Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 162: Silva vs Weidman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,988 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Salaries have already been released.

Silva is on a 600k flat fee with a 200k win bonus, Wiedman is on 24k wit a 24k win bonus.

I know there's the usual PPV extra's etc but 24k to fight for the title is a bit poor

http://www.mmajunkie.com/news/2013/07/anderson-silva-could-bank-800000-at-ufc-162-weidman-stands-to-make-48000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

scudzilla wrote: »

Silva is on a 600k flat fee with a 200k win bonus, Wiedman is on 24k wit a 24k win bonus.

I know there's the usual PPV extra's etc but 24k to fight for the title is a bit poor

http://www.mmajunkie.com/news/2013/07/anderson-silva-could-bank-800000-at-ufc-162-weidman-stands-to-make-48000

If someone told me that I wouldn't believe it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

scudzilla wrote: »

I wouldn't take much notice of that.
    The 24k is obviously just his contracted amount for all his fights. You can be sure he's getting a hefty bonus plus a slice of the ppv.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I wouldn't take much notice of that.
    The 24k is obviously just his contracted amount for all his fights. You can be sure he's getting a hefty bonus plus a slice of the ppv.

Plus main event sponsorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

What time are the Preliminary fights on Facebook lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭seklly

Keno 92 wrote: »
    What time are the Preliminary fights on Facebook lads?

On now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

How long til Anderson fights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭seklly

Will probably be around 5am I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭stealinhorses

Can't wait for this!

seklly wrote: »
    Will probably be around 5am I'd say

Quite a bit away so! Disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,440 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

You mispelled Brock :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,976 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Is there a link for the youtube prelims? I'm stuck in work with SkyGo, Facebook and YouTube blocked, so it's going to be a long night watching on my phone...

MrStuffins wrote: »
    You mispelled Brock :pac:

Wish I got this joke! :P

I have never watched this Anderson fella fight but supposedly the best there is?

Back when Brock Lesnar was in the UFC, this forum was constantly flooded with "what time is Brock fighting at?"
    It's become a running joke.

And yeah, Silva is the best there ever was. He's a master, and if he's on top form tonight, you're in for a treat.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Back when Brock Lesnar was in the UFC, this forum was constantly flooded with "what time is Brock fighting at?"
    It's become a running joke.

And yeah, Silva is the best there ever was. He's a master, and if he's on top form tonight, you're in for a treat.

Is Brock not in it anymore?

I remember him in the UFC game alright. :D Beast! :P

Looking forward to this then. ;)

Back in WWE now.

I'm dressed in a spider costume, for the occasion.

I remember him in the UFC game alright. :D Beast! :P

He wasn't a fan of getting punched in the face.
    But he did it really well!

Jaysus! Baczynski was out!

Fair play to the lad for going for the finish before the end of the round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

Yeah, that guy was impressive! That was a striking clinic. Head movement was crazy - he was feinting twice with his head before almost every punch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

UFC are offering pay-per-view to Ireland now on their website, €15 for high def and €12 for standard def. Interesting move, I think people might take that up, especially if it came down by even a fiver or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,976 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

UFC are offering pay-per-view to Ireland now on their website, €15 for high def and €12 for standard def. Interesting move, I think people might take that up, especially if it came down by even a fiver or so.

Why would anyone pay €15 for an event when you get a subscription for the month for €20?

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Why would anyone pay €15 for an event when you get a subscription for the month for €20?

I didn't know you could subscribe to it for €20 a month. The site doesn't give me the option for some reason.

DrPhilG wrote: »

Not everyone has Satellite TV. I know people who don't even have TVs these days due to watching everything on the laptop.

Something like that would be ideal for a get together in a gaff. You could watch it anywhere.

I didn't know you could subscribe to it for €20 a month. The site doesn't give me the option for some reason.

He meant Setanta I think? Who will have ESPN from next month.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    He meant Setanta I think? Who will have ESPN from next month.

I'm not sure. Don't you have to already have a basic package of €50 or so with UPC or Sky to even add on ESPN or Setanta? I'd be one of those with no tv package because I've no interest in it so I'm interested to see what the UFC offer directly. This offer might be decent enough for a tenner per event or something like that.

How impressive was Barbosa? First fighter to win by leg kick stoppage twice. Awesome!

I actually thought Oliveiras leg was gonna snap in half from some of those leg kicks.

I'm not sure. Don't you have to already have a basic package of €50 or so with UPC or Sky to even add on ESPN or Setanta? I'd be one of those with no tv package because I've no interest in it so I'm interested to see what the UFC offer directly. This offer might be decent enough for a tenner per event or something like that.

Yeah I presume you need to already need to have satellite TV.