Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Any fancies for Melbourne Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,118 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Thomas Hobson has the draw and the jockey for the job. Had a big bet on Heartbreak City for this race last year when it nearly won under Moreira, so hoping he can go one better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,102 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

anyone know why mc evoy isn't riding last years winner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Black_Ninja

mailburner wrote: »
    anyone know why mc evoy isn't riding last years winner?

McEvoy rode last Almandin last year as regular jockey Damien Oliver was unable to make the weight.

Oliver then picked up a 20 meeting ban for improper riding in the Cox Plate a couple of weekends back.

https://www.racing.com/news/2017-10-28/olivers-cup-cooked-after-cox-plate-ban

He's got a few interesting looking 2 year olds at Meydan today. Zahrat Jumeirah you'd think should have ideal breeding to be competitive in the 2:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

I see Keatley sends THE BROGHIE MAN to Chantilly today. Fairly hacked up lto and might be worth a look
    GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

gazza1 wrote: »
    I see Keatley sends THE BROGHIE MAN to Chantilly today. Fairly hacked up lto and might be worth a look
    GL

3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

On The Line is back on ATR, Jaysus its brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭maximo31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

maximo31 wrote: »

Sad to hear that especially so soon after his wife whom he cared for. Hopefully they have children who are as keen on the nh otherwise an even bigger impact on racing for he was a huge supporter of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

A tough old bloke with no apparent interest in spin or image, very much liked that about him.

He was his own man with the jockey switches, also the decision to team up with de Bromhead in the first place. The string he built up were his passion really and cannot see family carrying on with the same involvement. It wouldn't be a business model set up like eg the Niarchos family or Moyglare.

"Potts was an immensely successful businessman. In 1978, he invented a machine that sized rock as it was mined, revolutionising the industry and amassing more than enough money to feed his love of racing in recent years. It also provided the inspiration for the naming of many of his horses.

He began working in the mines when he was 16, when his father was head of the union in his area. By 22 he was running a mine and at 40 he set up his own company, MMD.
    "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

I'm not sure they have immediate family to keep the horses going.. Nearly sure I read that somewhere before

maximo31 wrote: »
    RIP, I saw him in the early part of this year and thought he looked very shook. Hopefully racing gave him some enjoyment in his final years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭WickIow Brave

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    The string he built up were his passion really and cannot see family carrying on with the same involvement. It wouldn't be a business model set up like eg the Niarchos family or Moyglare.

Alan & Ann Potts Ltd was actually registered in early October so things are in place for the family to continue if they so wish. Depends on the will he's left too I suppose.

RIP

Unless the offspring take a keen (and new found) interest, I doubt these colors will continue for many more seasons which is a real pity.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

O'Neill out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭green n gold

The Mig wrote: »
    O'Neill out!

The Mig, relax there, the Jonjo o 'Neill stable will turn things around for the horse racing thread 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

If I wired one of ye a few quid would ye take chamberlain out of it, the man is a pity, he actually had to have a touch off of the McCoy statue yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Dont know of any of you ever check in on the Gambling forum on boards but its a bit of entertainment

A few absolute headbangers following one guys bad tips

It’s going on 3 yrs. He was gone from the place a while but came back in 2014 and was allowed run amok by a person who recently lost their rights. How on gods name they cannot see through the nonsense is beyond me, funny he has a share in a yoke in a yard and tips up nearly every losing runner the yard has I’d swear he’s on the payroll of ladbrokes. He then passes of market movers on oddchexker around midnight every evening as tips , many of which have already been backed into favorite. I have a log of his bets he’s in the hole for >-500 each year that’s ignoring the after timing which ratchets up when he hits a long losing run. He genuinely thinks he’s some sort of demi god but hey better he’s plying his nonsense over their than polluting this place .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

BumperD wrote: »
    It’s going on 3 yrs. He was gone from the place a while but came back in 2014 and was allowed run amok by a person who recently lost their rights. How on gods name they cannot see through the nonsense is beyond me, funny he has a share in a yoke in a yard and tips up nearly every losing runner the yard has I’d swear he’s on the payroll of ladbrokes. He then passes of market movers on oddchexker around midnight every evening as tips , many of which have already been backed into favorite. I have a log of his bets he’s in the hole for >-500 each year that’s ignoring the after timing which ratchets up when he hits a long losing run. He genuinely thinks he’s some sort of demi god but hey better he’s plying his nonsense over their than polluting this place .

I actually did think at one stage he might be a plant from one of the bookies, for some reason the horses he puts up just seem like the kind of bets a bookie would live off. I still think there is something funny going on but not quite sure what. I would kind of worry about all the people that seem to be following his tips though, more troubling is that they think they are winning??

Like you said just as well it hasnt spread to the horse racing forum. I wouldnt have even mentioned him until I seen him referred to as... "The Golden Goose"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

have ye seen his latest post. Good god. never new you could get a 100% bonus with 365 and going opening an account with them, Only backs with PP and Lads. Seriously the best punter in the world would go broke doing that.

Holy Fu&k I have seen some BS but this takes the biscut.

I was genuinely just about to post the exact same thing

Helen Kelleher after 10 whiskeys would have seen better prices online than him he’s an absolute fraud or senile plant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭bladespin

Gregk961 wrote:
    Like you said just as well it hasnt spread to the horse racing forum. I wouldnt have even mentioned him until I seen him referred to as... "The Golden Goose"...

Thanks but you're quoting me out of context there; my post was simply about attacking someone who posted up tips (regardless of who). It's happened many times before.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Jesus I thought i was the one going mad for a minute. There is a reason he posts their and not here as the numpties over there eat it up. He would last about 24 hours here with people seeing through it very quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Someone over there has now said that online accounts r dangerous n like playing with monopoly money.

Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,316 ✭✭✭Guffy

sdoc13 wrote: »
    Someone over there has now said that online accounts r dangerous n like playing with monopoly money.

Ffs.

Tbf, for a lot of people they are and it is. Its a lot easier to put more of a balance on a screen on a bet than it is to put more physical cash on it. Just because you can control it doesnt mean everyone can and they dont necessarily have to have a gambling addiction either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

Guffy wrote: »
    Tbf, for a lot of people they are and it is. Its a lot easier to put more of a balance on a screen on a bet than it is to put more physical cash on it. Just because you can control it doesnt mean everyone can and they dont necessarily have to have a gambling addiction either.

Yeah true, personally know people who would have first hand experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭bladespin

sdoc13 wrote:

They are, it is.

But advising someine with experience might bu a little ott.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!