Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am so annoyed at St. Vincent de Paul

• 17-12-2013 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭

So I have always had great respect for SVP and all the great work they do. Anyways, a friends sister is a single Mum, mid 20s, rent allowance, mothers allowance, BF living there, has the best of everything, spends more on sky packages in 2 months than I do in a year.

Shes boasting to us today how she got 80 euro voucher for local supermarket (big chain) with no limitations.
    My annoyance is SVP constantly collecting and helping the "poor" so who in their organisation checked and thought it good to give her a free voucher. 90% of the town are worse off than she is at end of the week!

I don't begrudge anyone assistance but it struck me that "someone on the dole"="poor" because there is no other calculation they could have found her needy as she wastes every penny she has on crap and giving her more money doesn't help the situation.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 tusnumber000

The grass is not always as green as it appears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carpejugulum

TheDriver wrote: »
    So I have always had great respect for SVP and all the great work they do. Anyways, a friends sister is a single Mum, mid 20s, rent allowance, mothers allowance, BF living there
    So have you reported her or are just giving out without doing anything useful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

The grass is not always as green as it appears.

I appreciate that but she constantly boasts about things she has bought, newest phones etc. She needs budgeting advice, not a voucher.......

Report her? she is my mates sister so as much as I as annoyed at it, I question more who in SVP decided to give vouchers to people and the criteria they use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

report her then!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I'm more annoyed at a system that seems to let her live in luxury while she's on the dole.

SVP are a private charity, the only thing I'd be annoyed with them about is that the €80 is unlimited, so can be spent on fags & booze as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭micosoft

So how are the SVP supposed to know that? Do ya think that SVP knew all this and took the decision, shur feck it, give her the voucher even if she lives like a millionaire. Ultimately if people want to abuse the good nature of others they will have to live with it on their conscience. Not SVP's fault that your friends sister lied to get the voucher.

Don't think supermarkets issue "poverty" vouchers that you can only spend on stuff you approve of. If this really affects you this much say it to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

In fairness I think it's the ar*eholes who lie to St Vincent De Paul that's the problem. I know someone who has a 4 bedroom house on the hill, in one of the best areas of town, courtesy of Rent Allowance. She's getting money for 3 kids, along with everything else she can claim, also nice big divorce settlement. She came back from England 10 years ago and hasn't done a days work to support her kids.

She takes 3 holidays a year and drives her kids to school in the morning, collects them at lunch and drives them home, then drives em back after lunch. She also drives to pick them up after school. They live less than a 10 minute walk from school, a secondary school so they're old enough to walk.

She came back from her 3rd holiday last year and still managed to get money from the SVP to pay to fill her oil tank.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

You'd be crazy to donate to them. It's bad enough having money taken off my wages every month for wasters without me volunteering more hard earned cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

my gf's sister, who spends about €80 a month on alcohol, has on a few occassions recieved money from SvP to spend on her bills.
    the money was infact spent on more drink.
    she is in reciept of childrens allowance, jobseekers, has a council house and gets child maintenance pay from her ex hubby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I'd be more annoyed at the bint for taking advantage, then the SV de P for being well-meaning. If it had refused, she could have played the "Discrimination against single mothers" (which is alive and well in fairness - just look at After Hours) card. The charity was probably in an awkward position.

but do SVP take people on their word or is there a criteria? I thought they do some simple check (maybe naively) but taking face value surprises me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

I'd be more annoyed at the bint for taking advantage, then the S de VP for being well-meaning. If it had refused, she could have played the "Discrimination against single mothers" (which is alive and well in fairness - just look at After Hours) card. The charity was probably in an awkward position.

They have a policy of not asking too many questions which is laudable. The problem with charity is that the types that need it most would be least likely to look for a handout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

recieved money from SvP to spend on her bills, the money was infact spent on more drink..

Did she spend it on vino?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

So feckin report her to SVdP! Like you said they are a charitable organisation, they don't have the luxury of inspectors to vet every case, they rely on the likes of you and I to inform them if someone totally undeserving is pulling the wool over their eyes.

While your at it report her to the dole too. Tell them she wastes money on booZe fags and sky subscriptions, they'll review her case and she mightn't be as quick to brag about it next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

but do SVP take people on their word or is there a criteria? I thought they do some simple check (maybe naively) but taking face value surprises me.

What could they do but take people's word? Asks for bank statements? Get a credit report?

Now do the right thing :

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/secure/ReportFraud.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Checks are carried out, house calls are made & she would have been interviewed, it's not easy to get one over on the interviewers, they've heard it all before believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Son of a gun

Why are you annoyed at the St Vincent de Paul for helping someone who claimed they needed it? They're a charity. It's not their job to check she's for real.

In fairness I think it's the ar*eholes who lie to St Vincent De Paul that's the problem. I know someone who has a 4 bedroom house on the hill, in one of the best areas of town, courtesy of Rent Allowance. She's getting money for 3 kids, along with everything else she can claim, also nice big divorce settlement. She came back from England 10 years ago and hasn't done a days work to support her kids.

She takes 3 holidays a year and drives her kids to school in the morning, collects them at lunch and drives them home, then drives em back after lunch. She also drives to pick them up after school. They live less than a 10 minute walk from school, a secondary school so they're old enough to walk.

She came back from her 3rd holiday last year and still managed to get money from the SVP to pay to fill her oil tank.:mad:
    You must live a boring life if you feel the need to spy on this single parent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,861 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

CJC999 wrote: »
    So feckin report her to SVdP! Like you said they are a charitable organisation, they don't have the luxury of inspectors to vet every case, they rely on the likes of you and I to inform them if someone totally undeserving is pulling the wool over their eyes.

While your at it report her to the dole too. Tell them she wastes money on booZe fags and sky subscriptions, they'll review her case and she mightn't be as quick to brag about it next time.

And it's very easy to do and can be done anonymously.

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/secure/ReportFraud.aspx

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I'm annoyed that you waste time and space here whinging about SVdeP. This sponger is robbing really needy people of money that could be spent better if the Social & SVdeP had the information you and others refuse to disclose.

"a friends sister is a single Mum" - no she's not, she's the typical social scrounger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭micosoft

Why are you annoyed at the St Vincent de Paul for helping someone who claimed they needed it? They're a charity. It's not their job to check she's for real.

They interview and do checks but they are not the revenue and don't want to be either - last thing a desperate person wants is an audit. Fact is that someone will always try to screw any system. Report her to the SVP if you believe a fraud is being commited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's never Christmas until there's a SVP bashing thread.

Merry Christmas everyone.:)

You must live a boring life if you feel the need to spy on this single parent
    I don't spy on her, she used to be a friend until I couldn't stomach her sponging any longer. Get your facts straight, have I touched a nerve or have you nothing better to do than insult me?

Maybe she is a witch ??

Those who didn’t admit to being a witch and under heavy suspicion were usually induced to confess by way of torture. One method was dunking, in which the accused would be held under water repeatedly until they were successfully broken down. This is also an effective means to brainwash someone into believing a lie, anything to make the inhumanity cease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I don't spy on her, she used to be a friend until I couldn't stomach her sponging any longer. Get your facts straight, have I touched a nerve or have you nothing better to do than insult me?

Wow.

Your thread title should probably be changed to 'So annoyed with social welfare fraud and those who commit it'. I'm not keen on the SvP myself, but if it chooses to hand over donations, that's its business.

lazygal wrote: »
    Wow.

Your thread title should probably be changed to 'So annoyed with social welfare fraud and those who commit it'. I'm not keen on the SvP myself, but if it chooses to hand over donations, that's its business.

Can I just take this opportunity to point out that our friend Pumpkinseeds didn't, in fact, post the thread?

Some of yous seem somewhat confused....

True but it has made me realise that giving them money may not always end up where we expect it to

But rather than doing something about it? (which you can, with the information you have) You'd prefer to just recommend to people to not give SVP any money....

that's some ****ed up logic there driverman

lazygal wrote: »
    Wow.

Hey what she's doing is the reality of what's happening in the system. The SVP was established to help those genuinely in need. There are a lot of people who desperately need help but are too embarrassed to ask for it, then you have the likes of scroungers who don't need it but exploit it shamelessly

Maybe she is a witch ??

Those who didn’t admit to being a witch and under heavy suspicion were usually induced to confess by way of torture. One method was dunking, in which the accused would be held under water repeatedly until they were successfully broken down. This is also an effective means to brainwash someone into believing a lie, anything to make the inhumanity cease
    :confused: Is that you I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Son of a gun

Just to add the OP claims this girl is a "single mother" defrauding the state and StVdeP, when in actual fact she's not a single mother. Shes part of a couple who are defrauding. I just feel that distinction is important, as it's couples living together yet claiming One Parent Family Allowance and not single parents who commit this particular fraud. Yet "single mothers" get blamed.

So, when she was a friend it was ok for her to commit fraud ? Im glad im not an exfriend of yours, i stole a grape the other day in lidl. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Talk to Joe......

♫ ♫ on 1850 715 815..♫ ♫...or joe@rte.ie...♫ ♫

delee, delee , delee etc etc etc

So, when she was a friend it was ok for her to commit fraud ? Im glad im not an exfriend of yours, i stole a grape the other day in lidl. lol
    Jesus what is your problem? Are you on a single mammy crusade or something? I couldn't stomach the woman bitching about being broke every time I met her, yet she was able to run a fairly new estate car, take several holidays a year and pay for her kids to partake in multiple expensive after school activities. All at tax payer expense. Blagging money shamelessly from a charity was the final straw for me. It was all I could do not to blurt out what a low and scummy thing it was to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

has the best of everything, spends more on sky packages in 2 months than I do in a year.
    How does she have the best of everything, and how do you know how much she spends on Sky packages? I mean, it seems like she might be taking the piss all right, but these threads always end up with ludicrous stories of things people on benefits could not possibly afford on benefits alone.

Plus, there's nothing actually wrong with claiming lone parent benefits when you're genuinely a lone parent and the kids aren't in school yet. If you were to go to work, you'd have to spend a chunk of your wages on childcare anyway.
    I get what you're saying but it's a bit pointless to use a completely incomparable analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

The svp have been given 770k by the government now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

St Vincent de Paul also give clothes, shoes, etc to young offenders in Saint Patricks Institution at Xmas time. I don't have a problem with that, but they were giving them cigarettes as well up until a couple of years ago, maybe they still are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

And then there was this guy who was working for nearly €109,000 per year and a charity gave him an extra €116,000 plus €19,000 to ease his woes.
    And apparently he wasn't the only one.

I guess there's a right way to be wrong - be very very wrong:rolleyes:

How does she have the best of everything, and how do you know how much she spends on Sky packages? I mean, it seems like she might be taking the piss all right, but these threads always end up with ludicrous stories of things people on benefits could not possibly afford on benefits alone.

Plus, there's nothing actually wrong with claiming lone parent benefits when you're genuinely a lone parent and the kids aren't in school yet. If you were to go to work, you'd have to spend a chunk of your wages on childcare anyway.

I get what you're saying but it's a bit pointless to use a completely incomparable analogy.
    Sorry, you dont get what im saying. If you fall out with this person all your past evils will come to haunt you. Big and small :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

McDermotX wrote: »
    Talk to Joe......

♫ ♫ on 1850 715 815..♫ ♫...or joe@rte.ie...♫ ♫

delee, delee , delee etc etc etc

Joe.....they've a hottub in the joy joe....all the single mothers in it with the prisoners joe.....taxpayers joe, Vincent the paul joe........sky sports joe...workin 16 jobs and I can't afford cornflakes for the cat joe.....will have to eat the cat for Christmas dinner joe.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

My da, constantly gets food vouchers from them.... Then blows his dole on drink, weed and poker.
    I'm thinking of complaining to them, that he does not need their money. (Got caught dealing weed recently... Wonder if telling them that would cut their help?)

SVP are an amazing charity, but they give a lot to people that don't need. I know some estates where at least half the people have been getting Christmas hampers for the last 10 years!!!!!!!!!!! How the fcuk can they not question that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭lycan238

Blimey reading this thread makes me sorry now I asked my local chapter for that bag of coal for over Christmas. (I got no voucher just a bag of coal asked them to do it that way)

lycan238 wrote: »
    Blimey reading this thread makes me sorry now I asked my local chapter for that bag of coal for over Christmas. (I got no voucher just a bag of coal asked them to do it that way)
    I hope your not having a can or two of beer over Christmas now ! that would be an utter disgrace !

lycan238 wrote: »

Hang your head in shame. It's that type of behaviour that led to the fall of Rome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Nodin wrote: »
    Hang your head in shame. It's that type of behaviour that led to the fall of Rome.

Rome burned While Nodin fiddled? ;)

My hands were visible at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Chief Exec on 125k, 6 emloyees on 85k, 75m cash in bank and 220m in assets............some charity............:rolleyes:

Click here if you wish to help :)

https://www.svp.ie/donate/single-donation-step-1.aspx

I need a new pair of shoes to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I am sure that this charity does reach some people that need it however the abuse of the system is rife.

My father used to run a local shop and around this time of the year every year without fail you had people coming in with their Sdvp hampers trying to sell them to him for a cut price because they didn't need nor want them. Folks like that unfortunately soured the name for the rest of them unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭lycan238

I hope your not having a can or two of beer over Christmas now ! that would be an utter disgrace !

I don't drink alcohol at all no beer no wine no spirits. Don't smoke either before anyone asks that either.

SVdP did not have to give it to me either they had the decision.