Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield 4 Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Game running faster if anything no crashes tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Game running faster if anything no crashes tonight

HA!

Log in tonite after the small update and the screen is flickering like I am using drivers from the 1980's. Try multiple servers and same thing.....Jaysus this guys are losing the plot.

Never buy a BF game again at launch....lucky if I buy one again TBH. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

found this while snooping on hanain resort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

7DfoLGS.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,201 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

fergus1001 wrote: »

found this while snooping on hanain resort

It looks to be the background used by the menu screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

Lads is proxy scan on the tanks and lavs broken or wtf is going is on??

I thought proxy scan was gone in fact - news to me that it is even there.

Wish it was gone, always thought that was too powerful making it an automatic choice

Bf3 was better. Even if you remove the glitches in BF4. Too many poor design decisions in BF4 for it to get classic status imho. People knocked the Close Quarters DLC in BF3, but the maps were custom designed for what they wanted. Flow on them was excellent , with just the right bottlenecks.

Domination mode in BF4 is a ****ing joke due to needing to be crammed into already existing maps designed for other modes. Rush is dead now due to terrible ****ing map design and the worst spawn and deployments systems i have ever seen in a game. Obliteration has the same issues...just to be an utter dick the other day on Paracel Storm, and to prove a point to one of the DICE devs and a few guys from EA I drove my attack boat INTO their carrier and just smashed the **** out of everyone and everything the second it spawned.

The critical hit system on vehicles ads a level of "what the **** were they thinking" that i have never experienced. A game that prides itself on vehicle gameplay adds a system that makes the decision to take damage (tank to the front of me, RPG behind me...what do I let hit me?) a total gamble, instead of letting me work the numbers and make decisions based on facts.

It's got too many flaws right now to be considered on a par with BF3, just because the maps are bigger and a few ****ing tards in the community think that is what makes the game in the first place.

WOW, not a happy bunny!

BF4 is far better for me but that is mainly because we have 64 players now so comparing it to BF3 on PS3 is hardly fair. That said, no sure I would be into Metro/Bazaar/Seine/ and the Aftermath maps with 32 v 32 so I am very surprised everyone isn't simply saying BF4 is better.

(granted it has bugs but so did BF3, although not as bad. That said, it was far more unbalanced than BF4 now, e.g. Famas, USAS with Frag, the M26 Dart ruined the game for me for around 3-4 months. Currently I think some guns are better than others but rarely am I continually killed by the same guns, i.e. more balanced)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

Just got the game on PS4 every time I select multiplayer I get "you have lost connection to the ea servers. online features will be unavailable"

Just me or are the actual servers down?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,201 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Finical wrote: »
    Just got the game on PS4 every time I select multiplayer I get "you have lost connection to the ea servers. online features will be unavailable"

Just me or are the actual servers down?

EA do their maintenance on Tuesday mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

mozattack wrote: »
    WOW, not a happy bunny!

BF4 is far better for me but that is mainly because we have 64 players now so comparing it to BF3 on PS3 is hardly fair. That said, no sure I would be into Metro/Bazaar/Seine/ and the Aftermath maps with 32 v 32 so I am very surprised everyone isn't simply saying BF4 is better.

(granted it has bugs but so did BF3, although not as bad. That said, it was far more unbalanced than BF4 now, e.g. Famas, USAS with Frag, the M26 Dart ruined the game for me for around 3-4 months. Currently I think some guns are better than others but rarely am I continually killed by the same guns, i.e. more balanced)

Truthfully I fail to see the benefit of gun balance analysis in a game with 2 1HK bugs and multiple damage bugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭jonski

mozattack wrote: »
    I thought proxy scan was gone in fact - news to me that it is even there.

Wish it was gone, always thought that was too powerful making it an automatic choice

I have it loaded but it doesn't seem to work .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Reactive armor seems to do jack as well.
    As do any of the other tank/LAV shells that aren't the standard ones.

I was playing last night and i'd say my k/d was 1/9 and I was at the bottom of the scoreboard until quiting and sulking like a baby.

Why?

Because the damage indicator was very strange. I'd literally be running and BANG DEAD - no idea I was taking damage. It was like that in the Beta.

Has anyone experienced this? Maybe it was just a wierd night for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,103 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

One thing I would be in favor of seeing is removing Air to Air missiles from the helos. Their role is supposed to be supporting the ground assault, yet most of the time helos focus on taking out the other helo flying around. It's not like there aren't enough threats to aircraft as it is. I would agree that the A2A missiles should have their damage increased. Tired of scoring 2 clean hits and watching someone manage to fly away.

I also think that the various Air to Ground missiles should either have their damage increased or go back to the fire and forget mode they had in BF3. To score a kill with the Scout Helo on a tank for instance you have to get within 400m I think to get lock and maintain hold on the target. Leaves you very exposed and it takes 2 missiles plus a full 25mm burst + to get the kill. Too imbalanced imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

To score a kill with the Scout Helo on a tank for instance you have to get within 400m I think to get lock and maintain hold on the target. Leaves you very exposed and it takes 2 missiles plus a full 25mm burst + to get the kill. Too imbalanced imo

It's a frickin' tank you're trying to blow up, not a Nissan Micra...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

So I just realised how much of an idiot I am.

I enjoy flying the planes however I am useless at it. Purely down to the fact that I am constantly flicking the mouse over and over to make a turn. I was tempted to buy a joystick for it. Then someone comes along and says, why don't you just bind pitch up to another key....

My face when I realise...

Feck sake... Right.. get me back into a plane!

I heard that you can deploy the mortar and when you die it is there when you re-spawn. Tried it last night and wouldnt work.

Anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Yeah, the joysticks aren't the best in the world for the BF4 planes. BF4 just isn't a good flight sim :D
    I mean, with my saitek I can happily tool about the sky, but if you want to put all your cannon rounds into the one target that looks like a three-pixel-wide black dot in the distance, the joystick just isn't precise enough.

That said, I tried M+K as well and haven't made it work yet, though I had serious troubles with the M+K control of helos as well until I found the right axis/key combo and then it almost instantly went from poop on a stick to elegant swooping and death from above.

Yes, I do count crashing into a building and falling dead, burning and upside down onto an unwitting enemy soldier as "death from above", why do you ask?

It's a frickin' tank you're trying to blow up, not a Nissan Micra...

It's a thermobaric Hellfire I'm shooting, do a google on what their effects are like. Same with the Javelin.

Yeah, but real littlebirds don't carry infinite hellfire missiles and have infinite fuel and a 300m operating ceiling and engineers can't repair them with a cutting torch in under a minute after they're hit by two sidewinder missiles. At some point y'all have to remember this here's a game, not real life :pac:

It's a thermobaric Hellfire I'm shooting, do a google on what their effects are like. Same with the Javelin.

I understand that, but if a bloody Little Bird could take out an MBT in a single strafe, you would have what's called an imbalance.

Yup. Infy, jeeps, bikes, quads, even LAVs are things the scouts should be targeting, the MBTs ought to be something you need an assault helo to take on (I mean, that's what they're designed to do in real life, and yeah, this is just a game, but still).

The downside to that of course, is that someone accidentally stored two tons of depleted uranium in the tyres of the assault helo and used tissue paper to armour the thing...

Which is really annoying actually. The scout helos should be slower than the assault helos, they are in real life (the apache and the viper both outclimb, outrun and outgun the littlebird; the point of the littlebird was that it was cheaper and more nimble, not more powerful than the bigger attack helos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

I was gonna buy BF4 on PC but remembered when BF3 came out it was half price on Origin on Christmas Day. Does anyone know if they're doing the same offer this year?

I understand that, but if a bloody Little Bird could take out an MBT in a single strafe, you would have what's called an imbalance.
    Sparks wrote: »
    Yup. Infy, jeeps, bikes, quads, even LAVs are things the scouts should be targeting, the MBTs ought to be something you need an assault helo to take on (I mean, that's what they're designed to do in real life, and yeah, this is just a game, but still).

The downside to that of course, is that someone accidentally stored two tons of depleted uranium in the tyres of the assault helo and used tissue paper to armour the thing...

Which is really annoying actually. The scout helos should be slower than the assault helos, they are in real life (the apache and the viper both outclimb, outrun and outgun the littlebird; the point of the littlebird was that it was cheaper and more nimble, not more powerful than the bigger attack helos.

I agree with you in regards it being a game etc and possible imbalancing. I find it annoying when there is a disparity between what the vehicle carries and the damage it does. If they are worried about an imbalance issue arriving then make it a different weapon system, rather than nerf it. I'm not looking for Arma levels of realism but some common sense and consistency would be appreciated.

I find their choice of helos odd tbh. For the scout class they could have picked an actual scout helo like the CH-58 Kiowa or some future equivalent, which would have fit the weapons options available to that class. MH-3s don't carry that sort of armament and don't perform that role. Similarly, I don't get why they pick the Cobra/ Viper over the Apache, which is the more modern and capable airframe. Minor quibbles I know.

Arma levels of realism

These are the most important words in your post. Battlefield is an arcade shooter, not a simulator - and it more than likely always will be.

MH-3s don't carry that sort of armament and don't perform that role.
    But AH-3s do...
    Similarly, I don't get why they pick the Cobra/ Viper over the Apache, which is the more modern and capable airframe. Minor quibbles I know.
    Actually, they didn't - the longbow's in the game as well, just not on all the maps.

BTW, the Kiowa's a bit old now, it's been in active service for longer than I've been alive :D But almost all of the replacements are just more of the same (they're looking at upgrading the kiowa, or using the latest model of littlebird and a few others like the MD500) -- but the one I'd love to have seen in the game is the Raider:

SAM_0187.jpg

The whole point of this one was to go faster than 200kts, which would outpace just about every helo in the air right now, which would perfectly match my gameplay (Oh feck! Run away!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Evade

Similarly, I don't get why they pick the Cobra/ Viper over the Apache, which is the more modern and capable airframe. Minor quibbles I know.
    Because the US faction in the game are Marines. Marines fly Cobras/Vipers, the Army fly Apaches.

Actually, they didn't - the longbow's in the game as well, just not on all the maps.
    Scratch that, was reading the wrong guide :pac:

But AH-3s do...

BTW, the Kiowa's a bit old now, it's been in active service for longer than I've been alive :D But almost all of the replacements are just more of the same (they're looking at upgrading the kiowa, or using the latest model of littlebird and a few others like the MD500) -- but the one I'd love to have seen in the game is the Raider:

The whole point of this one was to go faster than 200kts, which would outpace just about every helo in the air right now, which would perfectly match my gameplay (Oh feck! Run away!)

That would be a pretty cool addition alright. Should have said MH-6 there, reading up on the AH-6, interesting update. Would be quite the package. The Kiowa's are really excellent platforms, super maneuverable and pack a decent punch.

These are the most important words in your post. Battlefield is an arcade shooter, not a simulator - and it more than likely always will be.

Oh I agree completely, and understand that point. Doesn't make it any less maddening when I'm shooting a soldier with the 30mm cannon and watching them run away :rolleyes: