Gardaí smash travelling gang.

• 21-11-2013 12:39PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cross-country-car-chase-ends-in-dramatic-scenes-in-west-dublin-29773178.html

The garda swoops came after a seven-strong gang forced their way into a house at Burnchurch, Killenaule, around 3am.
    They terrorised a man and his wife their three children, all girls under the age of 8 and demanded cash.
    The parents were tied up during their horrific ordeal as members of the gang robbed cash, jewellery and other property from the house.

A huge well done to these Gardaí, heroes of society. Just a shame the judges don't pull their weight. Huge salaries, and what will they do, probably issue a suspended sentence.
    Something needs to be done about this type of thuggery, judges need to up their game, and make a severe example of these thugs.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Oh, travelling gang and not traveller gang. I read it wrong.

Kudos to the cops.

Well done to the Gardai.

Judges aren't always able to hand down the sentences they want, and they aren't all as useless as the ones who make the headlines. I'd also expect someone at the very top tier of their profession to be paid well, but apparently I'm in the minority with that one.

That poor family though, especially those small kids. It's going to take a long time and a lot of patience to get them past that trauma.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

People do their job.
    Isn't that what they are paid for :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

snubbleste wrote: »
    Peope do their job.

There is doing your job, and doing your job.

I would have more respect for these Gardai, who put themselves at risk than the lads checking for road tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Well done the Gardai. No doubt all these scumbags will have a lengthy list of convictions from before and should have already been locked up if the judges did their jobs properly. Instead they were free to terrorise that family, and probably many before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

People do their job.

never congratulate anyone for a job well done, sure isn't money enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

People do their job.

Ah come on. Surely they are worthy of praise for doing a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Props for the arrests, good job, but "Operation Fiacla"?

Could they not think of something a bit more badass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's a pity the Kia didn't swerve off the road into a ditch and burst into flames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

They should be sprayed with water and then cattle prodded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Taking a big chance intercepting them at 9am at one of the busiest intersections in the country,a coked up headcase might have wanted to shoot his way out of that situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

My nana lives near Killenaule, I didn't think places like that would get hit, it's not exactly the kind of place people would go to or just be passing through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Rightwing wrote: »
    There is doing your job, and doing your job.

I would have more respect for these Gardai, who put themselves at risk than the lads checking for road tax.

One and the same surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Operation "random Irish word" is a success!

Fairplay to them though, this is a serious issue and we've seen plenty of rural burglaries of old defensless people. This is awful too of course.

With the (fairly) recent success in Limerick of the charges against John Dundon, and the news about the huge reduction in shootings in Limerick City, I think that Gardai deserve a big congratulations on their continued efforts to make this country safer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

The Wilburys I bet.

Let's hope it's the end of the line for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Delighted that they have been caught, fair play to the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

seamus wrote: »
    It's a pity the Kia didn't swerve off the road into a ditch and burst into flames.

Walking Dead reference right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

People do their job.

Give over. It's important that outstanding work is recognised in all walks of life.

How would you feel if you your manager greeted all your individual achievments with "shure, isn't that what your getting paid for"?

I wouldn't stay long with any employer who tool that attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Fair play to the boys in blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,106 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This is the culmination of a massive intelligence and surveillance operation, it was just a question of waiting till these particularly active and aggressive buckos tripped up, and now they have.

Well done to all concerned, just unfortunate it wasnt before this Tipperary family were traumatised. I hope they recover well and get good support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Is this the incident that ended in a crash near Dublin and started in Tippeary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I wonder how long it'll be before some insightful original lazy journalism likens it to Love/Hate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Dublin based burglar gang apprehended in Tipperary after violent home robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

The comments on the indo do not bode well for the Judges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

People do their job.

Yes. But nothing wrong with a pat on the back either. It costs nothing.

Well done lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

People do their job.

Huge difference between someone serving you at a till in tescos doing their job and someone putting their own life at risk to protect innocent people.
    Pains me to say it but they done a brilliant job. Especially on one of the busiest roads in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

131spanner wrote: »
    Props for the arrests, good job, but "Operation Fiacla"?

Could they not think of something a bit more badass?

Dunno, literally translated its "Operation Teeth" and it sure looks like the Gardaí did more than just bear them. Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Its a long way to Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

To those who are saying "ah, but the judges'll let them off with a suspended entence".

For armed robbery? Unlikely.