Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Fianna Fáil voter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,666 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

mfceiling wrote: »
    I voted no because I trust david norris and fergal quinn more so than any FF, FG or Labour dopes...

2 very impartial observers indeed, well worth taking direction from in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Speaking as one of the exiled I was shocked at the victory handed to the Fianna Fáil party at the weekend.

They must have big latent support out there, especially in boggier areas (but even in Dublin people supported Fianna Fáil by proxy!), despite destroying the country.

What is wrong with these people? What does Fianna Fáil have to do so they will reconsider giving them support?:confused:

And apparently the polling companies are saying some of these supporters lie about supporting Fianna Fáil and then vote for them:confused:

It's like a cult. A scary cult. Is Micheál Martin the leader of a cult?

I wonder would the OP care to explain exactly what he meant by the part in bold? He seems to think the No vote went through mainly because the "boggers" voted Fianna Fail. Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't the most support for the No vote in the urban regions? Didnt all of the Dublin constituencies vote No? Where's down the country there seemed to be more support for Yes.

I voted No. It had nothing to do with Fianna Fail vs. Fine Geal. But it seems far to offer on here I notice if a vote doesnt go the way someone wants, if the census is showing we have over 80% Catholics, or if something like Mrs Brown's Boys is getting a million viewers a week, certain people will be straight in here blaming the "boggers" down the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

How anyone could every vote Fianna Fail ever again is beyond me... I would spoil my vote rather then vote for them. Bunch of cowboys the whole lot of them, listening to Martin is sickening after what he and his crew did to this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

kneemos wrote: »
    I don't think you're giving FG enough credit.They're equally capable of funking things up.

I'm not so sure, FF have done it quite spectacularly!

Remember Bertie told people to go kill themselves, that was gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Why don't we all vote Labour? Since they are the party of the workers.
    You mean the lads who presided over and are delighted with the progress of jobbridge? Labour, making sure that shelf stackers don't get paid and skilled workers are let go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Speaking as one of the exiled I was shocked at the victory handed to the Fianna Fáil party at the weekend.

They must have big latent support out there, especially in boggier areas (but even in Dublin people supported Fianna Fáil by proxy!), despite destroying the country.

What is wrong with these people? What does Fianna Fáil have to do so they will reconsider giving them support?:confused:

And apparently the polling companies are saying some of these supporters lie about supporting Fianna Fáil and then vote for them:confused:

bogs every way you turn up here, yet Donegal has 1 FF politician in the Dail.

If you don't mind me saying, your statement is remarkably stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I'm a paid-up member of Fine-Gael but i voted against the proposal.

WHAT NOW OP!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,253 ✭✭✭✭Penn

A stopped clock that led the country to ruin is still right twice a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

OP must be delighted there are no bogs in UAE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

kneemos wrote: »
    I don't think you're giving FG enough credit.They're equally capable of funking things up.

It wasn't a FF vote. Sinn Fein jumped on the wrong bus thinking that the people would vote for abolition and people saw through their cynicism. The people respect men like Fergal Quinn, John Crown and Michael McDowell and recognise them for the genuine patriots they are. Enda Kenny was trying too hard to play a FF type cuteness. After 40 years in the Dail with nothing to show for it he thought he would be the great reformer but he chickened out from any debate. If he was true in his beliefs he would have being out their fighting the cause

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I'm a paid-up member of Fine-Gael but i voted against the proposal.

WHAT NOW OP!?!?
    Jaysus your a braver man then me giving them money... ;) how do you think your party is getting on in government? (honestly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

irishfeen wrote: »
    Jaysus your a braver man then me giving them money... ;) how do you think your party is getting on in government? (honestly)

I only paid for membership on the basis that they're in power and they hold very similar policies to fianna fail who i actually support. Were the PD's to make a reappearance i'd be supporting them.

I think fine gael are doing ok. No better or worse than can be expected for centre-rights shackled to centre-lefts (labour). That's always going be be a bit of a drag.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I only paid for membership on the basis that they're in power and they hold very similar policies to fianna fail who i actually support. Were the PD's to make a reappearance i'd be supporting them.

I think fine gael are doing ok. No better or worse than can be expected for centre-rights shackled to centre-lefts (labour). That's always going be be a bit of a drag.
    Do you still support Fianna Fail? ... I would be somewhat the same as yourself - in supporting similar policies but Fianna Fail is a no no, I will never ever vote for them again. I would vote SF before them.

I think we can agree on Labour being Jr coalition party and the problems associated with that... what the country really needed was a FG majority to take the very hard decisions fast (such as front loading budget adjustments) instead of prolonging it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Perhaps for once, FF were on the right side of the debate, which coincidentally happened to be the opposing side to their rivals, FG. Political happenstance.

'Even a stopped clock, tells the right time twice a day'.

Micky Martin's face reminds me of the birth of the recession and the rest of his party who were in power at the time. It's embarrassing to see their popularity rise in the polls.

Why don't we all vote Labour? Since they are the party of the workers. This might be worthy of it's own thread. So if someone could enlighten me as to why the workers here regularly vote for the right-wing parties of employers? (FF/ FG)QUOTE]

Firstly Labour is not the party of the workers. Their support has traditionally been highest in Middle class areas. Their socially liberal outlook differed to the 2 main parties greatly until the social reform initiatives of the Garret FitzGerald Fine Gael government.

Fianna Fail has traditionally been seen as the Irish Labour party. The catch all party of small farmers, workers etc.

Fine Gael would have been seen as the traditional right wing party in Irish politics, just look at the factions they emerged from. Their support in the past has mainly been from wealthier farmers, professionals etc.

Of course the legacy of civil war politics complicates any neat delineation of Irish politics along purely class lines and it must be noted that traditional support bases are shifting for all parties.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ThePieintheSky

I changed "boggier" to "sophisticated".

How is that?

Doesn't stand up to much scrutiny though when one thinks of the likes of Lowry and the Healy Reas and the rest of them.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

How is that?

Doesn't stand up to much scrutiny though when one thinks of the likes of Lowry and the Healy Reas and the rest of them.:rolleyes:

You mean unlike the Dublin urban area that elected haughey, ahern, lawlor, burke, callely ?

I hate this bullsh** where someone from the likes of the greater Dublin metropolis thumbs their nose up claiming the country bumpkins elects the likes of the healy raes and lowrys, when they actually come from an area that elected the biggest crooks this country has ever seen elected.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

How is that?

Or how about you actually explain your original statement like I and others here have asked you to do. How very Fianna Fail of you to just try and "sweep it under the carpet" and hope we'd accept that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Educate your children and their friends about what FF did to our country. Lets make sure they never get back into power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

FG are in purely because there was no alternative at election time. As the voters needed to vent the only ones to vote in were Kenny and his cohort of frustrated yes men. FF are the tried and trusted keepers of the castle. The worldwide tanking of the economies caused a political shift in most countries. But because of excessive navel gazing, the majority of the Irish voters (then) put in this lot.
    St Patrick would turn in his grave!

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Educate your children and their friends about what FF did to our country. Lets make sure they never get back into power.
    Here here... it is now up to our generation to put a stop to cute hoor parish politics and make sure government governs for the good of the country ... be that with easy or unpopular decisions.

Fianna Fail should never ever be left back into power, they symbolise everything that is wrong with Ireland and Irish politics. If we do not stand up and keep them out of power it will just keep happening over and over again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Thats basically a list of stuff you don't like.

And a list of stuff that stupid people do.

jmayo wrote: »
    that elected the biggest crooks this country has ever seen elected.

One so and so is STILL being elected EVERY election - not in Dublin. I remember on the Late Late show a few years back these voters within the Golden Vale were tagged as "rednecks" - and there was letters and everything in to national papers taking offence. What do these people expect? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

How is that?

As distinct from sophisticated Dublin TDs like O Snodaigh, Ellis, Broughan, Joan Collins who can hardly put a sentence together without adding, "know what I mean, ya know"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

And a list of stuff that stupid people do.

No. Although I do only one of those things on the list. What stupid people do is worry about lists like that. I doubt Stephen Hawkings has that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Wendolene

Skid X wrote: »
    That post is exactly why we should be very slow to extend voting rights to emigrants.

Skid, the OP's post is exactly why universal suffrage should not be automatically extended to people without requiring them to pass some sort of eligibility test first. It shouldn't be harder to get a driving licence than a vote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

No. Although I do only one of those things on the list. What stupid people do is worry about lists like that. I doubt Stephen Hawkings has that list.

I don't have a list like that. I just typed it as came into my head. So what's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Wendolene

They must have big latent support out there, especially in sophisticated areas (but even in Dublin people supported Fianna Fáil by proxy!), despite destroying the country.

What is wrong with these people? What does Fianna Fáil have to do so they will reconsider giving them support?confused.png

And apparently the polling companies are saying some of these supporters lie about supporting Fianna Fáil and then vote for themconfused.png

There was a picture on a local news website of a positively beaming Micheál Martin. My jaw nearly hit the floor. I thought something terrible had happenedeek.pngLike they got back in or something.

OP, do you understand the difference between a referendum and an election ?

Wendolene wrote: »
    Skid, the OP's post is exactly why universal suffrage should not be automatically extended to people without requiring them to pass some sort of eligibility test first.

Eligibility test? Really? If you said that in front of me i'd punch you in the jaw. I have voted in every election I have been entitled to vote in in Ireland since I was 18. I have paid my taxes, been law abiding and never asked for ONE cent off the state.

Then the bastards went and wrecked the place and now i'm abroad like so many others forced out because we can't stand living a life on the dole with no work, no hope, no future.

And I am a full Irish citizen and you are telling me I should take a "test"?

I'm not the one that needs the test since there are some on here that can't see the connection between the way they voted yesterday and the credibility handed to the Fianna Fáil party. They don't see it because they don't understand politics.

Yesterday the wreckers of our country got a big boost curtesy of the electorate. Or on Friday rather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,916 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I voted but staying at home is a perfectly valid option. It's a "don't know", which should be part of the political process.

This is not a student union election. There in no RON option. You educate yourself on the issue and form an opinion. And vote accordingly.

Theoretically.

As the voter turnout and online whinging this week has shown, a lot of people expect to be f*cking spoonfed everything.

Would anyone else be in favour of compulsory voting? (as in have to turn up on the day to the polling station but with an option on ballet paper to basically spoil their vote with some box like "none" if someone wanted)