Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Don't know about that SfM, I reckon I'll be wearing the thermal running top again tomorrow!

TbL

The meteorological schizophrenia continues in Connemara, less than 24 after been lashed by rain, high winds and frozen to the bone, the weather here this afternoon was fantastic. Even went to the beach and got my first swim of the year in. The legs felt rejuvenated after it, so thought this would help with this evenings run.

Program called for 10 miles @ 8.20.

Picked a nice rolling out and back local route for this. I knew as soon as I started that I was going to struggle with this. The earlier feeling in the legs was long gone, they were tired and heavy and had about as much spring in them as John Bobbits lad!

First two miles were over 9 min pace but gradually picked it up and finished the 10 @ 8.27 pace. I was hoping to lash into a couple of 5 & 10k's in the next few weeks but I'll wait till I'm sure the body has recovered before I race again.

4 easy runs and one steady run this week

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Oh ye of little faith, didn't I give the weather forecast last night!!!! Regarding the imagery in your post regarding Mr Bobbit it wont leave me for a while :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

When's the next travel extravaganza?

I'm bringing my middle fella to see WWE in the Dublin O2 on Thursday and it looks like I'm been sent off for another week from Friday. Garmin will be the first item into the bag!

TbL

Today was supposed to be a rest day but as I'll probably be travelling on Friday I did Fridays session instead, 3 miles recovery, suited me TBH, 3 nice and easy, 9 min miles.

TbL

In all my days running I've never run in weather like this evenings.

Program called for 6 easy miles with strides.

Started out on my local route, Seanadh Pheistin, it was dry and warm.

Very quickly, dark clouds rolled in followed by thunder and lightening.

It was exhilarating initially but the thunder started to sound like it was tearing holes in the sky before rolling through the air and exploding with a loud clap, a flash of lightening seemed to be very close (like a big camera flash going off beside you) and at this stage I was getting a little concerned. The rain was like monsoon season with huge fat drops bouncing off the road. The thunder and lightening was coming very frequently and I decided to do the strides during the 6 miles rather than after. Last few miles were done a little quicker than Easy as I didn't want to get fried!

Micilin Muc, if you were out that way on a bike you're a lunatic :)

The runners are gonna need a few hours to dry out!

6 miles (incorporating 6 strides) @ 7.51

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Seanadh Pheistin

Not a million miles away from my fathers family home that i believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

If you get hit by lighting while running, you get super powers. I saw it in a comic.

Snap except I was on the bike and a bit nearer home! This weather is a dose!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Snap except I was on the bike and a bit nearer home! This weather is a dose!

I thought you could predict the weather!

What were you doing out on a bike in that, husband send you out for some groceries did he :)

TbL

I thought you could predict the weather!

What were you doing out on a bike in that, husband send you out for some groceries did he :)

TbL

I forgot to read the tea leaf s today hence I could nt predict the monsoon! On the plus side he had the kids in bed when I got home!

Program called for a 7 mile progression run (8.30-7.20)

Got out early this morning to get this in on the same route as last night (without the drama!)

I have done little if any of this type of session and my split management was poor and is something I need to work on.

Splits;

1. 8.27
    2. 8.07
    3. 7.57
    4. 7.37
    5. 7.36
    6. 7.21
    7. 7.13

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Micilin Muc, if you were out that way on a bike you're a lunatic :)

Haha no chance! It seems you're the lunatic! I wasn't even comfortable sitting at my desk at work, I'm right at the window on the top floor of the highest building on top of a hill :)

I wouldn't know how to protect myself if I found myself running Seanadh Phéistín in that weather.

Thursday: didn't get any running in as I was in Dublin at the wrestling in the O2 with the young lad. He got his picture taken with Sheamus so his day was made.

Friday: Walter's "Baloney Planet Guide" adventures continue. I'm in Toronto for a few days, got in this evening. I hadn't intended running as a Herculean effort to deplete a BA lounge of its entire stock of shortbread biscuits left me feeling pretty crappy throughout the flight. On the accommodation front I lucked out and seem to have a decent hotel with a bit of history. It's the Royal York and it opened in the summer of 1929, at the time it was considered an architectural masterpiece and it's modern attractions included numerous restaurants, high speed elevators and guest rooms with "flush 'o meter" toilets. I got to my room (the jacks appear to have been upgraded :) ) and decided that despite been pretty wrecked that I'd do a few miles.

Program called for 6 easy miles so I unpacked the gear, got ready and headed out. It was about 9pm local time and it had just gotten dark but it was a lovely balmy evening for a run. Headed down Bay Street and onto the lakeshore. Nice running down by the quays and jetties with boats and yachts of all sizes moored along the boardwalks. It's a pity that there isn't a straight run along the lakeshore and it's a bit of a pain that you have to continually go back up towards the main road to come back down to the shore again. Just after 2 miles into the run I came to a big green floodlit area where there were loads of boys and girls teams out practicing baseball. Stopped behind one of the batting cages to watch for a little while before continuing on.

On one side of me planes were landing at Toronto City airport which is an airport on the islands in the lake (apparently it's Canada's 9th busiest airport) while on the other the CN tower rose 553 metres into the night sky, it's core lighting up red like the mercury in a thermometer. Apparently it's night time illumination system is very sophisticated and different colour permutations are displayed depending on the occasion. Looked spectacular in the dark. Very enjoyable slow 6 miles that took me just over an hour with all the stopping and starting.

If you're reading this DrQ, the Canadian nation sends a collective salutation :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Hehehe great stuff. I return my one fingered salutation!

In all seriousness- you need to find yourself some poutine- especially after a long run- I know you're not in Quebec but you should be able to get some in Toronto!

Got very little sleep last night, was up at 5.30, don't know how Ososlo functions as I was like one of the Walking Dead. Did a hour or so of work and headed down for breakfast. Decided I'd go native for breakfast and tried pancakes one with maple syrup and the other with some sort of chocolate goo. It was like eating soiled jacks roll and I quickly grabbed some poached eggs instead!

Did a couple more hours work and then put on the gear. Program called for 8 miles with 7 easy and the last one at MP. I hadn't given much thought to my new MP as the previous target of 7.15 has almost been ingrained in my sub conscious. On the way out towards Bloor, I decided that I'd try 7min as my new MP, it brings me in under my 3.04 target for Amsterdam but on the plus side it's an easy one to remember and calculate off for an auld lad! I was heading towards Bloor because the Humber river trails were recommended to me.

Really beautifully sunny day and a fantastic area for a run with a selection of trails, concrete and compacted gravel. I ran on all three sometimes having to retrace my steps as the trail petered out to an end. For most of the run the river was alongside me and I passed the occasional fisherman trying to land a trout and one or two kayakers. On one of the trail sections what was either a squirrel or a chipmunk frightened the crap out of me by crossing the trail almost underneath my feet. I was to run a 4 mile out and back but because I was enjoying it so much I almost ran, the entire 8 miles out before strolling shirtless back to the start. Class run.

7 easy miles 1 MP mile @ 6.46

TbL

before strolling shirtless back to the start. Class run.

TbL

And I thought the photos were of.........oh never mind.

I'll pm you :)

TbL

Today the program called for 12 easy miles.

DrQ, I asked for poutine at breakfast and the waitress laughed at me, before recovering and asking me was I serious. On finding out that it's some form of fancy curry cheese chips, I decided I'd leave it till later in the day!

I had intended doing the run out around Niagara Falls but a last minute work commitment put paid to that idea unfortunately. Strolled down to the lakeshore got a takeaway coffee and sat on the boardwalk watching, sailing boats, passenger ferries, planes, runners, cyclists, walkers and like life in general pass me by. Felt like Otis Redding in that song! After about an hour chillin, I decided to get the run started and headed off, the first mile or so were quite slow as the place was very busy and I was weaving between people. After the park with the baseball cages there is a lovely stretch directly along the lake front. About 1.5 miles of this section is on boardwalk, it's the furthest I've run on wood :)

The weather was cracking, blue sky and brilliant sun, with temperatures around 24-25c. I crossed over the white Humber pedestrian bridge and headed towards an inlet/park on the edge of the lake. Loads of families out with BBQ's and picnics, it reminded me of the run I did a while ago on the prom in Jordan, although the equipment been used and the girth of the people BBQing was poles apart!

Headed back after a lap of the park, it was getting very warm. Got a giant ice cream when I finished and sat on a bench relaxing for a good half hour.

12.5 miles @ 8.19. Total weekly miles 42.5.

I'm just gon' sit at the dock of a bay
    Watchin' the tide roll away, ooh
    Sittin' on the dock of the bay
    Wastin' time

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Headed back after a lap of the park, it was getting very warm. Got a giant ice cream when I finished and sat on a bench relaxing for a good half hour.

TbL

Living the dream - great stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

You're an international assassin, aren't you.

C'mon own up, I've worked it out.

snailsong wrote: »

How did you guess SS, for been so clever you get one free hit on a Boardsie of your choice. PM me a name :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

snailsong wrote: »

...Or a high class escort with the "noticeable definition" achieved on the chin-up bar resulting in more international bookings :D

FBOT01 wrote: »
    ...Or a high class escort with the "noticeable definition" achieved on the chin-up bar resulting in more international bookings :D

How did you guess FBOT, for been so clever you get one hour of free Lemon loving! Pm me your contact details :)

TbL

The "job" brought me to the Big Apple this morning. Am staying in Times Square a few blocks from Central Park. After work this evening I headed down to the park for a run. 2 work colleagues said they'd do some of it with me. Today was supposed to be a rest day but as I won't be able to run Thursday I decided to juggle days and do 6 miles with strides.

The park was packed as today is a public holiday here. Nice place to run even if it was a little hilly in parts.

As I was finishing I could hear and see a group of girls screaming and running up the road. A lad with a baseball cap, shirtless, green shorts and tattooed arms, was skateboarding up the road ahead of them. 2/3 burly lads were running beside him, and when he stopped they were keeping the shrieking girls away from him. Two black SUVs were crawling behind (how they were allowed into the park I don't know, as there weren't any other vehicles around). People were taking photos with their camera phones. (mine was back charging in the hotel so no photo evidence) Justin Bieber apparently. I kid you not.

It's my first time in NY so hoping to get around a bit in my spare time.

6 miles @ 8.11 with 5* strides.

TbL

were you tempted to clothes line him??

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

were you tempted to clothes line him??

Better yet: run beside him, pop off the shirt, steal his fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

How did you guess FBOT, for been so clever you get one hour of free Lemon loving! Pm me your contact details :)

TbL

PM sent:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

http://www.forbes.com/sites/fathom/2013/11/06/the-6-best-running-routes-in-new-york-city/

If you are looking for a different route than Central Park (which is surprisingly hilly) would recommend the Hudson River Run- some amazing views and next to no stopping at junctions too.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/fathom/2013/11/06/the-6-best-running-routes-in-new-york-city/

If you are looking for a different route than Central Park (which is surprisingly hilly) would recommend the Hudson River Run- some amazing views and next to no stopping at junctions too.

Thanks for that TJ

TbL

Program called for 8 easy miles.

Was busy all day so didn't get out till after 6. The sun had disappeared but it was very warm and muggy. Followed the route TJ suggested along the river waterfront. Nice and scenic route with dedicated running/walking paths. Started from where the USS Intrepid is moored and did 4 out and back. Could see the Statue of Liberty out in the distance after the 4 miles out. Bit of a stiff breeze on the 4 miles back but I needed it as I was starting to sweat profusely.

Doing 8 steady miles tomorrow and I'll probably use the same route as it's flat and there's not much starting and stopping.

8 miles @ 8.11

TbL

Program called for 8 miles steady (7.40 pace).

Felt very tired doing this today and the legs were very very heavy. The weather was much cooler than yesterday, it was about 14* compared to almost 30* yesterday, so that helped. Did the same route as yesterday but ran on the cycle path which is tarred rather than the hard concrete waterside path.

Did the 8 @7.30 pace but didn't really enjoy the run, just wanted it finished.

Don't think limerick is fully out of my body yet so I'm glad I'm following a structured plan that isn't too intense yet. I don't think I'd have been able to run the session a whole lot faster. Going to take a rest day tomorrow as I'm travelling overnight and straight into work in London.

Splits;

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

What program are you following?

Ferris B wrote: »
    What program are you following?

Hey Ferris,

I'm following a custom made program by a coach.

I get good feedback frequently by mail and text and go to Dublin for a face to face and a run session every couple of weeks.

Like the way the program has eased me back into it. After Limerick I was seriously gung ho and would have lashed straight back into heavy training and probably injury if I didn't have someone telling me to cop on. I only fully realised last week how tired the body actually was.

I'm keeping an eye on Statts, PaulieC and Cianc's program as I think it's a good one but I don't think it would suit me currently.

How about you, is nurse Rachett doing your program as well as giving you your daily meds :)

TbL

Just catching up now, nice photo of yourself there . I actually thought you were the man from Del Monte but I'm not sure now!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Just catching up now, nice photo of yourself there . I actually thought you were the man from Del Monte but I'm not sure now!

Ha ha Ha SfM, those chin ups that D has us all doing are paying off :)

TbL

Hey Ferris,

I'm following a custom made program by a coach.

I get good feedback frequently by mail and text and go to Dublin for a face to face and a run session every couple of weeks.

Like the way the program has eased me back into it. After Limerick I was seriously gung ho and would have lashed straight back into heavy training and probably injury if I didn't have someone telling me to cop on. I only fully realised last week how tired the body actually was.

I'm keeping an eye on Statts, PaulieC and Cianc's program as I think it's a good one but I don't think it would suit me currently.

How about you, is nurse Rachett doing your program as well as giving you your daily meds :)

TbL

A bespoke, custom made program, there's posh. Actually, I'm jealous.

Nurse Pfitzinger is currently looking after my running well being but sometimes I think I need more than a generic, one size fits all type programme as my running training knowledge is pretty crap. I've thought about exploring the coach aspect but have done nothing about it yet. Maybe you might pm me details of your mystery coach, unless of course you're sworn to secrecy.

Yesterday: plan called for a 3 mile recovery run, but as I was wrecked I couldn't get off the couch and missed the session.

Today: program called for 8 easy miles. It was my little fellas birthday and I spent the day chasing around the garden and on the bouncy castle. I put the run off till the evening as I was full of burnt beef, rice crispie buns and coke, not to mention covered in friction burns from the flamin castle!

Didn't fancy running at all but got it done @ 8.01 pace.

TbL

Yesterday: plan called for a 3 mile recovery run, but as I was wrecked I couldn't get off the couch and missed the session.

Today: program called for 8 easy miles. It was my little fellas birthday and I spent the day chasing around the garden and on the bouncy castle. I put the run off till the evening as I was full of burnt beef, rice crispie buns and coke, not to mention covered in friction burns from the flamin castle!

Didn't fancy running at all but got it done @ 8.01 pace.

TbL

Sacred Heart Id have hit the bottle the minute the last child left, fair play for going! Them bouncy castles should come with a health warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I was full of burnt beef, not to mention covered in friction burns

Jaysus TbL even for you thats a bit blue(sorry couldn't resist). Hope you had a good day.

Touché Tang, very funny, luckily I wasn't the "roast" :)

TbL

Program today called for 10 miles, 2m easy, 1m at HM pace, 1m easy, 2m MP, 1m easy, 1m HMP, 2m easy. PMP 7.00, and an estimated HMP 6.30.

Did the session over the local hilly route, picked a flat(ish) one miles section for the quicker miles. The out part was slightly downhill and had a strong breeze behind me, so I had to contend with that on the return.

Splits worked out as follows:

2m easy, 8.20, 8.10
    1m HMP, 6.30
    1m easy, 8.21
    2m MP, 7.14, 6.49
    1m easy, 8.46
    1m HMP, 7.03
    2m easy, 11.43, 8.07

Bit disappointed TBH, found that tough, but at this stage am pragmatic enough to realise its early days.

I'm a long way from racing fitness so I don't think I'll race at all in June.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Ha I know who your coach is :P:D

Are you coached by Alberto Salazar too :)

TbL

Program called for 7 easy miles with strides.

Got a massage after work today as a few niggles were starting to flare up. Very tender after and need to go back as she couldn't sort all the issues.

Did 6 miles easy, canned the last mile and the strides, drove down to the beach and waded in up to my waist for 5 mins, 'twas cold!

TbL

Program called for a 8 mile progression run. [4m easy, 2m steady, 1MPM & 1 HMPM.

The body still doesn't feel 100%.

Did this on my local rolling route.

Splits;

7.43 (too fast, on downhill)
    7.09 (didn't hit the 7 min target, long uphill stretch)

Overall not happy with the session, the last mile was harder than in should have been.

TbL

What was today's punishment for not hitting the figures (yesterday's being freezing your nuts off?)

Ferris B wrote: »
    What was today's punishment for not hitting the figures (yesterday's being freezing your nuts off?)

I made myself not post on Boards (much), and actually talk to the missus while watching some reality tv baking muck! 'Twas a lot more torturous than the cold water!

TbL

Program called for 7 miles easy with strides.

Ran this in glorious evening sunshine over the usual local route.

Ran it with the brother in law, and the bitchin about his sister took my mind of the niggles :)

Did the 7 miles nice and easy @ 8.12 pace followed by a few strides. Only did 3, instead of 6, in deference to the remaining niggles!

Felt better than yesterday, when I finished, so hopefully the barge is moving in the right direction.

Missus and eldest daughter have abandoned me till Sunday, there're in London at 1 Direction, so might be hard to get the sessions in.

Does anyone know how to boil an egg:)

TbL