If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

ProudDUB wrote: »

We'll be lucky to get out of the group, given that the squad will be off on the team hollier in January.

Meath definitely gunning for an impressive two in a row of their own. :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,179 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

But in the meantime, anyone for strawberries?

O'Byrne Cup fixtures are out.

Dublin v DCU, Sunday, Jan 8.

Dublin v UCD, Wed, Jan 11.

Wexford v Dublin, Sunday, Jan 15.

Semi Finals, Sunday, Jan 22.

Final, Sunday, Jan 29.

We'll be lucky to get out of the group, given that the squad will be off on the team hollier in January.

As long a few new generation McManamon's are unearthed I don't mind.
    I vaguely remembered that his debut was in the O'Byrne Cup because I was getting himself and his brothers names mixed up (Brendan was playing as well) they both had the same style of running which added to the confusion.

So I looked it up and found this:

Kevin McManamon made his Dublin debut v Wexford in the O'Byrne Cup 6 years ago.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-ease-past-wexford-to-spark-new-hope-26623882.html

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Kev Mc had only been on the panel a couple of years, when he scored THAT goal? For some reason I thought he was around during the dark days of the startled earwigs.
    Meath definitely gunning for an impressive two in a row of their own. :p:D

Jesus, you really are bored, if you've been reduced to slagging off poor aul Meath to pass the time of day. Only thing they're known for these days, is a crisps theme park. Mr Tayto will probably get his hands on an All Ireland medal before that lot will ! :D

Jesus, you really are bored, if you've been reduced to slagging off poor aul Meath to pass the time of day.

These are troubling times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jesus, you really are bored, if you've been reduced to slagging off poor aul Meath to pass the time of day. Only thing they're known for these days, is a crisps theme park. Mr Tayto will probably get his hands on an All Ireland medal before that lot will ! :D

Finding joy in meaths woes will never get old

They haven't gone away you know :mad:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Bambi wrote: »
    Finding joy in meaths woes will never get old

They haven't gone away you know :mad:

My wife is from Meath, and I never let her forget it. She was mad into the GAA back when Meath were decent, she's got no interest now, funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

CatInABox wrote: »
    My wife is from Meath, and I never let her forget it. She was mad into the GAA back when Meath were decent, she's got no interest now, funny that.

And we'll never let you forget that you married "into" Meath. Tut tut tut.

---

I've dated girls from both Meath and Cork (Never touch a Kerry wan!) and it always came home to roost in my head that they were from Cork and Meath. Does that count as shallow?

And we'll never let you forget that you married "into" Meath. Tut tut tut.

---

I've dated girls from both Meath and Cork (Never touch a Kerry wan!) and it always came home to roost in my head that they were from Cork and Meath. Does that count as shallow?

Ah sure If you sow the seed with a Kerry one there's a chance of producing a better cailbre of footballing off spring.

If it's internally in the county they should be vetted to make sure there's a at least one county championship winner on her side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

You just better be certain she does not have your username :)

Ah sure If you sow the seed with a Kerry one there's a chance of producing a better cailbre of footballing off spring.

If it's internally in the county they should be vetted to make sure there's a at least one county championship winner on her side.

Well I dabbled with a Letterkenny wan to no avail a while back and am currently ensconced in Clare. Not a hope of a county medal there I would say given the half-English provenance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Bit like the early to mid noughties when Dublin used to struggle to get 20,000 for a Leinster Championship match :D

danganabu wrote: »
    Bit like the early to mid noughties when Dublin used to struggle to get 20,000 for a Leinster Championship match :D

Really? I doubt Dublin have ever had less than 20,000 at a Leinster championship game in 50 years, But no doubt you are from some massively well supported successful county :)

66,000 at semi final in 2002:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002_All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship#Leinster_Senior_Football_Championship

Oh thank god you got there first. I was afraid that I was gonna lay down some smack.

No doubt dangan will refute your numbers.

Well I dabbled with a Letterkenny wan to no avail a while back and am currently ensconced in Clare. Not a hope of a county medal there I would say given the half-English provenance.

And you're posting HERE at the same time? :eek:

Jesus, I'd say Clare is none too impressed. :P

And you're posting HERE at the same time? :eek:

Jesus, I'd say Clare is none too impressed. :P

Now, now keep it country...

Any views on fact that Cunningham appears to have opted for Parnell for league games rather that double headers.

Fair play to him I say.

I disagree. The hurlers have a piss poor record at Croke Park. PP being Fortress Parnell is all well and good, but if you have serious design on All Ireland success, you have to learn how to win at Croke Park. And win consistantly. We just don't do that.

You know what they say, it's a long, long way from Clare to here....sorry, sorry, sorry....I mean, it's a long, long way from Donnycarney to Ballybough, if you want to win a Leinster, never mind an All Ireland. :D

I disagree. The hurlers have a piss poor record at Croke Park. PP being Fortress Parnell is all well and good, but if you have serious design on All Ireland success, you have to learn how to win at Croke Park. And win consistantly. We just don't do that.

You know what they say, it's a long, long way from Clare to here....sorry, sorry, sorry....I mean, it's a long, long way from Donnycarney to Ballybough, if you want to win a Leinster, never mind an All Ireland. :D

They haven't a fkn hope of winning AI this year. They can stay in 1A. Let's be sensible now!

Bonniedog wrote: »
    They haven't a fkn hope of winning AI this year. They can stay in 1A. Let's be sensible now!

Staying in Div 1A isn't the ultimate goal. It's just a means to an ends. What is the merit in getting to stay in Div 1A, if we get fcuked out of the championhip in the summer, after yet another disappointing appearance in Croker? Our Div 1A status hasn't been of much use to us over the past couple of year?

It will be holding year. They have some decent prospects but face it, they are nowhere near being able to win Leinster, never mind AI. They might be in 2/3 years but that depends on staying in top flight and managing the transition.

But going back to original point about double headers, I really don't see the point. Best performance last year was beating Galway in PP after having arses handed to us on plate week before in Thurles. Dublin hurling needs those days and not that long since beating Galway would have been highlight of the year.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Now, now keep it country...

Any views on fact that Cunningham appears to have opted for Parnell for league games rather that double headers.

Fair play to him I say.

I am mixed on this. There is a better view in parnell park for the hurling.
    Also the atmosphere is better then a less then third full Croke Park.

But deep down, I feel it is Cunningham saying we are not good enough to play in Croke Park. So the tighter pitch of Parnell is a necessity rather then an option.

I am not looking forward to the hurling season at all this year. Everything has the feeling of regression:

1) Regression in aspirations
    (It was winning the Liam McCarthy/getting to a final now it is survival in the league and not to get hammered too much by Galway/Kilkenny)

2) Regression in playing style
    (the hunting in packs has been consigned to the history and it is this tippy tappy sh*te which is very easy for teams to play against)

3) Regression in the standard of the hurling panel - fellas leaving etc this speaks for itself.

I am willing to give Cunningham a chance. My hopes are that low that even if I see ANY type of improvement in the right direction with some definite plan or strategy for the next 3/4/5 years then I will be happy.

But at the back of my mind, I feel that Cunningham is like a lame duck President just keeping the seat warm for the next fella.
    It doesn't help that he is not the most charismatic/energetic type bubbly character like his predecessor.

Also, you have as much chance of getting a proper answer out the fella, as you would of a Cork auld fella who does not like Murphy's.

Yeah, I can't f**king wait for this Dublin hurling year....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Yep, this year is all about keeping the head above water and hoping a few young fellas make the transition its not much but f**k it, it's been far worse.

Bambi wrote: »
    Yep, this year is all about keeping the head above water and hoping a few young fellas make the transition its not much but f**k it, it's been far worse.

Yeah, but that was back when any Dub who picked up a hurl was deemed:

1) A Dub of questionable Dub heritage

2) A threat - and not in the sense of threat on the hurling field

Things would want to go really bad to get back to that level again! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

I have my opinion on Cunningham but i pray the panel are immune to this level of pessimism we're seeing.

We've loads of good young lads coming through and with or without Cunningham they can give teams a game if everyone pulls in the same direction.

Its not the same obviously but i'm reminded of a time when Whelan, Ryan, etc were moaning at Gilroy for not playing...the younger lads ploughed on regardless.

Is it ploughed or plowed btw?:confused:

I'd say there is definite personality thing there. Cunningham is not Anthony!

So they need to deal with that. I've hear lots of stuff about why Suthcliffe won't play. That's his own business.

What wasn't was going on TV last year to comment on team he refused to play for. You don't do that.

Ambitions need to be realistic. Dublin staying in top 6 and making quarter final - my expectation - would have been front cover of county year book 20 years ago.

Some great players coming through so onwards and upwards/ Eventually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

corny wrote:
    Its not the same obviously but i'm reminded of a time when Whelan, Ryan, etc were moaning at Gilroy for not playing...the younger lads ploughed on regardless.

Yeah I agree it's not the same, well in some cases anyway. Ryan and Whelan seemed to accept they were past it. Whelan played for an age and was injured a lot when Pat started . I remain convinced that Whelan would have been given a shot at 14 had he been fit since it was a roll Pat himself took on successfully when he was older.

Some of the hurlers are past it , but others are far from it.

When Gilroy took over, we had some of the best players to ever play for Dublin coming thru the ranks. It didn't take a blind man to see that and plan accordingly. He was also able to get the very best out of some of the players that had been there a while. (Berno had his best ever year in a Dublin shirt, in only Gilroys second year in charge.) So you can forgive him for wielding the machete and retiring some players, who may have felt that they had more to offer. We have nothing like a young Dermo, Cian, Philly, Rory, Flynner etc etc coming thru the ranks of the hurlers, so it's not a like for like comparison imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

Con O Callaghan staying with the footballers 2017. Not a surprise but a shame given his exploits with Cuala recently.

ST renewed. Guess I'll be there for the 3 in a row!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

What's the damage on a ST ? .. is there a terrace/stand option like the PP

Edit .. I see on the season ticket site that ourselves and Mayo are still closed off .. no room at the inn if we're being seasonal

DoctaDee wrote: »
    What's the damage on a ST ? .. is there a terrace/stand option like the PP

Edit .. I see on the season ticket site that ourselves and Mayo are still closed off .. no room at the inn if we're being seasonal

Season tickets are one code or the other so not great for Dubs/Galway/Cork. And not valid for club games afaik.

When is PP pass up for renewal?

Far better value.