Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWE Network Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Ageyev wrote: »
    Chuffed to see 2000-2001 stuff added. That tag match from May 2001 with Jericho, Austin and Triple H is amazing.

The quad tear match? Was pretty hot match as I recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,183 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

beakerjoe wrote: »
    The quad tear match? Was pretty hot match as I recall

And even if you're not a trips fan. He showed serious stones to keep going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Ageyev

Raw is War from July 2, 2001 is the infamous Tacoma, Washington show headlined by Booker T vs Buff Bagwell with the WCW graphics. Not a great show by any means but it is sort car crash interesting to rewatch the invasion angle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    And even if you're not a trips fan. He showed serious stones to keep going.

I remember reading an interview with Trips afterwards and he talked about Y2J putting the walls of Jericho on him after it happened, feckin ouch!

That was a brilliant time to be a pw fan, such a put the got injured when he did, the whole angle could have had serious legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Yeah I was pretty impressed by everything that was happening between the Two Man Power Trip, The Brothers Of Destruction and The Canadian Chrises. Seriously loaded tag teams.

The first period I watched in detail when I got the network was the whole 2001 two man power trip vs the brothers of destruction ppv stuff. I loved the trips vs Kane chain match for the IC belt and Austin cause trips to lose at judgement day 2001.

2000-2001 was on the whole a great time in WWF history.

I've read or heard rumours (probably unsubstantiated) that SummerSlam 2001 would have been Triple H vs Austin for the title with Austin presumably putting H over. Seems like a logical outcome of the ending to the tag match where he hit Austin with the hammer. Could've been a great Summer but Benoit had to have surgery, H too and Austin suffered a bad back inury at KoTR when Booker T planted him through a table. Afaik it was these injuries which sped up the Invasion angle and led to Austin doing comedy skits, singing with Vince and Kurt Angle etc.

Ageyev wrote: »
    I've read or heard rumours (probably unsubstantiated) that SummerSlam 2001 would have been Triple H vs Austin for the title with Austin presumably putting H over. Seems like a logical outcome of the ending to the tag match where he hit Austin with the hammer. Could've been a great Summer but Benoit had to have surgery, H too and Austin suffered a bad back inury at KoTR when Booker T planted him through a table. Afaik it was these injuries which sped up the Invasion angle and led to Austin doing comedy skits, singing with Vince and Kurt Angle etc.

I really enjoyed the Austin/Angle/Vince comedy segments.

:O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I really enjoyed the Austin/Angle/Vince comedy segments.

:O

I loved them I know most people hated austins heel run including himself but I thought it was really good

Yis are on yer own! Comedy Austin from mid-2001 was awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Imnotthehulk

I might be a bit late to the party on this, but WWE Breaking Ground is a great series. Six episodes in so far, and I'm finding the show very entertaining.

I held off watching the whole series till this past week when all episodes were up. Enjoyed it.

The only thing I didnt like was making the Dusty tag tournament out to be real like showing Jordan and Gable disapointed after the match because "they didnt get the win". Same thing with Corbin after the final.

Mojo Rawley is some knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

sky88 wrote: »
    I loved them I know most people hated austins heel run including himself but I thought it was really good

It ran off WWF fans in droves but I loved heel Austin's comedy schtick with little cowboy hat Angle vying for McMahon's affections :P

jaykhunter wrote: »
    It ran off WWF fans in droves but I loved heel Austin's comedy schtick with little cowboy hat Angle vying for McMahon's affections :P

Just good slapstick comedy one of my favourite comedy moments in wwe ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Imnotthehulk

I held off watching the whole series till this past week when all episodes were up. Enjoyed it.

The only thing I didnt like was making the Dusty tag tournament out to be real like showing Jordan and Gable disapointed after the match because "they didnt get the win". Same thing with Corbin after the final.

Mojo Rawley is some knob.

I wasn't sure about their reactions to the tournament either. Wasn't sure if it was a holdover from kayfabe, or maybe that they're showing in the tournament showed that they weren't at the top of the NXT ladder, and were still quite a bit away from being called up.

Over all I thought it was a great show, and a very nice alternative to Total Divas in terms of what happens backstage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I was a fan of Austin's heel run as well. Really entertaining. Just too bad the what! stuff didn't end with it.

Finally finished wrestlemania 2000 and it's not as good as I remember it. The main event was overbooked to hell. Although fair play to Stephanie for taking the rock bottom and peoples elbow. I mean it's not something she'd have trained to do at that point and she took them well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,480 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

using my LG LM640T tv i installed the app from there app store and when i go into it the app stays on the page (picture attached below) and doesnt move from it. Its been like this for the last 20 mins. anyone else experience this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,223 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

PTH2009 wrote: »
    using my LG LM640T tv i installed the app from there app store and when i go into it the app stays on the page (picture attached below) and doesnt move from it. Its been like this for the last 20 mins. anyone else experience this problem.

Same here. WWE say it's not supported on all LG TVs yet and they're slowly rolling it out. Joke shop.

why have it in the lg store if its not going to work. The ps4 app wwe app sucks.

It is a joke shop alright. The app doesn't work very well (or at all sometimes) on my Sony Blu-Ray player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    The first period I watched in detail when I got the network was the whole 2001 two man power trip vs the brothers of destruction ppv stuff. I loved the trips vs Kane chain match for the IC belt and Austin cause trips to lose at judgement day 2001.

2000-2001 was on the whole a great time in WWF history.
    Were Royal Rumble through WrestleMania XVII the greatest 3 back to back shows?

I gotta say that New Japan's recent G1 Climax tournaments the past few years take the award for greatest back-to-back PPV shows but in terms of North America and WWE specifically, yeah Royal Rumble, No Way Out and WrestleMania 2001 would probably win that honour.

Monthly PPVs only became the norm in the mid-90s which leaves you with what? WCW, ECW, WWF and I guess TNA?

Vengeance 2002 (Kurt Angle v Taker v The Rock) and SummerSlam 2002 (The Rock v Brock) were pretty great. Can't remember that year's Unforgiving too well but SummerSlam 2002 is easily top 5 greatest WWF PPV.

No Mercy 2002 was actually pretty great too - that had the Brock v Taker Cell bloodbath match.

Survivor Series that year had the first Elimination Chamber match which was pretty good.

Resubbed at the weekend for Mania season. Been watching on my kindle fire with no issues in terms of buffering etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

PS4 app has worked perfectly for me.

Angron wrote: »
    PS4 app has worked perfectly for me.

Just gone to the ps4 from ps3 at christmas working perfect ever since then. could barley watch anything before that because of buffering

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Well, I suppose I should add that I haven't gotten a chance to watch a PPV live on the PS4 yet, so that'll be the real test for it I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

When I'm at home the app works great on ps4, phone and laptop, but when I'm at my other place I can only get it on my phone or laptop, with more noticeable dips in quality and the ps4 buffers loads. Only thing I can work out from it all is upc/virgin or Sky (which I had in my old apartment and that too worked perfectly) internet is the way to go of you want the network to actually function as opposed to eircom, Vodafone etc.

It's buffers a lot on my PS4 and then it goes off.

It's OK on my Samsung blu ray player but tlc was unwatchable live last month on it due to buffering.

I have 220mb upc horizon