Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA "off topic" thread - No discussion relating to FSA or Soccer - please read post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

I am currently unable to log out of Boards on internet explorer(I know but I've just always used it:ermm:)

I'd rather my missus didn't realise how much time I spend on here and if she stumbles on boards she's gonna see my handle (and maybe this post:'()
    Any advice? No matter how often I hit logout I'm still logged in and when I shut it down and open again I'm already logged in.

Would clearing cookies do the trick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Would clearing cookies do the trick?

It seems that it could according to another thread.
    How do I do it and what effect will it have on anything?
    You may have figured out that I can barely turn this thing on:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

It seems that it could according to another thread.
    How do I do it and what effect will it have on anything?
    You may have figured out that I can barely turn this thing on:o

You won't notice any difference really. If you are using Chrome click on the three horizontal lines in the top right then settings scroll to the bottom and click show advanced settings then click on clear browsing data then just make sure cookies is selected and click clear browsing data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

This match is not making for easy viewing! Tense stuff, the Argies are by far the dominant team here! Savage rugby from them, we are missing the big man in the scrums and Sexton big time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

This match is not making for easy viewing! Tense stuff, the Argies are by far the dominant team here! Savage rugby from them, we are missing the big man in the scrums and Sexton big time!

Far too many errors by Ireland. We may have over estimated ourselves after the win against what it now appears was a very weak French team.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Far too many errors by Ireland. We may have over estimated ourselves after the win against what it now appears was a very weak French team.

We are also being out muscled in nearly every position on the pitch. God what i'd do to have a fit O'Connell and BOD back to work a little bit of magic right now

That's us out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭MarkSRFC21

Fair play to Argentina. Outplayed us 1-15. Completely deserved the win.

Heartbroken! Completely outclassed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

To never have made it past the quarter's in a world cup at 8 attempts is a joke. The way rugby is that's basically the 1st round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

If that was the Irish soccer team, whom nothing is expected of, they'd be slated. Rugby lads under achieve yet again and are 'heroes'.

Laughable.

Southern Hemisphere teams look a different class at this World Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Immense credit to Argentina, they were exceptional.

Credit to Ireland to fight back to 23-20 when we were looking down the barrel the first time. But Argentina looked so dangerous with the ball while we were toothless enough bar Fitzy. Heaslip stepped up and Best and Henderson were immense again.

Something needs to be done about the difference between hemispheres though. We need to be playing the southern teams in meaningful games more than once every 4 years!

Congrats to Argentina, I'd love them to get to the final now!

It was the hope with 3 points in it that kills you :(

Immense credit to Argentina, they were exceptional.

Credit to Ireland to fight back to 23-20 when we were looking down the barrel the first time. But Argentina looked so dangerous with the ball while we were toothless enough bar Fitzy. Heaslip stepped up and Best and Henderson were immense again.

Something needs to be done about the difference between hemispheres though. We need to be playing the southern teams in meaningful games more than once every 4 years!

Congrats to Argentina, I'd love them to get to the final now!

It was the hope with 3 points in it that kills you :(

Playing southern hemisphere teams in meaningful games would basically be a world cup though. I'd love Argentina to win the whole thing now highly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Playing southern hemisphere teams in meaningful games would basically be a world cup though. I'd love Argentina to win the whole thing now highly unlikely.

You could have some kind of 10 Nations tournament or something every second year. It won't happen but some kind of outside the box thinking needs to be done. Or say top 4 of the 6 nations play the top 4 of SH while the rest play against tier 2 teams and everyone gets more competitive games and everyone grows.

Obviously we won't sort it out here today :pac:

Incredible stuff from Scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,083 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Heartbreak for the scots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Only Scotland could make a balls of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Nib wrote: »
    Only Scotland could make a balls of that.

You're very harsh on them. With another ref they'd probaby be in the semis tonight :rolleyes:...

---

Yesterday I wasn't even sad for France (kinda saw it coming, you can't do all the wrong things for 4 years and expect to knock out a brilliant NZ side) but tonight I'm heartbrokenly demolished by this Scottish defeat :(... How desperately cruel after such an heroic battle they fought out ?!

Again, Joubert didn't help :rolleyes: (what a nuisance to the sport this ref is :eek: crazy that he still officiates!) though I feel they should have played this line-out short and keep the ball with their forward. Ah well easy to say in hindsight. Fair play to the Scots though! No one in the World was backing them for a 1 pt defeat today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Nib wrote: »
    If that was the Irish soccer team, whom nothing is expected of, they'd be slated. Rugby lads under achieve yet again and are 'heroes'.

Laughable.

With you 100% on this. The difference in the attitude of the general 'casual' sports fan to both teams has always confused and annoyed me equally.

Both codes have their die hard fans but the middle of the road sports fan who watches whatever is on in the pub seems to often automatically deride the football team while tears well in their eyes for Ireland's Call.

As a supporter of Cavan, Blackburn and the Irish soccer team, I was hoping the rugby team would give me something sports related to be cheerful about.

**** me, even my local GAA team got relegated this year!

Lemlin wrote: »
    As a supporter of Cavan, Blackburn and the Irish soccer team, I was hoping the rugby team would give me so staging to be cheerful about.

**** me, even my local GAA team got relegated this year!

All aboard the FSA Finn Harps bandwagon for the promotion playoffs!! :D

Actually, seriously, any of ye in Dublin could spend next Friday night in worse ways than heading down to Belfield...

FHFC wrote: »

Actually, seriously, any of ye in Dublin could spend next Friday night in worse ways than heading down to Belfield...

Just down the road from me. I may just do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Our lads here in Limerick have put together an unbelievable run of results to give themselves a decent chance at the play offs as well, looked like they'd berelegated by twenty odd points a few months ago. Big disappointment to lose to your neighbours Derry last night though. Fantastic atmosphere last night in the Markets field but it wasn't to be. They could well need to take maximum points from the last two now.

Any Baseball fans? Actually I know there's one but I forget who it is, it's looking like my beloved NY Mets could go all the way this year, bit of a fairytale after a fairly miserable(typical) start to the season. I have a sister in New York, I may make an attempt to get over for a few days if they get to the World Series.

Our lads here in Limerick have put together an unbelievable run of results to give themselves a decent chance at the play offs as well, looked like they'd berelegated by twenty odd points a few months ago. Big disappointment to lose to your neighbours Derry last night though. Fantastic atmosphere last night in the Markets field but it wasn't to be. They could well need to take maximum points from the last two now.

Any Baseball fans? Actually I know there's one but I forget who it is, it's looking like my beloved NY Mets could go all the way this year, bit of a fairytale after a fairly miserable(typical) start to the season. I have a sister in New York, I may make an attempt to get over for a few days if they get to the World Series.

Sorry but won't wish yous.luck. Neither us or UCD would relish the team on form in the middle if their great escape moment. Bring on the desperate Drogs please.

Really hope yis get promoted. The league needs a better spread of teams, and I can't stand ucd and by all accounts you've had a good season and are a decent side.

I think they'll beat rovers on Friday anyway. We're really gone into autopilot now, and have nothing to play for. Incredible achievement to get to where they are from Limerick

MarkSRFC21 wrote: »
    Really hope yis get promoted. The league needs a better spread of teams, and I can't stand ucd and by all accounts you've had a good season and are a decent side.

Always wondered which Rovers the SRFC was for. ;)

We'd struggle big time in the Premier but we'd have a bit of craic. :)

Always wondered which Rovers the SRFC was for. ;)

We'd struggle big time in the Premier but we'd have a bit of craic. :)

Maybe, but there's no such thing as an easy trip up to ballyboffey. And the SRFC is shamrock rovers. The REAL rovers :D

MarkSRFC21 wrote: »
    Maybe, but there's no such thing as an easy trip up to ballyboffey. And the SRFC is shamrock rovers. The REAL rovers :D

Yeah. Figured from your other post it was 'Shams'.... ,)