Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭paulbok

Seen the crashed cars and had 8-9 garda vehicles slaloming through the outbound N7 traffic coming up to Newlands this morning. Was thinking there was more to it that a traffic crash.
    Good catch. Having them caught so quickly will be of some comfort to the family that was robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Feck it, missed all the action because I went in to work early. Would've been stuck in traffic for ages too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭ericsinjun

Watched the operation unfold. Serious well done to the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Apparently the engine of a patrol car blew up during the pursuit inbound on the M7. Says it all about the state of either the standard of drivers' training provided or the state of patrol cars. I'm guessing that it is more so the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Huge difference between someone serving you at a till in tescos doing their job and someone putting their own life at risk to protect innocent people.
    Pains me to say it but they done a brilliant job. Especially on one of the busiest roads in Ireland.

Pains you to say it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

"one of the major travelling gangs, who have been operating from their bases in the capital and using the network of motorways to carry out burglaries across the country."

Anyone else find this a strange statement?? Almost like an attempt to blame the road network. If we didn't have these feckin' roads it wouldn't happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

minotour wrote: »
    If we didn't have these feckin' roads it wouldn't happen!

true!

Remove access to roads from Dublin!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

I was on the Naas road this morning heading to Dublin, before citywest doing about 110 in the overtaking lane with everyone else heading to work, when a 4x4 passed me by on the right hand side on the grass verge! it was a tight squeeze between my car and the other cars on the road and the barrier in the middle. About 6 garda cars and a Garda Bike flew up behind them. Cant believe no one was killed to be honest, the jeep was doing over 160k for sure and stones and stuff where flying everywhere from the grass. Wasnt expecting to get overtaken in the fast lane on the right hand side!

Seen the jeep stopped at newlands cross when i got up that far, front tyre was blown on the left anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

snubbleste wrote: »
    People do their job.
    Isn't that what they are paid for :confused:

Seeing as their normal job is to check your motor tax then this is beyond that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Recon_

To the OP. Think about what you say.

Useless judges. Why do you think they useless?

Remember it was the publics choice to give these people a wage cut. The often successful members of the barrister groups are also some of the most intellectually astute people in the law library. Conversely they probably make double the income that is being offered by sitting on the bench.

Now ask yourself this. Would you take a 50% pay cut and risk the ire of the media and public for the glory of being called "your honour"? Oh and the added idea of answering to Shatter who made a small fortune when he was in the legal world.

There will be quiet a few new judges appointed shortly due to retirements. The quality of which will not be the best and brightest. Possibly a few more threads then complaining about the standard of judge decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Operation "random Irish word" is a success!

Operation Fiacla: protecting our collective enamel, cleaning up the strteeths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Nichololas wrote: »
    Operation Fiacla: protecting our collective enamel, cleaning up the strteeths.

biting crime in the a$$ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Pains you to say it?

Always found the Garda to be useless and this hated them. Emergency situations and they take their sweet time t come down. Incident on my road involving the neighbours and a young lad with a knife and took them 35 mins to come down and we rang them 3 times.
    But this time they done good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Always found the Garda to be useless and this hated them. Emergency situations and they take their sweet time t come down. Incident on my road involving the neighbours and a young lad with a knife and took them 35 mins to come down and we rang them 3 times.
    But this time they done good

You hate them., but you kept ringing them till they came.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

****ing knacker pikey bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

****ing knacker pikey bastards

Settled career criminal scum actually.
    Not a shred of evidence that there was a single member of the Travelling Community amongst them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Great news but I love how in the article it says the task force was setup 18 months ago with the name "operation florida"
    Yet it took the family to raise the alarm for the police to notice something was up, well that was 18months of the tax payers money well spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Settled career criminal scum actually.
    Not a shred of evidence that there was a single member of the Travelling Community amongst them.

Ohh............. here comes the PC police, helmets on folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭manonboard

Ohh............. here comes the PC police, helmets on folks

No, he's pointing out it's a traveling gang.. not a traveler gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

High speed Garda chase all the way from Tipp?

I can hear the sirens... *Nenagh, Nenagh, Nenagh, Nenagh, Nenagh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Whoever named a town 'Burnchurch' needs to go to confession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

Whoever named a town 'Burnchurch' needs to go to confession.
    Named By Cromwell:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Im delighted with this. Well done Garda.

Like somebody else said ...its too bad the SUV didnt veer to the left and go up in flames. Save costs on a court case and an embarrassing verdict and lawyer fees and psychologists reports and their fees and more vested interests fees and more fees oh and the show up to work fees.
    My parents live out in the middle of nowhere and im sh1tting bricks that one day these scumbags will come calling. Like they have to others in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Recon_ wrote: »
    To the OP. Think about what you say.

Useless judges. Why do you think they useless?

Remember it was the publics choice to give these people a wage cut. The often successful members of the barrister groups are also some of the most intellectually astute people in the law library.Conversely they probably make double the income that is being offered by sitting on the bench.

Now ask yourself this. Would you take a 50% pay cut and risk the ire of the media and public for the glory of being called "your honour"? Oh and the added idea of answering to Shatter who made a small fortune when he was in the legal world.

There will be quiet a few new judges appointed shortly due to retirements. The quality of which will not be the best and brightest. Possibly a few more threads then complaining about the standard of judge decisions.

Vested interest much?

"The often successful members of the barrister groups are also some of the most intellectually astute people in the law library"
    TBH I find these people so far removed from the reality of life for the average person that its not even funny.
    Hows all their celtic tiger investments doing? successful alright reading books and thats about it. Good for f00k all else.

Heres a few stupid verdicts and thats from only one judge.....
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/07/31/handed-down-by-his-honour-judge-desmond-hogan/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

keano_afc wrote: »
    Oh, travelling gang and not traveller gang. I read it wrong.

Kudos to the cops.

I think 'travelling gang' is journo code-speak about whom the gang is comprised of. Journos know lots more than what they can print. Time will tell....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭swht

deandean wrote: »
    I think 'travelling gang' is journo code-speak about whom the gang is comprised of. Journos know lots more than what they can print. Time will tell....

"They are from Coolock, north Dublin, and some are members of an extended Traveller family."

From the Irish Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

ruthloss wrote: »
    You hate them., but you kept ringing them till they came.

As I said they done their job with these lads. But when I needed them they didn't do their job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Great news but I love how in the article it says the task force was setup 18 months ago with the name "operation florida"

are you sure it wasn't 'Operation Fluoride'? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 fingal raven

Well done to the Gardai, nobody ( public or Garda) injured. Not much worried about the scum, hopefully a long sentence to take these people out of circulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

they were vicious what they done to the lad. shoved a screwdriver up his nose and broke his eyesocket. depraved.