Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland regaining competitiveness?

• 30-05-2013 5:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭

Both the troika and the IMD think we're regaining competitiveness:
    Ireland has gained three places on the IMD World Competitiveness Ranking Scoreboard, rising to 17th overall.

The annual report, which measures how well countries manage their economies and workforce, ranked Ireland above the United Kingdom (18th), France (28th) and China (21st).

http://www.rte.ie/news/business/2013/0530/453677-competitiveness-imd-ireland/

And the EU Commission has this in their latest report:
    Structural reforms have improved economic fundamentals. Reforms in the labour and product markets since the start of the programme have contributed to improving competitiveness and re-balancing the external accounts. The loss of competitiveness suffered during the boom years has been erased through a mix of increased productivity, falling prices in key segments of the economy and wage moderation.

Competition policy has been strengthened and water sector reforms have gained momentum. The Competition (Amendment) Act 2012 gave new and enhanced enforcement powers to the Competition Authority, which used them for the first time in February 2013 to resolve a case concerning resale price maintenance practices by a distributor of imported footwear. Water sector reforms were implemented slowly early on in the programme but have gained significant momentum recently, including with the enactment of the interim Water Services Act 2013 in March and operational progress in installing meters for households, which is set to begin in July 2013. The process to transfer operations of water services from local authorities to the national utility Irish Water will continue in the months ahead with the publication of a comprehensive Water Services Bill that will provide a new legal framework for the sector, including the transfer of regulatory powers to the Commission for Energy Regulation. The authorities are also working on the funding model for Irish Water and will consult the Commission on State-aid related issues.

Aside from employment and social inclusion, progress towards achieving Europe 2020 targets is also needed across most other areas. Although Ireland performs better than the EU average on a number of indicators, for example tertiary education attainment, it also falls far short of some of the targets. Progress in reducing greenhouse gas emissions in sectors not covered by the emission trading system (ETS) has been slow and the target is expected to be missed by a wide margin even if all additional measures under policy documents were to be fully implemented. Similarly, the increase in the use of renewable energies has been relatively modest in recent years.

Reforms under the programme are yielding clear and tangible results. The economy is showing signs of a budding broad-based recovery, even though risks and uncertainties remain significant, and the unemployment situation generates social distress. Structural reforms and the restructuring of the banking sector, although incomplete so far, have progressed well and are laying the foundations for more sustainable growth in the future. Strong programme implementation and progress towards fiscal consolidation, together with major new arrangements in Ireland and the euro area (in particular, liquidation of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC), the associated conversion of promissory notes into long-term bonds and the OMT announcement by the ECB) have also built up market confidence, thereby reducing yields and enabling Ireland to advance its return to the markets. Significant challenges and imbalances remain, however, including in terms of banks’ asset quality and profitability, private- and public-sector debt, general government budget and unemployment.

Programme implementation is expected to stay strong overall throughout 2013, but it is important to avoid complacency as significant challenges and imbalances remain. The ambitious reforms put in place thus far under the programme have addressed many deeprooted imbalances and strengthened Ireland’s position, thereby improving prospects for a successful programme exit, together with sustainable growth and job creation. Imbalances, risks (internal and external) and vulnerabilities remain, however, and will need to be addressed with determination throughout the duration of the programme and beyond. In particular, further work is required to complete the restructuring of the banking sector, put public finances on a sustainable footing, and reduce unemployment. Programme implementation will be assessed under quarterly missions through end-2013 and it is expected that the authorities will continue to follow the benchmarks set under the revised MoU throughout the period.

http://ec.europa.eu/economy_finance/economic_governance/sgp/convergence/programmes/2012_en.htm

The light at the end of the tunnel may not be a bloke with a flamethrower, then.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Attention all. This is a party political broadcast on behalf of the Fine Gael/Labour government. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Whatever about Ireland being more competitive than the uk or France, how can we be more competitive than china?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Scortho wrote: »
    Whatever about Ireland being more competitive than the uk or France, how can we be more competitive than china?

A question of looking at more than low wages. A rough idea of the sort of criteria used:
    • Economic Performance (79 criteria) - Macro-economic evaluation of the domestic economy: Domestic Economy, International Trade, International Investment, Employment and Prices.
    • Government Efficiency (70 criteria) - Extent to which government policies are conducive to competitiveness: Public Finance, Fiscal Policy, Institutional Framework, Business Legislation and Societal Framework.
    • Business Efficiency (71 criteria) - Extent to which the national environment encourages enterprises to perform in an innovative, profitable and responsible manner: Productivity and Efficiency, Labor Market, Finance, Management Practices and Attitudes and Values.
    • Infrastructure (113 criteria) - Extent to which basic, technological, scientific and human resources meet the needs of business: Basic Infrastructure, Technological Infrastructure, Scientific Infrastructure, Health and Environment and Education.

http://www.imd.org/uupload/imd.website/wcc/methodology.pdf

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

Scortho wrote: »

Because the stuff we make doesn't break after a week.[/outlandish stereotyping because we don't actually make stuff anymore]

gaius c wrote: »
    Because the stuff we make doesn't break after a week.[/outlandish stereotyping because we don't actually make stuff anymore]

We make quite a bit, but mostly chemicals/pharmaceuticals:

767px-Ireland_Export_Treemap.jpg

http://atlas.media.mit.edu/explore/tree_map/export/irl/all/show/2010/

Recorded gramophone records...?

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

At the risk of perpetuating stereotypes, in Ireland they'll let you pay vast royalties tax free for your intellectual property, in China they'll steal your intellectual property. For anything advanced this is important.

Scofflaw wrote: »

cordially,
    Scofflaw
    Shrink wrapped DVDs of Windows or the like maybe?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Scofflaw wrote: »

There *was* a CD pressing plant in Youghal. Long gone but there may be another somewhere.

MYOB wrote: »
    There *was* a CD pressing plant in Youghal. Long gone but there may be another somewhere.

Apparently not - what's classified under 'recorded gramophone records' seems to be, well, recorded gramophone records:
    Classifying blank and recorded media

Recordable media include:

disks like CDs and DVDs
    magnetic tapes
    flash memory cards

Many can be either blank or pre-recorded. Most blank and recorded media are classified under heading code 8523.

Blank disks
    Classification of blank unrecorded disks can be complicated. Although all of these types of disk are read by laser systems, the recording (writing) systems differ. Disks fall into the following classes:

CD-R disks. These are unrecorded blank disks of 'Orange Book II' type that use laser technology for both reading and writing. CD-R disks are classified under subheading code 8523 40 11 00.
    CD-RW disks. These use Phase-change technology for recording and erasing and are classified under subheading code 8523 40 19 00.
    Blank Minidiscs. These use magnetic optical technology for recording and erasing. The blank disks have a magnetic layer and are rigid magnetic disks. Blank Minidiscs are classified under subheading code 8523 29 15 00.
    Other blank magneto-optical disks. These are classified under subheading code 8523 29 15 00.
    DVD-R disks. The technology of these disks is assumed to be similar to the CD-R disk in that they use laser technology for both reading and writing. DVD-R disks are classified under subheading code 8523 40 13 00.
    DVD+RW disks. These use Phase-change technology for recording and erasing and are classified under subheading code 8523 40 19 00.

Blank magnetic tapes
    Magnetic tapes include audio cassette tapes, reels, video cassette tapes, mini DV and so on. They're classified under subheading code 8523 29 15 00.

Flash memory cards
    These contain two or more flash memory integrated electronic circuits mounted on a base. There are different types of flash memory card, including Compact Flash, Smart Media and Secure Digital. They're classified under subheading code 8523 51 10 00.

Micro drives
    These are miniature hard disk drives. They're classified under subheading code 8471 70 50 90.

Recorded gramophone records
    These are classified under subheading code 8523 80 99 00.

http://www.nibusinessinfo.co.uk/content/classifying-blank-and-recorded-media

perplexed,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

What eejits we were to abandon our traditional industries, Donegal tweed, Carrickmacross lace, Cork and Foxford woollens, in favour of here today, gone tomorrow multinational fly by nights, Believe me, it will rebound on us,

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

feargale wrote: »
    What eejits we were to abandon our traditional industries, Donegal tweed, Carrickmacross lace, Cork and Foxford woollens, in favour of here today, gone tomorrow multinational fly by nights, Believe me, it will rebound on us,

Those industries can employ a nation?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

The EU and IMF are not neutral bystanders. They have invested billions in this country in the hope that we might not default. I think we will default because the policy of stimulus is about to fail - not just here, but crucially in the EU and the US. The reason I know this is because both the EU and US have lowered interest rates almost as low as they can go without dipping into negative territory. If interest rates drop to zero or below, there will be a flight of capital from the banks triggering chaos across the global financial system with immediate consequences for the movement of goods and capital.

The depression we were supposed to have in 2008 was always going to happen but because of the billions borrowed to stave off the inevitable, that depression will now be several times worse than it would have been.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

The EU and IMF are not neutral bystanders. They have invested billions in this country in the hope that we might not default. I think we will default because the policy of stimulus is about to fail - not just here, but crucially in the EU and the US. The reason I know this is because both the EU and US have lowered interest rates almost as low as they can go without dipping into negative territory. If interest rates drop to zero or below, there will be a flight of capital from the banks triggering chaos across the global financial system with immediate consequences for the movement of goods and capital.

The depression we were supposed to have in 2008 was always going to happen but because of the billions borrowed to stave off the inevitable, that depression will now be several times worse than it would have been.

And where will this flight of capital go. Most sane people would be reluctant to leave 10K not to mind 100K under the bed in a buiscuit tin. In reality mediun term deposit rates 2-3 years are still around 2.5%. It is only short term rates that are at or below euro rates.

Also is 0-2% return better in Ireland than 3-4% in Cyprus or Singapore. What low interest rates will tend to do is encourage people to take more risk investing and also make money cheaper to buisnesses.

It also encourages people with savings to spend some money as it may be reducing in value and there may be perceived value in an economy that is in limbo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

chicken licken?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

It's been a bit of a disaster, I agree.

Let me explain. From the perspective of someone who has been based in Asia long term, I continually lament the lack of penetration of Irish brands into the markets and consciousness of the vast consumer markets here.

We had what they want. They want the good stuff, the historical stuff, the unique stuff, the quality stuff.

Waterford crystal being the prime example. What a heritage, what a brand, by the time the middle class boomed here in Asia Waterford Crystal was not able to invest and capitalise, it had been shelled out and outsourced production to other countries. Waterford could have been HUGE. Waterford could have boomed off Waterford Crystal if done right. Don't believe me? Look into the story of Swarovski.

Finally some people are starting to look into Asian markets, but they are still very slow to get going. Irish whiskey is a beggar compared to the dominance of Scotch whiskey, a massive money spinner for Diageo and others (although not a massive employer due to automation).

So many areas we should be leaders, and we are not, because we were sitting on our ass with these multinationals and their tax dodges.

nesf wrote: »

They wouldn't be jumping to employ the Indian or Moroccan nation as soon as the government here asked them to pay a few bob of tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

They wouldn't be jumping to employ the Indian or Moroccan nation

Not that they do. I'd say the likes of Apple has feck all Moroccans.
    But if they did wish to employ such people they could do it in Morocco, with little advantage to Ireland.

They wouldn't be jumping to employ the Indian or Moroccan nation as soon as the government here asked them to pay a few bob of tax.

a) You'd be surprised what kinds of traditional industries can be outsourced.

b) Again, you can't employ a nation with them, so it's pointless to hold them up as examples and say we can avoid industries that are not especially unique to Ireland.

ardmacha wrote: »
    Not that they do. I'd say the likes of Apple has feck all Moroccans.
    But if they did wish to employ such people they could do it in Morocco, with little advantage to Ireland.
    That's my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

We have a high skilled workforce, this isn't craggy island and saturating the world market with wooly jumpers isn't going to fix anything.

On the OP, I think a lot to do with our improvement in competitiveness is through Government and Business efficiency, but the whole backbone to all of this is our corporate tax rate, which Europe are desperately trying to bring a universal agreement on, and I don't know if we can hold out forever.

If we lost that advantage, our excessive wage rigidity and energy costs, poor IT infrastructure, potentially high pre-collapse long term lease agreements, could make us a very attractive country to leave if the industry could avail of much cheaper labour force and rates in a suburb of a small German city which is also central for distribution, unlike Ireland.

I still don't think we have brought anything new to the table or have developed a niche or industry that will boom to get us out of our troubles, and most importantly, I think a frighteningly large portion of our production industry is from FDI, another inflated bubble that if we were to lose our advantages there, could further collapse the economy.

I would be interested to see the difference in our GDP and GNP now and in the boom years. I would imagine the gap has widened further from an already massive disparity by international standards.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    We have a high skilled workforce, this isn't craggy island and saturating the world market with wooly jumpers isn't going to fix anything.

On the OP, I think a lot to do with our improvement in competitiveness is through Government and Business efficiency, but the whole backbone to all of this is our corporate tax rate, which Europe are desperately trying to bring a universal agreement on, and I don't know if we can hold out forever.

If we lost that advantage, our excessive wage rigidity and energy costs, poor IT infrastructure, potentially high pre-collapse long term lease agreements, could make us a very attractive country to leave if the industry could avail of much cheaper labour force and rates in a suburb of a small German city which is also central for distribution, unlike Ireland.

I still don't think we have brought anything new to the table or have developed a niche or industry that will boom to get us out of our troubles, and most importantly, I think a frighteningly large portion of our production industry is from FDI, another inflated bubble that if we were to lose our advantages there, could further collapse the economy.

I would be interested to see the difference in our GDP and GNP now and in the boom years. I would imagine the gap has widened further from an already massive disparity by international standards.

You're not wrong:

Year|GDP|GNP|GNP as % GDP
    1997|68154|59661|87.54%
    1998|78685|68739|87.36%
    1999|90682|77133|85.06%
    2000|105774|90286|85.36%
    2001|117643|98668|83.87%
    2002|130878|107182|81.89%
    2003|140828|119103|84.57%
    2004|150195|127316|84.77%
    2005|163036|138777|85.12%
    2006|177730|154465|86.91%
    2007|188730|162209|85.95%
    2008|178882|153564|85.85%
    2009|161275|132911|82.41%
    2010|156486|130202|83.20%
    2011|158993|127016|79.89%
    2012|163596|133403|81.54%

cordially,
    Scofflaw

And the current industries can?

The logic of the current situation says we are doing something BADLY wrong.

We need all these niche industries to create a diverse and robust economy which gives work and income opportunities for business people and employees across the whole island.

You see you are not going to get Facebook or Google operating out of Donegal. But you can have Donegal Tweed operating out of Donegal (hypothetical company, I'm not familiar with the names).

They will employ construction workers, machinists, designers , textile workers, sales and marketing, web designers, logistics personnel. Theiy will boost demand in the locally deprived area. They will purchase wool from local farmers if they want guaranteed Irish. What's the problem with this scheme?

Not only that, Dongegal tweed could be right down the street of millions of newly affluent consumers looking for quality and uniqueness, happy to see production from Donegal and nowhere else. Authencity. Locking jobs and wealth into a poor and remote part of our island. What might be twee and old fashioned to us might be cutting edge fashion to them. And there's no reason to stick to old ways, we can explore new products and new styles to suit the new consumer markets tastes.

Donegal tweed could become a tourist attraction giving people the last boost they need to visit the North West.

The same can be repeated island wife wth craft and heritage products . It's not small business either once you get the brand established worldwide. Fashion is one of the worlds biggest industries.

So people who sneer at these ideas really need to go out and learn about the world. What's wrong with the vision above? Not achievable? Nonsense, it's perfectly achievable with hard work, investment and good planning.

China has just agreed to give exclusive branding to Scothh whiskey and Champane from the champagne region in France. That's guaranteed 100s of millions to billions a year in sales, it cannot be taken away because the regional trademark is protected, it's basically like printing money with fantastic profit margins to boot!

maninasia wrote: »
    And the current industries can?

The logic of the current situation says we are doing something BADLY wrong.

We need all these niche industries to create a diverse and robust economy which gives work and income opportunities for business people and employees across the whole island.

You see you are not going to get Facebook or Google operating out of Donegal. But you can have Donegal Tweed operating out of Donegal (hypothetical company, I'm not familiar with the names).

Not only that, Dongegal tweed could be right down the street of millions of newly affluent consumers looking for quality and uniqueness, happy to see production from Donegal and nowhere else. Authencity. Locking jobs and wealth into a poor and remote part of our island. What might be twee and old fashioned to us might be cutting edge fashion to them. And there's no reason to stick to old ways, we can explore new products and new styles to suit the new consumer markets tastes.

The same can be repeated island wife wth craft and heritage products . It's not small business either once you get the brand established worldwide. Fashion is one of the worlds biggest industries.

So people who sneer at these ideas really need to go out and learn about the world.

China has just agreed to give exclusive branding to Scothh whiskey and Champane from the champagne region in France. That's guaranteed 100s of millions to billions a year in sales, it cannot be taken away because the regional trademark is protected, it's basically like printing money with fantastic profit margins to boot!

I'm not snearing at those ideas. I think Brora is a perfect example of how to do it right (and even Brora I believe outsources some of its lower end production to the Far East, only the high end stuff is handmade in Scotland). I'm just pointing out that these aren't industries that can employ vast amounts of people due to our edge in them being providing high quality, low quantity goods which are not hugely labour intensive.

I suppose I'm mostly bemused by the idea that we can actually plan this. Economies really don't work that way. We can encourage many things but actual direction of the economy doesn't work.

I'm not snearing at those ideas. I think Brora is a perfect example of how to do it right (and even Brora I believe outsources much of its production to the Far East, only the very high end stuff is handmade in Scotland). I'm just pointing out that these aren't industries that can employ vast amounts of people due to our edge in them being providing high quality, low quantity goods which are not hugely labour intensive.

I suppose I'm mostly bemused by the idea that we can actually plan this. Economies really don't work that way. We can encourage many things but actual direction of the economy doesn't work.

You obviously don't take it seriously, and yet the numbers add up to significant long term and highly profitable business providing good employment around the country.

Yes you can't know in advance which ones are the bullseyes and which are off the board, but helping to foster and promote these heritage businesses overseas simply makes a lot of sense overall. Often they simply need some help to reach new markets or to upgrade their capabilities.

For instance LV is French culture and French culture is LV.

In fact this is exactly what all our competitors do, linking their country brand with their products, we should be in the game too, instead of cutting back our funding for promotion of Irish culture and associated products and services in the East and elsewhere.

You also completely ignored my point about regional trademarking, which is a state to state sponsored result that is completely planned from start to finish. It doesn't come from 'the free market' (which doesnt really exist anyway) but from a strategic approach to trade.

We had our wins with our strategic tax approach, those days are going now, and we need new strategies and plans to work off our inherent advantages and at the same time hope to build a more robust local industry.

The difference of an additional 10 to 20% employment from successful local companies across the economy as a whole is the difference between recession and prosperity. In fact in the regional areas its often the difference between no job and depression or having a job and a decent town to live in

So to not take this seriously, it doesn't make sense.

You obviously don't take it seriously, and yet the numbers add up to significant long term and highly profitable business providing good employment around the country.

Grand, give some evidence then, and no pointing out a large indigenous industry in another country with completely different comparative advantages doesn't count. Where are these numbers that add up? What is "good" employment? 10,000 people, 100,000 people? What? How much will be outsourced? We can't do cheap clothes here, wages are far too high and by cheap I don't mean Penny's cheap.

Look, I'm all for local indigenous industry. I'm just sceptical of them as a panacea. We already do very substantial exports to the Far East with high quality agricultural products and intermediary products. An Bord Bia do a lot of work in this area.

Grand, give some evidence then, and no pointing out a large indigenous industry in another country with completely different comparative advantages doesn't count. Where are these numbers that add up? What is "good" employment? 10,000 people, 100,000 people? What? How much will be outsourced? We can't do cheap clothes here, wages are far too high and by cheap I don't mean Penny's cheap.

Look, I'm all for local indigenous industry. I'm just sceptical of them as a panacea. We already do very substantial exports to the Far East with high quality agricultural products and intermediary products. An Bord Bia do a lot of work in this area.

We do not do anything like the exports we should be doing to the Far East, we really dropped the ball on it for years and years and saw surprisingly little growth in the last five years. Don't believe the spin, it's simply not true.

Irish whiskey is almost unknown. Same for Waterford crystal or woolen products. Irish dairy produce is extremely hard to find while French, Dutch, New Zealand and others are everywhere. Guinness has some presence but no other Irish beers or ciders are broadly available. Never see any Irish meat products! Seen Irish oats but only through an American brand. Never seen irish fashion brands or outlets. No Irish brand milk powder although they possibly supply through the multinationals brands.

Glanbia signed a deal just recently with a Chinese brand and kerrygroup have some operations but they are NOT a brand presence. The big players are New Zealand, Australia, the US etc. Ireland is top ten in dairy production in the world but has not done well in Asia comparitively.

No real promotion of Irish education sector or tourism. Problems with visa still.

Only seen one Irish cosmetic product.

Poor showing indeed but not surprising due to previous focus on European and Anglo markets and lack of grade offices and support in the region, and lack of recognition of 'brand Ireland'.

We do not do anything like the exports we should be doing to the Far East, we really dropped the ball on it for years and years and saw surprisingly little growth in the last five years. Don't believe the spin, it's simply not true.

Irish whiskey is almost unknown. Same for Waterford crystal or woolen products. Irish dairy produce is extremely hard to find while French, Dutch, New Zealand and others are everywhere. Guinness has some presence but no other Irish beers or ciders are broadly available. Never see any Irish meat products! Seen Irish oats but only through an American brand. Never seen irish fashion brands or outlets. No Irish brand milk powder although they possibly supply through the multinationals brands.

Glanbia signed a deal just recently with a Chinese brand and kerrygroup have some operations but they are NOT a brand presence. The big players are New Zealand, Australia, the US etc. Ireland is top ten in dairy production in the world but has not done well in Asia comparitively.

No real promotion of Irish education sector or tourism. Problems with visa still.

Only seen one Irish cosmetic product.

Poor showing indeed but not surprising due to previous focus on European and Anglo markets and lack of grade offices and support in the region, and lack of recognition of 'brand Ireland'.

Whey was a big one mentioned to me by someone working for Bord Bia. We apparently sell quite a lot of it. You'll not notice that from looking at shelves though. You also, to be fair, wouldn't think there was a lot of Thai chicken in Ireland if you went looking at chicken in Tescos/Supervalu though and we both know the situation there.

We probably could be doing a lot better in the Far East. The last I heard was that we sold almost all of our meat in Hong Kong and relatively little elsewhere in China. Given the cost of Irish meat it wouldn't be surprising if it was only finding a market in the wealthier parts of the country.

BSE hasn't helped our case in terms of beef sales. We should be doing a lot of lamb but I think the Aussies have the cheap stuff wrapped up and New Zealand has more recognition in Asia. Oats are now huge worldwide, Ireland is one of the only authentic sources for steel cut oats, and yet again where are our brands? The steel cut oats I found in the local speciality store was an American brand with Irish oats inside.

I know whey is a big seller worldwide from major food producers in Ireland. I think it's a pity they haven't had the brand presence and investment in the retail side of things, perhaps they will start into it now. It all takes time and money.

Seafood is probably a big one too but again most of Ireland's quality stuff is sold in France, just like the lamb.

The big opportunities are there for the small and new operators, with no real brand recognition at home and abroad. They can get into new markets and gain market share on a fairly equal footing, as long as the quality is good and their strategy is right, they have a fighting chance of making it big. They have to be willing to adapt their product/service to local tastes , and this requires more interaction with the Asian market to understand what they want (which is certainly not the same as the Yanks want, for example), investment and time spent again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

To be fair other than the few big ones Irish beers are barely sold in Ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

If it's such a highly profitable business then why hasn't anybody started it yet? Surely somebody knowledgeable in the fashion industry would have spotted this opportunity by now and started such a company.

Maybe you should take this idea and run with it. You could become rich!