If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Well done TbL, plenty more to come :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Maybe a mile or so behind Meno,

9 minutes 1 second. A country mile you won by at least!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

menoscemo wrote: »
    9 minutes 1 second. A country mile you won by at least!!!

Ha ha, if i'd known that id have walked up that last feckin hill! where did you see the results Meno?

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Ha ha, if i'd known that id have walked up that last feckin hill! where did you see the results Meno?

TbL

100 Marathon club FB page

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

TbL

Good job you didn't know so, when you win a marathon you need to do it in style!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done ya mad thing :eek:. Seriously impressive running! Are you immune to jet lag at this stage??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭ger664

Great time today super running.

Prep for Limerick start thinking about it the night before rock up and smash it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Don't change the nature of the log, it's one of the best on here.
    The travel, the shennanagins and the wit.
    Top thread on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Sneaky - well done

Top thread on here.

Tnx AMK,

But shouldn't you be in bed with your sub 3 blow up doll :)

All the best for tomorrow, I'll be following you on the tracking link.

TbL

Tnx AMK,

But shouldn't you be in bed with your sub 3 blow up doll :)

All the best for tomorrow, I'll be following you on the tracking link.

TbL

Don't you have a fheis to go to;);) Ha the real reason for the change of plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,148 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Top thread on here.

+ 1. I really hope my earlier post wasn't taken out of context

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Don't you have a fheis to go to;);) Ha the real reason for the change of plan.

Nothing clandistine, I'm in Leisureland, Salthill from mid morning with eldest daughter and the youngest lad, missus has decide to take the middle lad in for 9 (happy days!)

Was gonna suggest I do my recovery run along the prom in the morning but don't want to push my luck!

Have ye no smart phones in Mayo :)

TbL

Gavlor wrote: »
    + 1. I really hope my earlier post wasn't taken out of context

Not at all Gavlor, sure you're one of the wittiest loggers/posters on here and I appreciate everyone that expends their time to read this stuff and proffer advise.

I read back through some of my log today and it does seem a bit fantastical, so if I thought that, then it's only reasonable to assume that others might think I'm either Walter Mitty or some sort of troll, so just thought I'd address it.

I genuinely wouldn't waste my time (and other peoples time) writing stuff that I didn't do.

I'm just an ordinary auld lad, (with a job that has me all over the place) with my share of foibles, that knows very little about running, that really enjoys the support/banter/advice and craic on here.

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

TBH, I was thinking it was a bit of stretch to believe you had a chin up bar in your HOUSE. I mean...come......on.

Just to let you know, I managed 4 today:rolleyes:....while you were out jogging:P

Nothing clandistine, I'm in Leisureland, Salthill from mid morning with eldest daughter and the youngest lad, missus has decide to take the middle lad in for 9 (happy days!)

Was gonna suggest I do my recovery run along the prom in the morning but don't want to push my luck!

Have ye no smart phones in Mayo :)

TbL

We are lucky to have electricity half the time! It would be temping alright to get a run in along the prom but keep the head down Id say!

Cleanman wrote: »
    TBH, I was thinking it was a bit of stretch to believe you had a chin up bar in your HOUSE. I mean...come......on.

Just to let you know, I managed 4 today:rolleyes:....while you were out jogging:P

Damn ya Cleanman, you've got the jump on me, I've only used it twice since I put it up. I need more practice to take you out!

It's detachable, do you think Austin Powers would get it through airport security in my hand luggage so I could put it up in my hotel rooms

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Damn ya Cleanman, you've got the jump on me, I've only used it twice since I put it up. I need more practice to take you out!

It's detachable, do you think Austin Powers would get it through airport security in my hand luggage so I could put it up in my hotel rooms

TbL

I'm sure you could but how would I know? I go to the airport about twice a year and my hand luggage is usually full of my gf's sh!te. I reckon a bit of practice tomorrow would be more beneficial than another run.....

Yesterday, did nothing, didn't even have to go to the Fheis in the end (it was on in Salthill hotel, not Leisureland), just had to mind the young fella and he's no bother.

I'm in London today near Westminster, got back to the hotel late enough (the traffic is mad here), had a quick bite to eat (taking cognisance of my new diet and attempt to shed a badly needed few pounds before Limerick) before heading out for an easy 30 mins around Westminster and the river bank. The route along the river is spectacular especially when it's starting to get dark and the landmark buildings are lighting up. London really is a cool city. It was pretty windy in stretches though.

I'm outta here tomorrow afternoon so I should be able to get a decent weeks training in.

Ps. AMK I left those packages, strategically placed as requested, out for Gavlor, what's a Bouncing Betty anyway? :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

What's going to be the target in Limerick TbL?

p.s. I love London too. Can't wait to eventually run the marathon there (whenever that is!)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Cheers. That's 1 down.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,148 ✭✭✭Gavlor

ah sure unless i use rollerskates then I'm already down ;)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    What's going to be the target in Limerick TbL?

p.s. I love London too. Can't wait to eventually run the marathon there (whenever that is!)

Hey Yaboya,

I'd like to think I could do 3.10 but after Seville I'm more cautious and genuinely don't know yet what I'll go for.

I definitely want to break my Pb (3.15), but don't want to melt like I did in Seville. Saturdays run gave me a badly needed bit of confidence and I'm hoping for 2 more good weeks training.

You must have serious patience to be training with that HR monitor, it would drive me nuts, but you seem to have it down to a fine art now, and are running really well.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Badreputation

Congrats on the win last Sat TbL...Great running!

Was sitting in my hotel room last night going through Boards and found a post by Muicilin Muc asking for info on a 5k in Claregalway tonight.

Did a bit of research and found out it was been run over the Galway 5k series, Claregalway route and was been organised by Clare River Harriers. It was only a tenner to enter and I thought it would make a good tempo session. It was also on the way home from Shannon and didn't start till 7. Decided to enter it and if I missed it sure it was only a tenner (that was going to a good cause anyway)

For once everything went my way with work meetings and flights and I made it in good time to collect my race number.

I haven't done a 5k (or anything short for that matter) in years so was a little apprehensive. Did a very short warm up as it was quite windy and a little chilly, sat back in the car and listened to a bit of music and then walked up to the start. Had no idea what the course was like but we were off and immediately going uphill, after about .4 mile I was doing 6.46 pace, tried to pick it up a bit and was assisted by the following downhill.

Found the course hard enough with the inclines and wind but really really enjoyed the buzz. This is real racing, and despite tired legs I can see the attraction here, rock up, stick the number on your chest and go balls out for circa 20 mins chasing lads down. No carb loading, chafing creams, gels, nipple plasters required :)

Enjoyed it do much that I'm gonna make it a sub target to hit sub 19 before end of the summer.

Was well organised and seemed to be a decent spread laid out in the hall, but I didn't hang around.

Stopped the watch at 19.29, but didn't see the timer in time so not sure what the official time will be.

Splits:

1. 6.19
    2. 6.08
    3. 6.11
    .15. 51 secs

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

If you're anywhere near me in limerick I'm gonna be shouting at you . Nice run today- 5k is real racing IMO - love the distance, no BS just show up and go hard or go home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

You're some man to fit in the running around the travelling TBL, I don't know how you manage it. Keep the photos coming too! Not to dispel the Walter Mitty rumours, just to satisfy my inner nosey bollocks. :)

Yesterday, did nothing apart from chasing the kids around the garden for 30 mins.

Today: plan was to do 5 x 4k at MP -15 off 1k at MP +60 seconds.

Translated this to miles so I could manage the Garmin, so 2.5 mile reps at 17m30s per rep.

For some reason I seem to struggle with this type of session, went out early today on a local hilly route and was surprised by how windy it was.

Half way through the second rep I knew I was struggling so I decided to only do 4 reps. Splits below,

1. 17.28
    2. 18.03
    3. 17.14
    4. 18.10

Official results are up for Tuesday nights 5k, it was won in just under 18 mins so obviously not many speedys turned up for this. Official time and a 5k PB, of 19.30.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

I think Kipsang would struggle with a marathon on Saturday, a 5k race on Tuesday, and then a cheeky little session of 5x4k on Thursday.

What are you planning for tomorrow - a 30 mile recovery run, in Fiji? :D

Stazza wrote: »
    I think Kipsang would struggle with a marathon on Saturday, a 5k race on Tuesday, and then a cheeky little session of 5x4k on Thursday.

What are you planning for tomorrow - a 30 mile recovery run, in Fiji? :D

I liked the buzz from the 5k, been looking around for another one to improve the PB, none down your direction tomorrow? :)

TbL