Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I the only one who does not find this funny??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

Straying off a little but what gave you the right to delete it? Whatever about bringing it to someones attention but it wasn't yours to delete

Well the family matter in the video largely involved my father who has been going through a lot of problems so I had EVERY right to delete it. Don't care less if it was on her computer or not. What gives me the right to delete it? How about what gives HER the right to FILM it?

Also I know her, if I did bring it to someone's attention, she would have been so angry at me. There is no reasoning with her, so was just easier to have deleted it to save my father humiliation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

rox5 wrote: »
    Did anyone hear about this guy called Robert from Kilkenny who filmed his mother who was giving out to him about his Irish Oral and put it up on Youtube?

Can't blame him to be honest.......

Michael Douglas reckons it gave him Throat Cancer.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-22751349

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

The Aussie wrote: »

*Exasperated sigh*

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I'm sure its some form of mental illness

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62861607&postcount=3

"Irish mammy syndrome is short hand for the passive agressive manipulative manner in which some women control thier children even when those children are in thier 40s.

It also tends to go hand in hand with the worship of their sons and handicapping them to be able to look after themsleves as they were never made pick up after themselves or cook or do any household chores for themsevles, while also putting down thier daughters and trying to stiffle their spirit as they may as well get used to the life of being a stay at home skivy rather then getting notions.

It is a perverse type of self martyrdom. "

http://www.oqps.ie/mammy-syndrome.htm

Mothers who refuse to believe their sons have fathered illegitimate children are among the most popular users of DNA paternity test services, it has been revealed.

A leading paternity testing company claimed its business has rocketed by 80% over the last year in no short measure because of the "great Irish mammy syndrome".
    Brian O'Dwyer, operations director of the Dublin-based Ormonde Quay Paternity Services (OQPS), said potential grandmothers contact the company in their droves to find out how to disprove allegations their son had casual sex. "It's the great Irish mammy syndrome. I have had an astonishing number of calls from mothers who believe the girl is not telling the truth," said O'Dwyer.
    Copyright (c) Press Association Ltd. 2008, All Rights Reserved

.......... I was on the computer at her house and came across a video recording of a VERY private family matter and it still disgusts me that she could film it. Not sure if she put it on the internet or not, but I deleted it anyway .........

How did you manage to delete it if she put it on the internet ?

Do you know her password to Youtube or wherever ?

Did you log in to her account on Youtube and delete it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

gctest50 wrote: »
    How did you manage to delete it if she put it on the internet ?

Do you know her password to Youtube or wherever ?

Did you log in to her account on Youtube and delete it ?

I never said she put it on the internet, I said I saw it on her computer and I am not sure if it is on the internet, as I have not seen anything, but I deleted anyway as it is too upsetting to know something like that is recorded or if my father ever discovered it. I know she has a Youtube account and I have not seen it on there. She does have a Tagged account and is very private about that so I am worried about what stuff could be on there.

She could just download something like : http://www.piriform.com/recuva

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'd say this video being uploaded is simply because of how funny and typically 'Irish Mammy' it is.
    I don't think she came across bad, she was dead right to be honest but it's still quite funny.

Anyway, camera phones have ruined everything. Can't do anything these days without someone whipping out their phone to get a picture or a video of it. Ugh.
    Concerts are the worst, here's an idea..enjoy the moment, put the camera away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

gctest50 wrote: »
    This one ?

Nice tits on the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 onthebrink

He sounds like a right thicko all right, but Mum is not showing great motivation skills or example either. Having someone stand over you, Ff...ing and aggressive is not the best preparation for an exam.
    Robert seems very immature and shows it by putting that recording on Youtube, but how will Mum motivate him next year when he is away in college. (If he gets there!!)
    A parent has to encourage their kids for exams, and there is no point trying to bully someone into studying or learning, it just cannot be done.
    To all exam students I would say best of luck on Wednesday and I hope you are getting the support you deserve, all you can do is your best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I can't believe no-one has mentioned the poster on his wall yet, if my boys put that up there would be stern words.

Same here, shows a complete lack of respect for his home tbh.
    It used to be that would have been "hidden" in CASE it was found, now little spoilt f*ckers like him are hanging it on the wall in HER house(when he gets his own place he can hang whatever ****e he likes up).

If any of mine ever posted anything like that about me on youtube etc(they'd have better sense ;)) they'd see what would happen, "No more internet for you sonny boy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Well the family matter in the video largely involved my father who has been going through a lot of problems so I had EVERY right to delete it. Don't care less if it was on her computer or not. What gives me the right to delete it? How about what gives HER the right to FILM it?

Also I know her, if I did bring it to someone's attention, she would have been so angry at me. There is no reasoning with her, so was just easier to have deleted it to save my father humiliation.

Would it not be better to tell someone so they can explain to her what she's doing is wrong? At the moment she or your family are none the wiser and will just continue as they are, and she will probably continue recording things you feel she shouldn't be. At the very least they could keep an eye on her

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Imo it's not funny at all and agree with the sentiment about posting these things for others to see, not on. He might be a teenager but I know adults on fb who post a lot of things that he wouldnt like if he was the subject of them. The idea is mocking and humiliation and its a bit mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The Aussie wrote: »

We literally made it 3 pages into the thread without this coming up. Why, why would you do that?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

le la rat wrote: »
    While it was very wrong to do what he did it was still the funniest thing I have seen this year
    .At best it's vaguely amusing, but if this is what's trending, meh!. Not sure it's even genuine but who cares?

She should post videos of this frustrating genius.

<Live webcam of our little Johnny wastudying>

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Can't find that anywhere on the page. Where are you reading it from that he got a C?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I just think it's sad that a legal adult (or soon to be) is forced to do a subject he has no interest in and sees no merit in doing. He quite obviously has great disdain for the subject. Yet he is forced by law, societal pressure and even his mother to put up with some sort of song and dance for a couple of months so he can get some arbitrary mark which is assessed over 3 days (oral & 2 papers) in a language he will probably never use again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

thanks for the link.....i tried googling Mammy Oral.....BIG mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

bleg wrote: »
    I just think it's sad that a legal adult (or soon to be) is forced to do a subject he has no interest in and sees no merit in doing. He quite obviously has great disdain for the subject. Yet he is forced by law, societal pressure and even his mother to put up with some sort of song and dance for a couple of months so he can get some arbitrary mark which is assessed over 3 days (oral & 2 papers) in a language he will probably never use again.

He's NOT a legal adult though, that's an important distinction. Other than that, he's hardly suffering, his problem was that he just couldn't be arsed.

Meanwhile other students who worked hard have aspirations to work for NASA, become doctors and study medicine, while Robert is still pulling the plums off himself to his posters of Holly Hagan.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Czarcasm wrote: »
    He's NOT a legal adult though, that's an important distinction. Other than that, he's hardly suffering, his problem was that he just couldn't be arsed.

Meanwhile other students who worked hard have aspirations to work for NASA, become doctors and study medicine, while Robert is still pulling the plums off himself to his posters of Holly Hagan.

The point is though why work hard at something so entirely pointless and irrelevant as Irish? Unless the driving instructions on the spacecraft are written in Irish I don't know how it will help him to be an astronaut.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭conorhal

I approve of this. For a start, it's lulzy. For another thing, the possibility that you might be being recorded encourages a culture in which being a complete knob carries its risks. She strikes me as immensely annoying, and just as in the case of the KPMG incident, anything which encourages people to think about how ridiculous they look/sound before they act is a welcome change.

If this was applied to boardrooms and cabinet offices around the world we'd have far less neglect and corruption.

I disagree, there's something unbarably smug and self reighteous about such iPhone paparazzi. Often subjective editing is involved, in the case of KPMG girl it was pretty clear that the video cuts in to her response to whatever the little skobie had said to prevoke her, you never got to see what he's said first.
    That said, his mum should burst in on the little scrote spanking the monkey and post it on his facebook page, that'd learn him!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭donegal_man

I think it's sad that a soon to be legal adult believes the way to deal with a family row is to post it on youtube. If he expects to be treated as an adult he has to act like one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I didn't hear about this until I saw this thread. I won't watch it either, I hate these things and I think it shows such a lack of respect to put up a video of a person without their consent.

Worst I ever heard was when a man was knocked over by a bus last year at college green a taxi driver had to cover the body as bystanders were filming an taking pictures on their phones. Disgusting

Czarcasm wrote: »

...........<googles Holly Hagan>

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

End of the world stuff...not being able to speak a half-dead language. I understand the mother's anger & frustration!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

So he was on Facebook, yet you can be gauranteed he's not paying for the broadband connection. A right little príck for posting that.

You can be sure the tosspot wouldn't have posted it if the mother said "ah Robert, would you ever give the oul' porn a break"..
    Apart from the swearing a bit wasn't that bad tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

bleg wrote: »

Performance in a weaker subject in is often more indicative of a student's potential, rather than a preferred one. There's plenty of subjects I would have given a miss if I had half a chance. However the LC is meant to be an overall test of a student's ability to learn. Would be grand if we could cherry-pick what we did or didn't want to learn - must see if I can try that in work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Did anyone hear about this guy called Robert from Kilkenny who filmed his mother who was giving out to him about his Irish oral and put it up on Youtube?

I mean people were either laughing about it, or saying "Poor woman, it's really frustating when teens don't study" but no one seems to be commenting on the fact that this guy filmed a private family matter and exposed it on the internet for the whole world to see?! And it annoys me to find that the s**t still has not took it down because it's still around on Youtube.

I mean me and a relative of mine were arguing over something the other day, and a cousin of mine was in the other room laughing and was on her phone, and then my relative asked her what she was laughing at and asked her for her phone because she actually thought that she might have been recording us fighting. She said she wasn't, but I am still worried about that because I was on the computer at her house and came across a video recording of a VERY private family matter and it still disgusts me that she could film it. Not sure if she put it on the internet or not, but I deleted it anyway just in case, because she is not exactly miss innocence after what I have seen.

But this is what I mean, that she become very paranoid when she had that phone on her because of this Irish Oral video.

But is this what is had come to? Where a parent can't argue with their child without them recording it and putting it on the internet to have their five seconds of fame, and at the same time humilating them forever? I mean it's bad enough when bullies film their victims or people film eccentric things that happen in public, but to film your own family members is just low altogether.

Maybe parents will be shammed into raising good kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

UCDVet wrote: »
    Maybe parents will be shammed into raising good kids?

Or more likely- idiots will always have their five seconds of fame on the internet, while more intelligent young adults will be too busy discovering more about the universe around us, or discovering more about the human body, contributing to humanity as opposed to contributing to it's demise.