Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know Your Maynoothians 13/14

• 13-08-2013 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭

You know you're a lifer when you've posted in about five of these threads... :o

Anyways, LC results are out tomorrow and CAO offers next week, so I expect that there will be a few new usernames floating around here over the next while. Introduce yourself in here, whether you've been in NUIM ten years or ten minutes, or even ten years ago! We're a welcoming bunch.

Usual format is

Name:
    Course/Year:
    Interests:

etc etc, but feel free to tell us as little or as much as you want, or in whatever way. Introductions in MS Paint form also accepted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Name: Shauna
    Course: MA Community & Youth Work (Year 1)
    Interests: Smashing the patriarchy and hot chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭upinthesky

Name: lisa
    From
    : meath
    Course/Year: general science year 1
    Interests looking forward to joining the games society and playing some poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Name: Dave
    Course/Year: Psychology - 2nd year
    Interests: Getting shouted at for cursing in JH1, getting kicked out of JH1, BEING AN INCREDIBLE STUDENT.. (Clearly :rolleyes:) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

I was just about to start this thread, seeing as though there hadn't been one yet but fair play Seren, good to see that one of the moderators is on the ball. Looking forward to starting back in the next month and a bit but anyway...

Name: Matt
    Course/Year: 3rd Year History & Spanish
    Interests: Swimming, Bowling and Non-Conventional methods of opening beer bottles.

I hope everyone waiting on their points, get the courses they're hoping for:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Boeing777

Name: Niall
    Course/Year: Science Education 2nd year
    Interests: Anything really... I'm easily pleased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭JellyBeans92

Name: Shauna
    Course/Year:3rd BSc CSSE.. again.
    Interests: Reading, listening to tunes and blogging, though on campus this year I hope to get involved Disney Soc (Treasurer) and possibly a few others.

Welcome in advances to any of the newbies.. Seems like yesterday since my own LC results came out, now I'm heading into my 4th year here.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Lifers for life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Shaneen

Name: Shaneen

Course/year: 2nd year English & Greek&Roman Civilization

Interests: music, cheap wine, aldi cookies, giggles and Craic. Anything but Greek and Roman.. and mushrooms, hate those things !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Paczini

Name: Paulina
    Course/Year: Law and Arts (French) 3rd year
    Interests: just chilling in the Arts Block between lectures I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Name: Unforgettable Fire
    Course/Year: Science 4th Year (Hopefully)
    Interests: Geeky ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Name: James
    Course/Year: PPE 1st year, after 2 years of science
    Interests: Rugby, music and american football!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Here we go yet again!

Name: Síomha
    Course/Year: 3rd (what they call it) / 4th (what it officially is) / 5th (what it is for me) / final year of Law and History.
    Interests: Cheesy music and particularly boybands and Eurovision, hyperness, cranberry juice, daytime naps, never leaving Maynooth and HOFSOC (the Hangover-Free Society for alcohol free events).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Diarmuid1995

Name: Diarmuid
    Course/Year: Maths Ed, 2nd year
    Interests: Snooker, cycling, f1, hanging around like a bad smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Name: Áine
    Course/Year: 1st year Primary Education
    Interests: Books, coffee, thinking I'm absolutely hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Name: Billy
    Course: 1st year Law
    Interests: Women and whiskey and my newest one is: looking for a house in Maynooth thats quickly becoming a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

Name: Jason
    Course/Year: 2nd year Bus & Soc (hopefully!)
    Interests: Photography, Longboarding, Mixology and of course partying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Name: Brian
    Course/Year: 3rd Year Arts. English and History
    Interests: Horse racing, football, gaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭stacerz17

Name: stacy
    Course/Year:going into first year social science
    Interests..this year: meeting new people , in joining some societies, and finding somewhere to live lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

No point in me doing this since I'll be studying abroad this year, but I've posted in two of these so far and don't want to kill my streak now... :D

Name: John.
    Course/Year: BMus, 3rd year now. Wow, I'm getting on a bit...
    Interests: Music (obviously).

That's that done for another year :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Name's Rob. I studied music, did some time in the SU, and now I'm old. So old.

Thats, uh ... that's pretty much it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 karengrace93

Name: Karen
    Course/Year: 2nd year Arts (Spanish & Business)
    Interests: Music, Spanish, Tamova vodka, Dunnes Stores sausage baguettes, Thursday nights in the Roost (The Maynooth withdrawal symptoms are baaaaaaaaad.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭brainiac

Name: Mark
    Course/Year: Computer Science and Software Engineering (CSSE) - 2nd year
    Interests: Computing, Fencing, Gaming, DisneySoc, agreeing with everyone else about housing this year :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Name: mick
    Course/Year: 1st year Phd... I think? I hope?
    Interests: Giraffes. Cosmology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

Name: Mark
    Course/Year: Computer Science and Software Engineering (CSSE) - 2nd year (hopefully)
    Interests: Computing, Reading, Rugby, Cycling, Gaming, Drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

banquo wrote: »
    Name's Rob. I studied music, did some time in the SU, and now I'm old. So old.

Thats, uh ... that's pretty much it.
    We're not old, we're wisened....like Gandalf....or Abed

Right now that Shauna introduced herrself it's time enough that your second mod made himself known

Name:
    JP
    Course: Dont even go to Maynooth anymore...but I can still ban you....funny that
    Interests: Comics (work in a comic store....**** YEAH), Books, Music, Guitar, Writing, Drawing....and some nice scotch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Toshi101

Name: Niall
    Course/Year: 2nd year Anthropology
    Interests: MANCHESTER CITY seriously if theres any other fans out there make themselves known...its so lonely..so lonely..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Toshi101 wrote: »
    Interests: MANCHESTER CITY seriously if theres any other fans out there make themselves known...its so lonely..so lonely..

Because people have better taste in who they support :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

Name: Louise
    Course: 3rd year Business & Accounting, returning after a year of horrible work exp!
    Interests: socialising, general tom foolery

Since I took a year out everyone I know has left college, so I'm in desperate need of some new friends!
    All applications welcome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Name: Ciaran
    Course/Year: Computer Science and Software Engineering, 2nd Year
    Interests: Gaming, computing, reading, motorsports, swimming, and trying to avoid obesity

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

jubella wrote: »

Since I took a year out everyone I know has left college, so I'm in desperate need of some new friends!
    All applications welcome...

I took two years. Welcome to the loners club! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Whillikers

Name: Kevin
    Course: 3rd Year Biological and Biomedical Science
    Interests: Tea, trampolining and tequila(Actually not tequila, that stuff is the devil, but drinking in general)

Haven't posted here much, but have lurked for as long as I've been in NUIM. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Deebond7

Name: Deirdre
    Course: PDE
    Interests: travelling, drama, going out!
    Really looking forward to starting in Maynooth. I did my degree in NUIG in English and Spanish and lived in Spain for a few years. I would like to get involved in the drama, Spanish and mature student societies. Bring on the parties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭aoifemcg94

Name: Aoife
    Course/Year: Going into first year science (Hopefully)
    Interests: Enjoying alcoholic beverages and cheesy pop music... :D

Deebond7 wrote: »
    Name: Deirdre
    Course: PDE
    Interests: travelling, drama, going out!
    Really looking forward to starting in Maynooth. I did my degree in NUIG in English and Spanish and lived in Spain for a few years. I would like to get involved in the drama, Spanish and mature student societies. Bring on the parties!

Dee hope you mean them long study group parties in the library! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Barster

Name: Barry
    Course/Year: 1st year Product Design
    Interests:The notebook , coupled with long romantic walks on the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Deebond7

Dee hope you mean them long study group parties in the library! :P

Of course Mark ;) we mature students are super studious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Name: Jenna
    Course/Year: Biological and Biomedical Science
    Interests: Seeing how many times one can repeat first year evidently....Hopefully third times the charm :pac:

Deebond7 wrote: »
    Of course Mark ;) we mature students are super studious!

Dee Billy is my real name here, who's Mark?! :eek: Yes we study the labels of bottles to see which has the highest alcohol content :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Name: lets go with decisions for now ;)
    Course/Year: 1st year Science :D
    Interests: Ehhhhh, sport and emmm.... I'll come back to that later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Name: Take a guess :P
    Course/Year: 1st year Arts (English and Philosophy)
    Interests: Play a few instruments, music of all kinds, anything to do with reading, smoking and drinking disgusting amounts of pipe tobacco and absinthe, being mistaken for a mature student, dropping subtle hints on using peoples couches to sleep on, few games of pool and might take up fencing, scaring Theology students and just about anything fun while meeting some new people. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

Name: Seán

Course: 1st Year Law (LLB)

Interests: Praying not to be in a twin room, Socialising, Music and making friends (making the trip to NUIM all on my lonesome).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Name: Seán

Course: 1st Year Law (LLB)

Interests: Praying not to be in a twin room, Socialising, Music and making friends (making the trip to NUIM all on my lonesome).

Your accent alone will be such a novelty that you will have 6,05043934930+ friends by the first day.

CORKODIANS ARE RARE AROUND HERE LAD

Your accent alone will be such a novelty that you will have 6,05043934930+ friends by the first day.

CORKODIANS ARE RARE AROUND HERE LAD

That's exciting to be honest, settles the nerves a bit! Haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭JellyBeans92

That's exciting to be honest, settles the nerves a bit! Haha

You *might* need a translator depending on how strong you accent is ( :pac: )
    ..but outside of that you'll be grand! :D

You *might* need a translator depending on how strong you accent is ( :pac: )
    ..but outside of that you'll be grand! :D

Ah it's not that strong, ill talk slowly and please god everything will work out :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

decisions wrote: »
    Name: lets go with decisions for now ;)
    Course/Year: 1st year Science :D
    Interests: Ehhhhh, sport and emmm.... I'll come back to that later

Having a fellow Leinster thread poster in maynooth is awesome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭EmzBoBo

Name: Karen
    Course/Year: 2nd year Arts (Spanish & Business)
    Interests: Music, Spanish, Tamova vodka, Dunnes Stores sausage baguettes, Thursday nights in the Roost (The Maynooth withdrawal symptoms are baaaaaaaaad.)

Karen?!? Is that you?? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

EmzBoBo wrote: »
    Karen?!? Is that you?? :eek:

In the sense that she's a Karen then yes, whether she's your Karen remains to be seen

tumblr_lw7qn58NxG1qii6tmo1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭R_V_P 24

Many mayo people up around Maynooth!? Starting finance and am new to the place!! Anyone starting finance actually!? Luckily got on campus!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Hello everybody, I studied Arts in Maynooth 15 years ago. Feeling ancient now;-)