Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever got so drunk...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I only tend to have blackouts when I mix weed and drink, both in large amounts.

The last time this happened was when a friend of mine was visiting. Got stoned watching Eurovision then went to a concert for a few drinks. Last thing I remember is going to a godawful club for the local rich kids, even though we're both in our mid-twenties and I've a girlfriend.

Anyway, woke up the next morning sitting in a chair in my living room with a half-eaten pizza in front of me. My friend was telling me that I insisted on cooking pizza when we got home and then ruined it for him by splashing tabasco sauce all over it. He's not a fan of spices.

Though, my previous blackout was a lot of fun. Woke up with a girl in my bed and no recollection of how it happened. Ended up spending the whole day in bed. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭cheesefiend

It's happened me so many times.

First time I was sixteen. I'd been drinking buckfast at a house party. I remember everything up until I took a drink of vodka outside while having a smoke. The moment my foot hit the kitchen floor on the way back in is the last moment I remember. Apparently I was getting sick soon after that and had to be put to bed.

Another time I was out and drank way too much. My friends were getting me to do dares that I have absolutely no recollection of to this day. Lost at least three hours that night.

Last time was similar to the latter. Too many pre-drinks and sneaky vodka shots. Nightmare. The whole night, before we'd even left the house, is a blank.

When I go out either I barely drink or I get absolutely hammered.Trying to find the happy middle-ground is something I'm working on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

smash wrote: »
    What a waste of a night out. I've had blackouts but they've usually happened from around 3am onwards.

By black out I mean the last hour or so - it's usually a case of - how did I get home? Did we have sex last night? Why are there 2 empty bottles of wine on the floor?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭yer man!

1ZRed wrote: »
    Because even if I drank the same amount of another drink, like cider, I'd be fine with no memory loss. Feck even after a day of drinking nothing but whiskey my memory would be fine. It's just something strange in heineken that doesn't agree with me. But I still agree with it :p

I'm kinda impressed that you can drink about 280ml of pure ethanol with the ten pints (assuming it's about 5% beer), that's over a full bottle of vodka!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I only tend to have blackouts when I mix weed and drink, both in large amounts.

This :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I used to regularly, not really any more. If I'm really tired towards the end of the night it would happen, but now I have the cop on to just head home.
    i feel the night is wasted if i wake up the next morning and can remember how i got home
    How is it a wasted night if you can't remember a 20-30 minute journey home? Go out at 7pm, drink till 2, can't remember the taxi home so the night was a waste :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Leftist wrote: »
    christ, it's happened to me a hundred times. Doesn't happen much anymore, maybe once in the past year or two but I had it regularly when I was younger.

And worst thing was I knew I was capable of doing something really, really silly.

Once I took my friend's dad's car and took it off for a spin. Locked out of my bucket so I was. ended up waking up in the car in portmarnock, how I got there I don't know. There was blood on the front bumper and it wasn't mine.
    I ended up driving back and dumping the car. It was still early morning so I got away with it.
    They found a dead dog in the boot a day later. I had to give that house a swerve for a few weeks but they still don't know it was me.
    Fúcking hell!

Once I took my friend's dad's car and took it off for a spin. Locked out of my bucket so I was. ended up waking up in the car in portmarnock, how I got there I don't know. There was blood on the front bumper and it wasn't mine.
    I ended up driving back and dumping the car. It was still early morning so I got away with it.
    They found a dead dog in the boot a day later. I had to give that house a swerve for a few weeks but they still don't know it was me.

If that's true that's one of the best/worst blackout stories I've ever heard

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    If that's true that's one of the best/worst blackout stories I've ever heard

was pretty bad alright, felt awful for that pooch for ages.

also some lads I went on holiday with to wales said I set fire to a B&B once but they put the fire out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

I went to the bathroom naked when they were in the sitting room.

I say - ding dong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Happens me a bit, there was one stage in college where'd I'd always black out an hour or two every night or have no clue how I got home. Don't really do anything stupid or dangerous as far as I can tell, the fear the next couple of days is a killer though. Often had people telling my they'd been talking to me the night before that I'd never seen in my life

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Only once have I had a total and complete black out of the night before.

Back in my college days in the 90's we spent a sunny July Saturday in the local. Small group of us house mates plus two Aussie cousins of one of the lads. Anyways we got kicked out of the pub around 7.30pm (having being there since 1pm) because we were locked. Of course being young and stupid nothing would do us but to get more booze. So me and another lad went off to the local shop, got three bottles of Paddy and then into the lcoal Xtravision for a copy of the Lovers Guide, (I sh1t you not) which had recently come out and was scandalising the country. We had been talking about it in the pub and feeling brave with dutch courage we got it out. Plus it was as close to porn as you could get back then. Christ knows what the hell the staff thought of two locked lads with a plastic bag containing three bottles of Paddy whiskey renting this out where getting up to.

Fell home with the cargo where the others were waiting with pizza and proceeded to watch it and get completely blathered. I don't remember the video, the whiskey or being carried to bed. I do rememeber waking up the next day with my pillow stuck to the back of my head/hair with dried vomit and my head like a burst bean bag. Apparently I had got up at some stage and disappeared from the sitting room the previous night. No idea if I was going for a pi$$, w@nk or puke but eventually someone missed me and came looking. Found me facing/leaning into a corner of the hall way alseep, while still standing up. Woke me but I couldn't get up the stairs so they carried me up to bed, threw me into it on my back and fecked off. The grace of God that I did not choke on my own puke and to this day I have not drank a whiskey since. Just the smell of it turns my stomach now.

Valuable lesson was learned, I never got that hammered again and know my limits. Still have no idea what the Lovers Guide is like either;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Yep, once and i learned my lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,662 ✭✭✭✭josip

christ, it's happened to me a hundred times. Doesn't happen much anymore, maybe once in the past year or two but I had it regularly when I was younger.

And worst thing was I knew I was capable of doing something really, really silly.

Knew I recognised that posting style from somewhere recently
    I had a terrible one about ten years ago. Went on a 2nd/3rd date to some independent film festival and the only thing we could agree on was Bundy. The film about Ted Bundy not Al.

Anyway, anyone familiar with this clown will know that maybe isn’t the best early date film to bring a MOT along to see.

To cut a long story short the mood afterwards was about as jovial as tour of Auschwitz.

I tried some moves including the stop short, but she was as dry as a bowl of uncle ben’s brown rice.

We ended up having a bit of a fight after I asked her for a quick nosh, some young lads were watching and one of them was a lad I had a run in with at a nightclub a while back.

About 6 of them start walking towards the car and she tries to get out! So I grab her in a headlock and drive off, she ends up biting me on the stomach but by that time we were out of the estate so I let her go.

Ended up forking out 400 euros on a solicitor and spending the night getting questioned about an alleged abduction! Mad as a bag of cats that one, she even denied that there was any young lads.

Thing is, I kind of liked her, i suppose she's the one that got away.

Was that the same car in both stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

yer man! wrote: »
    I'm kinda impressed that you can drink about 280ml of pure ethanol with the ten pints (assuming it's about 5% beer), that's over a full bottle of vodka!!

Is it that much? :eek: I always assumed I could never drink a bottle of vodka and still remain relatively level headed, never tried but always just assumed.

Wow, ten pints and a fair few measures of jameson and I'm not too bad at all, so that's surprising.
    2 weeks ago I was drinking for about 13/14 hours and there wasn't a bother on me in the end, even after having moved to whiskey for a good few hours. Must try out that bottle of vodka sometime out of curiosity!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

yep so many times in the past...

On two occasions I have woken up face down in the driveway..Obviously I managed to make it home, but must have been too drunk to use my keys and gave up and slept in the driveway. I am sure the neighbours would be impressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Dr hoRse

Once I woke up in the foetal position on top of a stack of pallets in my underwear and could only find my jeans, luckily this was Bondi junction and I didn't look out of place walking around shirtless and shoeless on a Sunday afternoon.

Just before Christmas I woke up on my friends floor after a night on rum thinking I was Tracy Jordan from 30 Rock - I'm totally white

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Amerika

Yup… once, and never since. Paid for the actions of that night for 18 years… and don’t even remember having had a good time. But test results don't lie I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

josip wrote: »

Was that the same car in both stories?

obviously not.

Would have had lapses in the past when I used to really drink rather than just sample.

Best complete blackout was in Scurvy Bay, Queensland. I remember drinking beer sociably around 11pm. Came to at 7 in the morning picking my way along the rocky shoreline all on my lonesome. Looked back and I was about half a mile from town.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

When i was about 16 i was in the local park drinking with a few mates one Saturday evening , all getting really pissed on southern comfort and vodka, then i can't remember a thing...
    until i woke up on Sunday morning with a full football match going on around me with me lying on the grass with one elbow in a pile of dog sh!te and all the crowd looking at me. :eek: That was bad.

Then another time in the same park drinking again with the lads, i must have passed out and the b@stards left me in the park,
    I woke up in some old dears house, she had taken pity on me and somehow got me back to hers, i woke up with on her couch with her staring at me with a grin on her face, that was another bad one. :eek:

That was in 1983 and i stopped drinking at about 22 years old and i do not drink any more, maybe 1 or 2 pints a year a christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

No :( I always remember how much of a drunken plank I was in painful detail.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭S Barrett

Dr hoRse wrote: »
    Once I woke up in the foetal position on top of a stack of pallets in my underwear and could only find my jeans, luckily this was Bondi junction and I didn't look out of place walking around shirtless and shoeless on a Sunday afternoon.

Just before Christmas I woke up on my friends floor after a night on rum thinking I was Tracy Jordan from 30 Rock - I'm totally white

I remember doing an all night drinking session in Sydney and jumping on a train from Town Hall to Bondi Junction at about 8 a.m on a Sunday morning. Needless to say I fell asleep and woke up about 3 hours later. Lucky for me I ended up in Cronulla.

The same thing happened to a friend of mine and he ended up in Gosford.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Used to happen to me all the time, friends, girlfriends etc often thought i was making it up but i'd have absolutely no idea where i'd been or what i'd done. Thankfully i'm a happy drunk so i didn't get into any trouble, and when i'm on auto pilot people i'm talking to etc can't really tell. I don't drink anything like as much these days but it still happens, if i'm even slightly drunk. I find myself faking recollections when talking to people i went out with just for the easy life.
    Do you remember going here, or meeting so and so - ah yeah, good times eh! But really i wouldn't have a clue what they are on about!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Was locked on last day of this summer's holiday in Palma. All inclusive bar & bar man just kept bringing us drinks. My poor OH had to drag me & the bags to airport. I was really beligerant & whiney apparently. I don't remember check in or security! :eek: I just know two ladies from the food hall woke me up cos I was sleeping on a table. Hadn't a clue where I was, OH was gone, thought I'd missed my flight. Luckily he came back, he'd gone to buy absinthe in duty free so he could join me. Was so hungover on the plane as I was starting to sober up. Not fun :( This is why I try not to drink a lot...

smash wrote: »
    What a waste of a night out. I've had blackouts but they've usually happened from around 3am onwards.

Not even talking about nights out. Half the time I'm just at home drinking - yes I have a serious problem.

S Barrett wrote: »
    I remember doing an all night drinking session in Sydney and jumping on a train from Town Hall to Bondi Junction at about 8 a.m on a Sunday morning. Needless to say I fell asleep and woke up about 3 hours later. Lucky for me I ended up in Cronulla.

The same thing happened to a friend of mine and he ended up in Gosford.

It was only 4 stops but I've done it twice.

The first time, I woke up, nothing but trees as far as the eye could see. Nobody on the train. I knew the Sydney trains headed out in to the country but I didn't know how far. Got off at the next stop, crossed over and got the next train heading back to Sydney. A few stops later, the train stopped for a few minutes at a particular stop so I got up to see where this stop was and how much progress I was making back. Couldn't find the stop anywhere, until, I looked at the last stop and yep, we were in Cronulla. When I woke up we'd already been to Cronulla and I'd been heading back to Sydney!

A month later, same thing. I swear I recognised the same eucalytpus tree where I woke up. Didn't panic this time and sure enough I was heading back to Sydney. Noted the stations as we passed Redfern, Central, Town Hall, ... Redfern. Hang on a sec. We've already passed Redfern. Sydenham! Noooo! I'd fallen asleep a 2nd time and was again heading out to the bush.

Carlton Cold had a lot to answer for, but it was bad form that 2 times that morning in Bondi Junction nobody gave me a shake.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Years ago, my dad got up to go to the bathroom and found me asleep in the sink.

Another time I came home with no shoes.

Apart from a recent overindulgence of skittles vodka, I'm able to handle my booze these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Thataone

Never happened to me but just last night, it happened to a friend.
    Aside from predrinking, I had practically matched him drink for drink when we were out at the pub. Then headed to the park and again, shared a few cans, cracked open half bottle of Jameson. When we got home I turned my back on him for 2 minutes to get into the house and the eejit had skulled the rest of the Jameson. He had no recollection of puking in the garden then locking himself into the bathroom and falling asleep in the bath (the pattern of the shower mat was imprinted on his face!).

I'd say the Jameson was just overkill for him, poor lad was in some state, missing the whole of the early hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

I never woke up not remembering the night before but I have woke up blind. It took about 5 mins for my sight to come back. Serious drinking was curtailed from then on (well the non stop 3 day sessions). Rarely drink now.