Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Occupied 6 counties"

• 23-10-2013 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Does it annoy anyone else when the North is referred to as such by armchair republican types? Was in a conversation with one the other day and he used the term repeatedly (and non-ironically). The funny thing is that this dude was only born in the late 80's (and so, I'd be surprised if he remembered anything about the troubles), came from the leafy suburbs of south Dublin and went to an expensive private school - just decided to take up "the cause" in the last few years.

The border is a fact, it will remain so until and unless the people of both jurisdictions decide to get rid of it - get over it and stop this childishness...

That and referring to this country as the "free state" - if we're going to talk about my country, at least have the bloody respect to call it by the name it actually has. I refuse to take anyone who does otherwise seriously in such discussions, if they are playing stupid games with even the name of the place then they are clearly clowns incapable of serious discussion.

What do ye reckon, is it acceptable in this day and age to refer to NI and here by terms such as "Occupied 6 Counties" or "Free State", or is it vaguely insulting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I find that people who use the term "occupied 6 counties" tend not, themselves, to be occupied with anything other than drinking cans, wearing celtic shirts and protesting the queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I like to leave these type be.

The more they make a fool of themselves, the less support they'll eventually have.

Political Darwinism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I use these terms, and others such as Londonderry for Doire Calgach, and Britian to describe Northern Ireland, all the time if I know if it will wind people up. People who get annoyed by these things are very sad individuals, in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I feel in a lot of cases it's used to wind up and annoy a lot of people whose opinion is strongly against a republican or nationalist viewpoint.

Suppose it's the same when some people describe the same six counties as ulster,knowing full well that there are nine counties in said ulster.

A lot of hot air to be honest :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I use these terms, and others such as Londonderry for Doire Calgach, and Britian to describe Northern Ireland, all the time if I know if it will wind people up, people who get annoyed by these things are very sad individuals, in my experience.

Whenever Northern Ireland comes up for discussion, I make a point of calling those who live there 'British'.

I really don't care whether they consider themselves British, Irish or whatever. But it winds the barstool generals up to no end! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

So??????!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

If referring to the north specifically I'd say the north or the six counties, if referring specifically to the south i'd say the south or the free state. If talking about Ireland as a whole I say Ireland. Frankly, neither jurisdiction on its own deserves my respect so I just call them as I see them.
    I dont about celtic, or soccer in fact. I care even less about where the queen goes and I'll take a nice poured pint over a can any day.

As for Foxhound's story. I dont get why when he was born or where he is from bars him from having an opinion on the future of his country.

Also, the irony here is hilarious.Giving out about "stupid games" but anyone who doesnt agree with him is a "clown."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Really don't see the problem here ~ irrespective whether or not the individuals who say those terms drink from cans and wear Celtic shirts, that doesn't make the term a false one.

If we referred to the north as the '6 Counties', would that bother you? I would guess not. In the past, these very same counties were indeed occupied so while it may be annoying to hear, or the individuals who say it might be annoying, it's still true.

Dean0088 wrote: »

Whenever Northern Ireland comes up for discussion, I make a point of calling those who live there 'British'.

I really don't care whether they consider themselves British, Irish or whatever. But it winds the barstool generals up to no end! :P
    Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Does it annoy anyone else when the North is referred to as such by armchair republican types?

Further irony. Give out about names other people use but then anyone who disagrees with you is a "barstool" or "armchair" republican. Time for a bit of cop on lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

The 6 counties are definitely occupied, I've seen pictures of people living there, I've heard stories as well :)

That's the only definition of "occupied" I would use in relation to NI...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Another day another bit of faux outrage from Foxhound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Ulster says no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I use these terms, and others such as Londonderry for Doire Calgach, and Britian to describe Northern Ireland, all the time if I know if it will wind people up. People who get annoyed by these things are very sad individuals, in my experience.

Why don't you refer to it as Derry/Londonderry to wind up unionists, even though hardly anyone calls it Londonderry.

Ulster says no
    Would that be the six county 'occupied' Ulster, the three county 'free state' Ulster, the nine county provincial Ulster, or the non geographical Unionist Ulster?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I find that people who use the term "occupied 6 counties" tend not, themselves, to be occupied with anything other than drinking cans, wearing celtic shirts and protesting the queen.

Hey, I drink cans and wear a Celtic jersey sometimes, I also dislike the queen of England yet have never referred to the north as the "occupied 6 counties".

Have I melted your head?

darragh16 wrote: »
    Why don't you refer to it as Derry/Londonderry to wind up unionists, even though hardly anyone calls it Londonderry.
    I do. Londonderry to wind up the RA heads, Doire Calgach to wind up the Billy boys.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Hey, I drink cans and wear a Celtic jersey sometimes, I also dislike the queen of England yet have never referred to the north as the "occupied 6 counties".

Have I melted your head?

MIND

BLOWN

Ulster says no

But its eyes say yes.

Would that be the six county 'occupied' Ulster, the three county 'free state' Ulster, the nine county provincial Ulster, or the non geographical Unionist Ulster?:pac:

The ancient Ulster that took in parts of the Oriel area like north Louth. North Louth is very ulster, doesnt have a Leinster vibe at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Does it annoy anyone else when the North is referred to as such by armchair republican types? Was in a conversation with one the other day and he used the term repeatedly (and non-ironically). The funny thing is that this dude was only born in the late 80's (and so, I'd be surprised if he remembered anything about the troubles), came from the leafy suburbs of south Dublin and went to an expensive private school - just decided to take up "the cause" in the last few years
    Sounds like a male version of Mary Lou...

padd b1975 wrote: »

Still waiting to hear why being from Dublin, being well off or being born in the 80s bars you from having an opinion on the future of your country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Is it not a reflection upon yourself that you have nothing better to do than wind up these 'very sad individuals'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I don't believe your story. You don't talk to real people at all do you? In fact, I'd say you created this little tale so cyber-people would engage you in discussion and you'd feel less alone.

Here's how I see Ireland.

Yes, I'm on the International Space Station.

AngeGal wrote: »
    Is it not a reflection upon yourself that you have nothing better to do than wind up these 'very sad individuals'?
    Na. It only takes me a second or two to wind somebody up, takes them a lifetime to get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Still waiting to hear why being from Dublin, being well off or being born in the 80s bars you from having an opinion on the future of your country.
    As far as I'm concerned, it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Meh,

I call Northern Ireland... Northern Ireland.. or sometimes... Norn Iron... or even sometimes... nee ner ny ner land.

I dislike Ireland being called 'the south" simply because its wrong. Even geographically its wrong. We're not like Korea with a line right through the middle...

Ireland is Ireland.

Northern Ireland is Northern Ireland.

I don't believe your story. You don't talk to real people at all do you? In fact, I'd say you created this little tale so cyber-people would engage you in discussion and you'd feel less alone.

Here's how I see Ireland.

Yes, I'm on the International Space Station.

The International LONDONspace station, thank you very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

In an unrelated matter... check out this class pic of Ireland I found!

http://i.imgur.com/dslG7wD.jpg

Sisko wrote: »
    Meh,

I call Northern Ireland... Northern Ireland.. or sometimes... Norn Iron... or even sometimes... nee ner ny ner land.

I dislike Ireland being called 'the south" simply because its wrong. Even geographically its wrong. We're not like Korea with a line right through the middle...

Ireland is Ireland.

Northern Ireland is Northern Ireland.

I live in south Armagh and therefor geographically further south than people in parts of Monaghan, Cavan, Lietrim, Sligo and all of Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Sisko wrote: »

I do find it strange when anti partitionist types call people from Dublin southerners. Shouldn't they be easterners?

In an unrelated matter... check out this class pic of Ireland I found!

http://i.imgur.com/dslG7wD.jpg
    That is class. Kerry is missing.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm not a fan of armchair nationalists or SF but even though the term Occupied Counties is a little bit loaded, it's essentially true.

It's more a certain subset of people that use the term that annoy me as opposed to the veracity of the term itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭Rubeter

What do ye reckon, is it acceptable in this day and age to refer to NI and here by terms such as "Occupied 6 Counties" or "Free State", or is it vaguely insulting?
    What's wrong with calling The Republic of Ireland the Free State or referring to Ulster as The Occupied 6 Counties, it often gets a laugh when I'm visiting Londonderry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I was born in the early 70s, I grew up beside the border, I have been in and out to the north most weeks since I was no age.. when I was a student I lived for a year in Derry.. I teach once a week in county Tyrone for the last 5 years. I have many friends from the north, from both sides..

And never until this day did I ever hear the North referred to as the 'Occupied six counties'... at least Ive never heard it used in conversation.

The 'Free State' I have heard a few times, and it is a term used by the northern nationalist community rather than the Unionists, who tend to refer to southern Ireland as 'down South'.

In fact, down South is broadly used by everyone in the North when referring to the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

same way as we say up north...pretty much anything else is expressing political ideologies...not my cup of tea..

I was born in the early 70s, I grew up beside the border, I have been in and out to the north most weeks since I was no age.. when I was a student I lived for a year in Derry.. I teach once a week in county Tyrone for the last 5 years. I have many friends from the north, from both sides..

And never until this day did I ever hear the North referred to as the 'Occupied six counties'... at least Ive never heard it used in conversation.

The 'Free State' I have heard a few times, and it is a term used by the northern nationalist community rather than the Unionists, who tend to refer to southern Ireland as 'down South'.

In fact, down South is broadly used by everyone in the North when referring to the Republic.

"Occupied" would generally only be used if you were making a specific political point, generally people would just say six counties or the north/ north-east

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cant we all just occupy the british isles in peace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

padd b1975 wrote: »

you mean Mary Lou is still female ???

I demand proof !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Why are people who have a certain opinion on Northern Ireland's political status called "bar stoolers"?
    Are any unionists, or advocates of an independent Ulster, called bar-stoolers?

Whereas people who hold views on anything else, (political reform in 26 counties, the environment, tax rates, immigration, the EU, the bank crisis, transport, the price of cabbage etc. etc.) aren't usually called bar-stoolers.

Some people are called "liberal pinkos", however this again is only used on certain topics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

I regard the 6 counties to the North as part of the the true free state.
    Whereas I live in the South in a temporarily secessionist 26 counties of that same free state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭Rubeter

Why are people who have a certain opinion on Northern Ireland's political status called "bar stoolers"?

Whereas people who hold views on anything else, (political reform in 26 counties, the environment, tax rates, immigration, the EU, the bank crisis, transport, the price of cabbage etc. etc.) aren't usually called bar-stoolers.

Some people are called "liberal pinkos", however this again is only used on certain topics.
    My favorite is Armchair Republican, I wonder how many people who use the term would prefer they got off their armchairs and started "doing things".
    Idiotic term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I do. Londonderry to wind up the RA heads, Doire Calgach to wind up the Billy boys.:)

I certainly don't consider myself a "RA head" however I do find the use of Londonderry somewhat frustrating,

Mainly because that isn't it's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

sure most of the Unionists have stopped using the expression Londonderry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Ulster says no

But the man from Del Monte says YES!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

MugMugs wrote: »
    I certainly don't consider myself a "RA head" however I do find the use of Londonderry somewhat frustrating,

Mainly because that isn't it's name.

Well I'm not mad about it either but It is the official name from a legal standpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ulster says no

Ulster says FLEG

No is so 90s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Whereas people who hold views on anything else, (political reform in 26 counties, the environment, tax rates, immigration, the EU, the bank crisis, transport, the price of cabbage etc. etc.) aren't usually called bar-stoolers..

It possibly to do with the fact that most of the above don't involve near-metaphysical, bean-counting hot air about the validity of taking of human life when the closest they've got to doing same is Medal Of Honor.

anncoates wrote: »
    It possibly to do with the fact that most of the above don't involve near-metaphysical, bean-counting hot air about the validity of taking of human life when the closest they've got to doing same is Medal Of Honor.

So your only allowed an opinion on war once you've killed someone yourself. How many notches have you got on your gun belt?

Bambi wrote: »
    Ulster says FLEG

No is so 90s

Respect are kulshur is the new "never, never, never"