BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Mike Rodgers on BBC4 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

New programmes in a few weeks Klaxon!
    The BBC has commissioned a rock 'n' roll season of programming on TV and radio.

Rock n Roll America will look at the beginnings of rock music in the USA in the 1950s, before its explosion around the world with the help of TV appearances by Elvis Presley and culminating with the game-changing arrival of The Beatles in America in 1964.

The Walking Dead actor David Morrissey will narrate the series, which also features exclusive interviews with a number of iconic names in music, including Ben E King, Tom Jones, Ronnie Spector, Jerry Lee Lewis and Don Everly.

The first part of the new documentary series will premiere on BBC Four on July 3, with parts two and three following on July 10 and July 17.

Also in honour of BBC's Rock n Roll America season, BBC Radio 6 Music presenter Lauren Laverne will host a debate next month to discuss what rock 'n' roll music means today with an hour-long programme set to air on BBC Four on July 24.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/music/news/a654032/bbc-announces-a-season-of-programmes-to-celebrate-the-birth-of-rock-n-roll-music.html#~pgbrtlO7640cSo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Nice one, Skid - worth tuning in for :)

Add to that Gene Simmons of KISS hosting his own rock show starting this Wednesday on BBC Radio 2! :D

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05xrbyt

This show is brought to you by KISS Kola, KISS Kontakt Lenses and KISS Kitty Litter!

Ever noticed how TOTP back in t'day would put the drummer in FRONT of the rest of the band?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ever noticed how TOTP back in t'day would put the drummer in FRONT of the rest of the band?

I think that was a bit of a fad. Some of the TOTP2 from a certain period have pretty much every band at it.

I'm not comfortable with it, myself.

Fuppin 80s.

Rubbish, Bill.

Some stunning sights.

Sydney looks ok too :pac:

To this day I believe Nothing Compares 2 You was a load of a*se.

Probably the only thing it has in common with Wannabe.

Blunt!

Remain calm!

Blunt!

Remain calm!

Almost everything on this annoys me.

Then they put John Lennon in the middle, and by associating him with some of this dross, they annoyed me further.

Although I do like this Crazy song. In a "of course, I wouldn't play it myself" kind of way.

I can certainly see the appeal of this Rhianna lady, but holy hell her voice is like nails on a blackboard.

Scraping an already rubbish song.

Ugh. Adele.

WILL YE GET ON WITH THE MARSHALLS FOR JESUS SAKE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I can certainly see the appeal of this Rhianna lady, but holy hell her voice is like nails on a blackboard.

"Sticks and stones may break my bones, but chains and whips excite me."

DRdRCSi.gif

Sky Arts now showing highlights of the Isle Of Wight Featival 2015 :)

The Black Keys...that ain't bread.

:pac: ;)

Hello, There's a whole lotta Glastonbury going on this weekend, http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b007r6vx/broadcasts/upcoming lists everything on the Telly and the Radio (6Music do a cracking job, if you have never listened in you should give them a go. if you can get BBC Four you can probably get the BBC's Digital Radio Stations too)

But in the midst of this Glasto Goodness, there is lots else going on too. We all thought TOTP 1980 was gone for the Summer, but it's back! with balloons and shiny disco light and the audience partying like it's 1980. The BBC skipped past the strike and went for the relaunch even though the broadcast dates are now months out of sync with the original.

Who would win in a wrestling match between Lemmy and God?, If you've never seen the Movie Airheads. the answer is here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkBDkwa_WrU .

Lemmy The Movie Friday Night at ten. Hell Yeah. Apparently it's a repeat but by BBC Four standards it hasn't been on for so long it's practically virginal. Here's a quick look with a rather impressive cast of contributors **NSFW** (unless your Boss likes Lemmy and doesn't mind swearing)

God Only Knows why they are putting this on when you would expect wall to wall Glasto action, but ours is not to reason why. Probably because Motorhead are on earlier that evening.

And if that wasn't enough, there's a chance to see what is now apparently the weekly showing of the Marshall Amp Documentary! Well, Lemmy's in it so maybe they wanted to make it a Lemmy Night. Except they put Irish Rock at the BBC in the middle. I don't think he's in that, but I liked it last time around.

So, in summary - All new old TOTP, Lemmy, Marshall Amps, Irish Rock and lots and lots of Glastonbury.

Thursday

BBC4 7.30pm & 11.45pm Top of The Pops 1980
    Peter Powell is joined by guest presenter Elton John for an edition from August 7, 1980, featuring the Piranhas, Diana Ross, Hot Chocolate, Kelly Marie, the Gap Band, the Gibson Brothers, Bad Manners, Abba, Odyssey, Olivia Newton-John and Don McLean

Friday

BBC3 7pm-8pm Glasto: James Bay, Catfish and the Bottlemen
    Greg James and Clara Amfo present coverage from Worthy Farm in Somerset as chart-topping newcomer James Bay takes to the Pyramid Stage for the first time, while north Wales indie foursome Catfish and the Bottlemen make their Glastonbury debut on the Other Stage

BBC2 7.30pm-8.30pm Glasto 2015
    Jo Whiley, Mark Radcliffe, Lauren Laverne and roving reporter Gemma Cairney kick off BBC Two's extensive coverage of the Glastonbury Festival of Contemporary Performing Arts at Worthy Farm in Pilton, Somerset. Featuring acoustic performances in the studio and highlights from around the stages. Includes Florence and The Machine

BBC3 8pm - 9pm Glasto: Jungle, The Vaccines
    Greg James and Clara Amfo introduce a performance by west London collective Jungle, who are returning to Pilton after last year's attention-grabbing set. Plus, indie-rockers and festival favourites the Vaccines and an acoustic session by Watford folk-rock trio the Staves

BBC4 8.30pm-9pm Glasto: Motorhead
    Mark Radcliffe introduces highlights from the set by the rock heavyweights, led by their legendary frontman Lemmy on the Pyramid Stage as the band finally make their debut at the world's largest performing arts festival.

TG4 8.30pm-9pm Fleadh Ceoil
    The Irish music festival marks its return to Sligo after 23 years with performances by Tara Breen, Lisa Canny, Eamonn Rooney, Sean O'Meara, and the groups Teada and the Irish Concertina Ensemble. Presented by Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain and John Creedon

BBC 4 9pm - 10pm Glasto: Mark Ronson
    Coverage of the songwriter, producer and DJ extraordinaire's appearance with his band on the Other Stage

BBC4 10pm-11.50pm Lemmy The Movie
    Documentary charting the life of the Motorhead frontman, following him on various tours over the course of three years. The film examines his rise to fame in the 1970s and the influence of the band's distinctive sound on punk and heavy metal groups. With contributions by Alice Cooper, Dave Grohl, Peter Hook, Jarvis Cocker, Mick Jones and Metallica's James Hetfield and Robert Trujillo

BBC2 10pm-10.30pm Glasto 2015
    Mark Radcliffe and Lauren Laverne present further coverage, with highlights from across the festival including Mark Ronson's set on the Other Stage. Plus, Gemma Cairney gets out and about and reports back from the wonderful and strange areas of Glastonbury Festival such as Shangri-La and Arcadia, and there are acoustic performances in the studio

BBC2 11pm - 2am Glasto 2015
    Jo Whiley picks up the baton at Worthy Farm as she introduces coverage of Florence and the Machine's headline set on the Pyramid Stage. Lauren Laverne and Huw Stephens then take over presenting duties with a selection of highlights from the rest of the day as well as acoustic performances in the studio, while Gemma Cairney delves into the dark, weird and bizarre late-night world of the festival

BBC3 11pm - 12.15am Glasto: Rudimental
    Drum 'n' bass band Rudimental return to the festival for the third year running, this time to headline Friday night's performances on the Other Stage. Presented by Greg James and Clara Amfo

BBC4 11.50pm Irish Rock at the BBC
    A compilation of Irish rock performances from the early seventies to the present day, with acts including Thin Lizzy, Ash, the Undertones, Stiff Little Fingers, U2, Sinead O'Connor, the Pogues, Imelda May, The Strypes, Hozier and the Divine Comedy. The programme features clips from a variety of BBC shows, including the Old Grey Whistle Test, Top of the Pops, and Later... with Jools Holland

BBC4 12.50am Play It Loud: The Story of The Marshall Amp
    In the early 1960s drum shop owner Jim Marshall launched the loudest amplifier in the world at a point in time widely perceived to be the birth of rock. Young musicians like Clapton and Hendrix rushed to adopt the revolutionary `Marshall sound', and the electric guitar spoke for a new generation, while stacks and walls became an essential backdrop at concerts. The company was rescued from financial meltdown by comic exposure in the 1984 movie This is Spinal Tap, and the electronic boxes were propelled to iconic status. This documentary charts the amp's history, with contributions from rock musicians Pete Townshend, Lemmy and Slash, plus an interview with the founder himself

Saturday

BBC2 4.30pm Glasto 2015
    Mark Radcliffe and Lauren Laverne kick off day two of BBC Two's festival coverage, featuring highlights of Grammy-winning American jazz singer Gregory Porter's set on the Other Stage, as well acoustic performances in the studio by Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett and grime star Skepta. Plus, roving reporter Gemma Cairney is out and about in the outer reaches of the site

BBC4 7pm-8pm Glasto: Burt Bacharach
    Coverage of this afternoon's Pyramid Stage set by the Oscar-winning American singer-songwriter, who has been responsible for more than 50 Top 40 hits in the UK by artists including Dionne Warwick, Gene Pitney, Cilla Black, Dusty Springfield and Tom Jones. Back in 2000, Bacharach was unable to perform at the festival due to a shoulder injury and today saw his debut on the main stage, performing a selection of songs from his back catalogue of classics

BBC3 7pm-8pm Glasto: George Ezra, Clean Bandit
    Highlights of singer-songwriter George Ezra's appearance on the Pyramid Stage and electronic group Clean Bandit's set on the Other Stage. Greg James and Clara Amfo present

BBC4 8pm-9pm Glasto: Paloma Faith
    Coverage of the Brit award-winning pop and soul singer's performance this evening on the Pyramid Stage at Worthy Farm in Pilton, Somerset

BBC3 8pm-9pm Glasto: Years & Years, The Maccabees
    Highlights of electronica trio Years & Years' appearance on the John Peel stage and indie-rock band the Maccabees' set on the Other Stage. Greg James and Clara Amfo present

BBC2 9.30pm - 1am Glasto 2015
    Mark Radcliffe and Gemma Cairney present further coverage from Worthy Farm, including highlights of soul and R&B star Pharrell Williams' set and the headline performance by rapper Kanye West on the Pyramid Stage. Jo Whiley and Huw Stephens then take over hosting duties to bring a selection of acts from the second day at Glastonbury, including music from The Mothership Returns with George Clinton, Parliament, Funkadelic & the Family Stone, as well as a peek at the late-night high jinks that go on under the cover of darkness, and acoustic performances in the studio

BBC4 10.40pm - Midnight Suede
    Huw Stephens introduces live coverage of headline set on the John Peel stage by the alt-rock band, who reformed in 2010 after a hiatus of seven years

BBC3 11pm Ben Howard, Deadmau5
    Greg James and Clara Amfo present coverage from the Other Stage of the set by Devon singer-songwriter Ben Howard as well as the headline performance by Canadian progressive-house artist and producer Deadmau5

BBC4 Midnight Top of The Pops 1980
    As above

BBC4 12.40am - 1.40am Brothers in Arms
    Documentary celebrating rock bands fronted by brothers, including the Kinks, Spandau Ballet, the Everly Brothers and Oasis, and exploring the conflicts that can erupt from such relationships. With contributions by Martin Kemp, Matt Goss, Dave Davies, Phil Everly, David Knopfler and the Campbell brothers of UB40

BBC4 1.40am - 2.40am Definitely Dusty
    Documentary revisiting the career of Dusty Springfield, the renowned pop diva famous for classic songs such as You Don't Have to Say You Love Me and Son of a Preacher Man. Archive footage shot in both the UK and the US provides an illuminating insight into her glamorous but private personal life, and contributions from her protective inner circle of friends highlight the Dusty behind the panda eyes and blonde beehive. Includes interviews with Tom Jones, Elton John, Burt Bacharach, Lulu and Neil Tennant

2.40am - 4am Play It Loud: The Story of The Marshall Amp
    as above

Sunday

BBC2 6.15pm - 8pm Glasto 2015
    Lauren Laverne, Mark Radcliffe and Jo Whiley present coverage of Sunday afternoon's performances at the festival, including Lionel Richie on the Pyramid Stage in this year's Sunday Afternoon Legends spot. Plus, performances by Patti Smith, Future Islands and Hozier, an acoustic set by Malian desert blues group Songhoy Blues and Gemma Cairney's latest report on the unseen areas of the festival

BBC4 8pm - 9pm Glasto: Paul Weller
    Jo Whiley introduces coverage of the singer-songwriter and former Jam frontman's performance on the Pyramid stage as the last day of the music festival draws to a close. The set marks his fourth appearance at the festival, and features songs from his 25-year solo career, including new album Saturn's Pattern

BBC3 8pm-9pm Glasto: Alt-J, Charli XCX
    Greg James and Alice Levine introduce coverage of the final day of the music festival, featuring Alt-J's appearance on the Pyramid Stage. Plus, Charli XCX performs on the John Peel Stage, accompanied by an all-female backing group. Featuring backstage access and interviews with the artists

BBC3 9pm-10.30pm Lianne La Havas, Jamie T
    Greg James and Alice Levine present further coverage of the final day of the music festival. Lianne La Havas sings tracks from her new album on the John Peel Stage, while Jamie T makes his first appearance on the Other Stage. Greg James and Alice Levine present backstage interviews with the artists

BBC3 10.30pm-11.30pm Chemical Brothers
    The festival is brought to a close with the dance music duo and Glastonbury stalwarts performing a mixture of new material and classic hits on the Other Stage, accompanied by their usual light show

BBC2 10.40pm - 1am Glasto 2015
    Jo Whiley and Mark Radcliffe introduce the final night of BBC2's coverage of the festival, featuring The Who's performance on the Pyramid stage as part of the band's 50th anniversary celebrations. Plus, sets by Paul Weller, Ryan Adams and FFS, a group comprised of members of Sparks and Franz Ferdinand, acoustic performances in the bird's eye view studio and a round-up of the weekend's highlights

BBC4 12.40am Irish Rock at the BBC
    as above

And lots on the Red Button too. So that's more Beebrocky programming in a weekend than you would get in a season normally. It'll back to the Richest Songs in the World soon, no doubt, so enjoy it while you can!

Really looking forward to The Who!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭OldRio

Glasto time again.

No doubt my wife will hear my annual rant on the state of modern music.(don't get me started on fecking artists with backing tracks talking over other peoples music)

I saw all these bands through the years. Quintessence, Hawkwind, Bolan, Traffic Fairport and Bowie who all played in the first 2 years of Glasto and what have we got this year? Exactly. Pure and utter ................
    Sorry. Ranting started early.:D

To be honest I don't know enough anything about the majority of the artists who are performing. Still, can't let an excuse for a good old moan pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

OldRio wrote: »
    Glasto time again.

No doubt my wife will hear my annual rant on the state of modern music.(don't get me started on fecking artists with backing tracks talking over other peoples music)

I saw all these bands through the years. Quintessence, Hawkwind, Bolan, Traffic Fairport and Bowie who all played in the first 2 years of Glasto and what have we got this year? Exactly. Pure and utter ................

To be honest I don't know enough anything about the majority of the artists who are performing. Still, can't let an excuse for a good old moan pass.

well, you've got the Who and Mötörhëäd, gramps...

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Don't a fan of Flo And The Machine, but the 'upgrade' to headline will surely now make her a household name.

Very reminiscent of Glastonbury 1995, when the Stone Roses cancelled at the 11th hour (Reni mislaid his white floppy hat, or something) and those young (!) upstarts Pulp took the slot. And world domination was theirs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Dub Ste

OldRio wrote: »
    Glasto time again.

One of my pals in Leeds knows Dave Codling from Quintessence, and invited me out to his house to listen to them jam.

He's a great bloke, really down to earth and full of great stories.

Was good to see them invited back to Glasto a few years ago, there's a documentary on youtube about it, slightly spinal tap-ish, but well worth a look..

Bookmakers have offered odds of 2/1 that Kayne West will be booed throughout his set :rolleyes:

To people going to Glastonbury...nobody has a gun to your head forcing you to see Mr. Fish sticks ;) , there are plenty other acts (musical and non-musical) to go see.

Jesus wept...or should I say, 'Yeezus' wept :cool: :cool: :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Skid X wrote: »
    We all thought TOTP 1980 was gone for the Summer, but it's back! with balloons and shiny disco light and the audience partying like it's 1980.

We've still got to wait almost a year before "Yellow Pearl" becomes the theme tune, though. :o:D;)

Don't a fan of Flo And The Machine, but the 'upgrade' to headline will surely now make her a household name.

I prefer to hear Candi Staton singing "You Got the Love", though. :o:o

And whenever I hear "Shake It Out"...

...I find myself wanting to hear this instead. (It'll appear on TOTP quite soon, incidentally.)

Don't ask me why or how, because I have absolutely no idea. :o:o:o:o

No disrespect intended towards Miss Welch, BTW. :);)

Word on the street (social meeja) is that The Libertines will take Florence And The Machine's original time slot :)

The Red button thing is great, giving you lots of different stages to choose from.

On another topic, People bringing golf umbrellas to festivals are doing it all wrong. They block everyone's view and they could have someone's eye out.

Not a big fan of Mary J., but 'No More Drama' is an awesome song :cool:

M O T O R H E A D!

Lemmy IS God! :D

Bringing his own fruit machine! :D:D

This rules to the max

Oh, to be in that moshpit!