Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doctors going on strike hurting patients?

• 04-10-2013 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

I was listening to the radio this morning and Minister O Reilly was saying that the doctors going on strike next Tuesday would leave many patients in pain or even worse in some cases. Surely this has to be stopped? who will be there if the doctors walk out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

stumfit wrote: »
    who will be there if the doctors walk out?

The patients will?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Junior doctors can be expected to work 35 hours on the trot, with the odd short break for a power-nap. That is utter insanity, and dangerous to patients as well as doctors.
    Blame whoever or whatever permits this craziness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

I was listening to the radio this morning and Minister O Reilly was saying that the doctors going on strike next Tuesday would leave many patients in pain or even worse in some cases. Surely this has to be stopped? who will be there if the doctors walk out?

An unfortunate side-effect of the media witchunt of the public service.

Cut pay,increase workload and something has to give...Doctors are humans with bills and lives too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

And making junior doctors work inhumanly long shift doesn't endanger patients, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

And the Minister thinks doctors working 24 hours straight is just fine for patients. It seems becoming a minister wiped the early part of his career from his memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Their working hours are too long, dangerously long. When doctors are saying that they're a danger to patients as a result of the hours that they work they need to be taken seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Junior doctors can be expected to work 35 hours on the trot

****ing nuts. I support them 100% and I'm far from a sycophant for protected species professionals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Junior doctors can be expected to work 35 hours on the trot, with the odd short break for a power-nap. That is utter insanity, and dangerous to patients as well as doctors.
    If it was any other industry it wouldn't be allowed. Bus drivers driving for 35 hours? Not a chance.
    But because doctors "have always done it" then they have to keep doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Isn't it just the junior doctors that are striking and O'Reilly would say that wouldn't he !! He's hardly going to say " fair play guys , " sure in a former life didn't he negotiate a good deal for himself and his peers. Doesn't suit him to that nowadays though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

The already overworked and underpaid nurses of course.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

anncoates wrote: »
    And making junior doctors work inhumanly long shift doesn't endanger patients, of course.
    ****ing nuts. I support them 100% and I'm far from a sycophant for protected species professionals.

Agree with all of the above.

One of the most depressing threads I ever read was over in Health Sciences where an Irish doctor returned from working abroad and documented his time working here over a couple of years.

It just sounded horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

And the Minister thinks doctors working 24 hours straight is just fine for patients. It seems becoming a minister wiped the early part of his career from his memory.
    In the interests of balance, I think it's only fair to remark that the (ridiculously) long shift work for junior doctors incorporates an on-call period, where the doctor gets to sleep periodically.

Obviously there are busier times, and yes, people have difficulty going back to sleep after a stressful event arises. Nevertheless, there can be a perception that doctors are literally working straight through these long shifts, without sleeping.

As bad as the situation must be for these guys, and I wouldn't dream of defending it, sometimes the hype runs away with us.

In the interests of balance, I think it's only fair to remark that the (ridiculously) long shift work for junior doctors incorporates an on-call period, where the doctor gets to sleep periodically.

Obviously there are busier times, and yes, people have difficulty going back to sleep after a stressful event arises. Nevertheless, there can be a perception that doctors are literally working straight through these long shifts, without sleeping.

As bad as the situation must be for these guys, and I wouldn't dream of defending it, sometimes the hype runs away with us.
    It's not hype. I'm not one for hyperbole, believe me. We're talking 15 minutes, 30 minutes, an hour here and there - it's nowhere near good enough. It's probably just about enough to stop them from keeling over, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Obviously there are busier times, .

In a shambles of a health system, yes I'd say there is.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

This is the thread I was talking about

The poster talks about how endemic is the expectation that 84 hour shifts are the norm and not getting any sleep on a 72 hour shift, and raising concerns being told to suck it up essentially.

Stheno wrote: »
    This is the thread I was talking about

The poster talks about how endemic is the expectation that 84 hour shifts are the norm and not getting any sleep on a 72 hour shift, and raising concerns being told to suck it up essentially.
    Surely that would cause some people to, after a while, literally go mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'd second this. I've a friend who's recently qualified and been through it. It really wasn't bad. Busy lifestyle but overall grand.

That said it's a completely daft system that needs to be changed.

Surely that would cause some people to, after a while, literally go mad.

It's a seriously depressing read from the start where the poster is hopeful, through to the end where they are then considering emigrating to escape the system here.

I'd a temporary role a while back where I worked an average of 14-16 hours a day, and at one point had one day off in 17, and after about two months of it I literally collapsed from the stress.

I cannot imagine the horror of working the sort of hours junior doctors do, with the responsibilities they have.

humbert wrote: »
    I'd second this. I've a friend who's recently qualified and been through it. It really wasn't bad. Busy lifestyle but overall grand.

That said it's a completely daft system that needs to be changed.
    Your one friend is probably an exception.
    I think it's pretty reasonable to find shifts that last days, with the odd short break for getting a few minutes' sleep (how generous!) to be a difficult work set-up.

Always people who go against the grain against commonsense and basic logic on these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Is this your first time to listen to the news, try and listen a bit more and get a bit more exposure of the situation before you come to a conclusion like that.
    Can you imagine being seriously ill in the ER, and a young person male or female no matter what colour, on their feet for the previous 24 to 36 hours making a decision on whether you live or die. Cop on.

Your one friend is probably an exception.
    I think it's pretty reasonable to find shifts that last days, with the odd short break for getting a few minutes' sleep (how generous!) to be a difficult work set-up.

Always people who go against the grain against commonsense and basic logic on these threads.
    I didn't mean to imply that he was not working long shifts. He was, but he was getting enough sleep. He was in the hospital on call, but getting sleep.

He's not one to be pushed around and I think that made a significant difference.

Again, I'm not defending the practice. It does need to be changed but when stories like this make the news there is exaggeration on all sides.

(I have more than one friend btw :P )

I meant "one friend" as in, one junior doctor who's fairly ok about it!

I didn't mean to imply that he was not working long shifts. He was, but he was getting enough sleep. He was in the hospital on call, but getting sleep.

He's not one to be pushed around and I think that made a significant difference.

Again, I'm not defending the practice. It does need to be changed but when stories like this make the news there is exaggeration on all sides.

(I have more than one friend btw :P )

I think the fact that a high majority of junior doctors have voted to take this action, but put in limits so they protect certain services, shows just how at the end of their tether the majority are at?

There were a couple of suicides I think last year in Tallaght, which were not discussed much in the media, but linked to the horrendous working hours.

Losing just one life as a result of an archaic practice is one too many, how many patients are being put at risk as a result of this practice continuing?

I well remember one time ending up in hospital for five days with suspected appendicitis and on the eve of surgery after being there for five days being told, a blood test result had been missed and I actually had a kidney infection (a fairly severe one mind you)

I could have ended up having unnecessary surgery due to a mistake (possibly caused by tiredness) had I not been fairly forward in asking how they determined the diagnosis, and a senior doctor noticing I walked wrong for someone with appendicitis

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Completely support them, dangerously stupid working hours.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

The unions.

The hours that Junior Doctors work is no secret, nor anything new. It's the same with many of the gripes that most other unionised public sector professions complain about. That's all the unions do - complain... and then secure a pay rise for their members.

During the boom years, we saw it all - Doctors, nurses, guards etc. Every time, a payrise was the solution, but nothing was ever done to address the underlying issues. Why? Well, if they where to ever fix the issues, then they would never be able to argue for another payrise.

If we were still in the boom, the doctors would still threaten strike, but another bumper payrise would be offered and, suddenly, this would all go away.

I fully agree that Junior doctors should not be working those ridiculous hours. Just like a agree with many (not all) of the complaints that public sector workers have, but:
    • A - in terms of blame, it lies with those who offered/settled for payrises instead of fixing the problems over the past few decades and;
    • B - Will the doctors surrender all the past payrises they received as payoffs for these conditions if their working hours are reduced?

The simple reality is that our public services cost us a hell of a lot more than they did just a decade or two ago, yet none of that money seems to have gone to making them better places to work, nor better services for the public.

I think the fact that a high majority of junior doctors have voted to take this action, but put in limits so they protect certain services, shows just how at the end of their tether the majority are at?
    Not really tbh. It's simply consistent with the Hippocratic oath and if I were to be cynical I might suggest that it was necessary to mitigate public backlash.
    There were a couple of suicides I think last year in Tallaght, which were not discussed much in the media, but linked to the horrendous working hours.

Losing just one life as a result of an archaic practice is one too many, how many patients are being put at risk as a result of this practice continuing?

I well remember one time ending up in hospital for five days with suspected appendicitis and on the eve of surgery after being there for five days being told, a blood test result had been missed and I actually had a kidney infection (a fairly severe one mind you)

I could have ended up having unnecessary surgery due to a mistake (possibly caused by tiredness) had I not been fairly forward in asking how they determined the diagnosis, and a senior doctor noticing I walked wrong for someone with appendicitis
    There's a shameful amount of speculation here. I can't find an article but don't doctors have a significantly higher rate of suicide across the board? I have some recollection that GPs stand out.

I really don't know what to say to your second point. Seriously?

Again, I'm not against doctors or the need for change. The practice is clearly daft.

dotsman wrote: »
    our public services cost us a hell of a lot more than they did just a decade or two ago, yet none of that money seems to have gone to making them better places to work, nor better services for the public.
    From what I'm learning, a good few public/semi-state services are being outsourced to private companies - I'd imagine this could mean an improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

This +1000
    I havent read the rest of the thread because there is no point.
    There are laws preventing my employer from making me work more than x no. of hours. But doctors and surgeons nurses are exempt from this??!!
    I would have thought, given that one of the above could have sharp pointy metal mere millimetres or less away from my aorta, that the above affected would be allowed have whatever sleep they wanted? But what do i know?

I really do think there are people seriously benefitting from the current arrangement and they will continue to benefit if it stays the same. No tin foil hats, just plain old observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

It's not hype. I'm not one for hyperbole, believe me. We're talking 15 minutes, 30 minutes, an hour here and there - it's nowhere near good enough. It's probably just about enough to stop them from keeling over, that's all.
    It probably depends on the hospital. Your average SHO in a country Hospital, with 30 sleeping Grannies under his roof is going to have a far less stressful zillion hour shift than an SHO in Tallaght or the Mater or that. On the other hand, in the latter cases I would just assume there is a rota for on-call work divided by the various departments.

I don't want to come across as defending the practice as it is. My point is only that the experiences I have heard is of of junior doctors who do manage to get rest, it's just that they report problems sleeping and related issues, which undermines the rest they get. It isn't literally a case of always being on duty and on their feet for 35 hours, which might be the perception.

There's a shameful amount of speculation here. I can't find an article but don't doctors have a significantly higher rate of suicide across the board? I have some recollection that GPs stand out.

I really don't know what to say to your second point. Seriously?

Again, I'm not against doctors or the need for change. The practice is clearly daft.

No speculation on point one see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056828675&page=2 It was two junior doctors who commited suicide, plenty of supplementary artciles etc in the thread I've linked to.

My second point is that having been admitted to a and e at 9pm one evening, it took five days just before I had surgery for doctors to reexamine original blood tests (I only had one set taken) and find a result that had previously been missed.

I can see how tiredness could have caused that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭KDII

People need to get behind the doctors. I'm working as a nurse in a hospital so I see it on a daily basis. Seriously don't know they can put in the hours, I know there's no way I could.

It really hit home to me a few weeks ago. There was talks of strikes in the paper etc so I suppose I was more aware of the hours and that. I'm working on a day ward at the minute. Patients come in early morning, go to theatre and all going well go home that evening. One of the interns who had been on call was admitting a patient for theatre and had about 5 more to do just on our ward. This was at least her 25th hour in work and wasn't getting home til after 5 that evening. They do a physical exam, history taking, go through the risks etc of the surgery and then sign the consent form. They're also responsible for making sure patient is well enough, has all test results etc.

The patient she was admitting had ironically also worked all night and had shown up for surgery. A lot of the nurses thought it seemed a bit irresponsible but it happens-people can't get time off work etc. We tucked her up in a bed so she could get a few hours sleep before going to theatre- lots of sympathy and tlc as she was tired and drained etc. Then we have the doctor admitting her, exhausted after what sounded like a hellish night on call. She looked pale, weak, nauseated. It just seemed so messed up that we just take for granted the ridiculous hours they put in and still expect them to perform at top level, even minor mistakes can have significant impacts of patient care.

They're just people, and yet we expect them to work all hours of the day but still make important judgement calls, reassure patients, care for deteriorating patients and sign their name to notes they're making that, worst care scenario will be read back to them by a court stenographer. It's not right. It's reckless and it's treating a highly skilled and driven group of people insultingly badly.

Reilly can get the large boat trying to strike fear into the public about this one day strike. The health service is a joke and is being propped up by people like these overworked doctors. Stand behind them 100%, they deserve better, the patients deserve better.

No speculation on point one see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056828675&page=2 It was two junior doctors who commited suicide, plenty of supplementary artciles etc in the thread I've linked to.

My second point is that having been admitted to a and e at 9pm one evening, it took five days just before I had surgery for doctors to reexamine original blood tests (I only had one set taken) and find a result that had previously been missed.

I can see how tiredness could have caused that.
    Yes, there was. You were speculating as to the cause. Now if one of those links makes that concrete then, absolutely, fair enough. I'm not hunting through every link on that thread to verify your assertion though.

The facts in second point could be interpreted any number of ways and that you are trying to force them to fit your agenda weakens your argument. An argument, I should say, which is very strong without resorting to speculation.

It isn't literally a case of always being on duty and on their feet for 35 hours, which might be the perception.
    But is most likely the reality. That said, they prob have breaks but no doubt are short and when you're in work, you're in work.
    I dont see bus drivers or artic drivers putting up with 30 hour shifts. Thats because its against the ****ING LAW!!
    Not shouting at you cody btw. Just the whole overall crap system we put up with.

Yes, there was. You were speculating as to the cause. Now if one of those links makes that concrete then, absolutely, fair enough. I'm not hunting through every link on that thread to verify your assertion though.

The facts in second point could be interpreted any number of ways and that you are trying to force them to fit your agenda weakens your argument. An argument, I should say, which is very strong without resorting to speculation.

Fine, stick with your "nothing is wrong because I know one graduate from medicine who coped fine with the system"

I will not use the system if I can, I will use private options instead rather than depend on a system which finds it appropriate to force people to work 72-84 hours on the trot with minimal rest.

I know what system I'd prefer to be treated under, and it's not our current public health system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,726 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Time for the nurses to man up...lets see if they are worth what they think they are

Fine, stick with your "nothing is wrong because I know one graduate from medicine who coped fine with the system"

I will not use the system if I can, I will use private options instead rather than depend on a system which finds it appropriate to force people to work 72-84 hours on the trot with minimal rest.

I know what system I'd prefer to be treated under, and it's not our current public health system.
    I have explicitly said, in every post, that I think change is necessary and the current system is daft but you feel free to throw a hissy fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭KDII

Time for the nurses to man up...lets see if they are worth what they think they are

A nurse can't do a doctors job, nor can a doctor do a nurses. No need for nurses to "man up"- there'll be weekend cover in place during the strike.

This scandal has been going on for as long as I can remember, even in the UK it is the same.

Why hasn't it changed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

When they're wiping your shìtty arse because you're unable to wipe it for yourself... actually you probably won't have the capacity to think they're worth every cent then either.

I have explicitly said, in every post, that I think change is necessary and the current system is daft but you feel free to throw a hissy fit.

No I felt free to point out both the personal ramificiations as experienced by a doctor working in the system, and how it has affected me as a patient.

We both agree the system needs changing, it's sheer madness subjecting new entrants to the medical profession to that stress.

I do not know where you are coming from with that remark, bur the nurses I have met through my few problems, and hospital stays, you will not find finer than ours. Get a grip clown or explain your comment.

And there should be no good reason for that, given how much prsi we pump into it.
    It needs to be reformed badly. But private is not ideal either. Just look at the wonderful healthcare there is in the good ole us of a. There is a ****ing tragic system that pisses all over anyone that hasn't forked out $20k plus or minus.
    Every man for himself etc. Basically if you dont earn over a certain amount you are on your own. Be that as it may but dont tout it as the be all and end all of healthcare. Thats just a case of "feck you, i'm all right"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

It probably depends on the hospital. Your average SHO in a country Hospital, with 30 sleeping Grannies under his roof is going to have a far less stressful zillion hour shift than an SHO in Tallaght or the Mater or that. On the other hand, in the latter cases I would just assume there is a rota for on-call work divided by the various departments.

I don't want to come across as defending the practice as it is. My point is only that the experiences I have heard is of of junior doctors who do manage to get rest, it's just that they report problems sleeping and related issues, which undermines the rest they get. It isn't literally a case of always being on duty and on their feet for 35 hours, which might be the perception.
    The rota in the smaller country hospital tends to be more onerous, 1:3 or 1:4 on call. And yes, they do tend to get a couple of hours here and there. But being on call every 3rd night and for up to 80+ hours in one go over the weekend (even if u do grab a couple of hours here and there) is still miserable and not even closely comparable to any job I have ever heard of, and certainly not one with the amount of responsibility.

SHOs and Registrars in the bigger centres tend to be on less onerous rotas (maybe 1:6, 1:7) but the shifts are truly awful. Getting a half hour here or there is a minor miracle.

I appreciate you are trying to find a degree of balance but this scenario is truly one of the few where there really is no balance to be found; country hospital, city hospital, big hospital, small hospital, it is all an utter disgrace and has been for far far too many years.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    When they're wiping your shìtty arse because you're unable to wipe it for yourself... actually you probably won't have the capacity to think they're worth every cent then either.
    I do not know where you are coming from with that remark, bur the nurses I have met through my few problems, and hospital stays, you will not find finer than ours. Get a grip clown or explain your comment.

Chill out. I know nurses over here are very good and all that good stuff. What I was saying is that they are always looking for more responsibility and more money. Countless times I have heard them on the radio saying they could do the work of a doctor. Well heres their chance

No I felt free to point out both the personal ramificiations as experienced by a doctor working in the system, and how it has affected me as a patient.

We both agree the system needs changing, it's sheer madness subjecting new entrants to the medical profession to that stress.
    I apologise for being pedantic but it's a compulsion.

If you'd stated your personal experience in the former case (i.e. your experience as a doctor in the field) I'd have no objections and if you'd concrete reasons for your conclusions in the latter case I'd likewise have no objections but in both cases they were just your opinion on cases with many other possible interpretations.

Since we don't actually disagree I acknowledge that this is pointless. Fingers crossed for a sane and stable working environment for junior doctors in the not too distant future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Chill out. I know nurses over here are very good and all that good stuff. What I was saying is that they are always looking for more responsibility and more money. Countless times I have heard them on the radio saying they could do the work of a doctor. Well heres their chance

It isn't. Nurses will not take up the role of NCHDs if/when they go on strike. The impact will be on elective procedures and admissions. Everything else will go on as before. It will be as if it is Saturday at every hospital.

shedweller wrote: »
    And there should be no good reason for that, given how much prsi we pump into it.
    It needs to be reformed badly. But private is not ideal either. Just look at the wonderful healthcare there is in the good ole us of a. There is a ****ing tragic system that pisses all over anyone that hasn't forked out $20k plus or minus.
    Every man for himself etc. Basically if you dont earn over a certain amount you are on your own. Be that as it may but dont tout it as the be all and end all of healthcare. Thats just a case of "feck you, i'm all right"

Not touting it as such at all, but my experience has been that if you have the money you will get seen, I ruined my knee last year, and got an appointment privately within a week, public would be a year or more.

Now I'd a fairly bad injury, chronic as opposed to severe.

That said my dad (rip) was treated start to finish for cancer in the public sector and got good (not great) care.

He ended his life in a hospice suite provided by a charity who gave the HSE the money to build it so we had a little peace to spend our dads last day in. Prior to the day before his death, he was in a public ward with five other patients, all of them disturbed by us trooping in as at that point we had 24/7 rights to visit.

It's truly a horrid system that we have.

You should try and keep up with the times. Try and change channels and develop a broader outlook on life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭polydactyl

Currently on call lads. Have not seen the outside of the hospital since 8am nor will I till 10am tomorrow. This is a "grand call" as its the weekend so "only" 26 hours. If it was a Monday into Tuesday it would be till 5pm. I am "on call" so while I managed to eat dinner today I carried a bleep meaning at every second I was available to be called to leave my dinner and run/walk to see a patient. I have to answer those bleeps. Hardly relaxing. Sleep? Not a chance as while a 100 or so "junior docs" and 40 or consultants are in the hospital 9-5 Monday to Friday right now there are 7 of us in this entire major dublin hospital. All "junior doctors" so plenty to keep me busy. The fact that this shift is what we are actually agreeing to settle for should tell you how crap the situation is. All this an 4 months pregnant too. Fun!

You should try and keep up with the times. Try and change channels and develop a broader outlook on life.

Perhaps I tried to communicate my point in too flippant a manner. If they go on strike why dont the nurses volunteer their services? I am no expert, but from what they (nurses) say, they should be able to handle the void left by junior docs.

I am quite happy with my outlook on life. Thanks for the concern though ;)