LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Test until March '15 on this V8 bruiser..
    Asking €4,950

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-cl-class-cl500-coupe-auto/8246987

35766242.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

Hi Lads, anyone got any opinions on ML 270, I see a nice 2003 all leather auto 7 seater in Dublin for €3,400, tax til June 15 and test just done, full merc SH, I drive it for 9+ months on that tax and commercialise it then, want a jeep for towing a trailer the odd time, I do very few miles any more, maybe 100pw, it looks value to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ofcork

The first generation ml don't have the greatest reliability like most mercs from that era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Hi Lads, anyone got any opinions on ML 270, I see a nice 2003 all leather auto 7 seater in Dublin for €3,400, tax til June 15 and test just done, full merc SH, I drive it for 9+ months on that tax and commercialise it then, want a jeep for towing a trailer the odd time, I do very few miles any more, maybe 100pw, it looks value to me?

100km per week so roughly 4800km per year. I know you said you need a jeep to pull a trailer the odd time but I think a petrol jeep would be more suitable for you.
    The diesel engine in that Merc is supposed to be very heavy on diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ofcork wrote: »
    The first generation ml don't have the greatest reliability like most mercs from that era.

+1 , all the carbon buildup from leaky injectors plauges them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭mullingar

Need an ML for low mileage and towing.

Sorted (but over priced)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-mercedes-benz-ml-55-amg-rare-automobile/7842365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Ive noticed that luxo barges are creeping up in price. A couple of years ago youd get great deals, now not so much. It looks like it has bottomed out and prices are going to get higher. Remember the xk8 hmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 TestersWanted

anyone got any opinions on ML 270

I know two people who had 01 MLs. In both cases they were tormented with problems and eventually got rid of them after a short enough time. Then again, I had a 01 E-class - another Merc from the same period - for over 7 years and it never gave me any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,194 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I know two people who had 01 MLs. In both cases they were tormented with problems and eventually got rid of them after a short enough time. Then again, I had a 01 E-class - another Merc from the same period - for over 7 years and it never gave me any trouble.

E-class was made in Germany, ML was made in the USA.

Had an ML over there for a while and it was brutal to drive. Never even mind the build quality.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Ok seems to be the general consensus that they are a no go, thought it seemed a decent bit of luxury value at 2.5k (after taking off tax value).

If anyone spots anything similar, let me know, looking for jeep that can pull 3.5ton max when needed and something non agricultural, it can have 7 seats as I will change to commercial. Want something the Mrs would drive if I needed to take the car to bring more than 2 anywhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Ok seems to be the general consensus that they are a no go, thought it seemed a decent bit of luxury value at 2.5k (after taking off tax value).

If anyone spots anything similar, let me know, looking for jeep that can pull 3.5ton max when needed and something non agricultural, it can have 7 seats as I will change to commercial. Want something the Mrs would drive if I needed to take the car to bring more than 2 anywhere....

Range Rover seems like the obvious answer?

CianRyan wrote: »
    Range Rover seems like the obvious answer?

For the budget you'd be looking at a 2.5 RR, awful slow things and most are in sh1t now

Augeo wrote: »
    For the budget you'd be looking at a 2.5 RR, awful slow things and most are in sh1t now

Yeah I guess.
    Land Cruiser Amazon is a mighty yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,194 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Did you find a half decent Land Cruiser Amazon for within budget?

Only thing I can find on donedeal within budget is knackered old (90s) high mileage far more basic models. They are so far from a Luxobarge that I should be banned for even mentioning them :p

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

unkel wrote: »

Only thing I can find on donedeal within budget is knackered old (90s) high mileage far more basic models. They are so far from a Luxobarge that I should be banned for even mentioning them :p

I've infracted you for this. Please do not post in this thread again.

:p:D

I was hoping the consensus on the ML would be better but maybe that's why they are cheap....
    if it is to be left to the Mrs the odd time I don't think the Amazon would be too handy about town... 2.5k would not be max, just mentioned that's what ML ex tax came in at...basically Jeep in luxobarge category.... Pref diesel, as if want to commercialise and sell again the local market to me would not be big for large petrol ones....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

NO the oil prices wouldnt be a factor, or the depreciation cos that comes from the start and when it hits luxobarge territory then the depreciation has already hit.
    I think its more a case of scarcity and a lot of those barges been sent out of country. Less product means higher selling price, as there always will be a market for these cars.
    Its the exact same for heavy machinery, a lot of machines went out and only the sh1te of the sh1te was left and now things are scarce machines that were going for peanuts 2 years ago have doubled in price, even though they are crap.

eg jcb 3cx 4x4 going for 2000, now going for 4-5000.
    other equipment I saw going for unbelievably for 80,000 is now 250,000.

same goes for bangernomics, people are buying up small 1 lt cars and the prices are steadily going up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

I have to disagree with the others. Pre 2002 cars were the original American design and pretty woeful. Facelift ones, easy to spot by the foglight under the bumper are far superior. Apart from the quality of the dash plastics and the armrest you could almost believe that you're driving a Merc. Check out the buyers guide on benzworld.org but we've put 100,000 miles on a late 2002 car (total 252,000 miles) trouble free. It's an almost identical engine to the E class minus a cylinder

unkel wrote: »

Hilarious, Where's your suggestion?

............basically Jeep in luxobarge category.... Pref diesel, as if want to commercialise and sell again the local market to me would not be big for large petrol ones....

Inspired by the water charges video incident.......

Seem very reasonably priced. Mercedes engine I believe..... not a luxobarge imo but might suit you, especially as they are compact enough as 4x4s go, not as big as a Lancruiser LWB for example.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-chrysler-grand-cherokee-limited-3-0crd/8280410

35922383.jpeg

€5150 would creep into the €5K thread criteria I'm sure :)

Plenty of the older shape in budget but I think they were rather sh1te in comparison to the replacements.

There's a few 4.4 Rangerovera from €5-6k, surely worth considering.
    I know they're a bit upper budget but with a bit of skimping and haggling you may be able to pull one for €5.5k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭astraj

Drove a grand jeep cheroke for a weekend a few years ago. Absolutely loved it to drive although it seemed massive on one way streets with cars parked both sides but I was probably nervous because the parking sensors keep beeping. Loads of power but a little thirsty. I would still buy one just for the presence they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Lovely machine, i prefer facelift version personally but at that money, i wouldn't care.

You'd want to go in with your eyes wide open and get it thoroughly checked beforehand though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Sobanek wrote: »

Nct June 15:D

Next NCT Due By: Jun 05 2015

It's still 2014, you know? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Sobanek wrote: »
    Next NCT Due By: Jun 05 2015

It's still 2014, you know? :pac:

Yep I know,I did mean 2015,so six and a half months test left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

By God that is ugly, time has been kind to most of Bangles work, but not this one.

You'd be surprised how much difference the colour and alloys make to the E65.

308772_107373322710685_2106463719_n.jpg?oh=2b5fe71ddd464648769cdd3fb05106c7&oe=5503CF43&__gda__=1426724874_b492b2e820f00d21964e8a31c9ea8670