Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate My Team thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

he played 58 minutes last week, 2 more would have got him a clean sheet as Stoke had yet to concede, he does seem great value at the moment as long as he keeps his place in the middle, he has a very good shot when the opportunity arises. I have him but to be honest I never play him, he's likely to get a couple of runouts for me in the next few weeks though.

Was he taken off for tactical reasons or injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Lemlin wrote: »
    Was he taken off for tactical reasons or injury?

A minor injury, he seems to have the managers full trust for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Thatsfootball

Obviously you'll be playing 343, benching Fonte, Rosenior, Morrisson and Boruc you could have a very good week, I'd save the transfer if that's the advice you're looking for!

Well it's thinking more long term after WC.
    Will Rosenior start/is Faye a better option?
    Get Brady instead of Morrisson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

Quick question for this GW. Who should I bench, Ravel Morrison or Amalfitano?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I need a replacement for Michu. Suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

MagicIRL wrote: »

Just because he didn't score yesterday doesn't mean he won't in any of his next 4 fixtures. Hazard could be an option maybe after showing his goal scoring potential?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭skippy15

I think Michu still a good option to have,

top options for that price are hazard/oscar , silva and Michu!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

After a disastrous run of results, I need to make some changes. I've scored outside the top million in 4 of the last 5 weeks, scoring outside the top 2 million in two of those... Zabaleta and Vidic are pissing me off, although the latter at least seems likely to nail down a spot when he's fit. Neither teams are even keeping clean sheets but they surely have to tighten up at some stage. My replacement for Zabaleta will be Clyne - I plan on doubling up on Southampton defenders for the next three weeks. This will also give me the cash to bump Barkley up to Ramsey. This is something I wanted to avoid for a number of reasons but the Welsh Wizard seems to be a must have at this stage, and with Walcott confirmed out he's likely to continue his run. Arsenal have a tough run after the Palace game but Ramsey will likely hit £7m this week so don't want to be priced out. I could afford to bump Brady up but want to hold on to him, I think he'll outscore Barkley over the season.

The moves leave me with £0.7m to upgrade Rooney to Aguero next week. Also have my eye on Michu to Hazard, will see how the Spaniard performs against West Ham at the weekend.

2elxrbd.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Right here's my team for next week at the moment:

Szczesny
    Fonte, Terry, Coleman, Lovren
    Ramsey, Yaya Toure, Oscar,
    Lukaku, Sturridge, Giroud

Bench: McGregor, Brady, Gunnarsson, Ferdinand

After GW9 I'm thinking I need to get rid of Szcesney and take in maybe Boruc or possibly Lloris. Also I'm aware that two Southampton defenders could kill me if their form starts to slip.

Advice?

I would hold on to Lovren and Fonte, at least for the next few gameweeks. Southampton will fall apart eventually but it doesn't look like it will happen over the next three games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Might as well stick my team up, see what people think.

Howard

Terry Fonte Baines

Ramsey Lallana Toure Paulinho

Rooney Bony Soldado

Subs: Harper Nolan Whittaker Baker.

Any advice? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Howard

Terry Fonte Baines

Rooney Bony Soldado

Any advice? Thanks.

You in the Harps Fantasy League? If so I'm telling you feck all!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Howard

Terry Fonte Baines

Rooney Bony Soldado

Any advice? Thanks.

I don't like the Everton double coverage at the back, if you must have Baines I would down grade Howard to Boruc. You could change fonte or get an alternative to Boruc.

Bony hasn't really fired yet and if I'm honest your midfield is a bit lightweight. Can Ramsey keep up the form ditto for toure, I would change him to silva. Are you a spurs dan by the way? Soldado did well yday scoring his first goal from open play but I'd consider benteke lukaku and Sturridge over bony and soldado.

If possible I would upgrade Rooney to augero. No point in having an expensive player like Nolan on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

Howard

Terry Fonte Baines

Rooney Bony Soldado

Any advice? Thanks.

Get rid of Whittaker. He's only played a total of 8 mins in the last 4 games. I can't believe his price hasn't dropped yet and that he still has 18% selection. I know you're not starting him so if you've got no other transfer to make I'd do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,113 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Looking at playing this team this week,am i mad to leave my bench so strong?

35b43fed4b0316601d8db6fc9761432c.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

dahat wrote: »
    Looking at playing this team this week,am i mad to leave my bench so strong?

Id start Oscar ahead of Januzaj no question... at the very least I'd have him first sub before Zabaleta!

Similar enough team to my own, we have 6 of the exact same players and then 3 players off the same team in the same positions. I'm forced into playing Terry this week as my defence is a shambles but you never know he might pop up for a cheeky header :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Have slipped down a few places in the last 2 weeks so looking for a bit of help lads :) €2m in the bank and already have my GW9 transfer made (Zab out, Clyne in) Bit if surgery needed in the next few weeks to balance this team out, but how would ye go about it? Downgrade defenders? Upgrade midfield? Etc... In the long term it'll be Suarez or Sturridge out but wouldn't mind holding on to them until I sort the rest of my team out. Thanks.

Mingolet
    Clyne Koscienly Vidic
    Ozil Brady Sigurdsson Barkley
    Suarez Sturridge Giroud

Subs: Daniels Ivanovic Ward-Prouse Chester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Get rid of Whittaker. He's only played a total of 8 mins in the last 4 games. I can't believe his price hasn't dropped yet and that he still has 18% selection. I know you're not starting him so if you've got no other transfer to make I'd do that.

I'd imagine alot of people have more pressing transfer issues and are happy to leave him sitting as bench fodder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Lemlin wrote: »
    I'd imagine alot of people have more pressing transfer issues and are happy to leave him sitting as bench fodder.

He is the last one on my list since we don't play 5 defenders at one time. 3 for me all the time anyway...Cheap bench warmer always at the end. Will get rid of him at some point, but can't afford it now.

FHFC wrote: »
    You in the Harps Fantasy League? If so I'm telling you feck all!! :D

I am yeah! My team are the Football Specials, only sitting like mid-table!

I don't like the Everton double coverage at the back, if you must have Baines I would down grade Howard to Boruc. You could change fonte or get an alternative to Boruc.

Bony hasn't really fired yet and if I'm honest your midfield is a bit lightweight. Can Ramsey keep up the form ditto for toure, I would change him to silva. Are you a spurs dan by the way? Soldado did well yday scoring his first goal from open play but I'd consider benteke lukaku and Sturridge over bony and soldado.

If possible I would upgrade Rooney to augero. No point in having an expensive player like Nolan on the bench.

Yeah I understand the 2 Everton players at the back, have already taken a 4 point hit this week so it'll do until gameweek 10. Only just brought Fonte in. I had Wilshere in but then got Ramsey. Not a Spurs fan nah, Soldado scored at the weekend and I've had him in since week 1 so I'll give him a few more weeks. Will definitely look at Benteke and Lukaku though for Bony.

So basically change half my team then? :) might have to use my wildcard after all!

I am yeah! My team are the Football Specials, only sitting like mid-table!

Down to the River. Sitting inside top 30 just about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Hi folks haven't been able to spare a look at the forum so far this year unfortunately. Hopefully I'll get back into it during the winter. In the meantime, anyone give me a few suggestions on how to sort out my team:

277132.png

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭skippy15

keane2097 wrote: »
    Hi folks haven't been able to spare a look at the forum so far this year unfortunately. Hopefully I'll get back into it during the winter. In the meantime, anyone give me a few suggestions on how to sort out my team:

277132.png

Thanks!

Had a lot of those players a few weeks back,
    Ones jumping out as priority are Enrique- wing back but may not play much
    Soldado- would move him on as you have erikson as spurs cover

Could suggest others but if you used your two transfers and subbed Soldado- Aguero and Enrique to Clyne? anyone better that move?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Erikson didn't play at the weekend though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Bad things happen late at night when you start tinkering but wouldn't this be a beautiful sight, the defence is a little skimpy but still. Not that I'm actually taking a -20 hit in an FSA cup gameweek and would only be -16 next week too :pac:

2d0i04o.jpg

FHFC wrote: »
    See I'm looking to get rid of mignolet shortly, and get Johnston in as at least if pool aren't getting as many CS he has a good chance of attacking returns. Everybody has migs and his price has peaked.

Viable keepers for a 1 starting keeper strategy for medium term, at least 6 games or so, I see as:
    Lloris. I think overall spurs have been the best defence so far looking mean both home and away against some decent opposition. I wouldn't overly fear Everton a or Newcastle h that much, even united at home at the minute not a write off. Also the affordable spurs defenders not offering much in terms of attacking returns, so might as well have the Gk. Bit of a differential too.
    De Gea, I just don't fancy united at the back, so if I was getting a Utd defender I go for somebody who might chip in with the odd goal or assist.
    Cech, too dear, Terry a better option.
    Sczezny, arsenal defence not great IMO so far. Sticking to arsenal attackers.
    Hart enough said.

None of the above have perfect fixtures for the next 6 or so. Mignolet's prob the best, but still has to go to Arsenal and an away merseyside derby.

Other than that you are looking at rotation with with the likes of boruc, mcgregor, jaask, etc. which I just don't fancy, way to headwrecking and as you can see I put far too much thought into this bloody thing already!

So in short (:P) I'd come to the conclusion I'd go to Lloris in goal and Johnston at the back sometime before Liverpool play Arsenal away,getting rid of Dawson who I have currently, hence the temptation to get both Spurs men in for this week only.

Regarding the above 'brief' flight of obsession I posted on the transfers thread.......it is still ongoing as I tinker when I should be sleeping and am considering taking Mr Joseph Hart aboard. :eek: As hinted at above I don't overly rate Mr Hart due to his quirky little error prone ways and that awful shampoo add.

However....I long term intend to get Lloris and Johnston in place of Migs and Dawson, and also get Kompany in for the City defence. Cash flow, in terms of who I am swapping for who means I couldn't get Kompany till near the end of this little plan, however after this week at Chelsea, MC have a run of 6 very decent games with 4 or even 5 CS potential, fixtures certainly better than Spurs over the next 6, and it would be a shame not to get on City defence from Norwich at home next week. So I am thinking of getting Hart in place from next week and with a view to eventually swapping Dawson/Hart to Kompany/Lloris when Spurs get past tricky things like City away and United at home.

But I'd have to (temporarily at least) spend 6.4m on Joe Hart, have I finally lost it after a tough 8 weeks as a rookie on the circuit after too many late nights figuring out transfer strategies!??

There, wasn't that more fun than just sticking up my 15! :P

Based on Ramsey's performance in Europe, the likelihood of him being rested this weekend and the fact that they have a tough run following Palace... I've decided against getting him in. He rose along with Aguero last night meaning I can't get both in now anyway, and I want to hold off until next week before bringing Aguero in. Vidic being a doubt is pissing me right off. My plan is to bring in Clyne for Zabaleta and double up on Southampton defenders for the next three weeks, but I would still prefer to have Vidic in there.

So this GW I'm looking at Zabaleta -> Clyne, followed by Rooney->Aguero and Michu->Hazard next week. Will leave me about £1.4m in the bank to sort out my defence. I want to get Lloris in for Mignolet but will wait until after GW14, they have a tough run coming up. Mertesacker was always going to be a gamble, hopefully they can at least keep Crystal Palace at bay.

More than happy with my MF and attack once I get Hazard and Aguero in. 8 attackers from 7 different teams. I don't like having to wait until they play on Sunday to get them in though, it's likely both will rise Saturday night.

34790eo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Was Oscar a consideration over Hazard Rory?
    I'm edging towards Hazard but Oscar is slightly ahead in terms of game time (Hazard on scoring potentia if he got similar timel)

I have the same front line but I'm planning
    Rooney-> Benteke
    Eriksen -> Hazard
    Moses -> Silva

That leaves me with a core attacking 6 that I'm happy enough with:
    Ozil - Hazard - Silva
    Suarez - Lukaka - Benteke

Amalfitano and AJ make up the rest. Might hang on to AJ for another few weeks.

Defence is another story altogether.