If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Sure are. Mob app doesn't give you links otherwise I woulda posted.

It does now since the update a few weeks ago. Hit share and copy to clipboard.

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/4506251

Went in and picked the first random advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Praise the developers!
    That drove me mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

CianRyan wrote: »
    Praise the developers!
    That drove me mad.

Dunno why they left it so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sure are. Mob app doesn't give you links otherwise I woulda posted.

Sound. I'll give them a look when I get back from work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I may have the Legend's replacement sorted this evening...

Undecided on whether its temporary or permanent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,098 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I may have the Legend's replacement sorted this evening...

Undecided on whether its temporary or permanent.

What did you go for? I love the look of the early 90 Legends..... but I think yours was much later wasn't it?

Vauxhall Ventora, 3.3 auto.

Mine is a 96, first of the KA9 models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Vauxhall Ventora, 3.3 auto.

Mine is a 96, first of the KA9 models.

Never so much as heard of one :)

Suits you to the ground kaiser going by your other machines!

YbFocus wrote: »

Double post

YbFocus wrote: »

Well for a daily driver its everything I want; big, auto and barge-y.

Plus tax and insurance combined total a fraction of tax alone on the Legend.

Of course, I will really miss all the toys in the Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Lukasg

hey guys im just wondering if anyone knows how much it might cost to insure a glanza turbo ? im 19 holding a provisional, how much less would it be with a full ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lukasg wrote: »
    hey guys im just wondering if anyone knows how much it might cost to insure a glanza turbo ? im 19 holding a provisional, how much less would it be with a full ?

A number of times more than the car is worth. Thousands, with a large excess.

Lukasg wrote: »

Aahh to be young and naiive again! :P

We all had to start off in crap cars and take the hit for a few years before we got into the cars we really wanted to be driving. I suggest you do the same otherwise you'll be paying €6000 to insure a glanza that's worth €1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thought this was kinda funny! The guys in the PS3 forum having a virtual motors meet in GTA online http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057179476 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

MadYaker wrote: »
    Thought this was kinda funny! The guys in the PS3 forum having a virtual motors meet in GTA online http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057179476 :pac:

I thought we were bad. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What's happening the Leg End Kaiser?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    What's happening the Leg End Kaiser?

'box trouble, plus it needs a few bits for NCT.

Just putting it away for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

So I was sent a picture of more or less what my refurb'd wheel will look like:

http://imgur.com/tqiGDh2

Mine will not have those silly looking arrows, nor the blue/green stitching. The stitching will be light blue/dark blue/red as per M cars. Looks bad ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

So I was sent a picture of more or less what my refurb'd wheel will look like:

http://imgur.com/tqiGDh2

Mine will not have those silly looking arrows, nor the blue/green stitching. The stitching will be light blue/dark blue/red as per M cars. Looks bad ass.

Does look good.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

the stupid car parts place sent a replacement pulley for the gtv.

Only thing is the part they sent is for a gt :(

Had to buy the oem part too as they don't do aftermarket, so you'd think alfa would get the fecking part right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just spotted this dude in Traffic Cops, skip to 11:00 and see what he blows on the intoxilyzer. :O

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmvAv_nAm_M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Just spotted this dude in Traffic Cops, skip to 11:00 and see what he blows on the intoxilyzer. :O

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmvAv_nAm_M

The girlfriend of the clown with the white Citroen AX properly lands her boyfriend in it :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    the stupid car parts place sent a replacement pulley for the gtv.

Only thing is the part they sent is for a gt :(

Had to buy the oem part too as they don't do aftermarket, so you'd think alfa would get the fecking part right!

Pm sent.

I have a contact for OEM Alfa parts if anyone needs it.

For all you 'haters' out there, Alfa parts are really hard to source coz they are so rarely needed :P

10153187_706532352722325_6585476947749447591_n.jpg
    Saw and nearly bought this today. 1 owner from new.
    I'm going to see it in a bit more depth on Sunday after the Ventora. I don't know exactly what I'll do with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

10153187_706532352722325_6585476947749447591_n.jpg
    Saw and nearly bought this today. 1 owner from new.
    I'm going to see it in a bit more depth on Sunday after the Ventora. I don't know exactly what I'll do with this.

Must be great to be loaded. I can barely afford one car never mind buying a few.:o

Well, I will have to get rid of the Civic before Sunday to make room. But, sometimes it gets a bit hectic, I don't even know why I still have the Civic!
    I'll just have the Wolseley, Ventora and this. Plus the Legend, put away for when I put it on the road again. I sold the Beetle a while ago because I literally have not done a thing to it since I bought it, not even sat in it and started it. Impulse bits like that are **** after the novelty wears off. I wouldn't call myself loaded either...just an addict :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Well, I will have to get rid of the Civic before Sunday to make room. But, sometimes it gets a bit hectic, I don't even know why I still have the Civic!
    I'll just have the Wolseley, Ventora and this. Plus the Legend, put away for when I put it on the road again. I sold the Beetle a while ago because I literally have not done a thing to it since I bought it, not even sat in it and started it. Impulse bits like that are **** after the novelty wears off. I wouldn't call myself loaded either...just an addict :pac:

Didn't you only own the beetle for about 2 weeks :confused::confused:

You're mad :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Count yourself lucky dude.

Half the lads on this forum will never drive a V8 let alown own one.

No offense to yiz buckos, that's just the way it is.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Didn't you only own the beetle for about 2 weeks :confused::confused:

You're mad :P

I sold it on the 27th, only had it 3 days. Its not very much my cup of tae.

I really like the whole classic thing, meeting other genuine enthusiasts is great, I chatted to the owner of the Standard for an hour before looking at it. He has a Datsun Micra apparently.

And afterwards I was talking to the driver of an MG Midget at traffic lights on Collins avenue this evening in the Wolseley.

Count yourself lucky dude.

Half the lads on this forum will never drive a V8 let alown own one.

No offense to yiz buckos, that's just the way it is.

Don't get me wrong, I really do!

Its something I really enjoy, and I'm glad to be able t keep at it.