If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

If nice guys finish last, then I'm in training to be a badass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭rob w

Wednesday 14th

(3.2m) 5km @ 4:57/km – AVG HR 141bpm

Nice 5k today, first run since the race last Thursday!

Have kind of stopped following the HM plan (but was never really sticking to it religiously) so just keeping the legs ticking over. I was aiming for a HM in mid June but am now leaning towards doing another 10km around the same date instead, but Ill see what I can find.

Also saw the new route for DCM 14 today, and it got me thinking about how much I would love to run it again this year....

Thursday 15th

(4.5m) 7.2km @ 5:10/km – AVG HR 143bpm

Got a quick run in this evening after I got home....very warm but all good, cantbe complaining about a bit of sunshine!:cool:

Saturday 17th

(7m) 11.2km @ 6:00/km – AVG HR 135bpm

Out for an LSR this morning, had been planning on getting up early for it, but was kept awake till 3am by a noisy p***k of a neighbour lastnight, so turned off the alarm the second it rang and rolled back over.

So by the time I got out it was around noon, the sun was out and it was a pretty warm day for a run, (low 20's)! So it didn't take long to work up a sweat even at this easy pace! My HR was spiking up/down between spending time in the sun/shade, but still kept it at 70% average, which is grand for an LSR I think!

All went well, and that's my longest run of 2014! Will try and add a mile now every week and see how it goes!

Sunday 18th

(5m) 8km @ 6:28/km – AVG HR 127bpm

Very easy paced couple of miles this afternoon, very warm again though! Nothing exciting to report really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

rob w wrote: »
    Sunday 18th

(5m) 8km @ 6:28/km – AVG HR 127bpm

Very easy paced couple of miles this afternoon, very warm again though! Nothing exciting to report really!

Listen here don't you be complaining about the heat, I'm here banking coal on the fire!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Listen here don't you be complaining about the heat, I'm here banking coal on the fire!

Haha....apologies! Will try keep it to myself from now on! Although I am a bit jealous of the fire, cant beat it!:cool:

Tuesday 20th

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:30/km – AVG HR 143bpm

5k early this morning, found it a bit hard to get a nice pace going at the start but was fine after 2k or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭lmguillou

Haha....apologies! Will try keep it to myself from now on! Although I am a bit jealous of the fire, cant beat it!:cool:

I hope you re having a good time there! I'm just back from Brittany had few runs it was nice and warm :)

lmguillou wrote: »
    I hope you re having a good time there! I'm just back from Brittany had few runs it was nice and warm :)

Yeah, enjoying it alright. Its lovely here! Running is going well too, the more and more I get out the more I think about doing DCM again this year......could be back out in the park for the LSR's by August! Did you guys make it down to Donadea that weekend?

Wednesday 21st

(3.75m) 6km @ 5:34/km – AVG HR 125bpm

Out for 6 easy paced km's in the evening, nothing special here. Just building up the miles as I go!

Thursday 22nd

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:18/km – AVG HR 139bpm

Another 5km today. I did two easy km's, first and last, at 5:45/km and three faster ones (avg pace 5:00/km) sandwiched in between.

Was planning an LSR for Saturday and a v. easy short run on Sunday, but will be cycling about 50km tomorrow instead.....so I think I will rest Saturday and shift the LSR to Sunday instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭lmguillou

Yeah, enjoying it alright. Its lovely here! Running is going well too, the more and more I get out the more I think about doing DCM again this year......could be back out in the park for the LSR's by August! Did you guys make it down to Donadea that weekend?

No we didn't, we ended up in the park as usual 😊

lmguillou wrote: »
    No we didn't, we ended up in the park as usual 😊

We should try get out there for a run later in the summer once I'm back again! Was looking forward to it the last time!

Sunday 25th

(8.1m) 13km @ 5:59/km – AVG HR 126bpm (65%)

Nice 13km LSR bright and early this morning, aiming for 6:00/6:05 pace for my LSR's,so it the pace was more or less spot on. Decided to try out a new route for this one, but didn't really know where I was going, so mapped it out on Google Maps, tried to memorise it, wrote directions on the back of my hand (just in case) and off I went. Did get slightly lost at one point about 5km in, just as the directions were beginning to disappear of my hand due to sweat :rolleyes:....but made my way back on track, and it actually rounded up the distance to a nice 13km by the time I got home again. Nice area I took in on the route, a couple of km along a canal, plenty of early morning runners out too. So will be incorporating this route into my LSR's from now on I think!

So that's 18 miles for the week (and about 70/80km cycling too).......time to find a marathon training plan for 2 weeks time methinks!

Tuesday 27th

(3.4m) 6.5km @ 5:31/km – AVG HR 133bpm (69%)

Early morning run, nothing eventful to report.:o Slowly building the miles . . .

Wednesday 28th

(4.1m) 6.5km @ 5:29/km – AVG HR 135bpm (70%)

It took me about 5k before I settled into this one and started to enjoy it, was literally dragging my heels for most of it. Just not really in the mood for it and feeling a bit tired. Maybe I need to scale back on the cycling as the running miles are going up. Probably not a good idea to be cycling 5 days a wek and running 5 days a week, more rest needed! But feel good now that Im back andglad I went out!

The project I am working on over here at the moment is going painfully slooooowwwww and it's driving me up the walls as I can't stand being idle (Probably why running seems to suit me). Its been a bit stop/start since I arrived and I figured it would have got going by now, but still no sign of that happening! So I think I'm going to concentrating most my time on training for the next few weeks (hopefully june/july will be like a warm weather training camp:cool:) and spend more time learning the language while Im waiting around!!

Thursday 29th

(3.4m) 5.5km @ 5:21/km – AVG HR 133bpm (69%)

Enjoyed this one much more than last night.....obviously just not feeling it yesterday! Went grand, although I did get a stitch twice on this one (came and went very quickly), same thing happened yesterday....but I never get them, hopefully wont become a regular occurrence!

Sunday 31st

(9m) 14.5km @ 5:58/km – AVG HR 132bpm (69%)

LSR done and dusted for this week, really enjoyed this one and felt great doing it! Same route as last week, along the canal, with an extra bit tagged on before turning off the and back to the roads! Thats 32km for the week now, so that should see me in nice shape for starting a Marathon plan.....which I still haven't picked yet!

Noticed my Garmin had a layer of condensation on the inside of the glass though during this run....I remember noticing it happen on a run a few weeks ago too! Hope it's not going to end up damaging it, but there's obviously a seal broken somehow allowing moisture in. So it's going to spend the day in a bowl of rice in the bold corner until it's dried out!:p

Just a recap on totals for the month of May and Year to Date!

Monthly (km)|Year to Date (km)
    124|280

Tuesday 3rd

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:02/km – AVG HR 142bpm (74%)

Took yesterday as a rest day, and I needed it too. My legs were killing me after the LSR on Saturday, and then Saturday and Sunday I spent most the day on my bike. Felt back to normal today though!

Did this as sort of a tempo run. 2kms first and last @ 5:30/km and 3kms in between at 4:48, 4:42 and 4:44. Another run tomorrow and then rest on Thursday as I will be shifting my LSR to Friday this week!

Also have signed up for a 10k in Paris on the 15th of June! Was a bit pricey considering the 25e entry fee (but Im a sucker for a souvenir t-shirt), accom and travel, but will be worth it as I have never been to Paris, so its an excuse to race and see the city! Must restrict sightseeing to after the race though to ensure I've got fresh legs!:rolleyes:

Tuesday 3rd

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:02/km – AVG HR 142bpm (74%)

Took yesterday as a rest day, and I needed it too. My legs were killing me after the LSR on Saturday, and then Saturday and Sunday I spent most the day on my bike. Felt back to normal today though!

Did this as sort of a tempo run. 2kms first and last @ 5:30/km and 3kms in between at 4:48, 4:42 and 4:44. Another run tomorrow and then rest on Thursday as I will be shifting my LSR to Friday this week!

Also have signed up for a 10k in Paris on the 15th of June! Was a bit pricey considering the 25e entry fee (but Im a sucker for a souvenir t-shirt), accom and travel, but will be worth it as I have never been to Paris, so its an excuse to race and see the city! Must restrict sightseeing to after the race though to ensure I've got fresh legs!:rolleyes:

Between yourself, The Bitter Lemon and Blockic running in fancy locations I'm suffering from running envy!

Well in that case then I probably shouldn't tell you that I'll be doing my LSR in Bruges on Friday morning! :p Heading there for the weekend and Ive been told I have do the loop of the city along the canal while there!

But ill be back home to the same old routes in no time! Gotta do it while I can!

Well in that case then I probably shouldn't tell you that I'll be doing my LSR in Bruges on Friday morning! :p Heading there for the weekend and Ive been told I have do the loop of the city along the canal while there!

But ill be back home to the same old routes in no time! Gotta do it while I can!
    Ah feck off! Bruges is fab.

Ive only heard good things about it, looking forward to it!

Wednesday 4th

(3.75m) 6km @ 5:52/km – AVG HR 123bpm (64%)

Easy run today, Garmin wouldn't pick up the satellite signal for ages though, got sick of waiting around for it and started to run, finally picked it up around 500m in, and I saw that I was going about 30 sec/km faster than I had planned, so eased back a bit to a steady pace and kept it there! Nice and rainy today....just like home!

That's it now for midweek until the LSR on Friday!

Friday 6th

(9.4m) 15km @ 6:11/km – AVG HR 132bpm (69%)

Lovely LSR in Bruges on Friday morning as I was there for the weekend. Did two laps of the city, all along mostly shaded canals, beautiful scenery and nice and flat. My girlfriend was arriving in on the train in the afternoon, so I made sure to arrive there a few hours before and get this run in while I had the chance! I was very happy with it....but dunno if she was too impressed to be greeted by a sweaty, post-run rob w though, especially after not seeing each other in a while! :pac::pac:

Tuesday 10th

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:20/km – AVG HR 134bpm (70%)

Intended on doing 5km easy, but ended up as more of a short progression run, picking up with each km as I went on 5:32,5:30,5:19,5:13 and 4:49. Nice to get out after a long day stuck indoors in stuffy atmoshphere....although it's very humid here at the moment, so was sweating buckets anyway!

Will be running short and easy pace Wed and Thurs this week and then resting until the 10k on Sunday! Found out today there is 20,000 signed up for this race, gonna be mayhem I think but it looks well organised with wave starts and pacers etc. I am in the 45 min. wave and hope to get right up the front if I can so I have a bit of space to run!Really looking forward to it and hope I can get a new PB after being a bit dissapointed aftre the last 10km came up short (measurement wise!)!

Wednesday 11th

(3.8m) 6km @ 5:47/km – AVG HR 132bpm (69%)

This was a point to point run, which I rarely ever do! Nice for a change an on a new route!

Thursday 12th

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:59/km – AVG HR 128bpm (67%)

Easy run yesterday morning early. So that's it now until the race on Sunday, feet up infront of the TV and watching the World Cup! Hopefully all goes well on Sunday with conditions etc. Would like to bag a PB before starting the next block of training for the Marathon next week!:cool:

Wednesday 11th

(3.8m) 6km @ 5:47/km – AVG HR 132bpm (69%)

This was a point to point run, which I rarely ever do! Nice for a change an on a new route!

Thursday 12th

(3.2m) 5km @ 5:59/km – AVG HR 128bpm (67%)

Easy run yesterday morning early. So that's it now until the race on Sunday, feet up infront of the TV and watching the World Cup! Hopefully all goes well on Sunday with conditions etc. Would like to bag a PB before starting the next block of training for the Marathon next week!:cool:

Best of luck !

Sunday 15th

Race Day: L'Equipe 10km, Paris

I had spent ages trying to find a suitable race for June and was really struggling to find anything that wasn’t either a trail run, some random distance I wasn’t interested in (e.g. 11.5km, 14km etc) or too far away or hard to get to without a car. So I was himming and hawing about entering this due to the fact it would cost a fair bit to get there, entry fee of €25 and accommodation (as there was no bib collection on the day) but I decided to go for it anyway (on a budget!) and Im glad I did! Due to the fact I was trying to do it on the cheap I found a ‘hostel’ a couple of metro stops outside Paris so it would be easy to get to the race the next day. Now, I have stayed in some weird and wonderful hostels on my travels in the past....but this one took the biscuit – full of shady characters, including the ‘landlady’ (who I reckon spends her free time writing reviews for the hostel as it had excellent write-ups on the booking site!!). So I ended up sleeping feck all with one eye open for most of the night. As soon as my alarm went off at 6:30am I leaped up and got the feck outta there! So not the most ideal pre race night prep!

Pre Race:

As I had left so early, I was one of the first to arrive at the race, maybe only a hundred people around already waiting for the bag drop to open. So I just walked about having a nose around and stretching/jogging. Dropped the bag in and took a 10min jog to the starting area. Again I was one of the first in the 45min pen, but wanted to be so as to avoid congestion, as it was a massive field running! Once it started to fill up a bit I took my place right up the front of the wave! Hoping to pull off a 45min time, so aiming for even 4:30 splits! Good atmosphere around the place too and it felt a bit like DCM as it was such a big event!

Kms 1 - 5

It had been forecast to be a hot and sunny day, but no sign of it yet once we were off and a nice cool breeze around, perfect for running.....or so I thought! Once we took the first turn about 500m in, there was the sun hiding around the corner waiting for us! But thankfully there was plenty of shade throughout the race, with very few completely exposed areas – so it was easy to keep cool! The first km went by nice and easy in 4:22, (a couple of seconds faster than expected) so I thought I’d try slow it down but 2nd and 3rd km’s were the same at 4:22 and 4:24 (even though I nearly got taken out by an OAP who decided he was crossing the street dragging a suitcase through the horde of runners coming his way.....he actually looked he regretted his decision though about half way across!:confused:). I did ease off a bit for the next one which was 4:31 and the 5th came in at 4:28. Moving along nicely on the beautiful streets of Paris for the first time, so I was trying to take in the surroundings at the same time as running! There were loads of bands playing by the side of the road, I think I counted 6 in the first 5k, but lost count after. Great craic....and they created a lovely atmosphere!

Kms 6 -9

The 6th and 7th kms went by in much the same fashion, 4:27 and 4:29. But by the 8th I was starting to feel a bit tired and knew I was pushing myself. There had been a couple of drags in the previous couple of kms and it was beginning to hurt a little (but that’s a good thing, right?). So no matter what I tried I couldn’t keep the pace below my target and did the 8th in 4:34. Not far off, and I had time in the bank from before but I didn’t want to let it slip away, and I managed to get the 9th back on target, bang on 4:30! Good stuff only 1 to go now!

Km 10

This split is worthy of a heading of its own! As we turned onto the last straight with just over 1k to go, I could see the finish line way off at the end of the street.......and it was all downhill! I put the boot down and gave it everything I had left. Which resulted in my fastest ever full split in a race of 3:54 :eek:. I enjoyed that last km so much, was lovely to have a long downhill finish, especially as I wasn’t really aware of the course profile at all so had no idea what to expect!

Result:

So, I finished up in 44:15, which is a PB of just over 3 mins (not counting the last 10k in May, which was short!) Absolutely delighted with this result, considering I had missed 3 months of running over the winter with an injury, but it just confirms that my PB’s from last year were definitely a bit soft! Not sure of my next goal races but most likely Athlone HM and DCM, with possibly a 10m/10k before then!

Oh and most importantly, the spread was great......I hovered around the tables for about fifteen mins afterwards stuffing my face with fruit, cakes, jellies, cereal bars, crackers and water before heading off for a change and a ‘quick’ clean with some baby wipes before heading off to do a whirlwind trip of Paris. Covered just shy of another 20km by bike and on foot the rest of the day, so I am absolutely fooked today and will be sitting on my arse for the remainder of it!

Split |[Avg Pace (per km)|Avg HR

1 | 4:22 | 153 (80%)
    2 | 4:22 | 160 (83%)
    3 | 4:34 | 159 (83%)
    4 | 4:31 | 159 (83%)
    5 | 4:28 | 159 (83%)
    6 | 4:27 | 158 (82%)
    7 | 4:29 | 159 (83%)
    8 | 4:34 | 156 (81%)
    9 | 4:30 | 158 (82%)
    10 | 3:54 | 162 (84%)

Summary| 4:23| 158 (82%)

Congrats on that fab pb! I'm very jealous of both the time and the location! Running in Athlone will be a fierce come down from the street of Paris!

Thanks.....Haha, I am looking forward to Athlone though, sounds like a good race and will be a change away from the Dublin Series Half too. Which reminds me.....I better go sign up for it!

Thursday 19th

(4m) 6.4km @ 6:04/km – AVG HR 124bpm (65%)

First outing since the race, as my legs were pretty sore all week. So had a spin on the bike instead on Tuesday and also early this morning before heading out for a run in the evening. Still a bit stiff starting out so took it handy until they loosened up a bit and then home for plenty of stretching afterwards.

Settled on the Marathon plan tonight, its a mixture of 2 HH plans (Novice 2/Advanced) with some other modifications, namely swapping a couple of the cross training sessions on a Sunday for Recovery Runs instead.

Round 2 begins on Monday! :D