The General Chat Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Animord wrote: »
    I am so glad I am not the only mad old bat that goes round supermarkets giving out and muttering like a mad yoke about people wasting food and generally behaving badly. I shut fridge doors that are left open and put stuff back in its rightful place. I am sure people must think I am crazy!

Me too!

(I have also been known to straighten items of shelves if they've been left all messy and pushed back out of sight.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Jezek wrote: »
    I made Ouzo and Cucumber Jelly last night. Had a bit now, turns out it's quite strong!

I jusst cooked up some lemonade and Connemaragh whisky jelly. Maybe it will set by tonight ( probably not).

Anyone any good jelly shot recipes?
    How about mojito jelly shots? (I have a rake of fresh mint and I've been thinking about ways to use it! :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Jezek

How about mojito jelly shots? (I have a rake of fresh mint and I've been thinking about ways to use it! :) )

That's next on the agenda I think . I 'll have to buy rum though ( and I 'd sub in spearmint, real mint is very hard to find here.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

I close freezer & fridge doors in supermarkets too. Often with a passive aggressive tut and with more force than necessary. Such a waste of energy and pure destruction of other people's property leaving doors ajar or wide open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I close freezer & fridge doors in supermarkets too. Often with a passive aggressive tut and with more force than necessary. Such a waste of energy and pure destruction of other people's property leaving doors ajar or wide open
    It's just so lazy and inconsiderate. I also tut loudly and close the doors.

My brother worked in *Cheap clothes chain store* years ago, people are so ignorant and would not use the calories to put stuff they looked at back on the shelves, preferring to drop them on the floor. There was a worker on Saturdays who would just spend their day picking up after people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Animord

It's just so lazy and inconsiderate. I also tut loudly and close the doors.

My brother worked in *Cheap clothes chain store* years ago, people are so ignorant and would not use the calories to put stuff they looked at back on the shelves, preferring to drop them on the floor. There was a worker on Saturdays who would just spend their day picking up after people!

People are bizarre aren't they? You'd wonder how these people were dragged up.

So pleased I am not alone in passive aggressive supermarketing. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Must be the best sound in the world....2 children slurping down their pasta :)

Chicken tagliatelle with lemon & creme fraiche and they're well pleased.

Just on the supermarket thing....what bugs me:

People who squeeze every loaf and taken one from the back anyway
    People who pull all the newspapers apart to have a nose and then buy one from the bottom
    People who when looking for something on a shelf and something falls on the ground won't reach down and pick it up
    People parking in wheelchair spots
    People not putting the handles down on the basket they've used at the checkout
    People not putting the handles down on the basket that someone used before them and adding to the mess
    People who when the cashier at Aldi/Lidl ring the bell for the next aisle to be open rush to it like getting on a lifeboat
    People who will not spend 22c (or whatever it is) on a bag but insist on carrying 35 items in their arms

Maybe online shopping is for me !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Jezek wrote: »
    I made Ouzo and Cucumber Jelly last night. Had a bit now, turns out it's quite strong!

I jusst cooked up some lemonade and Connemara whiskey jelly. Maybe it will set by tonight ( probably not).

Anyone any good jelly shot recipes?
    Fill a bowl with gummy bears & then cover them in vodka or tequila (apparently flavoured vodka is quite good). Cover with cling film & leave in the fridge for 2 (preferably 3) days. They should absorb all of the alcohol.

Don't let the kids near them!

Loire wrote: »
    People who when the cashier at Aldi/Lidl ring the bell for the next aisle to be open rush to it like getting on a lifeboat!

Ha! I do this.... but I am like super-ninja-chick and I hang round all nonchalantly pretending to be fascinated by batteries whilst covertly watching the checkout assistant. If you time it right you can get in at the top of the new line BEFORE THE BELL HAS EVEN BEEN RUNG...

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Animord wrote: »
    Ha! I do this.... but I am like super-ninja-chick and I hang round all nonchalantly pretending to be fascinated by batteries whilst covertly watching the checkout assistant. If you time it right you can get in at the top of the new line BEFORE THE BELL HAS EVEN BEEN RUNG...

:cool:

Question: Do you do subtle but seriously guilt-inducing sad puppy-eyes at people with big trolley-loads when you've only a few things in a basket so that they will let you in front of them?

I do this all the time. It is awesome.

B0jangles wrote: »
    Question: Do you do subtle but seriously guilt-inducing sad puppy-eyes at people with big trolley-loads when you've only a few things in a basket so that they will let you in front of them?

I do this all the time. It is awesome.

:eek: No I don't!

But I do fall for the sad puppy dog eyes routine and let others in. Which, now that I think of it, kind of makes an eejit of me for going to all the trouble of getting to the top of the queue in the first place.

Actually a funny thing happened to me in Lidl this week...as I was approaching a checkout a couple barged in front on me. Didn't even acknowledge me but they knew well what they were doing. Not saying that they were or anything, but they looked pretty rough. I didn't say or do anything, just minded my own business. The next thing the cashier rings the bell and the two of them made a run for the "new" check-out, again oblivious to everyone else. They got to the top of the queue and winked at each other....but nobody came!! I stayed where I was and after I had paid the man comes over to my cashier giving out stick. They left their stuff at the checkout and walked out. Delighted I was!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The next thing the cashier rings the bell and the two of them made a run for the "new" check-out
    Its mental sometimes. A bell went the other week in my lidl and an employee went up to a checkout, loads bailed out of their queues but she was only checking something at the till, another till was opening nearby.

I wish they could arrange it a bit better. When queues are long I now see people not bothering to join any and just waiting for the bell. They could at least put a light up to show which is going to open next, if any.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

They've done that in my Aldi. They have a new fancy system with lighted numbers above each till, green if it's open and red if it's closed. A tannoy announces when a new till is opening a minute or two before it actually gets manned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

I have a couple of nice fillet steaks in the fridge, around 8oz's at a guess. I usually just cook them in a pan but I have a vague recollection of seeing people on cooking shows sealing them in a pan and firing them into the oven. Anyone use this method, if so what temperature and for how long should I stick them in the oven for? Looking for medium rare/medium, or would I just be better off sticking with my pan?

Also, talk me out of buying a kitchenaid! Just finished unpaid parental leave and I'm trying to convince myself I need a present now that I have an income again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

mymexicanshop.ie does, although they're a little more expensive there than they might be if you found them in a shop. Alternatively a lot of the butchers around me are selling big squeezy bottles of chipotle mayo at the moment, in with the garlic mayo & taco sauce, might be worth a look!

Jalapenos are sliced chilis, with the seeds still in. So they're pretty hot, depending on your tolerance for chili heat
    I think Stripedboxers is talking about jars of pickled jalapenos, so closest I can describe them is slice chilis, seeds still in, in terms of giving an idea of the heat. I don't find them that hot but my non heat liking buddies find they burn the mouth off them

Thanks so much, and yup I was talking about the jars of jalapenos, I actually picked up two jars yesterday (90c each in Dunnes) and there's little to no heat to them. I thought they would have been hotter but maybe its just the ones I got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,038 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Thanks so much, and yup I was talking about the jars of jalapenos, I actually picked up two jars yesterday (90c each in Dunnes) and there's little to no heat to them. I thought they would have been hotter but maybe its just the ones I got.

Some are much hotter than others.
    Old El Paso, for example have no heat all.
    Asian shops usually sell pretty good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Some are much hotter than others.
    Old El Paso, for example have no heat all.
    Asian shops usually sell pretty good ones.
    Thanks for that, its probably the brand I got. I got the Santa Maria brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Finally went to San Lorenzos yesterday for brunch. Really good. Massive portions for very very reasonable prices and it's seriously tasty. I had ham hock potato cakes with home fries. Carbelicious. And then because we were close by we went to Cocoa Atelier for chocolate eclairs (nom) and ridiculously overpriced macarons. They were good though, very good. Still don't think they're worth the effort of making your own though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Finally went to San Lorenzos yesterday for brunch. Really good. Massive portions for very very reasonable prices and it's seriously tasty. I had ham hock potato cakes with home fries. Carbelicious. And then because we were close by we went to Cocoa Atelier for chocolate eclairs (nom) and ridiculously overpriced macarons. They were good though, very good. Still don't think they're worth the effort of making your own though.

Glad to hear San Lorenzos was good :-) was planning to go there when I went up for Garth Brooks concert in a few weeks but that's now looking increasingly unlikely :-P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

My mother is the worst cook in the world. It's come to a point where I dread the thought of eating a meal that she has prepared. She has no concept of flavours, textures or when to leave well enough alone. Nor can she remember that she's the only person in our family who likes extremely sharp, sour food and so every summer, there's weeks of a struggle where she tries to force us to eat gooseberries, and then gets upset when no one will eat them and she claims we never told her that we don't like them.

What do you do in situations like that? I try and take control of meals as much as possible when we're with my parents, but it's not always possible. And it's worse she's getting too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Faith wrote: »
    My mother is the worst cook in the world. It's come to a point where I dread the thought of eating a meal that she has prepared. She has no concept of flavours, textures or when to leave well enough alone. Nor can she remember that she's the only person in our family who likes extremely sharp, sour food and so every summer, there's weeks of a struggle where she tries to force us to eat gooseberries, and then gets upset when no one will eat them and she claims we never told her that we don't like them.

What do you do in situations like that? I try and take control of meals as much as possible when we're with my parents, but it's not always possible. And it's worse she's getting too!

My MIL always worries that flavour will have too many calories so bland, tasteless food is her forte. Living in a different country helps avoiding her cooking! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Disaster batch of macrons today. Back to the drawing board....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

sillymoo wrote: »
    Disaster batch of macrons today. Back to the drawing board....

What was wrong with them they are very easy to troubleshoot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

My MIL always worries that flavour will have too many calories so bland, tasteless food is her forte. Living in a different country helps avoiding her cooking! ;)

My OH thinks there's calories and "Bad for you" in flavour, I don't understand where this notion comes from.

Could just be a trick to get me to do all the cooking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Been working nights the last couple of weeks so all my dinners either have to be cold or microwavable hard to come up with new dishes all the time that are suitable :(

But did make a nice purchase during the week and made the best steak ever on it next up beer can chicken if anyone has any ideas or recipes I'd be much obliged if you would post them up :)

The new purchase :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Marty - Best of luck with your new grill. However, if you want BBQ recipes please use the forum search function or check out this thread...
    http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055542022

tHB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

People parking in wheelchair spots

People parking in the parent & child spots with no kids.

And worse, people parking right up against cars which obviously will have kids travelling in them when the occupants get back.

Hadn't been to the butchers in weeks as had different people staying with us. Went in on Sat and spent a fortune! Spent the whole afternoon in the kitchen. Made about 60 chicken nuggets and 40 lamb burgers for the kids. Made 12 portions of pasta sauce. Made 2kg of lamb tagine and made a bucket load of meat balls. Absolutely wrecked after it but it was fantastic - left alone in the kitchen with Spotify :)