Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Manup campaign

• 16-11-2013 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

So i was on the green Luas (sarf side innit) today and noticed a big advertisement with this campaign. http://www.safeireland.ie/manup/
    Most men celebrate and respect women – they don’t control them. Good men protect and care for children. Today men are proudly standing up and declaring zero tolerance on domestic violence of any kind. It’s time to help make Ireland the safest place for women and children.
    Man UP is an inspiring, brave new campaign to change the face of domestic violence.
    Visit the Man Up website here
    You can support this campaign and help spread awareness that challenges the perverse and warped justifications that some men have for abusing women and children.
    Watch and share our campaign videos and tell the people in your social networks all about the campaign. You can also download our leaflets and posters or order some for free delivery from our office. (Contact Us)
    If you or your organisation would like to upload a link the Man UP campaign on your website or blog click here (.zip file 80kb) to download web banner formats.

So lads, would you ever stop abusing children, women and man up. Sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

F*ck these campaigns. I don't have time to rant (can hear the collective sigh from AH as I type, hehe) but seriously, why is it that gedner stereotyping and gender shaming are perfectly ok as long as guys are the target?
    Put up ANY ad campaign asking women as a whole to take responsibility for the behavior of the minority of scumbag women and watch the advertising standards people go absolutely ballistic.

Double standards like these are among the things which piss me off above absolutely all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The type of scumbags that abuse women are not the sort that will give a flying fvck about this campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

F*ck these campaigns. I don't have time to rant (can hear the collective sigh from AH as I type, hehe) but seriously, why is it that gedner stereotyping and gender shaming are perfectly ok as long as guys are the target?
    Put up ANY ad campaign asking women as a whole to take responsibility for the behavior of the minority of scumbag women and watch the advertising standards people go absolutely ballistic.

Double standards like these are among the things which piss me off above absolutely all else.

Imagine a campaign with, "woman up, stop having more kids to get more social welfare". I'd imagine it wouldn't go down too well.

To be honest, the fact that "man up" is a phrase at all while there's no equivalent phrase for women is disturbing in and of itself - we have an actual catchphrase which is designed to say "Males, conform to your society-imposed gender roles and STFU" but no equivalent catchphrase for women.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    The type of scumbags that abuse women are not the sort that will give a flying fvck about this campaign.

As a result of a few scumbags, we ALL have to "man up". That is the problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭Davelarson

Imagine a campaign with, "woman up, stop having more kids to get more social welfare". I'd imagine it wouldn't go down too well.

How about 'woman up, don't falsely accuse men of rape'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Pure sexism. You can get away with stereotyping and demonizing men... try doing the same with women and see what kind of response you get

There's already been more than enough threads about this campaign. Can we just. stop. talking about it? Seriously, you're doing exactly what they want and disgusting campaigns like this do not deserve any attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mr. Chrome

Its like those anti-rape adds a while ago where the guy was watching himself raping someone.
    Seriously, WTF sort of person needs reminding that rape is bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

As a result of a few scumbags, we ALL have to "man up". That is the problem.

I wouldn't see it like that. The message is aimed at the 'men' that abuse women, not the general male population.

There's already been more than enough threads about this campaign. Can we just. stop. talking about it?

Here's a tip, if you find yourself seeing the same thread over and over again, close the laptop or shut down your PC. There's a whole load of things to do in the big wide world. Go outside and live man. Otherwise, if you find you need the validation of being on boards 24 hours a day then don't click into the threads you've seen umpteen times. There are a wide range of subjects such as the ever entertaining humour forum, but if you get tired of the same jokes there is the brilliant Gentlemans club forum. Anywho back on topic...

You obviously do not get my point. This is a disgusting and sexist campaign - the more threads that happen, the more attention it gets. If you stop talking about it, it will just go away and die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Mr. Chrome wrote: »
    Its like those anti-rape adds a while ago where the guy was watching himself raping someone.
    Seriously, WTF sort of person needs reminding that rape is bad?

The point of that ad was that in the moment the guy didn't think he was doing anything wrong, but looking back on it with perspective he realised it was not right and not the kind of behaviour he wanted to have.

I love men, I'm married to a great one and related to good ones. But maybe some men think back on some previous behaviour and realise it was wrong.

In fact I'm sure all people do, women included. No harm to check ourselves every now and again. Are we being the best version of ourselves? Do we have pride in our behaviour?

Men and women - are there things we could do better?

You obviously do not get my point. This is a disgusting and sexist campaign - the more threads that happen, the more attention it gets. If you stop talking about it, it will just go away and die.

Ah I see, all problems will go away if ignored. Yes that's always the solution ain't it.

It is amazing how little people seem to care about this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭Davelarson

Typical feminazi crap. Remember guys, you're all such savages that lose control for one second and you'll be beating and raping every woman and child you see.

Ah I see, all problems will go away if ignored. Yes that's always the solution ain't it.

It is amazing how little people seem to care about this.

What else is there to do? There is already an excellent discussion about it over on the Gentleman's Club, which can be found here.

So, tell me, what are your opinions? Do you think it is a good thing?

As much as I think violence should be stopped against any gender, the very first line says "most men don't do this". So I think the cries of "how dare they say all men do this" are a bit pushing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

In these days of gender equality women should be well able to stand up to men, take a punch & then give one back with a boot to the nuts too for good measure!
    Campaign is a bit ridiculous, can't see anyone looking at that poster & say, "Oh! I must stop kicking the shìt out of my wife & kids, I've seen the error of my ways!"

bluewolf wrote: »
    As much as I think violence should be stopped against any gender, the very first line says "most men don't do this". So I think the cries of "how dare they say all men do this" are a bit pushing it

Ah yes, the fact that it's called "Man up" really doesn't allude to the fact that it is a big auld brush they are using there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Men who hit women should man the fuk up. A man doen't hit a woman, it's an old rule, and a good rule. I've never hit a woman in my life, never will either. Now kids...that's another whole ball of wax.little feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

If women weren't so uppity nobody would have to man up.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Men who hit women should man the fuk up. A man doen't hit a woman, it's an old rule, and a good rule. I've never hit a woman in my life, never will either. Now kids...that's another whole ball of wax.little feckers.

Equality. Noone should hit anyone.

and if someone his another, they should know that they are in line to be hit back, whether they have a vagina or not.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

It's pretty much saying that ONLY men abuse women and children and if they stop, everything will be okay.

What about women abusing other women and children? Because it does happen a lot.
    Most men celebrate and respect women – they don’t control them. Good men protect and care for children. Today men are proudly standing up and declaring zero tolerance on domestic violence of any kind. It’s time to help make Ireland the safest place for women and children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    It's pretty much saying that ONLY men abuse women and children and if they stop everything will be okay.

What about women abusing other women and children? Because it does happen, a lot.
    This is the thing. And there are also women who abuse men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

This is the thing. And there are also women who abuse men.

They're called wives unfortunately :(

It's pretty much saying that ONLY men abuse women and children and if they stop everything, will be okay.

That's true which I hope I acknowledged already - it's got its flaws, it's just the claims it's saying ALL men do it are wrong

It's the fact that the campaign is specifically directed at men and is effectively saying that any normal man is someone who might do it that's offensive.

Imagine a campaign saying "Most black people don't rob grocery stores, but..." and ask yourself whether there would be any question of anyone justifying it in any way whatsoever.

It's disgusting.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

it's just the claims it's saying ALL men do it are wrong

I agree, the campaign doesn't say that at all.

But what it does say is rather outrageous. We really don't need a campaign telling a small minority of one gender to stop abusing everyone else.
    Abuse is horrible and we have to stop it, against every gender and age by people of any gender and age.

That's true

It's called MAN UP. So I would consider that tarring us all to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

What about women abusing other women and children? Because it does happen a lot.

I think the feminazis are happy to sweep that under the carpet for the moment. It'll probably come to the fore in another decade or so.

Really? So, if a woman approached you in the street and smacked you full force with her fist or high heel in the face, you would just stand there and take it? Or worse still, if you were about to become the victim of a serious physical (life threatening) assault, at the hands of a women or one was about to happen in your presence, you wouldn't take any physical action?

If a woman started clattering a fella, I'd be happy to see him defend himself in kind. I wouldn't like a slap from a woman to be met with a punch that knocked her to the ground, but equal force? Reap, sow, tbh.

The problem is, you are in the minority. As someone who defended himself after being hit numerous times, I can tell you when it happens the bloke comes out the bastard no matter what.

Why the fcuk would a woman want to hit a lad? And could a lad not just hold her wrists? Why the fcuk would you want to belt her back? I'm sorry, I just don't get that, I can't even imagine a woman hitting me. Lads, yeah, fair enough, sh1t happens, but a woman? Women are for lovin, not hitting, that's why God made other men - give you somthing to go boxin with.

Tragic. Here is a newsflash, some women can be bigger than blokes. Another newsflash, some women can be vicious and properly beat you up.

Your posts resemble something of a 12 year old.

Why the fcuk would a woman want to hit a lad?
    Believe me it happens. And holding her wrists isn't always an option. Plus she can use a weapon, not just her wrists. If she's thumping and thumping a fella he can hardly be blamed for thumping her back in self defence.

Believe me it happens. And holding her wrists isn't always an option. Plus she can use a weapon, not just her wrists.

Plus cry wolf. Leading people to think it's the bloke doing the violence. Most will side with the female. Again campaigns like this reinforce that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To be honest, the fact that "man up" is a phrase at all while there's no equivalent phrase for women is disturbing in and of itself - we have an actual catchphrase which is designed to say "Males, conform to your society-imposed gender roles and STFU" but no equivalent catchphrase for women.

"Bitch please!"
    /snappy fingers in Z formation

Why the fcuk would a woman want to hit a lad? And could a lad not just hold her wrists? Why the fcuk would you want to belt her back?

I know a few people who have been randomly jumped by women in Dublin city centre. It is not uncommon. Some poor sod/s will be the victim of exactly this tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

One in four lesbian and bisexual women in Scotland have experienced domestic abuse in a relationship. Three in five of those say the perpetrator was a woman, and two in five a man. One in four of the general female population has experienced domestic abuse.
    Source: https://www.stonewall.org.uk/scotland/at_home/health/7992.aspasp

https://www.stonewall.org.uk/scotland/at_home/health/8940.asp

How different is Scotland to Ireland?

Believe me it happens. And holding her wrists isn't always an option.

Yep, I know someone who got hit, completely random attack and she told him that she would scream rape if he laid a finger on her.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Thats a bit of a lame point to make. Why would anyone want to hit anyone? Some people are just wired up agressive. Doesnt matter whether theyre a bloke or a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

What's with all the fcukaboutery in this thread? Honestly? Because that's exactly what it is. It's not just whataboutery, and I rarely use that word, in fact I think that's the first time I've ever used it, but this thread is complete fcukaboutery!

The campaign is shìte, sure, and men who perpetrate domestic violence aren't going to give a flying fcuk about it, but posters here are completely missing the point in order to jump on the equality high horse.

The facts are that domestic violence is predominantly perpetrated by men, and sure there are a minority of cases in proportion perpetrated by women on men, but should that mean that we completely dismiss the whole campaign as a farce for what it's trying to do?

Domestic violence or equality, domestic violence or equality, which do I give more of a shìt about? Well, seeing as the amount of men who perpetrate domestic violence is disproportionate to the amount of women that perpetrate domestic violence, it's hardly fcuking equal, is it?

I think I'd sooner raise awareness among men that are capable of preventing other men from perpetrating violence against women than I'd be thinking about women who perpetrate violence against men. That's a completely different and separate campaign.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    What's with all the fcukaboutery in this thread? Honestly? Because that's exactly what it is. It's not just whataboutery, and I rarely use that word, in fact I think that's the first time I've ever used it, but this thread is complete fcukaboutery!

Point it out then, instead of immediately dismissing the opinions to suit your own bull**** version.
    but posters here are completely missing the point in order to jump on the equality high horse.

Lets just forget about equality then.
    The facts are that domestic violence is predominantly perpetrated by men, and sure there are a minority of cases in proportion perpetrated by women on men, but should that mean that we completely dismiss the whole campaign as a farce for what it's trying to do?

So after saying the campaign is ****e you are defending it? ****aboutery to say the least!:rolleyes: Also the number of reported cases are men vs women, because it will in most cases get taken seriously, campaigns like this perpetuate that. Your lack of empathy for male domestic violence victims is quite frankly quite disturbing and disgusting.
    Domestic violence or equality, domestic violence or equality, which do I give more of a shìt about? ?

Yet here you are spewing your wet blanket ****e.

I think I'd sooner raise awareness among men that are capable of preventing other men from perpetrating violence against women than I'd be thinking about women who perpetrate violence against men. That's a completely different and separate campaign.

Off you go with your fellow ala carte feminists and do that then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

One in four lesbian and bisexual women in Scotland have experienced domestic abuse in a relationship. Three in five of those say the perpetrator was a woman, and two in five a man. One in four of the general female population has experienced domestic abuse.
    Source: https://www.stonewall.org.uk/scotland/at_home/health/7992.aspasp

https://www.stonewall.org.uk/scotland/at_home/health/8940.asp

How different is Scotland to Ireland?

It's at least 70℅ more Scotlandier according to the most recent study I've seen.

Tragic. Here is a newsflash, some women can be bigger than blokes. Another newsflash, some women can be vicious and properly beat you up.
    Maybe you need to man-up so.

That is no help. There are men experiencing domestic abuse from their female partners. They do not need to man up, their partners need to stop being physically and verbally and emotionally abusive to them.

A bullying c*nt can be male or female. Women have the added power of being able to use the children against their male partner also.

There's nothing disrespectful towards women or emasculating of men to acknowledge the above realities.

Maybe you need to man-up so.

I am a man thanks. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

That is no help. There are men experiencing domestic abuse from their female partners. They do not need to man up, their partners need to stop being physically and verbally and emotionally abusive to them.

A bullying c*nt can be male or female. Women have the added power of being able to use the children against their male partner also.

There's nothing disrespectful towards women or emasculating of men to acknowledge the above realities.

Definitely, framing this as a men vs women debate just leads to everyone being annoyed at each other on the basis of gender as well. The situation for men who are the victims of domestic abuse is god awful, there's a massive stigma around even TRYING to get help for it and I think there's (maybe) one shelter in the whole country for them, and family law is skewed towards women regarding custody.

They should just call campaigns like these Cop On. I don't know what the thought process is "well see people think it's manly for men to hit women so we're going to be loike totally clever and turn that on its head"? Nobody in their right mind thinks that, and the men who do aren't going to see a poster and stop. I'm sure their heart was in the right place but their head was away in first wave feminist fairy land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Point it out then, instead of immediately dismissing the opinions to suit your own bull**** version.

It's not MY own bullshìt version Smoke, you should be saying that to the people who care more about equality than they do domestic violence against women.

Lets just forget about equality then.

Equality has got fannyadams to do with it, that's my point. If you want to start a campaign about violence against men perpetrated by women, well, by all means, but to make this issue about equality? "Men are victims too", that's the fcukaboutery I'm talking about, even though it's an undisputable fact that domestic violence is more perpetrated by men against women.

So after saying the campaign is ****e you are defending it? ****aboutery to say the least!:rolleyes:

Yes, the campaign IS shìte, but my objection is to the fact that this thread is more concerned with equality, I mean, seriously, women are being abused, beaten, living in fear, and the bigger concern of some posters here is "well so do some men!" or "women do it too!".

Also the number of reported cases are men vs women, because it will in most cases get taken seriously, campaigns like this perpetuate that. Your lack of empathy for male domestic violence victims is quite frankly quite disturbing and disgusting.

Smoke I just had a look at your join date there, so I'm not going to jump down your throat for not being aware of the fact that you're not aware of the fact that I'm well aware of the statistics on this issue and that I've worked with both male and female victims of abuse and domestic violence, and one thing I will say is that while maybe the authorities weren't as "au fait" with male victims of abuse 17 years ago (I used call their reports the "file that under 'fcuk me that was awkward' reports", they sure as hell take it just as seriously now as female victims of abuse and domestic violence, and y'know what the problem always was? Male victims of violence rarely ever reported it. That's changing slowly now with organisations like AMEN promoting the issue of male victims of domestic violence and abuse, but like I said, it's a completely separate issue to the issue of domestic violence perpetrated by men against women.

My lack of empathy towards male victims of abuse and domestic violence? All due respect Smoke but you don't know the half of it tbh, and I don't blame you for that because you couldn't possibly have known the half of it unless you had done a post history search and known my previous usernames on this site.

Yet here you are spewing your wet blanket ****e.

Yes, because I don't give a shìt as much about equality as I do domestic violence and abuse. I came into this thread expecting a discussion about domestic violence against women, instead it's a thread about equality.

Off you go with your fellow ala carte feminists and do that then.

My what? Honestly Smoke, you may be only a short time on the site, but through previous contributions I've made to threads here where you've been involved, you should know I couldn't give less of a fcuk about feminism shìte, that I give a shìt about people, regardless of labels or agendas.

The onus is on campaigners against male on female violence to start campaigns about that one. Me? I couldn't give a flying fcuk about national campaigns, I'll work with whatever is thrown at me. One day it could be a male sex worker who was beaten to shìt by a customer, the next day it could be a woman married ten years who can't take any more psychological intimidation from her husband. Makes no fcuking odds to me, but both are completely separate issues.