Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SYRIA WAR MEGATHREAD - Mod Note First Post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

seanie_c wrote: »
    Right.

But of course, how naive of me.

When white phosphorus was raining down on Palestinians some years back, do you think IFA were in helping Palestinians? :D

I mean..."they go where they're not invited and care very deeply for civilians caught up in this struggle for freedom and democracy" . . . etc

Who do you think sponsors this NGO?
    Do you think it might be the same people sponsoring the opposition fighters?

Undoubtedly.

I asked you before to point out which terrorist groups the Israelis were supporting in Syria and how.. I am genuinely want to know which groups? and what support is being given?

You have pointed out a group of doctors, physicians, psychologists, medical staff who have helped people all over the world, and are currently helping anyone caught in the Syrian war zone, risking their own lives in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

Jonny7 wrote: »
    I asked you before to point out which terrorist groups the Israelis were supporting in Syria and how.. I am genuinely want to know which groups? and what support is being given?

It doesn't say what groups in the article, it only refers to them as "rebels" which is why I use quotes.

NGOs have always operated covertly in foreign countries for the benefit of financial and political adversaries.

In Russia, since last year, all groups that receive funding from abroad, engaged in political activities must register as ‘foreign agents’.

Gal Lusky, the CEO of IFA said herself in an interview that her organization operates in countries having "no diplomatic relations with Israel".

Why?

If she's willing to disclose who funds her activities abroad, I'll give her the benefit of the doubt.
    You have pointed out a group of doctors, physicians, psychologists, medical staff who have helped people all over the world, and are currently helping anyone caught in the Syrian war zone, risking their own lives in the process.

How very noble of them to risk their lives helping Syrian "rebels" destroy Syria...

It doesn't say what groups in the article, it only refers to them as "rebels" which is why I use quotes.

Exactly, it doesn't mention any groups in the article. I have no idea why it's being embellished as something it clearly isn't.
    How very noble of them to risk their lives helping Syrian "rebels" destroy Syria...

You are trying to insinuate that a group of doctors and medical staff are "destroying" Syria by helping people affected by the war. It's bizarre to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Apparently the Islamist State of Iraq is attacking the FSA, and is rumoured to have taken one of the towns bordering Turkey.

And now the FSA are asking Liwa Tawhid to help them fight the ISS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Doctors Without Borders

When the fuck did MSF become a "pro-Israeli" NGO?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Yes, they are pro-Israeli NGO (Non governmental Organizations) helping "rebels"

rubbish of the highest order.

I first came across Médecins Sans Frontières when I worked abroad years ago.Guess where that was?Gaza and the Westbank.Pro Israeli NGO mehole.

Jonny7 wrote:
    You are trying to insinuate that a group of doctors and medical staff are "destroying" Syria by helping people affected by the war. It's bizarre to say the least.

We live in a very bizarre world.

For example, Nodin and returnNull (who I won't be wasting my time responding to) have commented on Doctors Without Borders.

Kouchner, a staunch supporter of Israel and founder of DWB supported intervention of Iraq and Libya. Who do you think helped wounded Al Qaeda members while fighting Gaddafi's forces?

By the way, since Gaddafi had a bayonet stuck in his anus, Libya is a fantastic success as you know . . .cotton candy growing from trees, roses sprouting from sewers, at least they said on TV it was so, must be true.

When DWB were supporting the KLA against Serbia during Kosovo operations, it was later revealed an organ harvesting network had been established.

Lots of people missing..who can say where? Who cares?

Oh yeah, Kosovo is a paradise now too since NATO liberated the local population...just like Iraq and Afghanistan and naturally Syria will enjoy living in a paradise too, just as soon as we've finished demolishing it.

It's illogical to query who funds an NGO...there would never be any conflict of interest at all. It's completely absurd to think they would be belligerents in a country they haven't been invited to.

Diabolical.

For example, Nodin and returnNull (who I won't be wasting my time responding to) have commented on Doctors Without Borders.

Kouchner, a staunch supporter of Israel and founder of DWB supported intervention of Iraq and Libya. Who do you think helped wounded Al Qaeda members while fighting Gaddafi's forces?

By the way, since Gaddafi had a bayonet stuck in his anus, Libya is a fantastic success as you know . . .cotton candy growing from trees, roses sprouting from sewers, at least they said on TV it was so, must be true.

When DWB were supporting the KLA against Serbia during Kosovo operations, it was later revealed an organ harvesting network had been established.

Lots of people missing..who can say where? Who cares?

Oh yeah, Kosovo is a paradise now too since NATO liberated the local population...just like Iraq and Afghanistan and naturally Syria will enjoy living in a paradise too, just as soon as we've finished demolishing it.

It's illogical to query who funds an NGO...there would never be any conflict of interest at all. It's completely absurd to think they would be belligerents in a country they haven't been invited to.

Diabolical.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

He did not support the war on Iraq. He is against the settlements. He is a co-founder of MSF. The nonsense about MSF the KLA and organ theft approaches "blood libel" territory, given the context.

It reads to me like your formula is "Koucher=Jew, therefore Israel". You'll have to do better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Syrian Kurdish Forces had some major victories in the last few days and have routed Al-Qaeda forces out of many of their Towns.

I see Turkish Warplanes shot down a Syrian Helicopter and Rebels then shot the pilot.

A fairly brutal act by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

returnNull wrote: »
    lol

Laughing out of ignorance.

yawn

Nodin wrote: »
    He did not support the war on Iraq. He is against the settlements. He is a co-founder of MSF.

He opposes war with Iran too of course, despite supporting sanctions and warning of war against Iran over their nuclear program.

I think it's perfectly acceptable for Israel to have nukes, but I have a feeling you would disagree with me on that...
    The nonsense about MSF the KLA and organ theft approaches "blood libel" territory, given the context.

This is why I don't reply to your posts.
    Nearly 30k posts over 5 years on these forums only indicates one thing to me.

He opposes war with Iran too of course, despite supporting sanctions and warning of war against Iran over their nuclear program.

I think it's perfectly acceptable for Israel to have nukes, but I have a feeling you would disagree with me on that...

This is why I don't reply to your posts.
    Nearly 30k posts over 5 years on these forums only indicates one thing to me.
    lol

Nodin got me thinking about this today as I was walking home.

Just about how silly life is...and how inconsequential our little debate about Syria and Israel was and even more ridiculous was the entire conflict which nobody really cared about.

It didn't matter to me (obviously) who was right or wrong.
    But I knew my stuff and was on top form while trying to articulate my points.

It seemed irrational I should provoke accusations of hatred when I have always tried to get on with everyone the best I can ...because.

It started raining, heavy downpour at this point.
    Water rolling down the street, never see the like of it in daylight.
    No taxis around...it's a strange feeling to hear only raindrops battering off the ground and the sound of water rolling down the street.

But I started thinking to myself "Imagine the poor bastard that has to deliver milk in that weather"

Or the bread man, or the post man cycling along on his rothar.
    Imagine his disappointment each day looking out at the weather while he's doing his job.

It's a tough one...and I can't fault him for wanting to quit.

In an ideal world, it wouldn't rain unless we had umbrellas.
    Sure it twouldnt hurt if we had a few weeks of grand weather for the good harvest...

Milk man delivers milk.
    Bread man delivers bread.
    Post man delivers bills...

hang on a minute....bills?

Tell the post man "don't want no bills. nah man...wrong address, send them back ..."

*reading* "...we are sending thugs to confiscate your property..... for a debt you owe us...in another life"

School didn't teach me about all these horrible parts of freedom and democracy but it's brutal.

*lightbulb* "No worries, boards.ie has all the answers..."
    Just ask for Nodin.

Everything else is just absolute nonsense.

He's just a stones throw away from your pipeline to knowledge....just imagine. A wealth of knowledge at your fingertips.

Nodin's world, where everything is just nonsense and paradise at the same time.

There are basically fairies dancing around Syria right now distributing ration packs with a smile.

Syrians are overwhelmed with happiness at the destruction of their country. How you should see them laugh as RPG hits Hospital or School..because.

As a braindead observer, I've got to appreciate they may find putting an RPG into their own hospital or school a bit more acceptable than you might.

Certainly, you wouldn't begrudge an odd grenade being lobbed into your local hospital or school, certainly not in the name of freedom and democracy my dear chap.

Right now, Libyans are rejoicing at the picture of Colonel Gaddafi being impaled on a Bayonet.

This is truly wonderful hope and change we all desire.

*offscreen*
    Mr.Potato Head, where will you vacation this winter?

"I know where my next holiday in the sun is....I just invested in this fantastic piece of property off the coast of Libya"

Oh ya.

"My wife was impressed by the package, if you know what I mean" *chuckle*

"I just pictured Gaddafi impaled on that old Bayonet and couldn't stop laughing, it was perfection in illustrating the civilized world AKA "us" to the Islamic world."

Look what you're missing out on.

You too can watch a country get destroyed, live on your TV.

Tune in for more ........***bombing and shooting of some poor brown people we don't really care about***....
    Next up, Gary Barlow goes head to head with Robbie Williams again after 14 years, will Robbie do it again?

I'm sure you just want to know...

John McCain, the face of freedom and democracy throughout the Middle East (and Vietnam orphanages incidentally)

"President Obama doesn’t believe in these values because he doesn’t believe in you. He doesn’t believe that human nature at liberty can rise above its weaknesses and build just, peaceful, prosperous societies," McCain wrote.

"Or, at least, he doesn’t believe Americans can. So he rules by using those weaknesses, by corruption, repression and violence. He rules for himself, not you."

He's really a true hero we should all aspire to be as brave as.
    Serve your sons and daughters up to be served...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Seanie, I get ya :)
    Sometimes it is in those surreal moments with the rain lashing down in an otherwise empty place that we ask ourselves what the hell is it all about...
    And yeah, gnashing our ways through the convoluted conspiracies that form the backdrop to Syria on the safe space that is boards.ie seems trite in comparison to the horror of what the actual people on the ground must be experiencing. Claiming to know the ins and outs of what is the ''truth'' behind the scenes, when in fact there is most likely no ''truth'', just more pointless slaughter and grimness that will be packaged into a story int he future so that it makes sense, when in fact it doesn't. Those kind sof ''truths'' shift too much to ever be eternal.
    And you could say the same all over. What is the point of us wringing our hands and analysing when we have sat back and watched the Balkans, Rwanda, Iraq, The Congo, and on and on and on? When you don't have to leave your own town to know that gruesomeness happens...that a woman could be kidnapped and tortured and raped and murdered and disposed of in a woods, that lad could get the head kicked in on him for going into the chipper.
    It's endless.
    It seems there is nothing one can do.
    And I think it was Gandhi who said that whatever you do will be meaningless, but you have to do it anyway. We have to let our ''representatives'' know that we do not support military intervention, that we support provision of aid to these countries so that people might be educated, cared for medically, fed and eventually enabled to have a decent standard of life so that mindless internecine violence does not seem like the best option.
    We can pray and send energy, if that is our bag. Personally i think that kind of stuff is what stops the whole place going to Hell in a hand cart.
    Most of all we can work on ourselves. Sort out our own inner wars. Get enlightened! Become a Bodhisattwa!! BE the sort of change we want to see in this mad, mixed up, beautiful world.

Peace Out Seanie. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Just came upon this quote by Carl Jung....
    (for what it's worth :) )
    We must be exceedingly careful not to project our own shadows too shamelessly; we are still swamped with projected illusions. If you imagine someone who is brave enough to withdraw all his projections, then you get an individual who is conscious of a pretty thick Shadow. Such a man has saddled himself with new problems and conflicts. He has become a serious problem to himself, as he is now unable to say that they do this or that, they are wrong, and they must be fought against. He lives in the “House of the Gathering.” Such a man knows that whatever is wrong in the world is in himself, and if he only learns to deal with his own Shadow he has done something real for the world. He has succeeded in shouldering at least an infinitesimal part of the gigantic, unsolved social problems of our day. These problems are mostly so difficult because they are poisoned by mutual projections. How can anyone see straight when he does not even see himself and the darkness he unconsciously carries with him into all dealings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Hmm.. there's that whole Iran-Syria-Hezbollah thing the US would like to screw up. There's also a pipeline planned to get Iranian gas to the Med that the US planners probably wouldn't mind being 'postponed'.

Is that the same pipeline that goes through Afghanistan and is the reason the US are there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Is that the same pipeline that goes through Afghanistan and is the reason the US are there?

No.

This is the one.
    Assad pursued negotiations for an alternative $10 billion pipeline plan with Iran, across Iraq to Syria, that would also potentially allow Iran to supply gas to Europe from its South Pars field shared with Qatar. The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the project was signed in July 2012 - just as Syria's civil war was spreading to Damascus and Aleppo - and earlier this year Iraq signed a framework agreement for construction of the gas pipelines.

The Iran-Iraq-Syria pipeline plan was a "direct slap in the face" to Qatar's plans. No wonder Saudi Prince Bandar bin Sultan, in a failed attempt to bribe Russia to switch sides, told President Vladmir Putin that "whatever regime comes after" Assad, it will be "completely" in Saudi Arabia's hands and will "not sign any agreement allowing any Gulf country to transport its gas across Syria to Europe and compete with Russian gas exports", according to diplomatic sources. When Putin refused, the Prince vowed military action.

theguardian.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Yeah, that pipeline has a use-by-date of "Dec 2014"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

John Kerry also has the support of 20+ surrounding Arab nations on the issue.

In fact you'll find few instances in history where the Israelis, Arabs, US, Europe, and even Muslim extremists find themselves literally on the "same side" re Assad.

It's currently being destroyed, that's the issue. A volatile unstable Syria doesn't suit any of the bordering countries.

Plans for punitive strikes have been shelved days ago.

Oh FFS, the US had the support of the Shah while Iranians were living in fear and being robbed of their birthright by Western oil cartels. The US had the support of Diem while the Vietnamese were being raped and bombed and napalmed and butchered by Americans.

Change the record.

I'm going into deeply unpopular territory here, common sense, but bear with me. In 10 years of reading and hearing about various pipelines and their significance to the US, I've yet to hear an explanation of how they produce such a good return as to warrant invasions, the enormous cost and the loss of life

This proposed gas pipeline from Iran, through Iraq and onto Syria. Now, hypothetically speaking the US has to invade/oust Assad, replace with a Western-friendly government (ironically Assad, like Gadaffi was getting along rather well with the West before the Arab spring, especially countries like France, Italy, UK and so on, but I digress..)

This friendly new government has to hurriedly finish the pipeline (unlike Afghanistan where it never happened)

This is a gas pipeline from Iran.

Now, I'm no energy expert, but since the gas is coming from America's supposed arch-enemy, who are one of the few allies of the Syrian regime, then I am guessing they will charge a fairly hefty premium, or, just turn the tap off or just not build the pipeline, or just sell their gas to Europe or any number of potential customers.

I'm also fairly sure that US neighbours Canada who supply, what is it, about 90-something % of US imports of natural gas, would be able to easily undercut whatever price the Iranians could ever offer

Again, I'm no energy expert, but with the US importing only 12 to 15% of it's natural gas, while it's own domestic production has jumped up 25% since 2005 - they aren't exactly desperate. In fact it looks like they will be increasing exporting the stuff.

Worse evil plan ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I'm going into deeply unpopular territory here, common sense, but bear with me. In 10 years of reading and hearing about various pipelines and their significance to the US, I've yet to hear an explanation of how they produce such a good return as to warrant invasions, the enormous cost and the loss of life

This proposed gas pipeline from Iran, through Iraq and onto Syria. Now, hypothetically speaking the US has to invade/oust Assad, replace with a Western-friendly government (ironically Assad, like Gadaffi was getting along rather well with the West before the Arab spring, especially countries like France, Italy, UK and so on, but I digress..)

This friendly new government has to hurriedly finish the pipeline (unlike Afghanistan where it never happened)

This is a gas pipeline from Iran.

Now, I'm no energy expert, but since the gas is coming from America's supposed arch-enemy, who are one of the few allies of the Syrian regime, then I am guessing they will charge a fairly hefty premium, or, just turn the tap off or just not build the pipeline, or just sell their gas to Europe or any number of potential customers.

I'm also fairly sure that US neighbours Canada who supply, what is it, about 90-something % of US imports of natural gas, would be able to easily undercut whatever price the Iranians could ever offer

Again, I'm no energy expert, but with the US importing only 12 to 15% of it's natural gas, while it's own domestic production has jumped up 25% since 2005 - they aren't exactly desperate. In fact it looks like they will be increasing exporting the stuff.

Worse evil plan ever.

The whole pipeline theory only came about because there is no oil in Afghanistan and the conspiracy theorists needed something to fantasize about.

True man, I'd rather be watching the game and drinking dutch gold with the lads...Who ever thought these wars were motivated by profit? Who cares anyway?. Geezus, that Rachel Riley is fit!, I'd give her wan! I'd eat her sh!t!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

I am speaking about their governments. As part of the Arab league, supporting the US on Libya and on Syria.

They wouldn't be doing so if it were some nefarious US plot. Even less so if it was an Israeli one. Unless you want to get really tinfoil of course.

Yep...when you can't counter a logical argument, reach for the tinfoil slur.

What you're saying is weak. Mubarak in Egypt supported the US and Israel and crushed his own people. He didn't care as long as he was allowed to live in the lap of luxury, and be festooned with riches. The US gave him weapons to keep his people down.
    By your logic he should, as a good Arab, have done the opposite.

What makes the power-hungry bastards in Saudi Arabia or Qatar any different?

Only the naive would believe that rulers act solely for the benefit of those they rule.

MonaPizza wrote: »

What you're saying is weak. Mubarak in Egypt supported the US and Israel and crushed his own people. He didn't care as long as he was allowed to live in the lap of luxury, and be festooned with riches. The US gave him weapons to keep his people down.
    By your logic he should, as a good Arab, have done the opposite.

What makes the power-hungry bastards in Saudi Arabia or Qatar any different?

Only the naive would believe that rulers act solely for the benefit of those they rule.

Good post.

It's unfortunate most people can't get their head around the fact, these Arab leaders are bought and paid for by the US Empire.

In exchange for their loyalty, they are protected and live lives of luxury, there is no denying this.

Yet, some would imply you wear a tinfoil hat to point out the utterly absurd belief US has the support of the Arab world behind it?

There is no way to discuss anything with someone so ignorant.

Jake1 wrote: »
    [QUOTE=seanie_c;

Senile John McCain and Pedophile Lindsey Graham being the biggest supporters of military action, is clear evidence of what the Israelis really want.

Lindsey Graham? eh, could you explain that comment above??

What source are you getting that from?

Hi Seanie, I put the above question to you last night, now that its less busy, I wonder you could answer my question.

I have found no links to support what you called him. No cautions, no charges, nothing. never heard him referred to as a Peadophile. Could you direct me to the source you have.

Thanks.

MonaPizza wrote: »

If you want to refute what I said please do so. If you post videos or links from informationclearinghouse.info I warn you, I may have read it before ;)