Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interest in mixed bag competition

• 23-09-2013 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭

is there a mixed bag competition this year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Is there an interest in one again?

Might use this thread to guage interest and if it's enough then we'll start another thread for a list of names, and all the relevant details.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

There is no way I'd ever complete it but I enjoyed it anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

Cass wrote: »
    Is there an interest in one again?

Might use this thread to guage interest and if it's enough then we'll start another thread for a list of names, and all the relevant details.

I'd be interested if it's goin on again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

id be interested in doing it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭223Shooter

I'd be interested aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

bring it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

Me too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Yeah ill have a go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭mikeyboo

I dont no if ill get them all but stick me down :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

sure stick me down again,it was very hard to complete with high numbers on some hard got and low on others easy got,but sure its all fun

garyc007 wrote: »
    sure stick me down again,it was very hard to complete with high numbers on some hard got and low on others easy got,but sure its all fun

Start from the 1st of November?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

I'll give it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

I'll Chance it this year hopefully I'll do better with my Browning cynergy black ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

Ya i'm in aswell :)

Start from the 1st of November?

I'd say so.

It'll give time to organise details, etc, and then let it run till January or so.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Interested but I know I wont get all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

Sure mark me down for it too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 FlushBang2013

yea i would love to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strangles

Wats story lads,wat has to be got?

No details or quotas yet. Just gaugingg interest first, then need to sort out who is running it, what is needed, dates, etc.

Ya il tog.....

Have next week off, looking forward to getting in some shooting , can wait for the 1st, looking forward to this competition again, it's great Craic, can we get this going for the 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Padd2

throw me in lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

im in,if ye will have me that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 wingshooter53

New to boards, I'll will give it a go, if thats alright with ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

My first year sure I'll give it a go if that's okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

count me in might be lucky to get a crow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

Put me down too! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 emk2

I'm in if ye run it.. Another foxing one too would be a good idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

I'd like to give it a go also, count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Did anyone finish it last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Put me in too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭An truicear tochasach

Didn't come last last time, a rimfire & smart phone this year so bring it on.... was a bit of crack..

Details please ????????????

strangles wrote: »
    Details please ????????????

Last years, have a look.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81587528

Cheers w,so are we up & running from Friday cass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Pat McGroin

Count me in lads .

Sorry for the delay in responding. It's been a busy few weeks in real life, and i hadn't gotten around to checking back in until i realised it was nearly time to start.

So we have around 30 names. I've a table done below listing those interested. To save too much messing around with what to shoot, how many, etc. i used last years as a template and frankly i'm not too pushed in changing many of the details regarding game, amount, etc..

I've also laid out the rules (only a few of them) and they will be implemented rigorously. IOW no exceptions, bending of rules, etc. Either your entry abides by them or it's not counted and again i'm not too interested in debating this back and forth via PM with people over the coming months so that is set.

So here we have the entrants:

Competitors |
    terminator2 |
    Stevegeraghty |
    richiedel123 |
    shotie |
    223shooter |
    patdahat |
    viper123 |
    1shot16 |
    lb1981 |
    wildfowler94 |
    Boild-egg |
    nowwerehurlin |
    jellybaby21 |
    mikeyboo |
    garyc007 |
    tonytoc11 |
    ace86 |
    Cavan duck buster |
    Tawny Owl |
    Brazzil |
    kfod |
    Flushbang2013 |
    strangles |
    hunterpajero |
    Padd2 |
    wingshooter53 |
    Glenbulldog |
    beretta391 |
    Stonehall9 |
    emk2 |
    Mauser 308 |
    fiestaman |
    An truicear tochasach |
    Pat McGroin |
    Cass |
    steyrman |
    dto001 |
    Cbeirne82 |
    sonofthegun |
    midnightfalcon |

Next the rules. We'll keep these short and sweet:
    1. Competition starts on Friday the 1st November and ends Friday, February 28th 2014.
    2. All entries must have a signed & dated piece of paper/newspaper, etc in the photograph as proof of what time and date it was shot. Sign it off with your Boards.ie username only.
    3. Try keep your faces or faces of others out of the pictures. With Facebook, Twitter, etc it's not hard to find people if you are determined, and to prevent abuse from "outside sources" there is no need to identify yourself.
    4. To prevent abuse by "outside sources" the gun must be in the picture. Either beside, or across the game. Please follow this one as we have had instances of photoshopping used to remove the gun, and other objects put in to portray cruel methods used to kill game.
    5. With each entry please give a detailed explanation. Not just a photo. So for example if the picture has a fox, crow, rabbit, and a pheasant you would write:
        Cass

1 fox
        1 rabbit
        1 pheasant
        1 crow
      [*]Entries will only be counted at the end off each week. Not daily. It starts Friday so will be updated each Friday. So you may either post all your entries on the one day or as you get them (daily). They will only be updated/appear at the end of each week. Any entries not submitted by 9pm on the Friday of each week will appear the following week.
      [*]No discussion on the comp thread. Only entries to be posted. Any discussion or chat posts will be removed. Makes for easier reading.
      [*]In the event of a draw, were multiple people have completed the list of game then the person that finishes first will be declared the winner. The first to finish will be determined by the time of their last post that contains the final game needed. So if i were to finish and posted my last picture on Saturday February 8th, and say Cavan duck buster finished with a post of the last of his game on Sunday February 9th then i win. In the event of two finishing on the same day time will determine the winner.

Lastly the game list. I've used last years as a template. I will discuss this to a degree between now and Thursday at 9pm. After which i'll close all suggestions and fill out a list of game and there will be no more discussion.

Some will find certain game harder than others. For example foxes & mink around me a scarce. As are a number of fowl. However some find find these easy, but others such as a pheasant, crows, pigeon, etc scarce. It's a comp and not meant to be easy.

So here is what we have so far:

Game | Amount |
      Pheasant |
      |
      Duck |
      |
      Snipe |
      |
      Woodcock |
      |
      Wood Pigeon |
      |
      Fox |
      |
      Crow |
      |
      Magpie |
      |
      Grey Crow |
      |
      Grey Squirrel |
      |
      Mink |
      |
      Rabbit |
      |
      Total |
      |

I'm going to omit deer from the list as some entrants may not have deer permissions. If everyone has deer permissions then i will include a few.

Think that covers most of it. So let the discussion begin between now and Thursday at 9pm after which time i'll close this thread, do up the comp thread, and then place a link to it here.

6. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

Thats more than I have shot/trapped in the three previous years! Can't wait to get started :) Thanks Cass.

7. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strangles

Cheers for the effort cass,cant wait til friday

8. Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

One more thing lads.

Last year an issue arose about insurance coverage for people with certain organisations and their participation in competitions. I didn't read the full thread again, but i'm sticking up the same warning so lads are fully aware.
      Notice to all participants.

It has come to our attention that under compensation funds ran by certain organisations anyone injured while partaking in a competition may find their cover void.

Please be aware of this fact before entering into this competition, and if unsure of your cover or simply do not wish to suffer such loss of coverage please inform me via PM, and your name will be removed from the list of competitors.

No discussion of this will be permitted on this thread as this does not effect everyone.

Thanks.

Mod Team.

9. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Thanks Cass great effort put in, cant wait roll on Friday.;)

10. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

i think we should run with that table less work for Cass changeing numbers of this and that. big thanks too for runing it again .:D

11. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭An truicear tochasach

shotie wrote: »
      i think we should run with that table less work for Cass changeing numbers of this and that. big thanks too for runing it again .:D

Second that & thanks - tis a great giggle:)

12. Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

There is no major hassle i changing numbers now i just don't want a long drawn out debate on what people think should be and shouldn't be in terms of amounts.

Looking at the list and i see foxes, mink, duck, and snipe are all going to be a hassle for me. The others not so much but definitely not easy. Still i'm going to give it a bash.

However if there are things ye want added, replaced, or removed i don't mind doing it between now and Friday morning, but i want a majority "yay" or "nay" on it.

13. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭steyrman

put my name in the hat why not

14. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Padd2

I think it's spot on .. Can't wait :)

Cleaned and waiting

15. Advertisement