Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

There is a company now making hardrace bushes which are somewhere in the middle.

More comfort but not as harsh/noisy you get the entire wishbone and optional balljoints for less that most manufacturer branded wishbones

Might be worth a look dunno what makes are covered yet though

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bpmull wrote: »
    I wouldn't even know where to start. If the car is getting serious work done then the mechanic sorts out parts and obviously doesn't but of main dealer unless there seals or something like that. So really the main parts I buy are just filter plus oil. Oil isn't an issue as when the Mobil ford spec oil goes on offer I buy it in halfords. So that just really lives filters. I'm probably really only complaining over nothing as I service it every 10k km so 3 services a year. So the price of filters doesn't really amount to much. Anyway the cost of servicing it never bothers me it's all the other stuff. Anyway it seems to be running well at the moment so fingers crossed it will stay that way.

I have a 600 odd page manual for mine with all the tech specs and part details, plus (I know you don't drive an alfa) I use alfaowner or specialists to check I'm on the right path if I'm looking for a part.

My mechanic is not an alfa specialist, but is great in that he'll listen to me, and if I can source parts that he can't he's happy to discuss if he is willing to fit them once I can logically explain (in a very non mechanical manner) why I think he should/it's a better option.

I had to buy new spark plugs recently, he even at trade couldn't get them for less than half what I did (NGK platinum plugs x 8) and he was fine with me going ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    I am lashing it into another centre :D

How much is the arm versus the bushes? I was €400 versus €60 I suspect there is a wording issue here given different cars :D

The arm is €110 (not from alfa)the 2 bushings are 100 sterling not including postage then you need the ball joint and fitting the bushes to the old arm.

This one is a free replacement and the 159 is not supposed to be hard on them like the 156

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

When I google micks garage and click on the first link it comes up site untrusted do you wish to enter on the browser, anyone else getting this? Seems like a scam.

Speaking of car parts :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There is a company now making hardrace bushes which are somewhere in the middle.

More comfort but not as harsh/noisy you get the entire wishbone and optional balljoints for less that most manufacturer branded wishbones

Might be worth a look dunno what makes are covered yet though

I have a very stupid question here, now that SG has mentioned wishbones.

Is it wishbones on the front and control arms on the back? Or does it mean the same? What I am talking about on my rear suspension looks like a wishbone it has the bushes top and bottom and linkage for the shock in the middle, but is being called the control arm/link? It's like bushes/bushings etc, why have multiple poxy expressions?

It was the poxy wishbones on the steering rack on the 156 that you couldn't replace without replacing the rack.

pred racer wrote: »
    The arm is €110 (not from alfa)the 2 bushings are 100 sterling not including postage then you need the ball joint and fitting the bushes to the old arm.

This one is a free replacement and the 159 is not supposed to be hard on them like the 156

It's just the bottom bush I've to replace and there is no ball joint thankfully.

That's if it fails on the next test :D

Is it wishbones on the front and control arms on the back? Or does it mean the same? What I am talking about on my rear suspension looks like a wishbone it has the bushes top and bottom and linkage for the shock in the middle, but is being called the control arm/link? It's like bushes/bushings etc, why have multiple poxy expressions?

It was the poxy wishbones on the steering rack on the 156 that you couldn't replace without replacing the rack.

Anything shaped like a wishbone......is a wishbone. Also called control arms (normally the top one is the control arm and the bottom one that is attached to the hub is the wishbone )also known as A arms On quads and buggies.
    On the rear of your citroen they were trailing arms (coz they face backwards)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

You can't replace the wishbones on the 156 without replacing the rack? What wishbones are they?

There's also spring pans in the set up as well on the rear of the gtv?
    Which one of the parts below's bush is gone?
    https://www.shop4parts.co.uk/?name=store&op=Results&category=18&secondary=29&opts=218

Anything shaped like a wishbone......is a wishbone. Also called control arms (normally the top one is the control arm and the bottom one that is attached to the hub is the wishbone )also known as A arms On quads and buggies.
    On the rear of your citroen they were trailing arms (coz they face backwards)

Thanks pred, but FFS, I was there looking at the NCT bloke in confusion when he was on about the control arm/link

If the silly feck had just said wishbone???????

My mechanic will have a good laugh at that :D Sorry about the stupid question, even worse, I think of the wishbone as being the part that essentially balances the wheels/suspension :) Simple, me

Thanks pred, but FFS, I was there looking at the NCT bloke in confusion when he was on about the control arm/link

If the silly feck had just said wishbone???????

My mechanic will have a good laugh at that :D Sorry about the stupid question, even worse, I think of the wishbone as being the part that essentially balances the wheels/suspension :) Simple, me

Have a look at this (its from an alfetta) this is an older setup and is like most cars were. (my 406 for example)
    http://www.highwoodalfa.com/diff_pics/116_b10a.jpg

Lower arm is the wishbone and is connected to the hub carrier, upper arm is the control arm, see what I mean?

Now my front suspension is completely different to this but the terminology remains the same.

Scortho wrote: »
    You can't replace the wishbones on the 156 without replacing the rack? What wishbones are they?

There's also spring pans in the set up as well on the rear of the gtv?
    Which one of the parts below's bush is gone?
    https://www.shop4parts.co.uk/?name=store&op=Results&category=18&secondary=29&opts=218

No idea on the 156 Scortho, but I had to get mine reconditioned then it needed replacing due to the wishbones.

It's https://www.shop4parts.co.uk/?name=store&op=Details&ProdID=7188&sku=17192 but as I said I have a source in TI for the alleged wear should it go again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

No idea on the 156 Scortho, but I had to get mine reconditioned then it needed replacing due to the wishbones.

It's https://www.shop4parts.co.uk/?name=store&op=Details&ProdID=7188&sku=17192 but as I said I have a source in TI for the alleged wear should it go again

Well here's to hoping I never need to replace rear wishbones. Feckin hell I thought lower wishbones on the 156 were expensive.

Scortho wrote: »
    Well here's to hoping I never need to replace rear wishbones. Feckin hell I thought lower wishbones on the 156 were expensive.

No it was the ones on the steering rack on the front!!!!!!! Possibly the uppers, I walloped the bejaysus out of mine one day

Interslice wrote: »
    When I google micks garage and click on the first link it comes up site untrusted do you wish to enter on the browser, anyone else getting this? Seems like a scam.

Speaking of car parts :)

It's a security certificate thing, is working fine for me, is this the page with the gifts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

It's a security certificate thing, is working fine for me, is this the page with the gifts?

No just this

https://www.micksgarage.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Yep i'm getting a giant red page with a warning on it

Basically what has probably happened is they have not updated their security cert, so your browser is not happy with them, I tried it and got the same, and unless it's a clone it's micksgarage.

I got this a few weeks ago on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Meh, not like Im going to be in it anyways! Now I'm off to bed to go make money in the morrow so i can spend it all in a weeks time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

*Arises from hibernation. Phew, nobody noticed :D

There are some epic bangs and cracks from the rack alright :eek:

I'll be binning the lot in due time and replacing it with a beefier setup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OSI wrote: »
    Well I won't be changing the oil today anyway. State of that weather!!

Aye me too, had great plans but alas...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

you couldn't keep a car clean at the moment. Washed the car on wednesday and looking at it today you'd swear it never got a wash. I suppose it doesnt helps that I live in the country. Managed to get a christmas job :) too so i wont get a chance to clean it for another while. I seem be lucky out when it comes to getting summer/ christmas jobs I never look for one and get one. Everyone else kills themselves with cvs and all that and they end up getting nothing.

Bpmull wrote: »
    you couldn't keep a car clean at the moment. Washed the car on wednesday and looking at it today you'd swear it never got a wash. I suppose it doesnt helps that I live in the country. Managed to get a christmas job :) too so i wont get a chance to clean it for another while. I seem be lucky out when it comes to getting summer/ christmas jobs I never look for one and get one. Everyone else kills themselves with cvs and all that and they end up getting nothing.

Ive given up washing mine!
    Well done on the job, what you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,410 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Same here.

Just prewash - snow foam, quick rinse, nothing else. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I thoroughly washed mine today. I had to empty the rinse bucket twice because the water was black :( Thanks to the weather I didn't have to dry it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I'm sure you could push for a better deal. On what though? A poxy E65? :pac:

Drove a good customers 750i this afternoon for a solid 20-25 mins, what an absolutely awesome machine. The interior is streets ahead of the E38, as is the refinement and ride. Shame about the exterior, but still, extremely impressed!

Ive given up washing mine!
    Well done on the job, what you doing?

Just working in an office for an electrical contractor helping with pricing work. I worked there last summer onsite as an electrician well apprentice one of sorts. So I could have got back onsite for Christmas but there was a back log in the office so helping out there. It's grand just about a week and a half wouldn't of wanted anymore than that anyway have to have some time off too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Some people in Ballincollig just should not be allowed own cars.

Was in grocery shopping tonight with my mother. And in the middle of the car park noticed an under cover mondeo Garda car stopped. And then a good few people standing around turn out two under covered Garda (wearing jeans and shirts ) were searching an Audi with flash lights. They had the owners standing beside the car. They were going over it with serious detail over half an hour looking at it and they were still there when I left. I wonder what they were looking for must have been serious as it wasn't exactly just a random check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Probably looking for Motor Tax.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Probably looking for Motor Tax.

Under the seats and spare tyre well I doubt it :pac: probably didn't have tax either