LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Wow. Sorry I poked the bear1...

Not poked but I fail to see how it could be anything to do with this thread.
    If i posted a 98 Toyota camry would you say it belongs here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

bear1 wrote: »
    Not poked but I fail to see how it could be anything to do with this thread.
    If i posted a 98 Toyota camry would you say it belongs here?

A Camry and a Saab 900 would have been considered to be somewhat luxury when they were launched. Akin to the Lexus gs300 that have been linked earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Soarer

A Camry and a Saab 900 would have been considered to be somewhat luxury when they were launched. Akin to the Lexus gs300 that have been linked earlier.

Don't think you understand "luxury".

A Camry and a 900 in the same bracket as a GS300? Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,475 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

We need a ClassicBanger/LuxoBargeNomics thread.

A low-mileage, well-maintained 900 is hard to find. Ditto a similar Camry.

Speaking of Camry - haven't seen one in yonks in the Bangernomics thread. Why is that? I know they are rare enough, but there must be a few good examples out there.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    We need a ClassicBanger/LuxoBargeNomics thread.

A low-mileage, well-maintained 900 is hard to find. Ditto a similar Camry.

Speaking of Camry - haven't seen one in yonks in the Bangernomics thread. Why is that? I know they are rare enough, but there must be a few good examples out there.

Think the maxima was the winner in that segment, maybe that's a reason?
    I really doubt a 900 with velour seats and hubcaps was considered a luxury car. With the crap that was going around back then it would have been more considered a "fancy" car.
    I wouldn't put it anywhere near a gs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Except a GS300 actually was a luxury car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

millington wrote: »
    Except a GS300 actually was a luxury car...

Exactly... In Germany the most expensive Saab 900 (2.0 185bhp) was €31k, the cheapest GS (GS300) was €41k.

http://autokatalog.autoscout24.de/saab/900-1993-1998/2.0i-136-kw-185-ps/
    http://autokatalog.autoscout24.de/lexus/gs-1993-1997/300-156-kw-212-ps/

I am very sorry luxobarge police. I will never dare ask is a Saab 900 or Toyota Camry something that could be considered for this thread. Jaysus, I only asked a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭crazyjim

I'm not trying to bait the Lexus lovers, but is a leathered up 2004 3.0 Camry auto really much different feel to a GS300 ? They're almost exactly the same size

There are so few Camrys on the road anyway. Engines didn't suit our tax rates ? No diesel ? Almost no Jap imports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭Bigus

crazyjim wrote: »
    I'm not trying to bait the Lexus lovers, but is a leathered up 2004 3.0 Camry auto really much different feel to a GS300 ? They're almost exactly the same size

There are so few Camrys on the road anyway. Engines didn't suit our tax rates ? No diesel ? Almost no Jap imports

Go try one of each and come back and tell us yourself.
    Plus Lexus were never Garda cars.

My Jaguar Daimler salesman friend in the 90's used to love baiting new Lexus drivers in pub car parks by saying to their faces, when he was in Brand new high spec Jags.

"God ,The auld Toyotas are coming on a bit , she looks well, are ye happy with it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Bigus wrote: »
    Go try one of each and come back and tell us yourself.
    Plus Lexus were never Garda cars.

My Jaguar Daimler salesman friend in the 90's used to love baiting new Lexus drivers in pub car parks by saying to their faces, when he was in Brand new high spec Jags.

"God ,The auld Toyotas are coming on a bit , she looks well, are ye happy with it"

What a card he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

@Bigus the Gardai did have a few GS450H in service!

The Camry are a fine barge and I always wanted one but not bothered now, I think it's a bit unfair to attack the man that suggested it though. He probably won't bother visiting here again which is a pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Truckermal wrote: »
    I think it's a bit unfair to attack the man that suggested it though. He probably won't bother visiting here again which is a pity.

Yeah, shameful carry on tbh.

Truckermal wrote: »
    @Bigus the Gardai did have a few GS450H in service!

The Camry are a fine barge and I always wanted one but not bothered now, I think it's a bit unfair to attack the man that suggested it though. He probably won't bother visiting here again which is a pity.

Presume you mean me truckermal. I wouldn't be put off from posting again but sometimes the "I know more about cars than everybody else does" mentality of some in this forum can be a bit off putting. It's a public forum one has to remember, not members only. Anyway moving on, don't want to be seen as a backseat mod here.

Ya it was you I totally love this thread and look forward to seeing the updates every day! Obviously the guy that posted a 3 series a few days ago deserved to be sent to the Rottweilers! :pac:

Ok.
    After re reading how I posted then I can see that reaction was dickish.
    Had a fcuked up day when I posted that so it reflected in my posting style.
    Sorry about that jb and all.

Ok.

No hard feelings sure. Sometimes a post can be typed in one tone and read by others in a completely different one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭what recession?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/a8-2-8-v6-quattro-rare-colours-/12494423

Lovely looking last-of-the-line D2 A8. Nice colours indeed and it looks well looked after. These are E38s in the right spec and condition are gorgeous cars. €3k for this one
    Lovely example - every time I watch the movie Ronin I have serious cravings for a D2 S8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭CheezePleeze

Ok.
    No hard feelings sure. Sometimes a post can be typed in one tone and read by others in a completely different one.

Fair play, lads. The aussies have a phrase - "Balls Out". And I think I'm speaking for us all when I say that there's nothing more manly than two guys putting their knackers on the table for us all to reflect on.

"Keep it up" is probably the wrong phrase to use right now, but you know what I mean
    :o

Fair play, lads. The aussies have a phrase - "Balls Out". And I think I'm speaking for us all when I say that there's nothing more manly than two guys putting their knackers on the table for us all to reflect on.

"Keep it up" is probably the wrong phrase to use right now, but you know what I mean
    :o

Well I've sent JB a private message asking if an apologetic tug would be alright but he said only if its in the back of an old 900 :D
    Needs must :D

Taxed till the end of the month as well, they are becoming seriously tempting:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs300-1-owner-full-history-tax-9-16-nct-4-17/10861009

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-ls-ls-430-4dr-automatic-very-low-mileage/11213941

What are those two buttons on the passenger seat side wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

IIRC this particular one shows up from time to time here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Brasso

I think they're for the rear seat passenger to be able to move/tilt that seat forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Soarer

The lack of mileage is an immediate turn off.

IIRC they are to lower or heighten the headrest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They are so the driver can put the passenger seat forward or back and to adjust the upright angle of the seat, lazy way to make changes without getting out of the car and going around to the passenger side controls :D