Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know Your Maynoothians 13/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Diarmuid1995

R_V_P 24 wrote: »
    Many mayo people up around Maynooth!? Starting finance and am new to the place!! Anyone starting finance actually!? Luckily got on campus!!

From Galway myself, had a Mayo roommate last year. Just wait till the all ireland final weekend and spot the jerseys, there'll be no shortage of them I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Deebond7

Hello everybody, I studied Arts in Maynooth 15 years ago. Feeling ancient now;-)

I wouldn't feel bad, there are plenty of us "mature" students starting this year. What are you going to study?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭R_V_P 24

From Galway myself, had a Mayo roommate last year. Just wait till the all ireland final weekend and spot the jerseys, there'll be no shortage of them I'd say.

Wouldn't be getting to cocky yet, physical match ahead of us in croker on sunday!! will surely do the business though!!...spent many the years down there in Galway city in nuig, great spot!!..:-D

Good football will always win out in croker. Ya it's a great student city all right. Would've ended up there myself but faraway hills and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭EmzBoBo

Thwip! wrote: »
    In the sense that she's a Karen then yes, whether she's your Karen remains to be seen

tumblr_lw7qn58NxG1qii6tmo1_500.gif

Well played. :pac:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_na0H8CJUvY4/TIUtHuaWtvI/AAAAAAAAATE/_mndoLOrK2Q/s200/applause.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Having a fellow Leinster thread poster in maynooth is awesome :D

Nice to see a reasonably familiar username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Having a fellow Leinster thread poster in maynooth is awesome :D

LOADS of us here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,856 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

LOADS of us here.

Me too! Leinster/ nuim boards beer? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Me too! Leinster/ nuim boards beer? :pac:

Being from cork is already against me! Haha

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Normally as a girl of Clare heritage I'd be on your side (though I'm a Leinster girl too - depends on the day) but you and I will have some other business to attend to first!

Indeed we do! Funny really, I love playing GAA but never have any mass in the inter county championships :/

I only really get involved because I work in Croker and for anything Clare really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Deebond7 wrote: »
    I wouldn't feel bad, there are plenty of us "mature" students starting this year. What are you going to study?

Sorry Dee I feel like a gatecrasher at a party now;-) I'm actually studying in Athlone but get nostalgic about Maynooth when I'm chatting to my old friends! Great aul place Maynooth. Is there a page for Maynooth alumni up here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Booshmallow

It most certainly is with a Kilkenny woman especially! Haha :L

deise_girl wrote: »
    Anyone else get Mullins in the Village?? I cant find any pictures of village apartments online so I dont know what to expect! :pac:

I'm not there this year but I lived there for first and second year. What number?

Village were recently done up and have a cleaning service these days so they're pretty good imo. The rooms are small but you get cosy pretty quickly and the main area is fine - just a kitchen and plenty of seating. We have "leather" chairs these days! :)
    Village also wins because they have wireless!

This is pretty much the only pic I could find of the bedrooms but it does make the rooms look smaller than they are imo.:
    2fa70aac-b855-4d9a-b30c-904c95f72c52.jpg

I'm not there this year but I lived there for first and second year. What number?

Village were recently done up and have a cleaning service these days so they're pretty good imo. The rooms are small but you get cosy pretty quickly and the main area is fine - just a kitchen and plenty of seating. We have "leather" chairs these days! :)

This is pretty much the only pic I could find of the bedrooms but it does make the rooms look smaller than they are imo.:

What's Rye like? I don't have the best feeling for some reason :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

What's Rye like? I don't have the best feeling for some reason :/

It's not too bad. Rooms are bigger than village but smaller than river. There's only 7 en-suite rooms in the entire building though, so you'll likely end up sharing a bathroom.

Number 3! Dya know is that near the top or bottom of the block? It sounds cool though, just hoping I dont hear any horror stories about it :pac:
    And is it still wires for bedrooms? I could be reading an old thing but it says you need a cable for the internet outside the common room area?
    Thanks for your help!

Hah, I lived there in second year! There used to be a list of the guys who lived there in 2009 on the wardrobe in E!

Nope, Village is all wireless. River is fully wired.

Is 3, usually lads apartments then? Hope I didnt click some box where they think think Im a fella and am gonna be alone there now :pac:

Well I lived there... :P

There's no specifics about that. Most apts are single sex yes, but what gender lives in what apt differs from year to year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Well I lived there... :P

There's no specifics about that. Most apts are single sex yes, but what gender lives in what apt differs from year to year.

Thats true, sorry my head is actually somewhere else today! You wouldnt believe how often Im blanking on things!
    Aww just cant wait to start into it all now and see/experience it all for myself :D

Thats true, sorry my head is actually somewhere else today! You wouldnt believe how often Im blanking on things!
    Aww just cant wait to start into it all now and see/experience it all for myself :D

I'm the same!

You're going to love it! :)

Anyone else get riordan in the village apartments?? Anyone any insight?? Is it all boys in one apart, and girls in others, don't know what to expect!??

Me! :)
    What number?

It's usually single sex but you can get mixed apts too. They're often the older students and/or the last to be filled.

Me! :)
    What number?

It's usually single sex but you can get mixed apts too. They're often the older students and/or the last to be filled.

Number 9 I think, wbu!?

So what's the deal with them!? Are they somehow the least desirable apartments, what is riordan like in the inside!? Is it all 2/3rd years so!? I'm only a first year!!

As a first year, it'll be all lads I expect, was in Riordan myself last year. One thing to watch out for is the cleaners, make sure to take out your recycling/rubbish or you get a warning, also not the nicest of things to wake up to

Number 9 I think, wbu!?

So what's the deal with them!? Are they somehow the least desirable apartments, what is riordan like in the inside!? Is it all 2/3rd years so!? I'm only a first year!!

I'm 10! :)

All the Village apts are the same. A couple of first years students and a couple of older years in each apt. You won't often get a fully first year apt in my experience.

Where are you getting the lease desirable idea from? If any that's Rye! I've explained a bit on Village already when talking about Mullin so I'll try find that post and quote it here. :)

Oh wait, it was this thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Name: Garit or Gareth or Gar depending on my mood.
    Course/Year: Comp Science and Software Eng. 2nd year.
    Interests: Tech, F1, Gaming, Clubbing and occasionally Badminton.

I'm 10! :)

All the Village apts are the same. A couple of first years students and a couple of older years in each apt. You won't often get a fully first year apt in my experience.

Where are you getting the lease desirable idea from? If any that's Rye! I've explained a bit on Village already when talking about Mullin so I'll try find that post and quote it here. :)

What's the story with this cleaner by the way in the village apts!? Is it just if the house is dirty!? Rooms look small enough, but I'm sure it will be grand!! Are they strict with parties and that!? Are the apartments noisey? We must be around the corner then..

They'll just give the apt a quick go over and make sure that it's in a liveable state! They don't go near the bedrooms.

They're not particularly strict as long as you're not overly loud. The apts can be noisy at times but you'll be on the top floor so it won't be as big an issue for you (or me!).

We'll be next door! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

I was in River the year before last and I'm gonna be in Hargadon next month. I thought river was pretty good so how does village and in particular Hargadon compare with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

On going to Nooth:

"If the unborn knew of the approach of life, they would dread it as the living do death."
    - Charlie Chaplin, Monsieur Verdoux

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

At least you guys will have an apartment to call your own while a lot of us face the evil of....the commute D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

andrew369 wrote: »
    At least you guys will have an apartment to call your own while a lot of us face the evil of....the commute D:

Ah the commute isn't that bad... no really.. it's fine... well.... fúck commuting :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Boeing777

The worse thing about commuting is traveling home in the evenings when it's pitch dark. Everyone is asleep and the journey feels 137182462 times longer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭D_s

Name: Dylan
    Course/Year: Engineering (Am I the only one?) 1st Year
    Interests: Skateboarding, and uh... socialising? I plan on joining the Ultimate Frisbee team in a few weeks :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

Name: Darren
    Course/Year: CSSE (1st year)
    Interests: music, tech, football, gaming, having a bit of craic in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 karengrace93

EmzBoBo wrote: »
    Karen?!? Is that you?? :eek:

This is totally awkward if I'm wrong buttt... Emily, is that you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

And as we, eager Maynoothians, wait at the edge of our seats to see if this mystery will finally be solved

eBT4MOW.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭EmzBoBo

Yep, it's me! :)
    Now everyone else can rest easy! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

FINALLY I CAN CONTINUE WITH MY LIFE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭ColmBr

Barster wrote: »
    Name: Barry
    Course/Year: 1st year Product Design
    Interests:The notebook , coupled with long romantic walks on the beach.

Good to know that I'm not the only one doing product design!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 LBowe94

Name: Lauryn
    Course/Year: First Year Science
    Interests: Cocktails, chemicals, stalking boards and twitter trying to find ANYONE starting the same course as me, vodka, party's and finger dancing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Whoop 1st year science :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭aoifemcg94

LBowe94 wrote: »
    Name: Lauryn
    Course/Year: First Year Science
    Interests: Cocktails, chemicals, stalking boards and twitter trying to find ANYONE starting the same course as me, vodka, party's and finger dancing..

I want to meet you already ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Name: Zef
    Course/Year: MH101 Arts
    Interests: Cats, reading, internet, Animal Crossing on the DS-(until I can afford a new Nintendo that plays the new Animal Crossing game), The films of Ken Loach, Mike Leigh, Jim Jarmusch , getting into Kubrick atm,- I bake cupcakes occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Toshi101

zef wrote: »
    Name: Zef
    Course/Year: MH101 Arts
    Interests: Cats, reading, internet, Animal Crossing on the DS-(until I can afford a new Nintendo that plays the new Animal Crossing game), The films of Ken Loach, Mike Leigh, Jim Jarmusch , getting into Kubrick atm,- I bake cupcakes occasionally.

Cupcakes you say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 IanFroebs

Name: Ian
    Course/Year: B. Ed. (Primary School Teaching/ Froebel yaaaay :D); Year 3 overall, Year 1 on the NUIM campus :p
    Interests: Rewriting posts after accidentally deleting them instead of editing them :o

As I said in my original, now-deleted post, I made this account to answer any questions soon-to-be Froebelians might have about the craziness that is Froebel. I'm one of the student reps for next year so don't be afraid to PM me; we're a friendly (and admittedly slightly deranged) bunch of people :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 LBowe94

aoifemcg94 wrote: »
    I want to meet you already ! :D

Yay, a friend! :-)