "doing it wrong", when it's actually the user has not set their Regional Settings to [English (UK)] instead of the default [English (US)].

I wouldn't take my word for it though, when I earlier got mixed up and ascribed the famous 'Friends, Romans, Countrymen' speech to Caesar, and Muise had to point out and remind me it was actually Marc Antony, had me thinking "You need to should brush up on your Shakespeare mate!" :D

As long as people don't keep thinking phase/faze is a UK/US thing, it's all good.

It's not.

for glutenless flour... :D

I would have thought it was spelt 'spellt', but the spellcheck wavy line disagrees.

Muise... wrote: »
    for glutenless flour... :D

I would have thought it was spelt 'spellt', but the spellcheck wavy line disagrees.

Imagine, a noun AND a verb :pac:
    You can use spelt or spelled but spelled is more USA apparently

I have to pronounce it 'spelled' though - 'spelt' feels all wrong in my mouth. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Vindicated! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Buy a television, problem solved, oh, and evict him he's an arsehole

People arriving unannounced.
    It's Sunday, I'm in my track suit, all I want to do today is eat and watch telly.
    Now I have to make small talk and watch kids go mental for an hour.