Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please gamble sensibly

• 03-12-2013 10:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭

Just heard an ad for some online gaming site on spotify, Irish one too which is novel to me at least.

Anyway, like the drinks industry, they offer a mealy mouthed disclaimer at the end "please gamble sensibly, visit gambleaware.ie" or something.

I don't like it. They should be made tell the truth, in other words, "please gamble as much as possible but just under the threshold beyond which it will cause family members to take legal action preventing you from doing so any more, because really, we want to milk you for as long as possible."

Or something along those lines anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Gamblers are losers. If it wasn't for losers paddy power would be broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Eight Ball wrote: »

It can be destructive, like most things in large amounts, but to call anyone who gambles a loser is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    It can be destructive, like most things in large amounts, but to call anyone who gambles a loser is ridiculous.
    But you are a loser.. on average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Just heard an ad for some online gaming site on spotify, Irish one too which is novel to me at least.

Anyway, like the drinks industry, they offer a mealy mouthed disclaimer at the end "please gamble sensibly, visit gambleaware.ie" or something.

I don't like it. They should be made tell the truth, in other words, "please gamble as much as possible but just under the threshold beyond which it will cause family members to take legal action preventing you from doing so any more, because really, we want to milk you for as long as possible."

Or something along those lines anyway.

Problem Gambler OP? Or just don't like the way some people choose to have fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It doesn't exactly roll off the tongue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Bad gamblers are losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

MadsL wrote: »
    My issue is with the organizations pretending they want you to do so in a reasonable manner, when really, they want as much of your money as possible.

Oh, and I like a bit of a flutter and a drink, just for the sake of clarity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

A few bob on the footy or horses every weekend for a bit of fun is manageable. Being doing it online every week for around 6 years now and reckon I'm down around €200. To me it is a social expense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Lots of people throw a few quid on the weekend sport for the lols and never get in any deeper.

I play a bit of poker the odd time myself but don't consider it gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Your post sounds like a judgemental prat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Gambling is not sensible, full stop.
    Taking ones hard earned cash and fukking it away on a horse, football game, or whatever, is probably the stupidest thing I can possibly imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

This country, and this government, is a slave to the Gambling industry. It got away with murder in the last two budgets, but for some reason, they seem to be immune to any kind of public outcry.

Two seconds before Man Utd V Spurs kicked off on Sunday, there was an ad for Bet365 "Bet in Play" trying to entice people to be before on the game. More and more approved accounts on Twitter are being approached by gambling companies to help them gain more customers.

At some point, like cigarettes and alcohol, it's going to have to stop.

Take ads on your mobile device for example...click it...it brings you right to the bet. Imagine an ad that immediately dispersed whiskey? Wouldn't be allowed would it?

People will laugh and joke about this, cause it's on After Hours, but I really believe that 2014 will be the year that Gambling will be fought, head on.

My issue is with the organizations pretending they want you to do so in a reasonable manner, when really, they want as much of your money as possible.

If that were true payouts on slot machines would be set a 0.0001%

You don't really appreciate the psychology of gambling do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

cml387 wrote: »
    But you are a loser.. on average.

You wanna put a bet on that?

A wise man once told me only ever bet half of what you can afford to lose. You double your money or better every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

"Past performance is no guarantee of future results, your investment may go down as well as up" sounds more apt to be honest...

If that were true payouts on slot machines would be set a 0.0001%

You don't really appreciate the psychology of gambling do you?
    I do.
    Obviously you don't, because anyone who does wouldn't suggest slot payouts at 0.0001% as a profit maximizing strategy. :rolleyes:

Now, are you suggesting that the gambling companies aren't trying to maximize revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,955 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Taking ones hard earned cash and fukking it away on a horse, football game, or whatever, is probably the stupidest thing I can possibly imagine.

spending it on smokes and destroying your health and that of people around you is a lot worse than gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Is 'gambling sensibly' not a bit of an oxymoron?

At some point, like cigarettes and alcohol, it's going to have to stop.

Lol what?

You want to leave the supply and distribution of more products to the criminal underworld?

Get a grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

Lol what?

You want to leave the supply and distribution of more products to the criminal underworld?

Get a grip.

I'm talking about the advertising of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Imagine an ad that immediately dispersed whiskey? Wouldn't be allowed would it?

Get thee to a nunnery

Ace2007 wrote: »
    spending it on smokes and destroying your health and that of people around you is a lot worse than gambling.

It really isn't. There is almost nothing that can destroy your life, and the lives of you nearest and dearest, as quickly and completely as gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

You can say the same thing about drink, smokes, bad food, stocks, mortgages etc etc.

Whatever floats your boat, no need for more fcuking nanniness

I do.
    Obviously you don't, because anyone who does wouldn't suggest slot payouts at 0.0001% as a profit maximizing strategy. :rolleyes:

Now, are you suggesting that the gambling companies aren't trying to maximize revenue?

The best profit maximising strategy would be to keep your regular punter solvent, able to earn more money and gambling regularly, would it not?

Not quite what you suggest in your OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Not true.

Do you have a pension fund?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

diomed wrote: »
    Not true.

I'll bet you €1,000 it's true

The best profit maximising strategy would be to keep your regular punter solvent, able to earn more money and gambling regularly, would it not?

Not quite what you suggest in your OP.
    me wrote:
    because really, we want to milk you for as long as possible."
    so we agree, they want as much of the punters money as possible without drawing down an undue amount of opprobrium. Good stuff.

Everything you do in life is a gamble, especially with money, the risk is related to the reward. Lets take a fictional thousand euro and present a few possible scenarios for what you can do with it.

1 - You keep it in a current account, your risk is that your bank goes bust, your reward is more than likely having to pay the bank for the privilage.
    2 - You keep it in your house, your risk is that your house burns down or somebody steals it, your reward is nil.
    3 - You keep it in a savings account, again your risk is that your bank goes bust, your reward is about 2%.
    4 - You invest it in a stock portfolio, your risk is that your stocks tank, your reward is anything from 3% upwards
    5 - You back the hot favourite to win it's match/cover the handicap/win the race, your risk is it failing to do so, your reward is 50%/91%/400%...

It really isn't. There is almost nothing that can destroy your life, and the lives of you nearest and dearest, as quickly and completely as gambling.

I'd prefer to see someone gambling €50 a week and losing it if so may be every week for 20 years then I would see someone spend €50 a week a smokes.

You view gambling any amount as leading to destroying people's lives, which is false - there are many people spending fortunes on the lotto every week, on horse and football for the fun of it, Most people's lives are ruined from smoking related diseases than from gambling.

Filibuster wrote: »
    I'll bet you €1,000 it's true
    If you get someone to hold my €1,000 and your €1,000 you can have a full download of my Paddy Power and Betfair accounts.
    Afterwards I will be holding €2,000 and you will be holding air.

Do you have a pension fund?

Nope!
    In any case, they are not comparable. I have some shares. They are worth less now than when I paid for them, but I still have them. They may or may not recover. If I put that money on No.6 it would be gone forever.

I'm talking about the advertising of it.

Ah okay, sorry.

I'm with you on that 100%.

Nope!
    In any case, they are not comparable. I have some shares. They are worth less now than when I paid for them, but I still have them. They may or may not recover. If I put that money on No.6 it would be gone forever.

if the company goes bust - you won't have any shares, if no 6 comes second pp might give you your money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

If you get someone to hold my €1,000 and your €1,000 you can have a full download of my Paddy Power and Betfair accounts.

Pick me! Pick me!

I won a turkey playing cards last week. Only cost me a fiver to play.

GET IN ! :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

Why don't we just download the latest Financial Statements from the Paddy Power website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

I just won €320 on a €10 bet tonight

The way I look at it €10 bet = 2 less pints on a night out

I set up a €25 limit on my online account and only bet for the Craic, mainly on Saturdays or if there are a few midweek games

But never ever bet on horses or dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Ah **** off. If I want to have a few quid on the horses it's none of your business. I earn enough that it makes piss all difference to me and I enjoy it. Win some, loose some.

P_1 wrote: »
    Everything you do in life is a gamble, especially with money, the risk is related to the reward. Lets take a fictional thousand euro and present a few possible scenarios for what you can do with it.

1 - You keep it in a current account, your risk is that your bank goes bust, your reward is more than likely having to pay the bank for the privilage.
    2 - You keep it in your house, your risk is that your house burns down or somebody steals it, your reward is nil.
    3 - You keep it in a savings account, again your risk is that your bank goes bust, your reward is about 2%.
    4 - You invest it in a stock portfolio, your risk is that your stocks tank, your reward is anything from 3% upwards
    5 - You back the hot favourite to win it's match/cover the handicap/win the race, your risk is it failing to do so, your reward is 50%/91%/400%...

You left out the thing that most people do with that €1000. It gets spent on the mortgage, the bills, the food, the kids, a holiday, some nice little luxury. You know - Life.
    I've seen people blow that money on the ponies and another €1000 after it chasing their losses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Without gamblers the world would still be in dark ages. Columbus gambled to find a faster route to the Orient but found the new world instead. Changed the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Pudsy33 wrote: »

Ever met a poor bookie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Nadser

As opposed to spending money on make-up/sports' jerseys/whatever you're into?

feargale wrote: »
    Ever met a poor bookie?

Ivan Yates is an example of one, his attempt at being one (Celtic Bookmakers) left him having to take a bit of a holiday over in Swansea quite recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Ace2007 wrote: »

Not sure about that. A gambling problem is often invisible to others, wreaking enormous damage before it is detected. Other high profile problems are all too visible, and so have a better chance of being taken in hand.

Cashmans in cork is another example of a highish profile bookie going down the drain, along with plenty of racecourse bookies that go bust regularly.

Filibuster wrote: »
    Why don't we just download the latest Financial Statements from the Paddy Power website.
    EighBall said

I'll explain how it works.
    1. The market-maker prices the event to ensure himself/herself a profit.
    2. Those who select the winner and bet on it collect from the market-maker.
    3. Those who did not select the winner do not collect.
    Take note of point 2.

The difference between those who do not collect and those who collect is a mystery to most. The public attribute it to luck.
    Those who collect more often that they contribute make a profit.

The skill is identifying the events / market makers where the margin is slimmest, and where the better can use skill/knowledge/experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

The difference between those who do not collect and those who collect is a mystery to most. The public attribute it to luck.
    It's nothing to do with luck, it's how it works: You must have losers in order to have winners, because the money has to come from somewhere.

The main winners are the gambling outlets, because they can't lose (otherwise their business model would be unsustainable); the public are the losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

Ive been gambling for over ten years, at this point i would say that i do gamble sensibly, though i dont think most people can, and i certainly didnt when i started. You can avoid learning the expensive lessons i learned if you follow some simple but not always easy to follow rules. keep a separate bankroll just for gambling and if you cant afford this just dont gamble.Bet 3-5% of yr gambling bankroll on each game, keep yr bets the same amount (dont increase to chase losses or make a big score after winning), dont waste yr money on accumulators, do singles only, don't just bet on favorites and big name teams, in fact bet more often on underdogs and against public perceptions. Horses are never profitable long term. PL and CL soccer are horrible value to punters as the odds are crap and there are three possible outcomes due to draws. If you stick to american sports handicaps, where the handicaps are always 10/11 or similar and if the game lands on the handicap number your stake is refunded ( again, not like soccer where you can bet handicap draw so when it lands on the number all bets on either team lose) you will be in profit long term if you can hit just 53% of your bets. Not saying you cant lose yr bankroll but if you stay conservative and disciplined and really put time into following the sports you can be a winner. Most people who bet with paddy power etc. lose because they bet too much on whatever team or sport they follow, bet on pl and cl league favorites and whatever is on tv, etc. And they cant keep their bets to one single sensible amount, no money management.
    It's not easy to beat the bookie but you can have a bit of fun without going broke. In america people outside of vegas have to bet illegally even though betting on us football is very popular, which means you have to deal with some dodgy characters. I would hate to see that happen here just because some people cant control themselves.

feargale wrote: »
    Ever met a poor bookie?

Plenty of bookies have gone bust and I would certainly need more than the fingers of one hand to count the numbers of Irish casinos that have gone bust

Several casinos had also closed in Reno when I was last there.

The risk isn't all on the punters side y'know.