If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

If nice guys finish last, then I'm in training to be a badass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭rob w

Sunday 20th

(8.7m) 14k @ 6:15/km

The last LSR before the Marathon. Met up with a group from Boards again (Skidrow, lmguillou and Lizzy C), great company again! Felt like I wanted to do a few more when I finished but thought it would be just better to stick to the plan.., so left it at that! Cant believe thats the last LSR done and dusted

Tuesday 22nd

(5m) 8k @ 5:57/km

Last run of any distance which I feel I can call a workout.:rolleyes: Out in the lashings of rain, but actually really enjoyed it, was one of the best runs Ive had in ages. Spent most of it just thinking back over the last few months and all the hard work that has been put in. Seemed like Id never make it to this stage of the plan back when I began....but here I am, raring to go for Monday. Finding it hard to hold back any more, and this week is dragging by sooooo sllllooooowwwwllllyyyy!:(

Also spent half the run just smiling to myself like a weirdo as I was thinking about race day and just trying to imagine the buzz around the place. Especially the last couple of miles heading back into town, cant wait to corner at Trinity and take on that home stretch now!!

BRING IT ON!!!:cool:

Wednesday 23rd

(1.8m) 2.8k @ 6:00/km

Tonight was supposed to be a 30min cross training session, but didn't fancy heading out on the bike in the pitch dark, as it was way too late when I got home. Just did 15mins at easy pace instead, as I figured that's the same as a 30min cycle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭lmguillou

rob w wrote: »
    Wednesday 23rd

(1.8m) 2.8k @ 6:00/km

Tonight was supposed to be a 30min cross training session, but didn't fancy heading out on the bike in the pitch dark, as it was way too late when I got home. Just did 15mins at easy pace instead, as I figured that's the same as a 30min cycle!

Do you have any more run this week? I was supposed to do 5 and 6k yesterday and today but as I couldn't get up yesterday I did my 5k this morning and will do my 6k tomorrow... I ran for 30 min didn't even sweat :)

lmguillou wrote: »
    Do you have any more run this week? I was supposed to do 5 and 6k yesterday and today but as I couldn't get up yesterday I did my 5k this morning and will do my 6k tomorrow... I ran for 30 min didn't even sweat :)

Ill just be doing 1 or 2 miles on Saturday before the expo and then a short walk or something on Sunday!!

I was the same on that run lastnight, didn't break a sweat either....haven't run that short a distance in ages!!

Saturday 26th

(1.9m) 3k @ 6:30/km

Finally the final final run before raceday!!;)

Went to the expo early and picked up my number, good buzz round the place. Got back and went straight out for three easy km on the Clontarf seafront in the pissing rain and wind. Bit of metal prep for Monday should it happen....although things are starting to look up weather wise, so fingers crossed.

I definitely noticed a bit of a spring in my step today, don't know if its the excitement building for Monday but Im going to take it as a sign that tapering has done its job and Im good to go.....now only one more day to wait! Plenty of rest tonight and will be enjoying the extra hour in bed! :)

DUBLIN CITY MARATHON RACE REPORT: 28th October 2013

I have the report broken up into miles (and km) but paced in km. Confusing I know, but I’m a bit of a metric-sexual bi-metrical when it comes to distances, plus it’s easier to break it up into miles when trying to remember the markers/milestones around the course!

Warning: Looking back over this after finishing it, and it’s a loooonnng one!

Pre Race:

Up at 5am after the first night’s unbroken sleep I had all week, I was worried I wouldn’t sleep a wink. Usual but slightly larger than normal breakfast of porridge w/ honey & banana, bagel, yoghurt and juice! Grabbed everything I had packed and hit the road around 7am. Dropped my stuff off in the hotel just around from the start line and jogged from there to the baggage drop entrance. Had a little warm up and stretch then before heading around to the start for about 8.30. Probably there a bit too early but thought it would have been busier. Pushed up to about 100m from the 4hr pacers and off we went. Plan was to be conservative, maintain the distance between the pacers, and if feeling good later on push on ahead! (Aiming to finish with an avg split pace of 5:42/km)

Miles 0 – 5 (Km 0 -8)

We were off….My first marathon, but I think it took a while to sink in that this race would be a longer one than I’m used to. The first few miles were nice and easy, I was enjoying it and talking to some runners around me also doing there first. Bit congested though and a couple of bottlenecks here and there which slowed the pace down a bit. But I was loving it, already so many people were out supporting down on O’ Connell St and I just took it all in. Found a bit more space as we turned down the N. Circular heading for the gates of the park. I was back on familiar territory having trained a lot in the park all summer. Kept the pace nice and steady, pacers still in sight, was feeling great.

Splits (per km) were 5:52, 5:41, 5:51, 5:32, 5:37, 5:39, 5:41, 5:37

Miles 6 – 12 (Km 9 - 20)

My parents, the first supporters of the day had told me they’d be around the park somewhere, so kept an eye out all down Chesterfield Ave to spot them, but no sign. A bit disappointed as we turned down Furze Rd, but not surprised as my Dad would be late for his own funeral! Just carried on passed the 10km marker here and pace was slightly slower than 4hr pace but still on plan. Then spotted my folks just at the bend onto the Upper Glen Rd….I stand corrected!! Got a great cheer from them and they gave me a nice boost. Just after I overheard the guy beside me chatting to two girls (on their 1st mara too, and had been saying they don’t like hills) and he was yapping on about how steep “Heartbreak Hill” was at 20m and “wait till you see it etc”……I just thought “What a dick, that’s some encouragement out of him to the two girls”. So I pushed on a little bit till out of earshot. Took the first gel of the day here, as I planned to get them in early rather than later. Was a good change to be running down those hills in the park as I am usually torturing myself running up them in training and the Race Series! Back out of the park onto the streets now, and grabbed two bottles from the water station, a trend I kept up from there till the finish! Passed under the first “tunnel” of the day, great fun cheering and shouting passing through, the noise was incredible! Passing through Inchicore and some girls were shouting “Come on Rob, Well Done”. I was like “Who the hell was that?”. Took me a few minutes to realise my name was printed on my race number!! Coming up to Mile 11 and I was watching out for my girlfriend who was waiting with some water that I could pop an electrolyte tab into, saw her at the last minute grabbed it and kept going. Took a second gel somewhere around here!

Splits were 5:48, 5:44, 5:44, 5:32, 5:44, 5:24, 5:45, 5:36, 5:36, 5:26, 5:45, 5:29

Miles 13 – 19 (Km 21 – 31)

Halfway point already and I was flying, still feeling great and really enjoying myself (Crossed the HM marker in 2:00:25). Started to wonder how long this would last though but decided to just keep the head down, stick to the plan and think positive….far too early for negative thoughts I said! Still on target now and a negative split on the cards if I come in under goal time! Gel number three went in here somewhere around Mile 15 I think! I had done the second part of the course before on an LSR a few weeks previous and that really helped me on the day I found, would recommend it to anyone doing DCM first time, nothing like familiar ground! Mental boost thinking, “Ah sure I’ve done this on a Saturday morning and it was nice and handy!”. Don’t remember much else of what was going on for these miles though, must have just zoned out! Although I did meet my girlfriend at Mile 17 again and she gave a great cheer as I passed! I remember thinking around Mile 18 that I better start catching these pacers, and tried soon after taking gel number four, but started to feel a stitch come on, so decided to hold off till it passed and I’d make another effort then.

Splits were 5:24, 5:19, 5:26, 5:29, 5:31, 5:36, 5:37, 5:35, 5:24, 5:31, 5:43

Miles 20 – 24 (Km 32 - 39)

The dreaded “Heartbreak Hill” was a piece of cake. Couldn’t believe how smoothly I went up it, it is only a short hill after all, and I can understand people struggling on tired legs, but I felt great and then gave me some boost once I got to the top “All downhill from here” . Pacers were in sight still, now was the time to catch them. I started to pick it up and caught them coming down the Stillorgan Flyover. Introduced myself to Marthastew, who gave me great encouragement to push on, so off I went!! 22m+ came around…….This is new territory, I’ve gone over my longest LSR distance……and I was loving it! I was giving shout outs to supporters with flags for Dunboyne AC, Kilkenny etc….anywhere with a place name, just call it out and you get a great cheer back! Smiling all the way through these miles. I was feeling fantastic and passing out HUNDREDS of people between here and the end (1200+ people over the last six miles according to the results!) and putting distance between me and the pacers..........the pacing worked, all that training and dedication was paying off and boy did I know it! Didn’t feel like taking more gels, so grabbed some wine gums off spectators and munched on them instead!

Splits were 5:45, 5:37, 5:40, 5:22, 5:19, 5:18, 5:36, 5:33

Miles 25 – 26.2 (Km 40 – 42.2)

Passed by my girlfriend once more at Grand Canal St, chucked my gel belt to her as it was annoying me and gave her a shout to stick on a pint of Guinness….just as she unfurled a sign with a picture of a pint saying "first rounds on me"….great minds think alike and all that! I was racing for that Guinness now, been way too long since I had a pint (self enforced policy). Saw my family again on Westland Row and they seemed as happy to see me coming in one piece as I was! Still enjoying myself, big smiley head on me increasing in size as the road width decreased in size around Trinity, supports seemed to be closing in and were so loud. I will NEVER forget the last mile and a half, the support was absolutely amazing, and writing this now is making me want to get out there and do it again! Heard from the FM104 roadhog as I passed it that O Hehir had won in 2:18 and I just thought fair play to him! Flew down to the finish line and let out a big roar when I saw 3:57:25 on the clock. I had done it, crossed the line in under 4hrs, negative split in the bag, plenty left in the tank and a smile from ear to ear!:D

Splits were 5:28, 5:19, 5:16 and (.68km @ 4:57)

Post Race:

Collected the medal and goodie bag and headed to the baggage area. Starting to feel the cold instantly, and legs were screaming at me……Had to laugh at all of us hobbling around! Was just about to drop my bag on the ground and get changed till I saw someone trying to bend over in slow motion to pick his up and I thought, “that’ll be me if I drop it on the ground”, so hung the bag on the railings and took out the change of clothes from there! Quick stretch in the cool down tent and headed out to meet my family and after a bit of a walk around to find them, got a great congratulations from all, a nice lunch and then back to the hotel to have a cold bath for my legs. Torture, but felt good after! After that it was off to McGrattans for that pint of Guinness I’d been waiting for…….glorious! Good to meet up with a few boardsies there, but none of the novices unfortunately. Didn’t realise some of you were there till after I looked at boards once I’d gotten back to the hotel, we should have made some plans….next time! Legs got pretty sore later on that night and hardly slept a wink as I was just roasting.....blood flowing around the body in repair mode I think!

I am over the moon with the outcome of this race, finished with plenty in the tank, and was already thinking about next year! I think this is because I listened to the advice of “Enjoy your first, you only get one”, and I will most likely go on to preach the same to future novices! Will be definitely targeting a faster time next year for sure, as I feel I could have easily finished up in 3:45 on this one! Lets see what the training produces over the next 12 months. Right now Im thinking Ill take a week off, and then jump in to the Hall Higdon Post Marathon Plan wrapping that up with a 5/10k before Xmas. Just want to say thanks to all the posters who have contributed to the novices thread over the past 6 months, especially Career_Move for mentoring. The advice given on here is second to none, and the same goes for anyone who I’ve met up with for LSR’s during the training. Im sure I’ll see you out there again!

My Overall Splits

Screenshot_2013-10-28-15-34-30.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

That's a fantastic report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

Excellent report & a perfect race by all accounts, you make it sound so easy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭donnacha

Well done rob w - you ran an amazing and well disciplined race. I take my hat off to you.

Hope to be joining you on the adventures of the graduates thread next yr :P

Thanks guys, and well done yourselves! Were all marathon runners now!
    donnacha wrote: »

Looking forward to it already! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

donnacha wrote: »
    Well done rob w - you ran an amazing and well disciplined race. I take my hat off to you.

Last year That thread was started pretty much straight away ;) Just takes someone to open it :)

Well done Rob, your race mirrors exactly my race in 2009 when I did the exact same time, perfect negative split! This year I did the exact opposite, it s not that enjoyable :D Hope to see you in the park during the winter ;)

Thanks....you still got a PB though, right? I'll definitely still be around over the winter, quiet week this week though. Going to try and get out for a run at the weekend if I can at all!

Yes got a PB, looking for something flat for the AUtumn 2014, just got the reulsts from Berlin haven't been picked. Today is the first day i can go up and down the stairs normally ( and not backward...) I may go cycling this weekend for an hour and see if I can do short jogs next week ;)

Haha, the stairs werent fun at all the last few days, back to normal now though! :)

Hard luck about berlin.....plenty of options and plenty of time though for others. I have been looking for a HM around Lille for the Spring, something to target while im over there! For the Autumn im probably going to do Dublin again before looking further afield!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Martypk

Great report and well done on your time. Enjoyed reading it. Sounds like the training went well. It seems like you had more to give! It`s interesting that a lot of us first timers are looking to run another one. I`m thinking of one in Norway ( Midnight Sun Marathon ) in June and then DCM of course!

Martypk wrote: »
    Great report and well done on your time. Enjoyed reading it. Sounds like the training went well. It seems like you had more to give! It`s interesting that a lot of us first timers are looking to run another one. I`m thinking of one in Norway ( Midnight Sun Marathon ) in June and then DCM of course!

Thanks. We've got the bug now! ;)

Just looked up the Midnight Sun Mara....looks good! Any reason in particular or is just for something different? I'll just do DCM next year, with a couple of HM's on the way I think, (plans may change though, its a bit early to know!)

Hope your recovering well from Monday!

Recap on totals for the month of October and Year to Date!

Monthly (km)|Year to Date (km)
    165|1082

(*Also did 98km cycling)

October was a quiet one, due to taper! But Im proud to say I've run a Marathon now!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Congrats on a great race Rob. You looked really strong when you stormed past the pacers on the Stillorgan Road. Nice to catch up in McGrattans too. I've no doubt we'll be seeing a much faster things from you in the future. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Martypk

Thanks. We've got the bug now! ;)

Just looked up the Midnight Sun Mara....looks good! Any reason in particular or is just for something different? I'll just do DCM next year, with a couple of HM's on the way I think, (plans may change though, its a bit early to know!)

Hope your recovering well from Monday!

I`ve taken my family there for a fishing holiday the last few years. Spectacular scenery, great wildlife, northern lights, everybody speaks english. Plus the sea fishing is amazing. The Marathons in June so a good time to recover for the DCM. That`s going to be a permanent fixture in my running calender I think.
    Recovered well thanks..still a bit worried about the right knee, but it`ll be tested out soon:rolleyes:.

Same with me for the HMs. Seems to be a good way to focus properly.
    Looks like we might have all the novices from this year running the DCM again next year.

Saturday 2nd

(1.25m) 2k @ 6:07/km

Needed to get out for some fresh air so popped out for what I thought was going to be two miles. Legs had been feeling ok, and had been stretching all week, but they just didn't feel right when I got out there, so just took it very easy and cut it short. Underestimated the toll a marathon can have on your body!:eek: I'll give it a few more days before I get back out. Starting "Zero Week" of the recovery plan today, so ill rest up till Thursday!

Martypk wrote: »
    I`ve taken my family there for a fishing holiday the last few years. Spectacular scenery, great wildlife, northern lights, everybody speaks english. Plus the sea fishing is amazing. The Marathons in June so a good time to recover for the DCM. That`s going to be a permanent fixture in my running calender I think.
    Recovered well thanks..still a bit worried about the right knee, but it`ll be tested out soon:rolleyes:.

Same with me for the HMs. Seems to be a good way to focus properly.
    Looks like we might have all the novices from this year running the DCM again next year.

Sounds great, its somewhere Id love to go! A bit jealous!

Take as much rest as you need, and then some more. (I went out yesterday for 2k, thought my legs were back to normal...but still a bit tight). No point aggravating your injury for the sake of a few more days rest!

Thursday 7th

(4m) 6.4k @ 5:26/km

This was my first real run after the marathon. Felt a bit of pain in my groin area though, so have taken it easy since. Plenty of stretching/foam rolling, hopefully I haven't picked up an injury!

Getting very antsy and need to get out running, but think I need to rest some more to be sure Im ok to get back out. Will do some cycling instead for a few days and see how it goes. Think I will have to forget about the Waterford HM in December now though!:(

Cycling, Cycling, Cycling.....:(

Need to get back running. Think my groin is starting to feel better with the rest, will do a short easy run on Monday I think and see how it goes!

Wednesday 20th

(1.6m) 2.6k @ 6:27/km

Training has been a disaster since the marathon, havent managed a run over 4m since. Did 1.5m lastnight and started to get a pain in my groin after about 1m, so headed back home. Im absolutely gutted, all I want to do is run. :(

Never had an injury from running up until now. It must have happened during/post DCM, but there's no one point I remember thinking Id injured myself. Just been feeling that pain since the first run after DCM (about 1 week or so after!). I don't know what to do, think Ill have to make an appointment with the physio anyway. I had rested for 2 weeks since my last run, and felt good until I got moving again!:(

Wednesday 20th

(1.6m) 2.6k @ 6:27/km

Training has been a disaster since the marathon, havent managed a run over 4m since. Did 1.5m lastnight and started to get a pain in my groin after about 1m, so headed back home. Im absolutely gutted, all I want to do is run. :(

Never had an injury from running up until now. It must have happened during/post DCM, but there's no one point I remember thinking Id injured myself. Just been feeling that pain since the first run after DCM (about 1 week or so after!). I don't know what to do, think Ill have to make an appointment with the physio anyway. I had rested for 2 weeks since my last run, and felt good until I got moving again!:(

Hard luck Rob, physio is definitely your best bet at this stage. Hopefully it doesnt have you out for much longer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Very frustrating for your robw. Like shortstuff! said, it's probably time to get it seen to. Can you focus on core/strengthening for the moment to take your mind off it? It's probably a good opportunity to do this. Best of luck.

Thanks guys! Will have to figure out some sort of plan to work on core/strengthing! Physio booked for Monday, hopefully I can find out whats up and what I need to do!

P****d off! :(

Not good news from the physio yesterday unfortunately.

I have irritated the cartilage in my hip, which is referring the pain to my groin, (that's what was making me think it was a groin strain!) He reckons its due to a weakness in my left leg and and it took the brunt of the repeated impact during the marathon. This is even though my legs are and feel stronger than ever!

It going to take anywhere between 6 weeks to 4 months to recover properly and strengthen it up again. Optimistic it will be closer to the 6 weeks than the 4 months though. He is putting together a bit of a program for me to get it back to full strength again, so Ill have to stick with it and hope it works out!

There goes any hopes of running again this side of Christmas anyway. Im gutted......but I can still cycle, so at least I can still keep active anyway! What a crappy way to end a great year of running for me! Just goes to show marathons are TOUGH on the body.

Guess, Ill have to put the log on hold for a while

TO BE CONTINUED.....

Hard luck Rob... you'll come back stronger than ever no doubt, tough blow though:(