If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

And it begins.
    Someone asked me if I wanted to swap for an evo 7:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Stupid slow post I want my shiney meow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

And it begins.
    Someone asked me if I wanted to swap for an evo 7:rolleyes:

In top shape and with few/tasteful mods I would would take it in a heart beat in your position. :)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    In top shape and with few/tasteful mods I would would take it in a heart beat in your position. :)
    That's where we differ, I guess.
    In selling this car I would be looking at something like an RX8, an older diesel truck, or the likes of a jag xjr.
    Older, but still fun. (high tax not a problem)

Not for an evo though. If it was an RX8 I would have taken it in part exchange. I must put that in the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

That's where we differ, I guess.
    In selling this car I would be looking at something like an RX8, an older diesel truck, or the likes of a jag xjr.
    Older, but still fun. (high tax not a problem)

Not for an evo though. If it was an RX8 I would have taken it in part exchange. I must put that in the ad.

You should sell the lotta your sh1tboxes and buy that 'General Lee' Charger Cameron Cars has. Then you'd be a bona fide redneck. ; )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

If you're considering an rx8, buy one of an enthusiast on one of the owner forums...

Big Nasty wrote: »
    You should sell the lotta your sh1tboxes and buy that 'General Lee' Charger Cameron Cars has. Then you'd be a bona fide redneck. ; )
    Ah feck off :P
    I wouldn't raise 40 grand or whatever the asking price is on that, I have been ogling it for a while.
    OSI wrote: »
    Don't. You're just opening yourself for a world of pain and wasted time if you let them you're willing to consider trades.

I said specifically RX8. Would not trade for most cars. If it generates too much spam ill change it back. At the moment only 1 call and that was the evo guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

An Evo is one of my bucket list cars is all so I would be snapping at the oppertunity to get one is all.

What kind of money are NSXs going for these days? If you can find one they is! God I love those cars!

EDIT: just checked there and they're going for mad money. Comfortably over 20 sterling :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I've already been at him about the Evo, he's an eejit for not taking it! :p

Yeah, last time I saw one here it I've touching €30k, they are super cars I guess.

I know Evo's are quick and handle like they're on rails but they attract the wrong kind of attention IMO.

Plus the whole "Oh this is the third I've driven it this week, time for a full service"

Sure you've that with the Rex too! :pac:

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Sure you've that with the Rex too! :pac:

Yeah but at least that isnt attracted to the same attention and negative image (shall we say) that evos get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stupid slow post I want my shiney meow

If you need a hand to beat some of it into submission when it arrives gimme a shout!
    I'm bored :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,723 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Today I witnessed the second coming of "Steering column lock defective" error on the dash. :(

Our resident VW guru George said its a VW garage only job, at about €250. Got a quote of "around €300", but not until after Christmas. Hopefully I don't get stranded anywhere.

Today I witnessed the second coming of "Steering column lock defective" error on the dash. :(

Our resident VW guru George said its a VW garage only job, at about €250. Got a quote of "around €300", but not until after Christmas. Hopefully I don't get stranded anywhere.

Ah sure only drive on straight roads and even if it does lock then you'll be grand ;) :P

• Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,723 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Ah sure only drive on straight roads and even if it does lock then you'll be grand ;) :P

If it acts up entirely, the car wont start at all. Looks like my brothers VW curse has been passed onto me.

Plus the whole "Oh this is the third I've driven it this week, time for a full service"

At least the coil packs shouldn't pack in once a week. :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »
    At least the coil packs shouldn't pack in once a week. :pac:

And there is the whole issue with buying an RX8, I would have to avoid buying the less powerful one.;)
    191 bhp versus 232 - or something like that.

Why do you resist the 255 up in Donedeal? :p

The rx8?
    I resist nothing.
    If I had the cash that would be the one I would buy. But the fact of the matter is, I don't - not until I sell the bmw anyway.
    Plus I promised a certain OH that I would sell something before buying another car (unless it was a cheap manual RWD ;) )

I sent the guy an email asking if he would swap with cash my way though ;) - just on the off chance

And there is the whole issue with buying an RX8, I would have to avoid buying the less powerful one.;)
    191 bhp versus 232 - or something like that.

The 192 version is 5 speed and the 231 is 6 speed and no, you can't just rempap the 192 ;) there's another 2 ports in the engine that are the reason for the extra power.

HORRAY for emails and HORRAY cheap drift sluts. :D

The 192 version is 5 speed and the 231 is 6 speed and no, you can't just rempap the 192 ;) there's another 2 ports in the engine that are the reason for the extra power.

Right, so I will only be looking for the 6 speed model.
    Not being familiar with wankel engine configurations, are there any other differences between the 192 and the 231?

HORRAY for emails and HORRAY cheap drift sluts. :D

I think we both know a great private race track where the RX8 will enjoy being driven by me, when I get it!;)

The pigeon house. :D

There's a reason half the ads for Evo's say the engine has been fully rebuilt ;) You find me one that's cover 85,000 Miles plus in 5 years without needing half the engine bay replaced and then we can talk.

I'd rather have a serious performer and know it'll need a rebuild in a few years, than have an on going issues that can't be diagnosed properly.
    Not a doscredit to your car but you're be really in a place to slag a car's reliability. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

I'd rather have a serious performer and know it'll need a rebuild in a few years, than have an on going issues that can't be diagnosed properly.
    Not a doscredit to your car but you're be really in a place to slag a car's reliability. ;)

Thats a bit harsh man! I dont remember Osi ever touting his car as a paragon of reliability?
    Surely he is entitled to comment on the reliability of another car without having his current troubles thrown back at him?

Edit: I drive a bloody alfa, Id never be able to comment on anything.........ever :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Paragon ???

I thought he drove a VW

Right, so I will only be looking for the 6 speed model.
    Not being familiar with wankel engine configurations, are there any other differences between the 192 and the 231?

The 192 has more low-end torque than the 231 but it's still fook all and coming from the 535, you will wonder what the hell is going on. It revs like a muthakukka but for the amount of revving, it doesn't travel as far as you'd think.

As everyone here knows, I LOVED my RX8 and I love it as a car but I'm very aware of how it performs! Regardless of the torque, it really is an amazing car to drive and the engine is sooooooo good to listen to!

I will most definitely be getting one in a few years for herself to drive ;)

Who's that now!?! :cool: