If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

mike65 wrote: »
    My 1996 Audi A6 had that feature - windows, roof, central locking in one go.

edit closing only mode - it wasn't that clever!

I think my 96' Impreza had that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,126 ✭✭✭✭unkel

FearDark wrote: »
    I think my 96' Impreza had that too!

My '94 BMW 530i had it too, including sunroof :)

(mind, I'm pretty sure that was a feature of the aftermarket alarm system and not a factory option)

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Nope, even the fairly basic E34s had it. I had a 525i with cloth interior (but with armrests, luxury!) and that had full closure.

I feel sorry for people who think something like this is somehow innovative or special. My '96 Volvo probably has more features than that Renault. All its short on my dear old 7 is a factory phone. And the 7 didn't have heated seats....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

rovoagho wrote: »
    Nope, even the fairly basic E34s had it. I had a 525i with cloth interior (but with armrests, luxury!) and that had full closure.

I feel sorry for people who think something like this is somehow innovative or special. My '96 Volvo probably has more features than that Renault. All its short on my dear old 7 is a factory phone. And the 7 didn't have heated seats....

Yeated seats were an option on all 7er's , and one that many people in Ireland never bothered with for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Yeated seats were an option on all 7er's , and one that many people in Ireland never bothered with for some reason

Like 80% of the options list here, people disregard it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Like 80% of the options list here, people disregard it!

More like 99% , im trying to put every single extra on my 735 and looking for parts in Ireland is a fruitless excersise , its just a pity the seats are so heavy to ship as theyre the big problem at present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Soarer

Lads, ye all seem to be talking about autoclosing. The Avantime opens everything at the touch of a button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,896 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

92 audi 100 we had did open and close off the key as did nearly every car ive had since.

My '96 Volvo probably has more features than that Renault. All its short on my dear old 7 is a factory phone. And the 7 didn't have heated seats....

Aye, my '96 735 had auto rain sensors, auto mirrors (automatically moved down in reverse so you could follow the parking space lines :D), park distance control, colour television, etc.

My '86 car has ABS, air conditioning, electric seats, cruise control, el. windows, el. mirrors, el. sunroof...

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

C-c-c-combo breaker (again) :D

View2-23428284.jpeg
    €2190

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-s-class-s-320-auto-top-sp/5731985

Colours inside and out aren't exactly the best, but for that money.. so what..?

View2-20633165.jpeg
    €3750

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-s-class-500-lwb-outstandi/5173563

Oh how I want a 5.0 V8. Might as well stretch the 3.0L+ tax rate. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

^^^ Sorry, but I just cant warm to the dash on those s-class mercs. I really don't think they convey what they were trying to represent at the time, which was the pinnacle of motoring.

What's wrong with the dash / interior? Sure it looks a bit dated now but it is nearly 15 years old. Have you been in one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

unkel wrote: »
    What's wrong with the dash / interior? Sure it looks a bit dated now but it is nearly 15 years old. Have you been in one?

Yes, I have. Its the "vectra style" rev counter and speedo. Never liked that formation - in any car.
    The Front seat (and passenger) certainly is a nice place to sit, and be, but for me, I just can't warm to the dash.
    The same era BMW 7 series just had a more involving dash, for instance. Well, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

The Dagda wrote: »
    It's not that cool. Most VAG cars have that facility remotely through their keys. It's called global opening/closing..

Yes but his isnt on the key, its a button on the headliner and as noted, the thing is nearly all glass (no pillars), including the roof (largest ever on a production car). The fact one button sends multiple signals wasnt the most impressive thing, it was the spectacle of it opening or closing like the bat mobile.

Not sure why everyone is quoting their Remote key all open/close mode as a feature, thats not interesting!?
    I brought it up and it seems everyone misunderstood the point of of highlighting it. All my cars have had the same all windows up/down mode, but they didnt have the majority of their body panels made of glass nor could you actually enable this mode when driving or inside the car (without locking and unlocking with the key fob).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Absolutely best wishes to the new owner. It looks a beauty. Well done!:)

Just saw that. It's been a funeral directors car from new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Aye, my '96 735 had auto rain sensors, auto mirrors (automatically moved down in reverse so you could follow the parking space lines :D), park distance control, colour television, etc.

My '86 car has ABS, air conditioning, electric seats, cruise control, el. windows, el. mirrors, el. sunroof...

Im trying to think of what car I drove with thosw mirrors, by god it was annoying.

You can switch it off through the menu, dude ;)

Didnt say you couldn't, Im just racking my brain as to what car it was.

How could you possibly think thats annoying? Its totally awesome, the only time I dont use it is when reversing up an incline. Its just a slider on the door handle (same one as used for adjusting left vs right mirror) to quickly disable it.

But for reversing along a kerb or parking space white line, its unbeatable. Most BMWs with Memory Seats have them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

More like 99% , im trying to put every single extra on my 735 and looking for parts in Ireland is a fruitless excersise , its just a pity the seats are so heavy to ship as theyre the big problem at present

Try one of the breakers up north?
    You should be able to fit an entire leather interior in the 7 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭mullingar

A prepared pallet from the UK should only cost €100 for a 3 day delivery.

I know this as I got a full cream leather interior with HEATED fronts seats (Inc door cards) this way a few years ago for my wife's focus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Soarer

Matt Simis wrote: »
    How could you possibly think thats annoying? Its totally awesome, the only time I dont use it is when reversing up an incline. Its just a slider on the door handle (same one as used for adjusting left vs right mirror) to quickly disable it.

But for reversing along a kerb or parking space white line, its unbeatable. Most BMWs with Memory Seats have them.

I thought he meant that trying to think of what car it was was annoying, not the feature itself.

Might have been an x5 so. I don't like it and when they're down you cant see whats actually behind you, and id rather see that than the lines on the ground.

Maybe the X5 aims the mirror too far down (as its higher than a car) or its adjusted wrong. I would have thought though that between what you can see in that mirror, the other two mirrors and old school turning around and looking, you can see behind you!

Wonder if the X5 aims it too aggressively however.

Im racking my brain as to what it was. Im thinking Grand Cherokee or maybe a Rexton. Cant remember!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Have it on my IS. It's a great feature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Im racking my brain as to what it was. Im thinking Grand Cherokee or maybe a Rexton. Cant remember!

Had it on the 7er and loved it. The 5er or the Cherokee don't have it and I miss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

BMW E32 had that feature with the mirrors dipping in reverse as well . I had it in an '89 750i (LHD). Very handy alright IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭rocky

I've disabled the mirror down on reverse on my e60. I'm 6'2 and couldn't see much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

It's handy, once you have the seat set up so that you can actually see when it happens!