Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

When is a man too fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Wibbs wrote: »
    Not me anyway, though I never had the older woman thing TBH, all my longtermers were between 5 and 15 years younger than me, so that might explain it?
    The average man's testosterone level peaks around 30 and after that the slide is downward

Are you sure it's as old as that? I have always read that it peaks around 18-21 and then drops off after 30. It's interesting because it seems as though a little bit more can be potentially very beneficial but too much or too little can have pretty negative consequences. Can it even be accurately measured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,493 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

This board doesn't like hearing harsh truths. So no, balding is actually "in" this season. It's socially adjust and stylish.

Sorry, I forgot that being bald makes one a social pariah, forever to remain unfancied by all.

Little tip, immaturity is probably one of the biggest turnoffs in either sex.
    Pug160 wrote: »
    It does make people look older in fairness. Although I'd prefer being bald and having a decent looking face with good skin to having a big mop of hair and being below average in terms of looks.

Looking older doesnt mean squat about ageing well though? And I'd even debate the validity of that statement. Lots of older men look younger once they shave their heads imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Francisco Durden

How well do you do with girls of your preferred age group?

Pretty well. I don't have to go to foreign countries to attract them for instance.
    GreeBo wrote: »
    Sorry, I forgot that being bald makes one a social pariah, forever to remain unfancied by all.

Little tip, immaturity is probably one of the biggest turnoffs in either sex.

You need a strong bone structure to pull of being bald. That or you have to have a darker skin tone. Otherwise you risk looking like a cancer patient.

Zenedine Zidane, Freddie Ljungbery, Jason Statham. All great looking bald men, and it's no surprise they all have amazingly robust bone structures.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

I think a guy is too fit when he keeps preening and trimming his diet,when he spends loads of money on his diet and gym membership and it has him coming out all veiny and stuff..

Other than that a guy who keeps himself is fit is actually alrite as long as he doesnt spend too much time being obsessed about it and all he is short of is the pink trunks and the fake tan and the dumbells..

Having said all that i dont know many irish guys that look like that i think its more of an american thing to be pumped and ripped or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,493 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

You need a strong bone structure to pull of being bald. That or you have to have a darker skin tone. Otherwise you risk looking like a cancer patient.

Zenedine Zidane, Freddie Ljungbery, Jason Statham. All great looking bald men, and it's no surprise they all have amazingly robust bone structures.

Ahh, so its no longer a generalization that being bald means old and ageing badly? Good.
    So other than having a weird shaped head, you dont see a downside to being bald in relation to how you look/age?

One could argue that your point, isnt really a point. You are basically saying that as long as you arent weird looking its ok. The same applies to anything.

You can have all the hair in the world, but if you have bad teeth and no chin, you probably wont age well either.

Thats the problem with silly generalizations...they dont really work and you make yourself look silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Pretty well. I don't have to go to foreign countries to attract them for instance.

Sure thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Francisco Durden

Pug160 wrote: »
    Are you sure it's as old as that? I have always read that it peaks around 18-21 and then drops off after 30. It's interesting because it seems as though a little bit more can be potentially very beneficial but too much or too little can have pretty negative consequences. Can it even be accurately measured?

It's debated they even decline with age.
    A decline in testosterone levels as men grow older is likely the result -- not the cause -- of deteriorating general health, say Australian scientists, whose new study finds that age, in itself, has no effect on testosterone level in healthy older men.

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/06/110607121129.htm
    Study co-author Dr Gary Wittert, professor of medicine at the University of Adelaide, told the press:

"It is critical that doctors understand that declining testosterone levels are not a natural part of aging and that they are most likely due to health-related behaviors or health status itself," he added.

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/247013.php

Older sources say 30 is when they decline

According to MayoClinic.com, testosterone levels in men peak during the teen and early adult years, then decrease about 1 percent a year after age 30. A male infant starts out with less than 30 nanograms/deciliter, or ng/dL, in his blood, says the University of Michigan Health System. Teens between the ages of 14 and 15 years should have between 8 to 53 ng/dL of testosterone in their blood, while 16 to 19-year-olds average 200 to 970 ng/dL. Men in their 20s or 30s can expect to have a testosterone level of 270 to 1,080 ng/dL. From 40 to 59 years of age, testosterone levels drop to between 350 and 890 ng/dL. From 60 years on, a typical testosterone level in men is between 350 and 720 ng/dL.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/228100-when-does-your-testosterone-level-start-to-drop/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Everything has a timer. Men age better than women, stop being pedantic.
    Its not pedantry. Yes men can age better than women. Culturally and biologically men's attractiveness is less looks biased. Social power would have much more in the mix as one example. However on the biology and physical front their aging runs about 5 to ten years behind women(depending on the fitness of the individual, genetic and physical), it's not that large a gap as some men seem to think.

Any stats to back this up?
    If you can show me any trend in the west where men of around 50 are bopping 20 year olds in any significant number, I'll buy a hat and eat it.
    Pug160 wrote:
    Oh it can be very accurately measured alright. I've had mine checked many times in the past. It was discovered early on that I had higher than normal amounts of the stuff. Those of you who have seen my scrawny arse can stop laughing now. :D My personal highest result was around the time I was 31, then it slowly went down since, still high for my age though. Negative consequences? Most of those are to do with eejits overdosing on the stuff and even then the side effects aren't as bad as reported. Personally I was told to watch for any signs of prostate trouble as it's likely I'll get that sometime and likely before my contemporaries. Positive consequences? No middle aged spread. Same weight now I was at 20. Wrinkles are less than my contemporaries. No crows feet or any of that. Skin elasticity is overall higher(skin on the back of the hand snaps down as it always did). Horniness is a given. TBH if it did drop off to below optimum I'd take hormone replacement in a heartbeat. It;s a fantastic hormone all around.

Individuals vary, some peak early some a little later, but in general after 30 test is on the downward slope. Individuals who are fitter and eat well and avoid environmental anti test substances can keep it higher for longer mind you. a 45 year old powerlifter is gonna have way more than a sedentary 45 year old rocking a gut. Not living with someone/being married increases it funny enough, so a single 50 year old is on average going to have more than a married 50 year old(all sorts of theories as to why this is).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I think a guy is too fit when he keeps preening and trimming his diet,when he spends loads of money on his diet and gym membership and it has him coming out all veiny and stuff..

Other than that a guy who keeps himself is fit is actually alrite as long as he doesnt spend too much time being obsessed about it and all he is short of is the pink trunks and the fake tan and the dumbells..

Having said all that i dont know many irish guys that look like that i think its more of an american thing to be pumped and ripped or whatever.

Yes I'd imagine the vanity of it is probably a bigger turn off than the actual physique. Like the fellas off Tallafornia who love themselves and are always checking themselves in the mirror. Professional bodybuilders pose in front of the mirror a lot too but that's mostly to check their progress and assess what areas need improvement - not to be confused with vanity.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

GreeBo wrote: »
    Ahh, so its no longer a generalization that being bald means old and ageing badly? Good.
    I'd reckon if a guy shaved his head at 25, didn't lose or gain weight over time and kept fit(and out of the sun), he wouldn't look much different at 55, whereas a guy with a full head of hair over the same time would look more different as chances are he will have gone grey in the interim. The aging process would be more obvious on one level anyway.
    Men in their 20s or 30s can expect to have a testosterone level of 270 to 1,080 ng/dL.
    That's a huge range there. A man with 270 is gonna be a very different man to a guy rocking over a 1000. If I got a result of 270 I'd keep going to doctors until I found out why it was that low or found one wrote up a script for replacement therapy.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Interesting article. Id have some issues with it though. For a start it's self selecting for a group of healthy men. Are their test levels high because they're healthy, or are they high because they have a genetic advantage? IE they're both healthy and high test as a result of this advantage, or are they healthy because they have higher test naturally? What proportion of such men are in the general population would be another question I'd be asking.

In one of the other links on the page on this subject, there was a couple of interesting points. 1) stopping smoking caused a decrease in testosterone. Odd one. I wonder why? Maybe the common weight gain associated with stopping might be part of this? 2) the notion, backed up by other studies that showed men living with women have generally lower test was also reversed in that study.

TBH these days, more and more I reserve a loooong judgement on many studies. Too often strong effects one way or the other in the primary study decreases with every study that follows it. It's particularly noticeable in drug trials. EG second generational antipsychotic drugs. Came along in the 90's and the primary and many clinical studies showed near miraculous benefits to patients. Great stuff. However subsequent studies show a decline in efficacy to the point that they're no better than the older drugs they largely replaced. It's an interesting phenomena. It's sometimes called the "Decline effect".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

Yes I'd imagine the vanity of it is probably a bigger turn off than the actual physique. Like the fellas off Tallafornia who love themselves and are always checking themselves in the mirror. Professional bodybuilders pose in front of the mirror a lot too but that's mostly to check their progress and assess what areas need improvement - not to be confused with vanity.

Yeah true.If there is one type of guy i hate more than any of the other posers out there on the scene its the tallifornia guys omg they are so brash in your face sleep with any burd fake tan and ripped.

Even to look at one is a complete turn off i couldnt be bothered with those types.

They are way too into themselves and probably think too much of themselves,really they have delusions of grandeur..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

When they are too muscle bound to be able to cuddle and when they won't eat icecream in bed with you after sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Morag wrote: »
    When they are too muscle bound to be able to cuddle and when they won't eat icecream in bed with you after sex.

Pervert ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

The thread about womens fitness ended 7 pages in, this thread is still going 7 pages in. Where are all the people saying "you wouldnt find a thread about men being too fit" and "a similar thread about men wouldnt be half as long" after disappearing to?

They've gone into hiding. :D In fairness though, this thread went slightly off topic and we got into a lengthy discussion about sports, steroids and some guy talking about smashing 16-21 year old girls, (which is apparently the peak of female beauty.) Although I must admit I didn't expect it to go on longer than the fit women thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

the ridiculousness of this thread is that people aren't backing up their choices with pictorial evidence of preference !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! or what inspired them http://gqmodels.zohosites.com/files/The%20fab%205%20male%20models%20top%2050%20icons.jpg

mine were the mark van derloos and marcus schenkenberg, the original 90s male super models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

I'm one of them!! I have to admit I noticed earlier that this thread was still going and tbh I was surprised but as others have said this thread has gone off topic slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Brian Shaw is on Channel 5 now. 6'8'' and 200kilos. Probably too fit lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

the ridiculousness of this thread is that people aren't backing up their choices with pictorial evidence of preference !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! or what inspired them http://gqmodels.zohosites.com/files/The%20fab%205%20male%20models%20top%2050%20icons.jpg

mine were the mark van derloos and marcus schenkenberg, the original 90s male super models

They'd get a big dirty "meh" from me anyway tbh. I know we've had mention of swimmers bodies like Jason Statham (He was on Britain's National Diving Squad for 12 years before becoming an actor!), but for me you could go back even further to another famous swimmer by the name of Johnny Weissmuller (a whole list of swimming achievements including over sixty world records!) who was Tarzan back in the 30's. Also in the 30's was another actor by the name of Clark Gable who, well, the man must have had God-like levels of stamina for the way he carried on with Hollywood's starlets at the time! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I used to lift 4 days a week but I was worried I was getting too fit.

That was 8 years ago. Now I'm fat as hell. About two years ago I gave up and bought all new pants :(

But hey - at least I'm not too fit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Ring4Fea

When a guy is looking at his gym membership bill on his iphone when Serena Williams or Amanda Bishop or Tina Fey is bending over in front of him to pass him some "beads", he's far too concerned with being fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Ring4Fea wrote: »
    When a guy is looking at his gym membership bill on his iphone when Serena Williams or Amanda Bishop or Tina Fey is bending over in front of him to pass him some "beads", he's far too concerned with being fit.

What

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Ring4Fea

GenieOz wrote: »
    What

Would I take this to mean you are also unfamiliar with the magical callipygian pulchritude of NeNe Leakes?

I just recently discovered this guy. Freaky! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

stop saying toned lol

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I just recently discovered this guy. Freaky! :eek:

thats vile

Jake1 wrote: »
    thats vile

They look like tumours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Too fit for what?

Also, since when have bodybuilders become the epitome of fitness? Yes they're strong and can lift heavy things but I doubt their cardiovascular fitness is any match to competitive runners/swimmers etc.

Too fit? No such thing.
    I would only say someone is too fit because I'm jelly that I'm not as fit as them. :( B*stards.