Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• 21-11-2013 11:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cross-country-car-chase-ends-in-dramatic-scenes-in-west-dublin-29773178.html

The garda swoops came after a seven-strong gang forced their way into a house at Burnchurch, Killenaule, around 3am.
    They terrorised a man and his wife their three children, all girls under the age of 8 and demanded cash.
    The parents were tied up during their horrific ordeal as members of the gang robbed cash, jewellery and other property from the house.

A huge well done to these Gardaí, heroes of society. Just a shame the judges don't pull their weight. Huge salaries, and what will they do, probably issue a suspended sentence.
    Something needs to be done about this type of thuggery, judges need to up their game, and make a severe example of these thugs.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Oh, travelling gang and not traveller gang. I read it wrong.

Kudos to the cops.

Well done to the Gardai.

Judges aren't always able to hand down the sentences they want, and they aren't all as useless as the ones who make the headlines. I'd also expect someone at the very top tier of their profession to be paid well, but apparently I'm in the minority with that one.

That poor family though, especially those small kids. It's going to take a long time and a lot of patience to get them past that trauma.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

People do their job.
    Isn't that what they are paid for :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

snubbleste wrote: »
    Peope do their job.

There is doing your job, and doing your job.

I would have more respect for these Gardai, who put themselves at risk than the lads checking for road tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Well done the Gardai. No doubt all these scumbags will have a lengthy list of convictions from before and should have already been locked up if the judges did their jobs properly. Instead they were free to terrorise that family, and probably many before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

People do their job.

never congratulate anyone for a job well done, sure isn't money enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

People do their job.

Ah come on. Surely they are worthy of praise for doing a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Props for the arrests, good job, but "Operation Fiacla"?

Could they not think of something a bit more badass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's a pity the Kia didn't swerve off the road into a ditch and burst into flames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

They should be sprayed with water and then cattle prodded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Taking a big chance intercepting them at 9am at one of the busiest intersections in the country,a coked up headcase might have wanted to shoot his way out of that situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

My nana lives near Killenaule, I didn't think places like that would get hit, it's not exactly the kind of place people would go to or just be passing through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Rightwing wrote: »
    There is doing your job, and doing your job.

I would have more respect for these Gardai, who put themselves at risk than the lads checking for road tax.

One and the same surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Operation "random Irish word" is a success!

Fairplay to them though, this is a serious issue and we've seen plenty of rural burglaries of old defensless people. This is awful too of course.

With the (fairly) recent success in Limerick of the charges against John Dundon, and the news about the huge reduction in shootings in Limerick City, I think that Gardai deserve a big congratulations on their continued efforts to make this country safer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

The Wilburys I bet.

Let's hope it's the end of the line for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Delighted that they have been caught, fair play to the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

seamus wrote: »
    It's a pity the Kia didn't swerve off the road into a ditch and burst into flames.

Walking Dead reference right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

People do their job.

Give over. It's important that outstanding work is recognised in all walks of life.

How would you feel if you your manager greeted all your individual achievments with "shure, isn't that what your getting paid for"?

I wouldn't stay long with any employer who tool that attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Fair play to the boys in blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This is the culmination of a massive intelligence and surveillance operation, it was just a question of waiting till these particularly active and aggressive buckos tripped up, and now they have.

Well done to all concerned, just unfortunate it wasnt before this Tipperary family were traumatised. I hope they recover well and get good support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Is this the incident that ended in a crash near Dublin and started in Tippeary.

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I wonder how long it'll be before some insightful original lazy journalism likens it to Love/Hate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Dublin based burglar gang apprehended in Tipperary after violent home robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

The comments on the indo do not bode well for the Judges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

People do their job.

Yes. But nothing wrong with a pat on the back either. It costs nothing.

Well done lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

People do their job.

Huge difference between someone serving you at a till in tescos doing their job and someone putting their own life at risk to protect innocent people.
    Pains me to say it but they done a brilliant job. Especially on one of the busiest roads in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

131spanner wrote: »
    Props for the arrests, good job, but "Operation Fiacla"?

Could they not think of something a bit more badass?

Dunno, literally translated its "Operation Teeth" and it sure looks like the Gardaí did more than just bear them. Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Its a long way to Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Hoop66

To those who are saying "ah, but the judges'll let them off with a suspended entence".

For armed robbery? Unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭paulbok

Seen the crashed cars and had 8-9 garda vehicles slaloming through the outbound N7 traffic coming up to Newlands this morning. Was thinking there was more to it that a traffic crash.
    Good catch. Having them caught so quickly will be of some comfort to the family that was robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Feck it, missed all the action because I went in to work early. Would've been stuck in traffic for ages too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ericsinjun

Watched the operation unfold. Serious well done to the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Apparently the engine of a patrol car blew up during the pursuit inbound on the M7. Says it all about the state of either the standard of drivers' training provided or the state of patrol cars. I'm guessing that it is more so the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Huge difference between someone serving you at a till in tescos doing their job and someone putting their own life at risk to protect innocent people.
    Pains me to say it but they done a brilliant job. Especially on one of the busiest roads in Ireland.

Pains you to say it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

"one of the major travelling gangs, who have been operating from their bases in the capital and using the network of motorways to carry out burglaries across the country."

Anyone else find this a strange statement?? Almost like an attempt to blame the road network. If we didn't have these feckin' roads it wouldn't happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

minotour wrote: »
    If we didn't have these feckin' roads it wouldn't happen!

true!

Remove access to roads from Dublin!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

I was on the Naas road this morning heading to Dublin, before citywest doing about 110 in the overtaking lane with everyone else heading to work, when a 4x4 passed me by on the right hand side on the grass verge! it was a tight squeeze between my car and the other cars on the road and the barrier in the middle. About 6 garda cars and a Garda Bike flew up behind them. Cant believe no one was killed to be honest, the jeep was doing over 160k for sure and stones and stuff where flying everywhere from the grass. Wasnt expecting to get overtaken in the fast lane on the right hand side!

Seen the jeep stopped at newlands cross when i got up that far, front tyre was blown on the left anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

People do their job.

Seeing as their normal job is to check your motor tax then this is beyond that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Recon_

To the OP. Think about what you say.

Useless judges. Why do you think they useless?

Remember it was the publics choice to give these people a wage cut. The often successful members of the barrister groups are also some of the most intellectually astute people in the law library. Conversely they probably make double the income that is being offered by sitting on the bench.

Now ask yourself this. Would you take a 50% pay cut and risk the ire of the media and public for the glory of being called "your honour"? Oh and the added idea of answering to Shatter who made a small fortune when he was in the legal world.

There will be quiet a few new judges appointed shortly due to retirements. The quality of which will not be the best and brightest. Possibly a few more threads then complaining about the standard of judge decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Operation "random Irish word" is a success!

Operation Fiacla: protecting our collective enamel, cleaning up the strteeths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Nichololas wrote: »
    Operation Fiacla: protecting our collective enamel, cleaning up the strteeths.

biting crime in the a$$ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Pains you to say it?

Always found the Garda to be useless and this hated them. Emergency situations and they take their sweet time t come down. Incident on my road involving the neighbours and a young lad with a knife and took them 35 mins to come down and we rang them 3 times.
    But this time they done good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Always found the Garda to be useless and this hated them. Emergency situations and they take their sweet time t come down. Incident on my road involving the neighbours and a young lad with a knife and took them 35 mins to come down and we rang them 3 times.
    But this time they done good

You hate them., but you kept ringing them till they came.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

****ing knacker pikey bastards

Settled career criminal scum actually.
    Not a shred of evidence that there was a single member of the Travelling Community amongst them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Great news but I love how in the article it says the task force was setup 18 months ago with the name "operation florida"
    Yet it took the family to raise the alarm for the police to notice something was up, well that was 18months of the tax payers money well spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Settled career criminal scum actually.
    Not a shred of evidence that there was a single member of the Travelling Community amongst them.

Ohh............. here comes the PC police, helmets on folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭manonboard

Ohh............. here comes the PC police, helmets on folks

No, he's pointing out it's a traveling gang.. not a traveler gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

High speed Garda chase all the way from Tipp?

I can hear the sirens... *Nenagh, Nenagh, Nenagh, Nenagh, Nenagh*