Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

Fanny ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Seems to have got some in the mood,
    a quick data scan shows some popularity (22.5%) for another 'triple-digit' running tomorrow.
    Anyone 'hear' anything about it?

Most likely caused by eager folks who missed out on 17's BTC and seeking similar easy gains.
    I.e. Likely hyperbole that will fail to materalise any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

Seems to have got some in the mood,
    a quick data scan shows some popularity (22.5%) for another 'triple-digit' running tomorrow.
    Anyone 'hear' anything about it?

Most likely caused by eager folks who missed out on 17's BTC and seeking similar easy gains.
    I.e. Likely hyperbole that will fail to materalise any further.

So what are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

So what are you on about?

Seems to be some popularity for a 250/1 early tomorrow, after today's 200/1 it might well just be some wishful thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Even worse - to watch people who haven't a bog just going for a piss up...

And on that note, think I'll be going on Stephens Day this year rather than the 27th as normal due to starting a new job!

And on that note... any freebies going for the 26th? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭moon madness

Un de Sceaux
    Vautour
    Douvan
    Faugheen

It's close to the end of an era, but what an era.
    Faugheen is the best hurdler of all time.
    Un de Sceaux, one of the greats, full stop.
    Vautour, majestic even in defeat. (Himself, Cue Card & Don Cossack with 2 to jump)
    Douvan.. has beaten Sizing John 5 times without ever looking in trouble.
    What a team of horses!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Hurricane fly a proper hardy horse to be around at the top for so long, the goat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

Un de Sceaux
    Vautour
    Douvan
    Faugheen

It's close to the end of an era, but what an era.
    Faugheen is the best hurdler of all time.
    Un de Sceaux, one of the greats, full stop.
    Vautour, majestic even in defeat. (Himself, Cue Card & Don Cossack with 2 to jump)
    Douvan.. has beaten Sizing John 5 times without ever looking in trouble.
    What a team of horses!

Istabraq says hi :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭moon madness

Istabraq says hi :confused:

Ha. I like it.
    Istabraq has all the Champion Hurdles no doubt.
    One of my favourites. But nothing would have lived with Faugheen the day he beat Arctic Fire 15 lengths with Nicholls Canyon further begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

Ha. I like it.
    Istabraq has all the Champion Hurdles no doubt.
    One of my favourites. But nothing would have lived with Faugheen the day he beat Arctic Fire 15 lengths with Nicholls Canyon further begin.

Recency bias is a fine thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Well lads

Any racing books to recommend?

I've read a good few but list away if you don't mind please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Any spare tickets for the 27th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭maximo31

Declan Murphy's Centaur is a very good read.
    An old one but one i really enjoyed was Seabiscuit.
    Fallon's book seems to be getting good reviews too.

Got Dave Nevisons books "A bloody good winner" and "No easy money" off Amazon for pennies..

Finished Findleys book and herself is after buying me Fallons for Xmas..

So I should be ok for a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Have a spare copy of A Century Of Champions if you're interested

Very much so.. Fair play

Lads I'm looking for a few free tickets for naas on the 7th Jan.. Anyone know where I could get them?? There a present for a good friend of mine who's had a rough time lately

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Lads I'm looking for a few free tickets for naas on the 7th Jan.. Anyone know where I could get them?? There a present for a good friend of mine who's had a rough time lately

A present and you want them for free :rolleyes: pmsl how thoughtful of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

I think Krusty is a freegan, second post looking for free stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Krusty by name, Krusty by nature!

Ah now lads..

There honestly are for a friend of mine.. And if you don't ask then you won't get any..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Ah now lads..

There honestly are for a friend of mine.. And if you don't ask then you won't get any..

https://naasracecourse.com/racing/sunday-7th-january-2018/

But if you pay, you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Ah now lads..

Its more a good friend who had a tough time isn't worth €15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Anybody hardly know if Boylesports are open tomorrow? Ill be around Dublin in the morning so any of the ones there would do. Naturally the price I want is with the one bookie who wont even take 5e on a 10/11 bet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

Gregk961 wrote: »
    Anybody hardly know if Boylesports are open tomorrow? Ill be around Dublin in the morning so any of the ones there would do. Naturally the price I want is with the one bookie who wont even take 5e on a 10/11 bet...

Who ladbrokes?? Lol

Should have a pair of tickets for Leopardstown on the 27th if anyone wants them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭xlogo

I'll take them if still available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Swap for a pair on the 7th at Naas?

Hahahahahaha

You may PM you're number if you want them.. I got a reply on here and a PM

Edit: Tickets are gone