Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OPORD "Kickass"

• 02-01-2014 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭

***UNCLASSIFIED***

My name is Senor Fancy Pants, I am your Thread Commander for the duration of this operation, starting Zulu 10:00 2014-01-02. This is the OPORD for 'Operation Kick Ass". Listen up!

Task Organisation
    Training partners in work to be in "Direct Support".
    Training partners at home to be "On Priority Call".
    Internet troops in "General Support".

1. SITUATION
    a. Enemy Forces:
    (1) Fat cells have infiltrated Senor Fancy Pants. Various injuries have been sustained.
    (2) Recent activities include stealthy insertion through the face cavity, cleverly camouflaged and concealed in delicious Christmas treats.
    (3) Enemies most probable course of action is to envelop SFP and doom him to a bedridden, one hinged wall, multi-fat fold life. Enemies most dangerous course of action is to kill SFP, by means of smothering in his own neck fat.

Weather. Training will be conducted in all weather condition, including day time and night time training assaults.

Terrain. This Operation will be conducted indoor and outdoors. Primarily located on roads, tracks, beaches, fields and the "pain house" a.k.a The Gym.

b. Friendly Forces:
    (1) It is the superior commanders intent to ensure SFP gets off his ass and achieves his mission.
    (2) The Pain House is available at its fixed co ordinates 24/7 for tactical rehearsals.
    (3) The singular bi-wheeled ass chaffer (road bike) is in our immediate location, on stand by for deployment.
    (4) Training gear is available as issued.

c. Attachments:
    (1) iPod and iTunes available as needed.
    (2) Experts are on call online, for direction and assistance.

2. MISSION
    We will conduct a long term fat loss and general fitness Operation in the surrounding Dublin, Kildare, Wicklow areas. This Operation will start tomorrow morning in order to close with and kill the enemy fat cells inhabiting SFP.

3. EXECUTION
    a. Concept of Ops. It is my intent to conduct this long term operation as efficiently and effectively as possible. Training gear will be carried at all times in preparation for fat assaults. Accountability, discipline, determination, motivation and safety procedures will be maintained at all times.

This Operation will be conducted in 3 phases. Preperation, Assault, Consolodation. This is the Preperation phase. Phase two "Assault" starts tomorrow. Phase 3 "Consolodation" will be at the end of the Operation.

SERVICE SUPPORT
    a. Supplies
    (1) iPod juice comes from the electricity fairy in the wall.
    (2) Protein, complex carbs, no processed food, low sugars and salts, natural fats.
    (3) Water, black coffee, green tea.
    (4) 6 week training plan printed and ready to go.

b. Transportation
    (1) Legs x 2 have been issued, complete with feet and 10 toes on charge.
    (2) Road bike with accessories

c. Services
    (1) Physio and Priest on speed dial

d. Medical
    (1) Medevac will not be needed unless I hit the wall.

Any questions? No, good!

Standby for first mission task!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Pretty much following a 6 week programme off BB.com to start...just to get back in the swing of things. (I know!!! :pac:)

I have a subacromial shoulder impingement in both shoulders. They are not too bad at the moment but I will keep the weights light for a while. Weights will be decided tomorrow. I'm on Day 4.

2-3 minute skipping warm up

Incline DB flys 3 x 12-15. 14kg
    1 minute skipping

DB Flys 3 x 12-15. 16kg
    Bench step ups

Cable Crossover 3 x 12-15. 35kg
    Squat Jump

Tricep pulledown 3 x 12-15. 40kg
    Box shuffle

Standing tricep extension 3 x 12-15. 20kg
    Kettlebell swings

Cable lying tricep extension 3 x 12-15. 40kg
    Goblet squat

Crunches 3 x 12-15. With 7 kg medicine ball
    Battle ropes

1 arm, high pulley, cable side bends 3 x 12-15. 40kg
    Lunge jumps.

Can't wait for tomorrow!

Happy enough with that workout today, didn't go mental but put in a good effort. Post updated to reflect weights lifted, nothing major.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Solid stuff SFP :) Hope you keep this thread going

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭siochain

lol

having read your intro I'm ready to pack the gym bag and hit it again for a second session today :)

Today wasnt great, shoulder kinda fupped me up.

3 minute warm up with skipping rope. I did 30 seconds of 6kg medicine ball slams between each set.

Side lateral raise 3 x 15 @ 10kg
    Standing front BB overhead raise 3 x 15 @ 12.5kg
    Seated bent over rear delt raise (this was really sore, dropped weight to 4kg :o)
    Leg extensions 4 x 15 @ 50kg
    Leg curls 4 x 15 @ 50kg
    Leg press calf raise 4 x 15 @ 100kg
    Squat press machine 4 x 15 @ 200kg

Went again later in the day.

Skipping x 30 seconds x 10
    Med ball slams x 30 seconds x 10
    DB push ups with bear crawl 5 x 10
    Cross trainer 20 mins at hardest level
    Treadmill 10 mins at level ten.

Happy enough!

Bad day again, shoulders are starting to get bad again.

4km light jog at lunch - 21 mins

2 mins skipping as a warm up
    Medium grip bench press - 4 x 8 @ 70kg
    Incline DB Press - 4 x 8 @ 20kg
    Declie smith press No decline bench in my gym so used some machine thing - 3 x 8 @ 50kg
    Assisted Dips - 4 x 6
    Close grip bench press - 4 x 6 @ 40kg

Abs didn't happen, place was packed and I was too pissed off to wait around!

Not happy at all, strength has gone down a lot since early November. Coupled with the reoccurrence of the shoulder problem.

I PB'd on the bench @ 112kg in November and now I'm struggling to lift 70kg.

Cortisone injection needed I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭siochain

Pace yourself with them shoulders it's one complicated joint to get right if they go.

Jogged 8km at lunch in 41 mins.

Gym routine after work:

3 minute skipping warm up
    Barbell shoulder press - 4 x 8 @ 55kg
    Standing alt DB press - 3 x 8 @ 14kg
    Smith machine 1 arm rows - 3 x 8 @ 35kg
    Barbell squats - 4 x 8 @ 80kg
    DL - 3 x 8 @ 80kg
    Body weight lunges - 4 x 8
    Standing calf raise - 4 x 8
    Seated calf press - 4 x 8 @ 50kg

Legs are dead, shoulders are stiff but mentally I'm good :)

You "jogged" 8k in 41 minutes? Damn! My first outdoor run about 5 years ago was 5k run and I did it in 30 minutes :o

I measured again......it's just over 7 km :o fcuk! Ah well!

Took a few days off from the gym to rest the shoulders. Just jogged and played a bit of astro instead.

Today I did the slow 7.something km in 42 mins. Then gym on the way home from work. Kept it light.

10 mins on cross trainer
    Rotator cuff warm up with 4kg DB's

Decline bench
    - 1 x 12 @ 50kg
    - 1 x 12 @ 60kg
    - 1 x 8 @ 70kg

Incline DB press
    - 1 x 12 @ 12kg
    - 1 x 12 @ 16kg
    - 1 x 8 @ 24kg

Flat DB Flys
    - 1 x 12 @ 12kg
    - 1 x 12 @ 14kg
    - 1 x 8 @ 16kg

DB concentration curls
    - 1 x 12 @ 12kg
    - 1 x 8 @ 14kg

Straight bar curl
    -1 x 8 @ 25kg

7k in 41 mins is still good in my books :)

Didn't get to the gym yesterday so did two sessions in one today. I did 25 medicine ball slams between each exercise.

DB pullovers
    - 2 x 12 @ 16kg
    - 1 x 10 @ 20kg

Close Grip Pulldowns
    - 2 x 12 @ 20kg
    - 1 x 10 @ 40kg

DB 1 arm row
    - 2 x 12 @ 16kg
    - 1 x 10 @ 20kg

Wide Grip Cable Row
    - 1 x 12 @ 25kg
    - 1 x 10 @ 40kg

DL
    - 1 x 12 @ 60kg
    - 1 x 10 @ 80kg

DB Shoulder Press
    - 1 x 12 @ 10kg
    - 1 x 10 @ 12kg

Side Lateral Raise
    - 2 x 10 @ 6kg

Low Pulley Delt Raise
    - 2 x 12 @ 20kg

Reverse DB Flys
    - 2 x 12 @ 14kg

Tricep Pushdowns
    - 2 x 12 @ 50kg

Tricep Press
    - 2 x 12 @ 24kg

Ah, today I ran 4km in 23 mins at lunch. Then gym after work.

Leg press and calf press superset.

50 x 80kg
    40 x 130kg
    30 x 170kg
    20 x 200kg
    10 x 220kg
    5 x 250kg
    5 x 250kg
    10 x 220kg
    20 x 170kg
    30 x 150kg
    40 x 100kg
    50 x 80kg

I felt bad for hogging the leg press machine and most of the large plates. There was a guy playing with his hair while waiting for me to drop the weight a bit.

I'm an animal :(

Holy fcuk I forgot I started this!

Well 8 months later, where am I? Due to different things I cut back on the gym and focused more on running. I sporadically went to the gym to shake things up a bit but not for PB's.

My 8km time creeped up to 52 minutes but is now down to 39:xx on a good day. I cycle home from work the odd time, it's 56km or so. I have knocked it down from 2:46:xx to 2:15:xx.

I discovered what IT Bands are, unfortunately. That has been an ongoing issue for the last 6 months or so. Foam rolling really helps. Iv learned to just take the pain :).

Bodyweight hit 205 lbs at the start of the year, dropped to 179 and now lingering at 185 for now. I'm really noticing the difference in the lack of weight training. Cardio is great and all but imagine poking your finger into a half full water balloon, that's what I'm like :).

I started out running 3.8km a day, progressed up to 20km some days and average 8km per day now. I'm working up to the Dublin Marathon this year and have my head set on the Dublin Ironman 70.3 (if it happens in 2015).

I'm pretty much doing whatever I can when I can. Iv never been an "event" person but so far this year I have done:

Samsung 10km night run
    Lucan 5km park run
    Irish Runner 8km
    Fingal 10km
    Rock and Roll half marathon
    Warriors Run
    Dublin half marathon

Upcoming events I will be doing:
    Rough Diamond 57km adventure race
    Coast to Coast 10 mile
    Killarney 70km adventure race
    An Cosantoir 10km
    Coney Island Challenge 10km
    A work 26 km adventure race
    Dublin Marathon
    Work biathlon
    Sea to Summit 56km race
    Clontarf half marathon
    Laois half marathon

And whatever else pops up in between. Also heading back to the gym properly tomorrow but keeping things light for a while.

Got up early and went to the gym. Plan was to ease myself back into it.

Pull ups - total fail, couldn't get 1 proper one. Decided to jump up and grab the bar and slowly let myself down towards the ground. Stopped at 10. Il get there :).

Push ups - 5 x 10 pausing at the bottom for 5 seconds.

Standing BB curl @ 17kg - 15, 12, 10

DB tri extensions @ 16kg - 15, 12, 10

Incline DB Curl @ 14kg - 15, 12, 10

Cable 1 arm tri extensions @ 12kg - 15, 12, 10

Reverse BB curl @ 17kg - 15, 12, 10

Skull crushers @ 20kg - 15, 12, 10

Tri DB Kickbacks @ 20kg - 15, 12, 10.

11km run at lunch in 56:23

I just did a 5km walk at lunch to loosen out today.

I have the Connemara Rough Diamond 57km adventure race on Saturday and a 10 mile road race in Sligo on Sunday. Hopefully be back to the gym on Monday.

So today I did the Connemara Rough Diamond adventure race and it was a huge kick in the face from reality.

Firstly il get my excuses out of the way :). Haven't slept since Wednesday, I didn't eat before the race, I didn't have the right kit, I'm not fit enough. I'm an ignorant bastard.

I chose the expert course which was the longest at 57.5km. Spa :)

It started off with an 8km run which was uphill to the top of Diamond Mountain and back down. Lads, it was fairly steep in parts but doable. It started to rain straight away but it was all good until the down hill. It was very slippy and I had a ****ty tumble. So revised my tactic of step by step and just jumped and barrelled my way down. I made up a bit of time there. It ended with a trail run which I really opened up on and enjoyed.

Straight onto the bike then for 8km, no problems, all went smoothly.

Off the bike and onto a 2km obstacle course through a forest. This was brilliant! They had zombies jumping out of trees and the obstacles were challenging but excellent fun. They even had lads in sumo suits charging ya down. It was so much fun. I made good time here too as I was confident enough with the obstacles.

Back onto the bike for 13.5km, again it was grand, lovely scenery but I hit a few small but hard hills and could feel my legs giving up.

Then off the bike at the beach for an 8km run. Mostly on sand but a bit cross country too. At this stage I was bunched. The rain was pelting down and there was sand blowing about into my eyes and mouth. It was exhausting fighting it and I just felt like giving up. I was fcuked. On the return, I realised I wasn't last out of my group as about 8 were still on the way down so that perked me up a bit.

Back onto the bike for the last 18km. I was ok for about 5km then hill after hill after hill wore me down. Who knew Connemara was so hilly! If I'd any other way back I would have just fcuked the bike on the deck. Fancy Pants was now dead but just before he croaked it he smashed the emergency case and let my alter ego Hank out of his box.

Hank took over and started pumping his crazy legs but after at the 13km Mark he nearly lost control of the bike going down hill. He took it handy for the rest of the way.

Time was just over 4 hours. Not happy with my lack of preparation and not having trail runners, cycling shoes or cleats, not eating etc etc.

I always have to make things harder for myself and I suffered for it today. Mindset changed, roll on the 70km race next week.

10 mile road race in 1:20:33

That's an average of just over 8 minute miles. I'm happy enough with that.

70km adventure race yesterday. It took me longer than I thought but I'm still happy, at least I wasn't last.

7km mountain run
    38km cycle
    1.5km kayak
    18km mountain run
    6km cycle
    .5km run to the finish.

6hrs 43mins.

10km done in a slow and handy 58:47

56km cycle home in 2:56, once again nice and handy.

I have a 10km race tomorrow so.....can't wait! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

SFP you're doing a log!!! Awesome!! :D
    JOIIIIIN UUUUUSSSSS

bluewolf wrote: »
    SFP you're doing a log!!! Awesome!! :D
    JOIIIIIN UUUUUSSSSS

Ha kinda! As soon as I start back at the gym il post more. Gona start reading other peoples logs tonight and get some advice!

There's some awesome people here!

Cycled 75km today and took part in a 10km organised by work.

I got a PB in the race...47:16. I'm delighted! Especially after cycling 55km in the rain before hand! :)

10 mile cycle in 33 minutes yesterday, straight off the bike and into a 10km race, The Coney Island Challenge.

Got another PB, 46:09. I'm raging, I ran with a girl for a km to just to kinda bring her on a bit. If I hadn't, I'd say I would have been under the 46 mark. Ah well.

Then I got Pissed! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

You are one fit fecker.

Remmy wrote: »
    You are one fit fecker.

Well, that's a new one! :pac:

Cheers dude. I have aspirations of a 50km & 100km races next year and a 300km+ adventure race. I should have stuck with 5km's! Ha

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

They should set up a new section for "people like you"....
    Freaky Fit Fecker Fitness Logs or some such.....I'm going back to drool over Conzys burgers :)

Updated to reflect known times, so I don't forget.

Samsung 10km night run - 54:xx
    Lucan 5km park run
    Irish Runner 8km
    Fingal 10km
    Rock and Roll half marathon - 2:00:01
    Warriors Run - 1:33:xx
    Dublin half marathon - 2:2x:xx

Rough Diamond 57km adventure race - 4:04
    Coast to Coast 10 mile - 1:20:xx
    Killarney 70km adventure race - 6:43:xx
    An Cosantoir 10km - 47:16 PB
    Coney Island Challenge 10km - 46:06 PB

Upcoming stuff:

SCAR 77km adventure race
    26 km adventure race
    Dublin Marathon
    Sea to Summit 56km race
    Clontarf half marathon
    Laois half marathon

ninamc wrote: »
    They should set up a new section for "people like you"....
    Freaky Fit Fecker Fitness Logs or some such.....I'm going back to drool over Conzys burgers :)

Ha, tbh I'm far from fit. I just keep turning up and moving until it's over. I must check out Conzys burgers........

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

The entire fitness log subforum just drools over his food posts

You big fit mentaller

bluewolf wrote: »
    The entire fitness log subforum just drools over his food posts

You big fit mentaller

I just had a quick look.......I hate him now! :pac: fair fcuks to him! Ima gonna steal some of his plans!