Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Letting your Child(U18) Store/Have a Gun in their Room

• 29-10-2013 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to know as a parent or if you were what would your prospective on this be?Is it right?Maybe rules being set etc.Me being 16 having one stored in my room parents dont mind too much but others such as friends find it not to be right.

Would you let you Child Store a Gun in their Room? 115 votes

Yes.
    0%
    cosieman 1 vote
    No way
    19%
    Explosive_CornflakeRovifathersymeskellxor.1337juice1304Boiled-eggmeathstevieScalachiGrizzly 45robertpattersonrowaMr.FlibbleferretePistolpete1wildfowler94German pointerBattleCorpfranknrolaaakevhiddenmongoose 22 votes
    Yes but rules to be set(keys of safe given to parent at night)
    80%
    the_sycoTurnerPaulwRewMadsLSkatedudeCalhounAkrasiaedantoLB6jandmmacnasrecipiothelurcherTerrorFirmerlilmissprincessdenismacciaran76bikoangelfire9 92 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

In general it sounds like a really really bad idea. I can think of exceptions (like keeping an air rifle without ammo in their room when dry firing if they're actually training heavily) so it's not an absolute rule, but those exceptions would be fairly esoteric and a case-by-case kind of thing. But I guess that's the way with these things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

Sparks wrote: »
    In general it sounds like a really really bad idea. I can think of exceptions (like keeping an air rifle without ammo in their room when dry firing if they're actually training heavily) so it's not an absolute rule, but those exceptions would be fairly esoteric and a case-by-case kind of thing. But I guess that's the way with these things...

Yeah ive a single shot air rifle but i do keep ammo i my room.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Just to sure i'm on the same page. If a child (under 18) owns a gun but their parents don't and they store the firearms in their room, you are asking if anyone would have a problem with this?

Or is it that the firearm is just in the room, not stored in a safe?

I didn't answer the poll as the third option is a non runner. No one, bar the licensee, should have access to the firearms. Ever. Parents or not.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cass wrote: »
    Just to sure i'm on the same page. If a child (under 18) owns a gun but their parents don't and they store the firearms in their room, you are asking if anyone would have a problem with this?

I didn't answer the poll as the third option is a non runner. No one, bar the licensee, should have access to the firearms. Ever. Parents or not.

Im asking if you are or if you were a parent would you let your child store a gun in their room.I know but a one of my parent is a licensee so that doesnt apply to me.Its in a gun safe btw complying with the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

No way
    Is the teenager licenced to have the gun? If so i dont see the problem, if they can be teustwd with it outside no reason why thwy cant at home imo. Plus what cass said, if a parent is not licenced on the gun they cant go near it or have access to it

If my child had a gun/license and i did not then as long as they store it in the safe in their room i'd be fine.

If they just kept it in their room, no safe, then i'd be less happy.

Lastly to have a gun and safe in your parents house you need written consent from them as the home owners to store the gun in their home. So i'd assume anyone with a gun should have no problem with their parents as they would have gotten their blessing in this form before hand.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

aaakev wrote: »
    Is the teenager licenced to have the gun? If so i dont see the problem, if they can be teustwd with it outside no reason why thwy cant at home imo. Plus what cass said, if a parent is not licenced on the gun they cant go near it or have access to it

True but some people find it "not right" and im like i dont see the problem maybe their parents would not allow so they would find it not right
    If my child had a gun/license and i did not then as long as they store it in the safe in their room i'd be fine.

If they just kept it in their room, no safe, then i'd be less happy.

Lastly to have a gun and safe in your parents house you need written consent from them as the home owners to store the gun in their home. So i'd assume anyone with a gun should have no problem with their parents as they would have gotten their blessing in this form before hand.

I got written consent to be able to apply for a firearm before hand.

1shot16 wrote: »
    True but some people find it "not right" .................
    M'eh.

Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Ask in After Hours:pac:

Jesus don't inflict that harm on the young lad. It'll turn into a thousand page monster so far removed from the original point that he won't recognise it. :D

Blay wrote: »
    Ask in After Hours:pac:

Id be getting a lot of stupid answers like why would a 16 year old have a gun and whats "a house" and that sorta carry on.. no everyone is mature you know :P
    Jesus don't inflict that harm on the young lad. It'll turn into a thousand page monster so far removed from the original point that he won't recognise it. :D

Yeah im only 16 like :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Im asking if you are or if you were a parent would you let your child store a gun in their room.I know but a one of my parent is a licensee so that doesnt apply to me.Its in a gun safe btw complying with the law

NO

NO

The polls up top ;)

Any reasons why?too young?not right?

The polls up top ;)

Any reasons why?too young?not right?

Not with the pressures on young people today, and the consequences of it

Ill agree there is pressure on young people today but that does not go away when they are outside with the gun or the gun is stored in another room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

teenagers are too impulsive. the child in question might be really mature and responsible but they might have friends round. Accidents can be avoided. Even as an adult, guns should be kept secure and separate from ammunition.

Ill agree there is pressure on young people today but that does not go away when they are outside with the gun or the gun is stored in another room?

True but god forbid anything should happen, you will have done everything within reason to lessen the outcome, without watching them 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

No way
    If he or she is licensed by law to use carry and possess then it should not matter where the using carrying and possession takes place as long as it is lawfully done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Why would anyone want to store a firearm in their bedroom? To be honest, I don't think some supers would be too impressed when the FO reports back to him.

I don't think the point has been raised yet but ill chime in with my experience. I've been involved in a lot of situations where things go bump in the night. People tend to grab what's at hand, grab their phone, give it three 9's and either barricade or go john Rambo on it and try clear the house with sticks, clubs, swords or whatever they have in their bedroom.

Forgetting the legal aspect of it, unless you are trained to do so, having a firearm in a high stress situation while groggy at 0 dark thirty hours with adrenalin surging and every part of your body pumping sweat is a bad idea.

While the legit firearm holder might be an absolutely upstanding young man or woman (or old for that matter) who normally wouldn't harm a fly, having a firearm close by when freeze, fight or flight kicks can be a receipe for disaster.

I'm not talking about castle doctrine or any crap like that, I'm talking about a basic human reaction to a potential unknown threat when caught completely off guard in your own home. People will react, not thinking off the consequences to what could be your langered brother making an arse of climbing in the window after losing his keys down the local.

So back to my original question, WHY would you keep a firearm in your bedroom?

bravestar wrote: »

So back to my original question, WHY would you keep a firearm in your bedroom?

Nowhere else to put it except a bedroom. Anywhere else would be visible to casual visitors and I don't want that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

Why would you keep a firearm full stop? Especially at age 16 :confused:

Why would you keep a firearm full stop?

Exactly...why would ya's lads? You're all a disgrace:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

When I was growing up we had more than 13 firearms in the house at one stage, Mum said they were to be stored in the garage and that's how they were stored.

It's their house it's their rules, you want your own rules buy your own house.

No way

Thats like going to the soccer forum and asking why wpuld anyone want to have a ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Er? not to many people have been killed by a football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭skinnylizzy

I would have to agree with The Aussie on this. It's their house, they make the rules and as long as the person in question is living under their roof, he/she should abide by their rules. If they were understanding enough and trusted their 16 year old enough to have a firearm in the first place, the least said 16 year old should do is respect their wishes on where the firearm is stored. The 16 year old can still take the firearm into their room to clean it and practise mounting it and such but maybe it's just for the parents 'peace of mind' that they know when the 16 year old has the firearm out of the safe and what he/she is doing with it.

No way
    Skatedude wrote: »

Er, this is the shooting forum so my point is correct....

No one is talking about killing anyone ether...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Padd2

if its stored in a safe wouldnt the garda not advise you on whaere to have the safe ?
    surely he called and inspected the location of the safe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Moocow100

if its in a gun safe then no problem .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Nowhere else to put it except a bedroom. Anywhere else would be visible to casual visitors and I don't want that.

That's just being lazy. I have gone to considerable lengths for mine to be concealed completely, at little cost but with a lot of elbow grease and thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

My parents weren't into shooting but I got my first rifle at 14. Used to keep it in my room. They asked for the magazine so that I wouldn't be able to use it without them being around. In fairness I never messed with it back then but I did go out on my own - single shot was grand.
    Just saying for the benifit of any non shooting person reading this - children can be devious. Leave them an intact gun for dry firing and it's so easy for them to keep a few rounds back the next time they go out.

My biggest worry would be parents away and friends over - that's a disaster waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

While the above is legally correct parents should think carefully about it before getting into that situation. To put yourself in a position where your child is the only one in your home allowed access to the firearm makes no sense.

I suppose everyone thinks their own little angels will do no wrong but remember what we used to get up to at that age! Way worse **** out there now even in the most rural backwater. You don't want them experimenting with some crap a night your away - and 'playing' with the gun. Just not worth the risk at all IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I would question the sanity of any parent that didn't keep the gun in their possession while it was not in use. Does the news not teach us enough about what happens when kids have guns.

That's just being lazy. I have gone to considerable lengths for mine to be concealed completely, at little cost but with a lot of elbow grease and thought.

Each to their own. You're not aware of the layout of my living space so please reserve judgement.

teenagers are too impulsive. the child in question might be really mature and responsible but they might have friends round. Accidents can be avoided. Even as an adult, guns should be kept secure and separate from ammunition.

True dat but i lock the safe and give in the keys when my friends are around. Perfectly legally as one of my parents is licensed on the gun.

I dont even know what to respond to this one lads...

thelurcher wrote: »
    My parents weren't into shooting but I got my first rifle at 14. Used to keep it in my room. They asked for the magazine so that I wouldn't be able to use it without them being around. In fairness I never messed with it back then but I did go out on my own - single shot was grand.
    Just saying for the benifit of any non shooting person reading this - children can be devious. Leave them an intact gun for dry firing and it's so easy for them to keep a few rounds back the next time they go out.

My biggest worry would be parents away and friends over - that's a disaster waiting to happen.

Yeah but as i said above safe locked keys given in.
    GarIT wrote: »
    I would question the sanity of any parent that didn't keep the gun in their possession while it was not in use. Does the news not teach us enough about what happens when kids have guns.

You dont heard about 16-18 year olds going on shooting sprees here do ya.
    Each to their own. You're not aware of the layout of my living space so please reserve judgement.

Yeah same in my household its the bedroom or the upstairs bathroom not where to put it really.

After much though i decided i should move the safe and gun out of my room,I just need to find a place to put it which will prove to be hard.I guess i didnt look at it through others perspectives such as parents and friends,If i was to go over to someones you would feel not right with a gun in their room especially at 16.I dont have a problem but others do.

I dont like the idea of it downstairs and theres no where upstairs other than my room.

A lot of No ways.

No way

If one of the parents is not licenced on the gun in question then they would be breaking the law in having posession of the gun while its not in use. You can legally own a gun here at 16.

I suppose the ideal situation would be a parent also gets licenced on the gun and takes responsability for its storage then

aaakev wrote: »
    If one of the parents is not licenced on the gun in question then they would be breaking the law in having posession of the gun while its not in use. You can legally own a gun here at 16.

I suppose the ideal situation would be a parent also gets licenced on the gun and takes responsability for its storage then

Maybe thats why the super wanted a parent to hold a licensce ... thats my mam btw :p :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭skinnylizzy

@ 1shot16: Do you mind if I ask, are we talking about you here? What is your current situation? As in, is the safe currently in a spare room and you want to move it to your room? Is the safe already in your room and your parents want you to move it? Are you just asking out of interest?

You have bare in mind that if the CPO came out and inspected the safe and where it's bolted to the wall, you might be in some kind of violation of the conditions of your license if you move the safe. The CPO might not have approved the safe if it were in the new location in the house from the start.

Sorry for all the questions, I just wanna get where you're coming from.

I plan to get my kids shooting as soon as they turn 14 and get them their own firearms at 16 but they will be stored where I can control the safe keys at all times e.i. they wont have their own safes in their rooms. As I'm already a firearms owner, I couldn't speak from a parent that has never owned a firearms point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I'm thinking about this.

But the ans don't really suit my way of thinking.

So I haven't voted yet and if I were to vote with the options it would be no way.

Yes but with conditions. Because every situation is different and every u18 had different maturity levels.

No way is very blunt or at least reads that way to me. If no way was the case then it wouldn't be in the house at all because permission wouldn't be given.

And your third option just doesn't cover it for me. It's fairly vague and to much room for argument.

My post prob doesn't really matter but I just can't vote.

@ 1shot16: Do you mind if I ask, are we talking about you here? What is your current situation? As in, is the safe currently in a spare room and you want to move it to your room? Is the safe already in your room and your parents want you to move it? Are you just asking out of interest?

You have bare in mind that if the CPO came out and inspected the safe and where it's bolted to the wall, you might be in some kind of violation of the conditions of your license if you move the safe. The CPO might not have approved the safe if it were in the new location in the house from the start.

Sorry for all the questions, I just wanna get where you're coming from.

I plan to get my kids shooting as soon as they turn 14 and get them their own firearms at 16 but they will be stored where I can control the safe keys at all times e.i. they wont have their own safes in their rooms. As I'm already a firearms owner, I couldn't speak from a parent that has never owned a firearms point of view.

Its in my room and i want to move it out.I might have to move it they dont hate it but would prefer if it was somewhere else!
    I'm thinking about this.

But the ans don't really suit my way of thinking.

So I haven't voted yet and if I were to vote with the options it would be no way.

Yes but with conditions. Because every situation is different and every u18 had different maturity levels.

No way is very blunt or at least reads that way to me. If no way was the case then it wouldn't be in the house at all because permission wouldn't be given.

And your third option just doesn't cover it for me. It's fairly vague and to much room for argument.

My post prob doesn't really matter but I just can't vote.

Ill agree with every child having different maturity levels!

Then it would be in the garage?No way just mean kinda very bad idea.The last thing youd want is ur child to have a gun in their room really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

I have to admit that I'm totally amazed that anybody should consider making their firearm available for non-licensed people - relatives or not - to fondle/play with/mess about with. Obviously, in Ireland you do things differently, as I'm often reminded, but surely the terms and conditions of firearms ownership state that only the registered licensee should have access to the firearm?

My gun safe keys are kept in a combination key box that is, itself, hidden where it is unlikely to be found without a very thorough search. The spare keys are lodged in a bank safe deposit box, in case they are needed if I'm not around, but nobody, not even my wife, will have access to them unless I'm dead, nor does she know the key-box number.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Interesting to find out how many of the majority....NO WAY.....had a gun licenced in their own name at 16.

Where did they keep it?......I know I had one at 16 and there was no requirement for safes at that time.....it had a trigger lock, as I had two younger brothers, and stored on the top shelf of the wardrobe in my bedroom.

I know times have changed but people and teenagers were also under pressure in the 70's, 80's & early 90's.

If the teenager has it licenced in their own name then they can have the gun in the field on their own. The Gardaí & parents who gave permission felt the person was mature enough to own one and go out on their own.

Only the parents will know best but sometimes we have to give teenagers and young adults more credit than they often get. The majority are very level-headed, bright individuals with plenty of cop-on.

People, read the forum charter. This is the shooting forum and as firearm ownership is 100% legal questioning the morality of owning firearms is not allowed.

On a personal note they are sporting firearm and not that sh*te you see on Love/Hate so take everything you've seen over the years on TV and forget it. None of it happens.
    Why would anyone want to store a firearm in their bedroom? ............................. So back to my original question, WHY would you keep a firearm in your bedroom?
    As was touched on the OP is licensed and possibly the main owner/licensee on the firearm. Also as was touched on if the CPO signed off then there is no issue.
    thelurcher wrote: »
    While the above is legally correct parents should think carefully about it before getting into that situation. To put yourself in a position where your child is the only one in your home allowed access to the firearm makes no sense..
    If he has been deemed of sufficiently competent mind and body to be licensed on the gun then why is there questioning about the location of the safe.

People have questioned the OP having access to the firearm in his room. What about when he is out and about with it? In the public domain? A little common sense here lads. He is legal, licensed, and competent so questioning the safety of him having access is moot, and from my point of view a little insulting. The implication that he should not have access to it while on his own in his room when he is licensed to own and carry it in public is laughable.
    The OP is licensed. Meaning he has passed a Garda background check, passed a competency course, and as such deemed safe to be in possession of a firearm.

Lastly to have a firearm in the house and not locked away when not in use is an offence. So for a parent to have the gun in their possession all the time would actually be an offence and in my eyes more dangerous than if it were locked away securely.
    tac foley wrote:
    Obviously, in Ireland you do things differently, as I'm often reminded,
    You might be reminded when there is a difference but in this case the law is the same as England. No one bar a licensed person can have access to or possess/use the firearm(s)
    J.R. wrote:
    Interesting to find out how many of the majority....NO WAY.....had a gun licenced in their own name at 16
    As is evident from the posts from non regulars, and based on their attitude about firearms in general that poll may not be representative of shooting regulars, but may be representative of the majority of the public with no firearm knowledge or experience. IOW the Father Ted appraoch (Down with this sort of thing). Based on what they have seen on TV they are simply anti gun.

This thread has turned very quickly into a questioning of the appropriateness of the OP to have in his possession HIS OWN FIREARM. Seriously. We have argued for years for children younger than 16 to be able to enter the world of sports shooting, and here everyone is arguing about the OP's (licensed) competency to have his own firearm in his possession/room.

It's a non argument as far as i'm concerned and as for the scaremongering about him being able to get to it. He can do that anytime he wants. Forget for the moment that his Father is also licensed, it's his gun and his responsibility to make sure it's secure. If that means the safe is in his room, and the keys kept away from parents, friends, etc then so be it. If the CPO has signed off then he is more than covered. Has anyone thought about the fact that perhaps the parents insisted on it. A friend of mine, younger than me, has a few firearms. Granted he is not a teen, but non of his family shoot or are interested in firearms. So they cannot have access to the safe, guns, etc. To imply that he should give them access due to his age is wrong, and illegal.

Anyway, partial rant over.

Gosh, I can't think of a single reason.

DSCF4778a.JPG

DSCF4503.JPG

DSCF4588.JPG

DSCF4530.JPG

I mean, lots of different reasons, yeah, sure, but just one? No, too difficult.

More people have died playing GAA football on the pitch over the last three years than have died in formal target shooting in Ireland since the earliest record we have of it (in 1840). And honestly, even if you avoid those cases, the injury rates from both GAA and soccer - be it inter-county level or kickabout 5-a-side level - look insanely high in comparison to target shooting.

And can the new posters joining us -- especially the ones who've never seen a gun outside of television or movies and who don't know what the firearms laws in Ireland are or what target shooting sports look like -- please reread the forum charter? This is the shooting forum; if you have a hankering to talk about how you think firearms are the root of all evil, please go somewhere else.

Gosh, I can't think of a single reason.

DSCF4778a.JPG

DSCF4503.JPG

DSCF4588.JPG

DSCF4530.JPG

I mean, lots of different reasons, yeah, sure, but just one? No, too difficult.

Apply cold water to burned area....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

Great set of pix, Sparks, and very appropriate. Meanwhile, not in Ireland, but....http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/shooting/24102032

and she's a world champion, too.

tac

Having a proper use for them doesn't satisfy everyone unfortunately, someone suggested on After Hours that clay pigeons with some sort of laser receiver could be designed and you shoot at them with a laser shotgun and the system tells you if you hit it or not.

I know you can do simulated clays by firing at a screen but this person meant actual clay pigeons with a built in receiver, thrown from a trap and you fire a laser at them:pac:

Having a proper use for them doesn't satisfy everyone unfortunately, someone suggested on After Hours that clay pigeons with some sort of laser receiver could be designed and you shoot at them with a laser shotgun and the system tells you if you hit it or not.

I know you can do simulated clays by firing at a screen but this person meant actual clay pigeons, thrown from a trap and you fire a laser at them:pac:

Here is another example of i dont even know.

Can everyone that dosent have some sort of knowledge about firearms or does not own one get off this thread your just embarrassing yourself please.