Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Bf4 clans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

cobraeire wrote: »
    yup that`s right bf was grand,those who moan and bitch about it all the time just cant play it stick to cod so :P as for me jealous of xbox one .....battlefront would look better on a master system than on that heap of scrap :P by the way that`s a fact look it up :)

I don't usually get involved in these lovers tiffs but if you run afoul on the master system, you run afoul of me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭XtraFalcon

New BFFs

Operation Shield Breaker

Alterations made and date set for this coming Wednesday (14th).

At the moment I have Darren, Mark and Damien.

If anyone else wants to take part let me know and if anyone has any suggestions feel free to voice your opinion. (Anything from weapon attachments to new weapons themselves).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭psnKOB79LFC

On Battlefront.

Pros

<> It is a shooter I can play in front of my kids and can play co-op splitscreen with them; that was good fun
    <> easily best graphics I have seen on console
    <> Walker Assault is a good idea anyway
    <> Drop-pods or whatever is a good take on TDM (but not my thing)
    <> I have no problem with matchmaking and no problems with lag or connectivity
    <> Didn't notice anything with "netcode" problems
    <> Love the way that you have to die in an aircraft if you spawn into it, no exiting
    <> Walker Assault can be intense when you see the AT AT, AT ST and Tie Fighters/X Wings flying around... really impressive

Cons

<> What the feck is the point of buddy system, does nothing
    <> People need to have to watch a tutorial of Walker Assault before playing; most had no idea what is going on
    <> Bored of the guns already, (a) not enough with only 10 in base game and (b) very similar and (c) all sound the game
    <> As above, no attachments, so no I get bored fast, e.g. I use almost all sights in BF4 for variety so this seems too plain
    <> No classes and loadouts are all the same, Cycler Rifle, Jump Pack and Shield... zzzzz zzzzzz
    <> No teamwork, basically lone wolf 24/7
    <> I'd like more "bullet drop" and more recoil
    <> I'd like a penalty for accuracy when hip-firing

Good and bad so but I think it is worth getting but I'd be surprised if I hit 100 hours on it.

Opps; forgot to mention that I LOVE that 3d spotting wasn't in the game. Makes the game more immersive, really think 3D spotting has gone too far in BF. Also think a radar as opposed mini-map is much better, too much focus on minimap in BF understandably.

Operation Shield-Breaker Table

Operation Shield-Breaker Details

All players added - Since this challenge is so large and requires a lot of time to update. I'll only be updating it twice a week instead of everyday. Also I can't stick to the usual Start and Finish times due to my schedule being turned on it's head so it'll now end on the 10th of November, it may end at 00:01 or it could end at 23:59.

If anyone wants to join late go for it as I think the time limit is more than fair to get it done but I won't be adding anyone after the half-way point (Halloween Week)

----
    Off-topic

Does anyone know a decent Irish site to pick up games from? I want to pre-order Battlefront but the only local shop for me is GameStop and my blood boils when I think of paying their extortionate price. I would buy it off the PS Store but my Hard-drive might not be able to take it (That's what she said)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭paul_booth_fan

My persistent bitchin pays off Chris.....150 Tank Kills for me?!? Yay :)

As for an Irish site for games, I haven't a clue. I haven't bought a physical game in over a year :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭cobraeire

XtraFalcon wrote: »
    Operation Shield-Breaker Table

Operation Shield-Breaker Details

All players added - Since this challenge is so large and requires a lot of time to update. I'll only be updating it twice a week instead of everyday. Also I can't stick to the usual Start and Finish times due to my schedule being turned on it's head so it'll now end on the 10th of November, it may end at 00:01 or it could end at 23:59.

If anyone wants to join late go for it as I think the time limit is more than fair to get it done but I won't be adding anyone after the half-way point (Halloween Week)

----
    Off-topic

Does anyone know a decent Irish site to pick up games from? I want to pre-order Battlefront but the only local shop for me is GameStop and my blood boils when I think of paying their extortionate price. I would buy it off the PS Store but my Hard-drive might not be able to take it (That's what she said)

Well the only way I go would be smyths seems to be the cheapest compared to the likes of Argos,gamestop and xtravision,though you could order cheaper online but you could be waiting for another month to get it from those after release

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭keithc83

Doesn't look like Chris has a Smyth's near him unfortunately, would recommend Xtravision in that case as there is one near him at least. €70 pre-ordered, the standard crazy price for games these days, and you can get it day one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

http://www.littlewoodsireland.ie/playstation-4-star-wars-battlefront/1358039113.prd

littlewoods Ireland have it for €64. Not sure if there is a delivery charge for that or what they are like to deal with.

Do ye buy hard copies of games still? I haven't bought any since BF4 as I exchanged that for the PS3 equivalent.

On Battlefront, ugh another "premium" cash grab announced. Tiring.

Do ye buy hard copies of games still? I haven't bought any since BF4 as I exchanged that for the PS3 equivalent.

Yeah, I do. I have crap broadband. It would take me a week to download a game. Also, I like the idea of being able to re sell games.

Yes
    • Physical copies take up less space on the hard drive than a digital download.
    • Physical copies can be traded in.
    • You can play physical copies on other people's consoles.
    • Physical copies don't have to depend on internet speed to download a 40GB game.

@Darren

xygezuku.jpg

@Alan - Keith - Mark

Everywhere seems to be standard at €70.
    LittleWoods seems to be the cheapest but as you said Mark - Not sure if they'll throw on a few euro extra for delivery costs which'll only make it break even.

Highly considering the Digital Download option for the pure sake of just getting it Day 1 and if all else fails I'll just buy a 1TB HardDrive near the 25th of December (Apparently there's' something big going on that day - Alan could probably tell you more)

It it just so handy having the games downloaded on the PS4; i'd find it hard to go back to disks. I have never exchanged a game because of the paltry sum you receive for them.

All that said, my PS4 is nearly full and that is a problem. Any ideas?

Pffft, 150??? Piece of pi$s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭cobraeire

It it just so handy having the games downloaded on the PS4; i'd find it hard to go back to disks. I have never exchanged a game because of the paltry sum you receive for them.

All that said, my PS4 is nearly full and that is a problem. Any ideas?

Rip out the hard drive and replace it with a bigger one,going to have to do it meself as well

cobraeire wrote: »
    Rip out the hard drive and replace it with a bigger one,going to have to do it meself as well

Same here. Had to delete the beta's of Rainbow 6 seige and Battlefront straight away due to space limitations. BF4 is a very resource hungry game.

If anyone manages to do this, let me know what type of Harddrive you get and how you do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭SharpCoder

Same here. Had to delete the beta's of Rainbow 6 seige and Battlefront straight away due to space limitations. BF4 is a very resource hungry game.

If anyone manages to do this, let me know what type of Harddrive you get and how you do it.

Heres some options for yahs..

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Expansion-Portable-External-STEA2000400/dp/B00TKFEE5S

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2489935.htm

you open the enclosing and take the drive out of it, then put your stock drive back into the enclosing, its about 490gb, you can then use it with your pc, etc

The PS4 is built to let you change the HD, it's incredibly easy to change it and has only 1 screw.

SharpCoder wrote: »
    Heres some options for yahs..

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Expansion-Portable-External-STEA2000400/dp/B00TKFEE5S

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2489935.htm

you open the enclosing and take the drive out of it, then put your stock drive back into the enclosing, its about 490gb, you can then use it with your pc, etc

The PS4 is built to let you change the HD, it's incredibly easy to change it and has only 1 screw.

Thanks. Might pop into the local Argos this weekend.

Can you copy across the game data before you make the change or do you lose everything? E.g would I have to re download all the DLC's for BF4?

Thanks. Might pop into the local Argos this weekend.

Can you copy across the game data before you make the change or do you lose everything? E.g would I have to re download all the DLC's for BF4?

You'll have to re-download all that Battlefield 4 67GB Goodness - We'll see you in 2016.

You can however copy over your saves via USB Stick or using the cloud Storage.

Tech Radar has always been on-point for me so here's their guide

You'll have to re-download all that Battlefield 4 67GB Goodness - We'll see you in 2016.

You can however copy over your saves via USB Stick or using the cloud Storage.

Tech Radar has always been on-point for me so here's their guide

Found that website alright, looks pretty straight forward to do.

Thinking of everything I've donwloaded. It would actually take me months (especially on a 60 Gig monthly limit).

Just going to have to move in with someone with excellent broadband for a week. Any offers? I'll bring beer!:pac:

Found that website alright, looks pretty straight forward to do.

Thinking of everything I've donwloaded. It would actually take me months (especially on a 60 Gig monthly limit).

Just going to have to move in with someone with excellent broadband for a week. Any offers? I'll bring beer!:pac:

Of course - You can come live with me - Here's your directions.

Best of luck.

Thanks. See you in a week.

Best of luck.

I especially love the stop at Alta....touch of class! :pac:

keithc83 wrote: »
    I especially love the stop at Alta....touch of class! :pac:

I like to think I bring out the true experience of a simple task turned unnecessarily complex.

Speaking of a simple task turned unnecessarily complex.......considering we have 1 month for your challenge, how about we bump up my tank kills??
    I know how much you hate updating the stats Chris, so I was thinking we could just round it up and keep it nice and simple for ya. Let's call it 4,000 :pac: That'll give me over 3 weeks to try get another 575 kills......now that's a challenge.

Speaking of a simple task turned unnecessarily complex.......considering we have 1 month for your challenge, how about we bump up my tank kills??
    I know how much you hate updating the stats Chris, so I was thinking we could just round it up and keep it nice and simple for ya. Let's call it 4,000 :pac: That'll give me over 3 weeks to try get another 575 kills......now that's a challenge.

d1b5c2b56bf807704f3195122674918b.gif

.....That'll give me over 3 weeks to try get another 575 kills......now that's a challenge.

tumblr_m6ro3hX7C41r75s96.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭SharpCoder

He he he.....well that went well:D

7SQl74Y.png?1